DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 3-20 in the Telephonic restriction filed on 08/15/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2 are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips (US 20220183362 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Phillips teaches a method of manufacturing a mouthpiece for a vaping device, the method comprising: selecting a core of a mold, the core comprising a front side and a back side, the back side having zero draft angle such that a back wall of the mouthpiece will be parallel to the direction of the mold opening and closing; selecting a cavity of the mold, the cavity comprising a front side and a back side, the back side having zero draft angle such that the back wall of the mouthpiece will be parallel to the direction of the mold opening and closing; inserting the core into the cavity, forming a space between the core and the cavity; injecting a material into the space between the core and the cavity; allowing the material to cool and solidify; and ejecting the material from the mold (P0005, P0059-60, fig.18-19). While Phillips does not explicitly teach selecting a core and cavity of a mold, the figures 18 and 19 show what would be the result of the chosen mold as claimed.
Regarding claims 4-7, Phillips teaches injecting molten plastic into the injection mold to produce a molded plastic case structure (P0005) and injection molded modular mouthpiece as described above. While Phillips does not explicitly state the molding steps, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the cavity to have a proximal end and a distal end, and wherein the step of injecting the material into the space between the core and the cavity comprises injecting material at the proximal end; where the front side and the back side of the cavity are separable portions of the cavity; where the front side of the cavity is removable vertically from the mold and the back side of the cavity is removably laterally from the mold; and clamping the cavity and the core of the mold shut before injection molding. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). It would be obvious to try injecting at a proximal end and closing or opening a mold in these manners as there are limited ways to do these in a molding process.
Regarding claim 8, Phillips teaches the front side of the cavity is formed with a degree of draft (fig.18-19).
Regarding claim 9, Phillips teaches the core of the mold defines one or more internal compartments of the mouthpiece (P0005-0006, P0059, fig.18-19).
Regarding claim 10, Phillips teaches the one or more internal compartments comprises an internal vapor pathway (P0006).
Regarding claim 11, Phillips teaches the cavity of the mold further comprises a convex portion at a proximal end of the cavity, the convex portion forming a concave portion at a corresponding proximal end of the mouthpiece (fig.18-19).
Regarding claim 12, Phillips teaches the concave portion at the proximal end of the mouthpiece is substantially smooth, with no excess material (fig.18-19).
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips (US 20220183362 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Phillips teaches a method of manufacturing a mouthpiece for a vaping device, the method comprising: selecting a core, the core comprising a front side and a back side, the back side having zero draft angle such that a back wall of the mouthpiece will be parallel to the direction of a mold opening and closing; selecting a cavity, the cavity comprising a first portion with a front side and a second portion with a back side, the back side having zero draft angle such that the back wall of the mouthpiece will be parallel to the direction of the mold opening and closing; inserting the core into the cavity, forming a space between the core and the cavity; injecting a material into the space between the core and the cavity; allowing the material to cool and solidify (P0005, P0059-60, fig.18-19).
While Phillips does not explicitly state removing the first portion of the cavity vertically from the core and removing the second portion of the cavity laterally from the core, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the cavity to do so. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). It would be obvious to try removing the first portion of the cavity vertically from the core and removing the second portion of the cavity laterally from the core as there are limited ways to remove them.
Regarding claim 14, Phillips teaches injecting molten plastic into the injection mold to produce a molded plastic case structure (P0005) and injection molded modular mouthpiece as described above. While Phillips does not explicitly state clamping the cavity and the core of the mold shut before injection molding. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). It would be obvious to try clamping a mold in these manners as there are limited ways to secure a mold in a molding process.
Regarding claim 15, Phillips teaches the front side of the first portion of the cavity is formed with a degree of draft (fig.18-19).
Regarding claim 16, Phillips teaches the core of the mold defines one or more internal compartments of the mouthpiece (P0005-0006, P0059, fig.18-19).
Regarding claim 17, Phillips teaches the one or more internal compartments comprises an internal vapor pathway (P0006).
Regarding claim 18, Phillips teaches injecting molten plastic into the injection mold to produce a molded plastic case structure (P0005) and injection molded modular mouthpiece as described above but is not specific to injecting a material into the space between the core and the cavity comprises injecting the material into a proximal end of the cavity. While Phillips does not explicitly state the molding steps, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the cavity to have a proximal end and a distal end, and wherein the step of injecting the material into the space between the core and the cavity comprises injecting material at the proximal end. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). It would be obvious to try injecting at a proximal end as there are limited places to introduce plastic in an injection molding process.
Regarding claim 19, Phillips teaches the cavity of the mold further comprises a convex portion at a proximal end of the cavity, the convex portion forming a concave portion at a corresponding proximal end of the mouthpiece (fig.18-19).
Regarding claim 20, Phillips teaches the concave portion at the proximal end of the mouthpiece is substantially smooth, with no excess material (fig.18-19).
Conclusion
/E.H.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743