DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-14 appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer US 20130345704 in view of Doll US 20220160425.
Regarding claim 1, Palmer teaches an electrode assembly for delivering a radio-frequency (RF) power signal to a surgical site (par. [0059]), the electrode assembly comprising an active electrode (par. [0059] blade 10) and a return electrode (par. [0059] electrodes 70 and 80), wherein the return electrode comprises: a distal region (Fig. 9 insulating layer 90), wherein a portion of the distal region comprises a sloped surface, the sloped surface forming a protruding edge at a first end of the distal region (Fig. 9 surfaces of 90), and the protruding edge having a first outer diameter; and a proximal region extending from the first end of the distal region, the proximal region having a second outer diameter (Fig. 9 80 inside of 140), the second outer diameter being smaller than the first outer diameter (Fig. 9 80 inside of 90); and an insulating sleeve configured to be received by the proximal region of the return electrode (Fig. 9 140).
Palmer does not explicitly teach the insulating sleeve having an outer diameter substantially the same as the first outer diameter.
Doll, in an analogous device, teaches where the protruding edge around the electrode can be off set from the tube (Fig. 5A), similar to Palmer, or generally flush with the tube (Fig. 3D).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention effectively filed to have the edge diameter the same as the insulating sleeve outer diameter, since applicant has not disclosed that similar diameters solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with either configuration. To that end, having flush sleeves could help prevent snagging on tissue when going through the body.
Regarding claim 2, Palmer teaches wherein the protruding edge extends around at least a portion of a circumference of the return electrode (Fig. 9 90 goes around 80).
Regarding claim 3, Palmer teaches wherein the protruding edge extends around up to about 75% of the circumference of the return electrode (Fig. 9 90 goes about 75% around 80).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Palmer and Doll teaches wherein an end of the insulating sleeve is configured to mate with a surface of the protruding edge (combination in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Palmer teaches wherein the electrode assembly further comprises an insulating element arranged between the active electrode and the return electrode (Fig. 9 insulating film 60).
Regarding claim 6, Doll teaches wherein the insulating element is formed of a ceramic or a polymer (par. [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Palmer teaches further comprising a rotatory shaver arrangement (par. [0040] rotating blade 9).
Regarding claim 11, Palmer teaches wherein the active electrode comprises an aperture for providing access to a suction channel extending through the insulating element to a lumen configured to carry fluid from the surgical site (par. [0040] windows 30 and 40 allow access to vacuum bore 25).
Regarding claim 12, Palmer teaches wherein the lumen is connectable to a suction tube for connecting to a suction source (Fig. 2 suction source 28).
Regarding claim 13, Palmer teaches a hand-piece (Fig. 2 handle 2); one or more user-operable buttons on the handpiece for operably controlling the instrument (Fig. 2 switch 12); and an operative shaft (Fig. 2), having RF electrical connections, and drive componentry for an end effector, the electrosurgical instrument further comprising an end effector according to claim 1, the active electrode and the return electrode being connected to the RF electrical connections (par. [0041] electrical connections 70a and 80a).
Regarding claim 14, Palmer teaches an RF electrosurgical generator (Fig. 2 16); a suction source (Fig. 2 28); and an electrosurgical instrument according to claim 13, the arrangement being such that in use the RF electrosurgical generator supplies an RF coagulation or ablation signal via the RF electrical connections to the active electrode and the return electrode (par. [0049]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Palmer and Doll as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wrublewski US 6193715.
Regarding claims 8-10, the combination of Palmer and Doll does not explicitly teach wherein the insulating sleeve is heat-shrink wrapped around the proximal region of the return electrode, wherein the insulating sleeve comprises a polymer material, and wherein the polymer material comprising polyvinylidene fluoride.
Wrublewski, in an analogous device, teaches the insulating material can be any biocompatible material including polyester shrink tubing, Kynar, polycarbonate, polyvinyl chloride, and polysulfones (col 5 lines 49-21 and 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the insulating materials of Palmer to be a shrink polymer, polyvinylidene fluoride, or any other biocompatible material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. It would yield the result of providing electrical insulation while the device is in use.
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794