DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 07/23/2023. Claims 22-41 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 & 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,225. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Averous et al. (US 8,834,572).
Regarding Claim 22, Averous teaches a bone fusion implant (1) for fixating a distal bone portion and a proximal bone portion across a bone fusion site (Fig 7), comprising:
an elongate member (1) configured to be disposed across the bone fusion site (Fig 7);
a distal portion (shown) of the elongate member configured to be inserted into the distal bone portion (P2);
a proximal portion (shown) of the elongate member configured to be inserted into the proximal bone portion (P1); and
a line of fixation (C) configured to be substantially aligned with the bone fusion site.
Regarding Claim 23, Averous teaches wherein the line of fixation (C) is disposed on the elongate member between the distal portion and the proximal portion (Fig 7).
Regarding Claim 24, Averous teaches wherein one or more pairs of distal ramps (shown) are disposed on opposite sides of the distal portion (shown) of the bone fusion implant.
Regarding Claim 25, Averous teaches wherein one or more pairs of proximal ramps (shown) are disposed on opposite sides of the proximal portion (shown) of the bone fusion implant.
Regarding Claim 26, Averous teaches wherein the one or more pairs of distal ramps (shown) and the one or more pairs of proximal ramps (shown) flare toward a proximal end of the bone fusion implant (Figs 1-2).
Regarding Claim 27, Averous teaches wherein the one or more pairs of distal ramps (shown) flare toward a proximal end of the bone fusion implant and the one or more pairs of proximal ramps (shown) flare toward a distal end of the bone fusion implant (Fig 1-2).
Regarding Claim 28, Averous teaches wherein the one or more pairs of distal ramps (shown) are disposed on surfaces of the bone fusion implant that are adjacent to the surfaces including the one or more pairs of proximal ramps (shown) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 29, Averous teaches wherein the elongate member (1) is configured to dispose the distal portion (shown) at an angle (Fig 2) relative to the proximal portion (shown).
Regarding Claim 30, Averous teaches wherein the distal portion and the proximal portion comprise straight portions that are disposed at an angle relative to one another (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 31, Averous teaches wherein the elongate member comprises a curved portion that establishes an angle between the distal portion and the proximal portion (Fig 2).
Claim(s) 32-37, 40 & 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 2013/0123862).
Regarding Claim 32, Anderson teaches a method for fixating a distal bone portion and a proximal bone portion across a bone fusion site, comprising:
drilling a bone hole (Fig 30) across the bone fusion site;
inserting a bone fusion implant (10) into the bone hole in the proximal bone portion (70);
advancing the bone fusion implant (10) across the bone fusion site (shown fully advanced in Fig 28);
pushing the bone fusion implant until a distal portion of the bone fusion implant is suitably inserted [0116] into the distal bone portion (74); and
situating a proximal portion of the bone fusion implant in the proximal bone portion (70) (Fig 26).
Regarding Claim 33, Anderson teaches wherein pushing the bone fusion implant includes substantially aligning a line of fixation (shown) of the bone fusion implant with the bone fusion site.
Regarding Claim 34, Anderson teaches wherein inserting the bone fusion implant includes using a suitable insertion tool (11) for grasping and pushing the bone fusion implant (Fig 26).
Regarding Claim 35, Anderson teaches wherein using the suitable insertion tool comprises using forceps or another similar tool (11).
Regarding Claim 36, Anderson teaches wherein inserting the bone fusion implant includes engaging the suitable insertion tool (11) with a pair of distal valleys (shown) disposed near the line of fixation.
Regarding Claim 37, Anderson teaches wherein inserting the bone fusion implant includes using the suitable insertion tool (11) to push the bone fusion implant until the pair of distal valleys are near the surface of the proximal bone portion (as shown on Fig 28).
Regarding Claim 40, Anderson teaches wherein pushing the bone fusion implant includes causing distal ramps disposed on opposite sides of a distal portion of the bone fusion implant to contact the distal bone portion (when fully assembled, distal ramps reside within distal bone 74).
Regarding Claim 41, Anderson teaches wherein situating the proximal portion includes causing proximal ramps (shown) on opposite sides of the proximal portion to contact the proximal bone portion (Fig 26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38 & 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774