Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claims have priority date of 05/10/2022.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 2/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 9, 10, 16-18 and 20 are amended, claims 16-20 are added; claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Amendments to claims 16-18 render the 112(b) rejections of claims 16-18 moot. The 112(b) rejection of claims 16-18 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims are also amended but rejected in part by the same art though amended to cite to different portions.
Applicant submits that Radewagen does not teach claim 1 features of so as to form an active near-field data transmission link between the local data buses or networks. Applicant asserts that “this language requires a self-contained device that participates in providing an active, operational near-field communications link bridging local data buses or networks (for example, via device-level cable interfaces to those buses) in cooperation with a counterpart similar device.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Assuming applicant’s characterization of the invention as “a self-contained device that participates in providing an active, operational near-field communications link bridging local data buses or networks (for example, via device-level cable interfaces to those buses) in cooperation with a counterpart similar device” at face value, Radewagen does teach the claimed limitation in question. Radewagen teaching a data communication link formed between two “mating” automatic clutches of two rail cars that “transmit information about the communication device” where the clutches are also coupled to a “control device” and/or “external device” and effectively transmit information between two or more devices on two or more rail cars (Radewagen e.g. ¶¶10, 14, 21, 24).
Examiner acknowledges that applicant amendment appears intended to contrast Radewagen’s disclosed exchange of “identification” information from a broadly claimed “active near-field data transmission link” – however examiner notes that (1) even a simple exchange of “identification” information is still an exchange of data and thus forms an “active” transmission link and (2) Radewagen also further teaches a second embodiment where the automatic clutch facilitates data communication between two or more downstream devices that mate via the clutch as taught in Radewagen ¶24 and cited in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3895954 A1 RADEWAGEN CHRISTIAN et al.*
*Examiner’s Note: Paragraph numbering based on EPO English Translation (see attached PDF)
Consider Claim 1
Radewagen discloses A device (¶10 “an automatic clutch” FIG. 2 shows a schematic view of FIG. 2 a coupling head with identification means [0045]), for data transmission ([0045] the technique of reading out and the data transmission) between two (¶10 “mating clutch”) local data buses or data networks (¶10 “for communicating with a device assigned to the clutch for detecting and processing data and information and/or a device external to the clutch for detecting and processing data and information”) associated, respectively with two connectable parts ( Fig. 2, Fig. 1A, of a rail vehicle or with two rail vehicles (Fig. 1a, Fig. 1, ¶10 “for connecting a track-bound vehicle to a mating clutch of a further track-bound vehicle” [0034] “..at least two interconnected track-bound vehicles X 1, X 2..”) so as to form an active near-field data transmission link (¶12 “Communication is understood in particular to mean the transmission of data and information, which can be carried out unidirectionally or bidirectionally as an exchange between two components or devices”) between the local data buses or networks (¶10 “device” or “device external to the clutch”), the device comprising at least one near field communication (NFC) system ([0045] “..The identification carrier 6 is formed by a transponder or RFID tag 11 which is arranged on the coupling K to be identified and contains the characterizing code or the information. The communication device 7 comprises at least one reading device 12 which serves for reading out the information of an RFID tag on the mating coupling…”),
characterized in that the device comprises or forms at least one mounting interface (¶¶16, 19, 47 “coupling head”) for the mechanical attachment to a connection means of a first part of a rail vehicle, wherein the first part of the rail vehicle has or forms the connection means (D1, Figure 2, [0045]: Coupling K with an end face 18 aligned as a counter-coupling; See also [0047] “ In addition to the coupling head 4, the coupling K comprises a coupling rod 15 which is connected to the latter and which can be or is connected to the vehicle via a linkage or support 16.”),
the connection means serving for mechanical connection to a further part of the rail vehicle (Figure 2, [0045]: coupling K with an end face 18 oriented as a mating coupling)
wherein the mounting interface is designed for detachable mechanical fastening to the connection means (Fig. 1, [0034] “..the clutches are preferably designed as automatic clutches, i.e. they can be coupled in a controlled manner and preferably also uncoupled. …”; [0015] “. . .This offers the prerequisite for the targeted activation of an individual clutch in a vehicle combination for different purposes, for example the targeted decoupling at any point of the vehicle combination and the disengagement therefrom…”); and
and the device (¶10 “automatic clutch”) is designed and configured to be wiredly connected to a first one of the local data buses or networks (¶¶10 “for communicating with a device assigned to the clutch for detecting and processing data and information and/or a device external to the clutch for detecting and processing data and information “and 14 “device” as described) and to participate in providing the active near-field data transmission link (¶¶23-24 “The manner of transferring data and information between each of the individual devices mentioned below . . .the individual devices for the acquisition and processing of data and information. • The transmission is preferably wireless in each case, wherein the transmission takes place by radio, inductive, electrical or magnetic waves.” Emphasis added) when in wireless communication with another NFC system of another device wiredly connected to a second one of the local data buses or networks (¶23-24 and ¶21 “the identification carrier is also a component of the communication device. That is to say, it comprises in particular a transmitter for transmitting information about the communication device of the mating clutch and/ or for transmitting information to the device assigned to the clutch or detecting and processing data and information or a device external to the clutch for detecting and processing data and information.”)
