DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement mailed on 02/03/2026 is hereby withdrawn and all claims 1-12 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al
(CN-115226289 A).
As to claim 1, Liu et al disclose a printed circuit board (100) as shown in figure 2 comprising: a plurality of interface layers (10,20,30,40) ; and a detection window (52, and corresponding detection pad 51) , disposed at a plurality of detection regions (101) corresponding to a projection position of a detection entrance ( inspection hole 53) in the plurality of interface layers 10,20,30,40) , wherein the detection window (window 52 and corresponding detection pad 51) is utilized to detect a plurality of characteristics (see page 6, paragraph 1; through the inspection hole 53 and the window 52, the light can be irradiated to the substrate 10 and through the substrate 10 to the detection pad 51, so as to observe the detection pad 51 and the first covering film 40 or the second covering film of the bonding area of the filling condition, so that judge the first circuit layer 20 and the second circuit layer 30 are respectively connected with the covering film 40 of the pressing condition of the plurality of interface layers (10,20,30,40).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasashima et al (PG-pub# 20160192473).
As to claim 1, Kasashima et al disclose a printed circuit board structure (10) as shown in figure 2 comprising: a plurality of interface layers L2-l5); and a detection window (a through hole (6b)) , disposed at a plurality of detection regions (areas in which the though hole (6b) cutting through the layers (L2-L5) corresponding to a projection position of a detection entrance in the plurality of interface layers (L2-L5). It is noted that the limitation of “wherein the detection window is utilized to detect a plurality of characteristics of the plurality of interface layers” is considered as “an intended use” and it is not given any patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al
(CN-115226289 A).
As to claim 2, Liu et al disclose a printed circuit board (100) as mentioned in claim 1 but do not explicitly mention about a material of the plurality of detection regions is a bakelite, a glass, an epoxy resin or a plastic. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the material for the detection region (101) is an insulator and the conductive detection pad (51) located within the detection region (101) and that the material for the insulator such as glass or epoxy resin or plastic is well known in the art.
As to claim 3, Liu et al disclose a printed circuit board (100) as mentioned in claims 1 and 2 but do not explicitly mention about wherein at least one detection region of the plurality of detection regions is a metal, a heavily doped material or a highly reflective material. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the detection pad (51) is located within the detection region (101), therefore this detection pad (51) is considered as at least one detection region and it is a metal (conductive material).
As to claim 4, Liu et al disclose a printed circuit board (100) as mentioned in claim 1 but do not explicitly mention about wherein an area of the detection window is greater than or equal to 0.05 millimeters by 0.05 millimeters. However, the size of the window is considered as an obvious design choice sincet he size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art and it does not changed the operation of the printed circuit board (see In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not disclose A printed circuit board detection method having a combined method steps of disposing a detection window at a plurality of detection regions corresponding to a projection position of a detection entrance in a plurality of interface layers of a printed circuit board; and utilizing a first terahertz electromagnetic wave to pass through the detection window of the printed circuit board, to detect a plurality of characteristics of the plurality of interface layers of the printed circuit board as recited in claim 5. Claims 6-12 depend from allowed claim 5, they are also allowed accordingly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kazama et al (Pat# 8,073,641) disclose Electromagnetic Field Distribution Measuring Method, Apparatus For The Method, Computer Program And Information Recording Medium.
Narita et al (Pat# 7,952,365) disclose Resonator, Printed Board, And Method For Measuring Complex Dielectric Constant.
Herman et al (Pat# 8,289,043) disclose Simulation Of Printed Circuit Board Impedance Variations And Crosstalk Effects.
Van Mechelen et al (Pat# 9,304,046) disclose Sensor System And Method For Characterizing A Coated Body.
Wallace et al (Pat# 11,300,505) disclose Terahertz-based Conveyor Belt Monitoring.
Sheen et al (pat# 5,631,572) disclose Printed Circuit Board Tester Using Magnetic Induction.
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858