DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Status of the Claims
This Final Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment of 27 January 2026. Claims 1-3 and 5 are pending and have been considered as follows. Claims 4 and 6 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-3 and 5 under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 06 November 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a blocking area" in Line 29. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the two or more divided automated guided vehicle" in Line 33. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All dependent claims are also rejected for depending on a rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahnell (US 20190361464) in view of Arai EP3203457B1 (English Translation) in further view of Bresson (US 20180339721 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ahnell teaches A method for controlling a plurality of automated guided vehicles, comprising the steps of (see at least [¶011]):
setting a blocking area for each of the plurality of automated guided vehicles based on the real-time information regarding the positions of the plurality of automated guided vehicles acquired in the step of acquiring the real-time information (Setting a reserved/blocking area for each of the plurality of automated guidance vehicles based on their current locations. see at least [¶034 & 057-059]);
and controlling movements of the plurality of automated guided vehicles with reference to the blocking area (Controlling the movements of a plurality of automated guided vehicles with reference to a reserved/blocking area. see at least [¶034, 049, 059 & 068]),
wherein the automated guided vehicle route comprises a plurality of points and movement lines connecting two adjacent points among the plurality of points (The routes/paths of the plurality of automated guided vehicles are made of a plurality of points that are connected to each other (adjacent). see at least [¶046, 057 & 065]),
wherein in the step of setting the blocking area, when an automated guided vehicle is located at any one of the plurality of points, a point at which the automated guided vehicle is located and a movement line adjacent thereto are set as the blocking area (Setting a reserved/blocking area when an automated guided vehicle is located at any of the plurality of points on a path and setting the line adjacent to it as a reserved area. This can be seen in figure 1 with the adjacent block/line being reserved at all times. see at least [¶047-055, 064-066 & Fig 1]),
and the blocking area is set and changed in real time in accordance with the movement of each of the plurality of automated guided vehicles (The reserved/blocking area are changed in real-time with the movement of each automated guided vehicle, the states of areas are continuously changed from reserved too available. see at least [¶047-055, 064-066 & Fig 1]),
wherein in the step of controlling movements of the plurality of automated guided vehicles, the movement of the automated guided vehicle attempting to enter the blocking area is controlled to stop and the movement of the automated guided vehicle is controlled to resume when the blocking area is released (Controlling the movements of a plurality of automated guided vehicles with reference to a reserved/blocking area. A second AGV is stopped from entering a reserved area when a first AGV is using the area and is allowed to pass through the area once the reserved area is cancelled. see at least [¶034, 049, 059-060, 064-066 & 068]).
wherein, when two or more movement lines join any one point among the plurality of points in the automated guided vehicle route and any one of movement line of the two or more movement lines is set as the blocking area, a rest of the movement lines are also set as the blocking area (see at least [¶059-060 & Fig 2b]).
Ahnell does not explicitly teach acquiring real-time information regarding positions of the plurality of automated guided vehicles moving along an automated guided vehicle route; when the automated guided vehicle is located on any one of the movement lines, when the automated guided vehicle is located on any one of the movement lines, a movement line on which the automated guided vehicle is located and a movement line through which the automated guided vehicle has just passed are set as the blocking area.
Shall be noted that Ahnell teaches to assign to obtain current positions of AGVs based on their first position and length. (see at least “[¶063] In other general terms, in at least some exemplary embodiments, a current position of the first wagon is determined based on a current position of the first towing vehicle and also based on the distance between a part of the first towing vehicle and a part, such as a rear part, of the first wagon. Said distance should be measured along the path that said first towing vehicle and said first wagon are traveling along.”) For more clarification the examiner is using secondary reference of Arai.
However, Arai does teach acquiring real-time information regarding positions of the plurality of automated guided vehicles moving along an automated guided vehicle route (Acquiring current/real-time positions of a plurality of automated guided vehicles moving along the travel path. see at least [¶020, 035, 062-063, 071, 075 & 078-079]);
when the automated guided vehicle is located on any one of the movement lines, a movement line on which the automated guided vehicle is located and a movement line through which the automated guided vehicle has just passed are set as the blocking area (An automated guided vehicle (could be vehicle 20-1 or 20-2) is located on a movement line/section, a movement line/section on which the automated guided vehicle is located and a movement line/section through which the automated guided vehicle has just passed are set as the blocking/prohibited area, with the sections 81-2 being areas that another vehicle cannot enter (and would be the reason for a vehicle to take an overtaking path or maintain its distance to another vehicle). see at least [¶075, 0114, 0122-0125, 0124, 0127 & FIG 8 and 12-13]).