Consider Claim 2
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, characterised in that the connection means is a coupling means or a bellow (Figure 2, [0045]: coupling K with an end face 18 oriented as a mating coupling).
Consider Claim 3
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, characterised in that the device comprises or forms at least one damping member, the at least one damping member damping impacts of force introduced into the device via the mounting interface (See Fig. 3 coupling K includes concentric bellows as shown in the center of the coupling forming damping member).
Consider Claim 4
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, characterised in that the device comprises another NFC system (Fig. 1, Fig. 5, multiple RFID coupling sections for each rail car as shown in figures).
Consider Claim 5
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 4, characterised in that the first NFC system is configured as an NFC master means, and the other NFC system is configured as an NFC slave means ([0030] “..the devices assigned to the individual vehicles for detecting and processing data are each coupled to a central device for detecting and processing data and information…” and [0031] “..The detection devices are coupled to the device assigned to the clutch for detecting and processing data and information or to the device external to the clutch for detecting and processing data and information, wherein the coupling takes place wirelessly and/or via corresponding line connections. The devices assigned to the individual vehicles for the acquisition and processing of data and information are communicatively coupled to one another via a central device…”).
Consider Claim 6
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, characterised in that the mounting interface comprises a frame element or is formed as a frame element (Figure 2, [0045]: coupling K with an end face 18 oriented as a mating coupling).
Consider Claim 7
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 6, characterised in that the at least one NFC system is disposed in an interior volume of the frame element (Fig. 2, Fig. 1A, [0045] “..The identification carrier 6 is formed by a transponder or RFID tag 11 which is arranged on the coupling K to be identified and contains the characterizing code or the information. The communication device 7 comprises at least one reading device 12 which serves for reading out the information of an RFID tag on the mating coupling…”).
Consider Claim 8
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, characterised in that the device comprises a support structure, the at least one NFC system being disposed in or on the support structure (Fig. 2, Fig. 1A, [0045] “..The identification carrier 6 is formed by a transponder or RFID tag 11 which is arranged on the coupling K to be identified and contains the characterizing code or the information. The communication device 7 comprises at least one reading device 12 which serves for reading out the information of an RFID tag on the mating coupling…”).
Consider Claim 9
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 8, characterised in that the support is connected to the mounting interface via the at least one damping member or in that the damping member is part of the support structure (See Fig. 3 coupling K includes concentric bellows as shown in the center of the coupling connected to coupling rod 15 and support 16 [0047]).
Consider Claim 11
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, characterised in that the device comprises or forms at least one protection means for protecting the at least one NFC system (Figure 2, See [0045] where Coupling K with a front side 18 aligned as a counter-coupling; and [0019] “..Since the electric couplings are usually always provided with a protective flap, the solution of the identification device integrated in this offers the advantage of protection against environmental influences, in particular dust, even in the uncoupled state of the mechanical coupling…”)).
Consider Claim 12
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, characterised in that the device comprises at least one interface for the power supply to the at least one NFC system (Fig. 1a, 1d [0018] “..In addition, these line couplings are provided, which are mounted directly or via a device carrier on the coupling and serve for the transmission of current/data or a fluid..”).
Consider Claim 13
Radewagen discloses A part of a rail vehicle, particularly a vehicle body, the part comprising or forming at least one connection means for mechanical connection to another part of the rail vehicle, wherein a device according to claim 1 is attached to the connection means (see rejection of claim 1: couplings connections between rail cars).
Consider Claim 14
Radewagen discloses A method of transmitting data between two connectable parts of a rail vehicle or between rail vehicles that each include a device according to claim 1, the method comprising operating the NFC systems of the devices so as to transmit data therebetween (see rejection of claim 1: data signal exchange).
Consider Claim 15
Radewagen discloses The method according to claim 14, characterised in that an operating instruction or an information signal is transmitted via the NFC systems of the devices (see rejection of claim 1: data signal exchange).
Consider Claim 18
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 3, wherein the at least one damping member (See Fig. 3 coupling K includes concentric bellows as shown in the center of the coupling forming damping member) further comprising a support structure connected to the mounting interface via the at least one damping member or the at least one damping member is part of the support structure (¶¶16, 19, 47 “coupling head”), wherein the at least one NFC system is disposed in or on the support structure (¶¶16, 19, 47 “coupling head” contains NFC transmitter and receiver).
Consider Claim 19
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1, wherein the data transmission contains at least one of dynamic data for controlling operation of the rail vehicle or the rail vehicles (Par. 31 “for the acquisition and transmission of data for different control and regulation tasks”).
