DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because: “a optical sensor” should be “an optical sensor”.
Claim 18 is objected to because: “an pressure sensor” should be “a pressure sensor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pantelopoulos (US 2017/0209055).
Regarding claims 1 and 10-12, Pantelopoulos discloses a method for using a detection apparatus comprising: a substrate having a top surface and an opposite bottom surface, the bottom surface of the substrate being adapted and configured to be placed on a subject's skin; a sensor integral with the substrate, the sensor comprising one of a optical sensor and a pressure sensor, the sensor being configured to sense a parameter of the subject to which the substrate is placed; and[AltContent: rect]circuitry integral with the substrate, the circuitry including a processor, the processor being in operative communication with the sensor, the processor being configured to receive and process the output of the sensor and to output data representing the at least one parameter of the subject to which the substrate is placed, such that the status of the subject can be indicated to a user of the detection apparatus ([0214]: “biometric monitoring device may include a protrusion on the skin- or interior side of the device”).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Pantelopoulos discloses that the parameter of the subject is a pulse parameter of the subject ([0214]: “pulse waveform sensor”).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Pantelopoulos discloses that the status of the subject is a physiological status of the subject ([0214]: “skin tempertature”, “blood pressure”, “EMG”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Pantelopoulos discloses that the sensor is adapted and configured to extend outward from the bottom surface of the substrate when the substrate is applied to the subject ([0214]: “protrusion”, Fig. 9b: “Sensor Protrusion”).
Regarding claim 5, Pantelopoulos discloses a remote terminal adapted and configured to interface with the processor, the remote terminal being configured to receive the transmitted data representing the status of the subject, process the received data representing the status of the subject, and indicate a user-perceivable representation of the processed data ([0304]…[0307]).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Pantelopoulos discloses that the remote terminal comprises a processor, a receiver; and an indicator, via the receiver, the remote terminal receives the transmitted data representing the status of the subject via the processor of the remote terminal, the remote terminal processes the received data representing the status of the subject; and via the indicator, the remote terminal indicates a user-perceivable representation of the processed data, such that the indicator indicates the status of the subject to a user of the detection system ([0304]…[0307]).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Pantelopoulos discloses that the sensor is one in a plurality of configured sensors ([0214]: “protrusion may contain other sensors”).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Pantelopoulos discloses that the sensor comprises one of a configured LED and photosensor pair (Fig. 10C, 11A, 11B, 12: “LED” and “Photodetector”).
Regarding claim 9, Pantelopoulos discloses that the circuitry is adapted and configured to receive, store, and/or analyze data acquired by the sensor for determination of (i) the parameter and/or (ii) a status of the subject ([0255]…[0264]).
Regarding claim 17, Pantelopoulos discloses that the step of acquiring the parameter of the subject via the sensor of the detector includes configuring an LED to provide output representative of the status of the subject ([0267]: “device may use single or multicolor LEDs to indicate a state of the device…an LED may modulate its intensity and/or color with the phase and frequency of the user’s heart rate”).
Regarding claim 18, Pantelopoulos discloses that the step of acquiring the parameter of the subject via the sensor of the detector includes configuring a pressure sensor to provide output representative of the status of the subject ([0119], [0162]: “pressure sensor”).
Conclusion
/JASON M IP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3793