Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because on line 6, “the insert” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 9, 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,267,357 (“Kataoka”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,297,479 (“Kato”).
Regarding Claims 1 - 4, 18 and 20; Kataoka discloses an assembled connector system [Figs. 6B, 6C] comprising a connector system 1 for fixing one or more conductors 60, comprising: a clamping frame 3 configured to be fixed to a body such as a vehicle [Figs. 7, 8]; the clamping frame 3 comprises a U-shaped component 14, 16, 18 and a closing member 13, 15, 17 configured to close an open end of the U- shaped component [Fig. 1]; and a cuboid shape elastic insert 2’ configured as one integral part to be arranged within the clamping frame 3, the insert 2’ comprises a first aperture 8 for receiving a conductor 60 and the insert 2’ is at least partially split 7 from an inner surface of the first aperture 8 to an outer surface of the insert 2’ which allows the first aperture to be opened for receiving the conductor 60.
Kataoka does not disclose the closing member connected to the U-shaped component via a hinge on a first end of the closing member and via a lock at a second end of the closing member.
However, Kato teaches a connector system for clamping and electrically connecting to a body extending through the system, with a U-shaped clamping frame 2 and closing member 5, with 5 connected to 2 via a hinge 3 on a first end of the closing member and via a lock (see the latch structure at the left side in Figure 3D) at a second end of the closing member. It would have been obvious to provide a hinge and lock on the closing member as taught by Kato, because this ensures the two parts are held together, aligned, and then secured together during installation of a conductor within the connector system.
Regarding Claims 5 and 6; Kataoka discloses the clamping frame 3 has inner peripheral walls [Fig. 3] that are shaped to form fitting support [Col. 5, lines 41-43] to the insert in three spatial axes to an outer shape of the insert 2’ to allow a firm arrangement [Col. 5, lines 52+] of the insert within the clamping frame.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9; Kataoka discloses the closing member (13, 15, 17) is configured to apply pressure of at least 0.05 N/mm2 [Col. 7, lines 8-9] to the insert 2’ when the insert is arranged within the clamping frame 3.
Regarding Claims 13-15; Kataoka discloses the insert 2’ is rubber [Col. 3, lines 27-28] which has a shore A hardness of at least 10 shore A and maximum service temperature of at least 70°C.
Regarding Claims 16 and 17; Kataoka discloses the insert 2’ comprises a second aperture 8 next to the first aperture [Fig. 4] and having substantially the same shape, for receiving a second conductor 60 and the insert is at least partially split 7 at the second aperture which allows the second aperture to be opened for receiving the second conductor [Col. 7, lines 27-34].
Regarding Claim 19; Kataoka discloses a vehicle 70 comprising a connector system 1 fixed to the vehicle [Figs. 5, 7, 8] via a fixing plate 15e, 16e and the fixing plate is attached to the clamping frame 3 of the connector system via fixing means B4, B5.
Regarding claim 20, Kataoka discloses a method of assembling a connector system having a clamping frame (3) configured to be fixed to a body (vehicle, see Figs. 7 – 8) and to be arranged within the clamping frame (connector structures are within the frame, see Fig. 5), wherein the clamping frame comprises a U-shaped component (14, 16, 18) and a closing member (13, 15, 17) configured to close an open end of the U-shaped component, wherein an insert (2) comprises a first aperture (8) for receiving a conductor, and wherein the insert is at least partially split at the first aperture (see split 7) which allows the first aperture to be opened for receiving the conductor ([0021]), the method comprising the steps of:
a) opening at least partially the first aperture of the insert (see [0021]);
b) arranging a conductor in the first aperture (see [0021] and Fig. 5);
c) opening the closing member of the frame (see Fig. [0030]);
d) arranging the insert within the clamping frame (see Fig. 1 and [0030]); and
e) closing the closing member of the clamping frame (see [0034] – [0035]).
Kataoka does not disclose wherein the closing member is connected to the U-shaped component via a hinge on a first end of the closing member and via a lock at a second end of the closing member opposite to the first end.
However, Kato teaches a connector system and method for clamping and electrically connecting to a body extending through the system, with a U-shaped clamping frame 2 and closing member 5, with 5 connected to 2 via a hinge 3 on a first end of the closing member and via a lock (see the latch structure at the left side in Figure 3D) at a second end of the closing member, where the frame is opened (see Fig. 1A), a conductor is arranged within an insert (see Fig. 3A), and the closing member is closed (see Fig. 3A). It would have been obvious to provide a hinge and lock on the closing member as taught by Kato, because this ensures the two parts are held together, aligned, and then secured together during installation of a conductor within the connector system and during opening and closing of the two parts.
Claims 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka and Kato, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,212,764 (“Marche”).
Regarding claims 10 – 12, Kataoka discloses the connector system clamping frame 30 and insert 2’ comprising apertures 8 as discussed above in 1 and 7.
Kataoka does not show or teach attachment clips removably attached to the clamping frame, nor does Kataoka show or teach the aperture having ribs protruding from an inner surface thereof.
However, Marche [Fig. 1] teaches an analogous connector system comprising attachment clips 16.2, 16.4 removably attached to a clamping frame 14.
It would have been obvious to modify the clamping frame of Kataoka to include removable attachment clips as shown by Marche et al. thereby increasing the capacity of the connector system without undue modification of the connector system.
Marche et al. [Fig. 4] further shows the conductor aperture 44 having integral ribs [at 46].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the insert of Kataoka et al. such that the apertures have ribs as shown by Marche et al. thereby accommodating a wider range of conductor diameters.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the current rejections.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831