DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Although the prior art teaches similar glass plates with resin frames, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest such a plate having the specific structure set forth in the present claims 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakata, US 2004/0131802 A1, as evidenced by Templeton et al., US 6310134 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Nakata teaches a glass plate having a resin frame for a vehicle window (Abstract) comprising a glass plate (6 of Fig. 4), a resin frame disposed on the peripheral edge of the glass plate (10 of Fig. 4), a decorative molding disposed on the resin frame (2 of Fig. 4), and a spacer disposed between the resin frame and the decorative molding (23 of Fig. 4). Nakata teaches that the resin frame may be molded to the glass plate and to the decorative molding one unit ([0005]), that the spacer 23 may be made of metal such as steel ([0039]) which would be solid at room temperature, and that a gap may be formed between the resin frame and the spacer (depicted, but not labeled, in Fig. 4).
Although Nakata does not explicitly teach that the spacer comprises a material having a non-adhesive property to the resin frame, Nakata teaches that the spacer may be a metal or resin material and that the resin frame material may be a polyolefin ([0038]-[0039]). Metals and resins are not adhesive toward polyolefins because such molded polyolefins possess an inert, wax-like surface that requires a primer for adhesion, as evidenced by Templeton (col. 1 ln. 20-33 and col. 3 line 30-31).
Regarding claim 2, the characterization of the spacer as comprising a “sheet member” does not appear to impart any specific structural limitations. Nevertheless, the spacer 23 of Nakata appears to constitute a “sheet member” in accordance with the usage in Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 3, Nakata teaches that the spacer may comprise a metal ([0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata, US 2004/0131802 A1 as applied above, in view of Templeton et al., US 6310134 B1.
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 16, Nakata teaches a glass plate as discussed above. The teachings of Nakata differ from the present invention in that Nakata does not teach any specific thickness or width for the decorative molding or the spacer. It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select an appropriate thickness and width for the molding and the spacer based on the specific materials being used and the desired appearance and dimensions of the product. Additionally, arbitrary recitations of relative size or proportion cannot distinguish a claimed invention from that of the prior art when the differences would have otherwise been obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN A RUMMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785