Consider Claim 20
Radewagen discloses A system, comprising: a first device that is a device according to claim 1 (see claim 1),
wherein the at least one NFC system is a first NFC system (see claim 1),
a second device that is a device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one NFC system is a second NFC system (par. 34, Fig. 1a, “at least two interconnected track-bound vehicles X 1, X 2, in particular cars”);
wherein: the first and second devices are located and mounted relative to one another so as to support the data transmission (par. 34 “..X1, X 2 and X2, X 3 to Xn, Xn+1 are connected via a mechanical connection 3 . . . forming a clutch pair which is in engagement with one another…”);
the first device is connected by a first cable to a first one of the data buses or data networks; the second device is connected by a second cable to a second one of the data buses or data networks; and the first and second devices provide the data transmission between the first one and second one of the data buses or data networks. (¶¶22-24 teaching various manners of transferring data and information between each of the individual devices; ¶¶23-24 “The manner of transferring data and information between each of the individual devices mentioned below . . .the individual devices for the acquisition and processing of data and information. • The transmission is preferably wireless in each case, wherein the transmission takes place by radio, inductive, electrical or magnetic waves.” Emphasis added)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3895954 A1 RADEWAGEN CHRISTIAN et al in view of RU 2222448 C1 LAMANOV A.V. et al.
Consider Claim 10
Radewagen discloses The device according to claim 1. Radewagen does not disclose characterised in that the at least one mounting interface includes or forms elements for establishing a screw connection, a clamping connection, a latching connection, a positive connection or a non-positive connection, or any combination thereof, and the mounting interface comprises a clamping element made up of two halves that are connected by a hinge, which allows them to open and close around the connection means; the at least one mounting interface includes or forms elements for establishing a screw connection, a clamping connection, a latching connection, a positive connection or a non-positive connection, or any combination thereof; the connection means is one of a coupler having a knuckle and a coupler body or a screw coupling; or the first part and the further part are different vehicle bodies, different carriages, or different railroad cars.
Lamanaov teaches characterised in that the at least one mounting interface includes or forms elements for establishing a screw connection, a clamping connection, a latching connection, a positive connection or a non-positive connection, or any combination thereof (Lamanov pp.1-4 “clamps 18-1, 18-2 and 19-1, 19-2” also referred to as ‘Latches’), and the mounting interface comprises a clamping element made up of two halves that are connected by a hinge, which allows them to open and close around the connection means (Lamanov pp.1-4 “clamps 18-1, 18-2 and 19-1, 19-2” also referred to as ‘Latches’); the at least one mounting interface includes or forms elements for establishing a screw connection, a clamping connection, a latching connection, a positive connection or a non-positive connection, or any combination thereof (Lamanov pp.1-4 “clamps 18-1, 18-2 and 19-1, 19-2” also referred to as ‘Latches’); the connection means is one of a coupler having a knuckle and a coupler body or a screw coupling; or the first part and the further part are different vehicle bodies, different carriages, or different railroad cars (Lamanov p. 3 “In the process of coupling cars equipped with an automatic coupling, at the stage of their rapprochement, the guide element 5 is captured by the receiving hole 3 in the body of the head 2 of the automatic coupler. With further rapprochement of the wagons, heads 1 and 2 are centered relative to each other, and then, when their end surfaces are closed, the latches 19-1, 19-2 of the second locking device snap into the corres. . .”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Radawegon to include the noted teachings of Lamanov in order to increase the reliability of automatic coupling of railway vehicles. (Lamanov p. 1)
Consider Claim 16
Radewagen does not disclose wherein the mounting interface comprises a clamping mechanism having a base plate and a clamping element that, when installed, is tightened down onto the connection means to hold the device securely in place.
Lamanov teaches the mounting interface comprises a clamping mechanism having a base plate and a clamping element (Lamanov pp.1-4 “clamps 18-1, 18-2 and 19-1, 19-2” also referred to as ‘Latches’) that, when installed, is tightened down onto the connection means to hold the device securely in place (Lamanov p. 3 “In the process of coupling cars equipped with an automatic coupling, at the stage of their rapprochement, the guide element 5 is captured by the receiving hole 3 in the body of the head 2 of the automatic coupler. With further rapprochement of the wagons, heads 1 and 2 are centered relative to each other, and then, when their end surfaces are closed, the latches 19-1, 19-2 of the second locking device snap into the corres”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Radawegon to include the noted teachings of Lamanov in order increase the reliability of automatic coupling of railway vehicles. (Lamanov p. 1)
Consider Claim 17
The combination teaches wherein clamping element is made up of two halves that come together to form a clamp around the connection means ( Lamanov p. 3 “In the process of coupling cars equipped with an automatic coupling, at the stage of their rapprochement, the guide element 5 is captured by the receiving hole 3 in the body of the head 2 of the automatic coupler. With further rapprochement of the wagons, heads 1 and 2 are centered relative to each other, and then, when their end surfaces are closed, the latches 19-1, 19-2 of the second locking device snap into the corresponding holes in the guide element 5. As a result, a rigid, clearance-free structure is formed.” And pp. 1-4 “clamps 18-1, 18-2 and 19-1, 19-2” also referred to as ‘Latches’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Radawegon to include the noted teachings of Lamanov in order to increase the reliability of automatic coupling of railway vehicles. (Lamanov p. 1)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647