Arai would be in a similar field as it also deals in the area of managing multiple unmanned vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Ahnell to use the technique of acquiring real-time information regarding positions of the plurality of automated guided vehicles moving along an automated guided vehicle route; when the automated guided vehicle is located on any one of the movement lines, when the automated guided vehicle is located on any one of the movement lines, a movement line on which the automated guided vehicle is located and a movement line through which the automated guided vehicle has just passed are set as the blocking area as taught by Arai. Doing so would lead to improved efficiency when managing multiple unmanned vehicles using predefined paths (see at least [¶09]).
Ahnell and Arai do not explicitly teach and wherein, in a case where are presented, each of the two or more divided automated guided vehicle routes being free of any intersection with a rest of the two or more divided automated guided vehicle, when a movement line of one automated guided vehicle route is set as the blocking area, a movement line of another automated guided vehicle route adjacent to the movement line of one automated guided vehicle route is also set as a blocking area.
However, Bresson does teach wherein, in a case where are presented, each of the two or more divided automated guided vehicle routes being free of any intersection with a rest of the two or more divided automated guided vehicle, when a movement line of one automated guided vehicle route is set as the blocking area, a movement line of another automated guided vehicle route adjacent to the movement line of one automated guided vehicle route is also set as a blocking area (The train can be an automated train (With the train being considered a vehicle). The train/vehicle routes/rail can be divided into sections/zones. The section/zones can be continuous straight path with no intersections. A train/vehicle can reserve/block a section/zone and adjacent zones/sections can also be reserved/blocked to create a blocking/occupancy area for the train/vehicle. see at least [¶01, 026-28, 046-050, 066-069 & 089]).
Bresson would be in a similar field as it also deals in the area of an automatic vehicle/train supervision system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Ahnell and Arai to use the technique of having wherein, in a case where two or more divided automated guided vehicle routes are presented, each of the two or more divided automated guided vehicle routes being free of any intersection with a rest of the two or more divided automated guided vehicle, when a movement line of one automated guided vehicle route is set as the blocking area, a movement line of another automated guided vehicle route adjacent to the movement line of one automated guided vehicle route is also set as a blocking area as taught by Bresson. Doing so would lead to improved safety with the use of occupancy zones for traveling vehicles/trains (see at least [¶047 & 0101-0102]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ahnell, Arai and Bresson teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as shown above, Furthermore, Ahnell teaches setting the automated guided vehicle route in advance (The paths/routes for the automated guided vehicles are set/determined in advance. see at least [¶011, 046 & 065-066]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ahnell, Arai and Bresson teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as shown above, Furthermore, Arai teaches wherein in the step of setting the blocking area, when the automated guided vehicle is located on any one of the movement lines, a movement line to which the automated guided vehicle will move next is set as the blocking area in addition to the movement line on which the automated guided vehicle is located and the movement line through which the automated guided vehicle has just passed (When an unmanned vehicle is located at any of the movement lines/paths, the movement path in which a vehicle is on, the path it has just passed and the path it will move to next are set as a prohibited/blocking section/area. see at least [¶0122-0125 & FIG 13b]).
Arai would be in a similar field as it also deals in the area of managing multiple unmanned vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Ahnell and Bresson to use the technique of having in the step of setting the blocking area, when an automated guided vehicle is located on any one of the movement lines, a movement line to which the automated guided vehicle will move next is set as the blocking area in addition to the movement line on which the automated guided vehicle is located and the movement line through which the automated guided vehicle has just passed as taught by Arai. Doing so would lead to improved efficiency when managing multiple unmanned vehicles using predefined paths (see at least [¶09]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ahnell, Arai and Bresson teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as shown above, Furthermore, Arai teaches A non-temporary computer-readable recording medium storing a computer program for executing the method according to Claim 1 (see at least [¶014]).
Arai would be in a similar field as it also deals in the area of managing multiple unmanned vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Ahnell and Bresson to use the technique of providing a non-temporary computer-readable recording medium storing a computer program for executing the method as taught by Arai. Doing so would lead to improved efficiency when managing multiple unmanned vehicles using predefined paths (see at least [¶09]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to MOISES GASCA ALVA JR whose telephone number is (571)272-3752. The examiner
can normally be reached Monday-Friday 6:30 - 4:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in- person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Faris Almatrahi can be reached on (313) 446-4821. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published
or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information
in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-
9197(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-
786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MOISES GASCA ALVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667