DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
This final office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/15/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 13-15, 26-28, and 39 have been amended.
Claims 1-39 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn in light of the present claim amendments being distinct from claims in application 18/144,018.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 “signal per se” rejection of claims 14-26 is withdrawn in light of amendments to claim 14.
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/15/2025 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 and 103 rejections of claims 1-39 have been fully considered. The Applicant argues the following.
(1) As per the 101 rejection, the Applicant argues, in summary, that the amended independent claims 1, 14, and 27 recite a practical application of the alleged abstract idea. Paragraphs [0003], [0206], [0390], [0393], and [0402] describe a technical program solved by the technical solution realized by the claim invention. The specification describes the invention such that the improvement (i.e. enabling communication of requests between distributed actors, including non-human distributed actors, such that the non-human distributed actors are able to perform a particular skill associated with the request without human intervention). The claimed process provides controlled access and assigning of requests to distributed actors within a private network group behind a paywall. The claimed process provides for enhanced security among the distributed actors of the private network group by enabling access to previous content associated with other assigned distributed actors based on privacy constraints defined for the other assigned distributed actors.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner maintains the position that the additional elements recited in the claims and listed in steps 2A(2) and 2B do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these additional elements do not improve the functioning of a computer beyond its original capacity nor improve upon another technology or technological component. The above mentioned paragraphs from the Applicant’s specific recite the use of specific technology, but does not recite or describe an improvement to any particular technology or technological component. The claims and paragraphs reflect facilitating a transaction between a user and a distributed actor for a service/resource. The facilitation include controlling/managing access to services/resources via a paywall (i.e. payment system) and physically separating services/resources by characterizing as "private". However, the claims nor specification describe an improvement to a computer, distributed actor, paywall, network, etc. as a result of implement that claimed system or process. The claims nor specification describe and enhanced or improved security mechanism beyond the separation and controlling of access (e.g. paywall). What security threat is being addressed? What security component is being enhanced/improved beyond its original function or used to address the security threat? A technological improvement nor a technical solution to a technical problem is reflected in the claims nor the specification. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained.
(2) As per the 103 rejection, the Applicant argues in summary that Horvitz or the combination of Horvitz and Carter fail to teach, disclose, or even suggest the limitations of amended claims 1, 14, and 27.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner submits that based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, Horvitz in view of Carter teach all of the limitations in amended claims 1, 14, and 27 as shown in the updated rejection below. In summary, Horvitz teaches human and non-human distributed actors that are assigned and selected to address requests/unfulfilled needs of other distributed actors. Horvitz does not explicitly teach that the distributed actors are associated with a private network group that are positioned behind a paywall and that controls distributed actors access to contents with the private network. However, Carter teaches cloud infrastructure system that provide cloud service and resources via a private network (Fig. 9). The cloud infrastructure provides a suite of applications, middleware, and database service offerings that are delivered to a customer in a self-service, subscription-based, elastically scalable, reliable, highly available, and secure manner. The Examiner submits that Carter’s teaching of a “subscription-based” access to cloud-based services and resources reflects a private network group positioned behind a paywall. This interpretation is supported by the Applicant’s description of a paywall in [0590] which states “As is known in the art, a paywall is a digital system used by publishers to restrict access to certain content on their website, mobile application or other digital platforms, typically requiring users to pay a fee or subscription in order to access the content. Paywalls can take various forms, such as metered paywalls that allow users to view a limited number of articles for free before requiring payment, or hard paywalls which block all content until payment is made. Paywalls are commonly used by news publishers, academic publishers, and other content creators as a way to monetize their content and generate revenue”. Carter also teaches shared resources and content managed by a content management resource and a security resource that controls access to the content data store (Fig. 1). Carter also teaches an information security system that queries an access right data store that indicates what type of access is to be granted, one or more permissions, access constraints and/or access rules. The Examiner submits that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Horvitz’s Crowdsourcing Service which includes assigning human and non-human distributed actors to address unfulfilled needs with Carter’s system for controlling resource access and cloud infrastructure services that includes distributed actors associated with a private network with access rights to content and positioned behind a paywall in order to include additional resources to fulfill user requests and facilitate protection of a system from unauthorized access (Carter e.g. [0043]). Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, 14, 26, 27, and 39 recite the limitation of “the user” in which there is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim. The amended independent claims 1, 14, and 27 no longer recite “a user”. Therefore, claims 1, 13, 14, 26, 27 and 39 are considered indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Dependent claims 2-12, 15-25, and 28-38 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). For examination purposes, “the user” will be interpreted as “the requesting distributed actor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention, “Distributed Actor-Based Information System & Method”, is directed to an abstract idea, specifically Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, without significantly more. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements individually or in combination provide mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 1: Claims 1-39 are directed to a statutory category, namely a process (claims 1-13), a manufacture (claims 14-26), and a machine (claims 27-39).
Step 2A (1): Claims 1-4, 6-17, 19-30, and 32-39 are directed to an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, based on the following claim limitations: maintaining a group of distributed actors, wherein each of the distributed actors offers at least one skill and at least a portion of the distributed actors are associated with a private network group…; monitoring an environment to detect a request from a requesting distributed actor concerning an unfulfilled need; in response to determining that the request is associated with the private network group, confirming that the user has access to the private network group; and in response to determining that the user has access to the private network group, assigning one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group to address the unfulfilled need based, at least in part, upon the at least one skill offered by the one or more distributed actors, thus defining one or more assigned distributed actors, wherein assigning one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group to address the unfulfilled need includes allowing the requesting distributed actor to choose the one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group from a group of potential distributed actors associated with the private network group to assign to address the unfulfilled need, wherein the one or more assigned distributed actors are enabled to review previous content associated with other assigned distributed actors associated with the private network group based upon, at least in part, privacy constraints defined for the other assigned distributed actors of the private network group. (claims 1, 14, and 27)
wherein assigning one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group to address the unfulfilled need includes one or more of: immediately assigning to the one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group; and inquiring on the availability of the one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group; (claims 2, 15, and 28)
wherein monitoring an environment to detect a request from a user concerning an unfulfilled need includes: detecting the existence of a request; (claims 3, 16, and 29)
wherein detecting the existence of a request includes one or more of: receiving a request from a human distributed actor; and receiving a request from a non-human distributed actor; (claims 4, 17, and 30)
wherein the one or more assigned distributed actors interact, directly or indirectly, with one or more distributed sub-actors to address at least a portion of the unfulfilled need; (claims 6, 19, and 32)
addressing at least a portion of the unfulfilled need with the at least one skill offered by the one or more assigned distributed actors; (claims 7, 20, and 33)
wherein addressing at least a portion of the unfulfilled need with the at least one skill offered by the one or more assigned distributed actors includes: generating one or more response portions with the at least one skill offered by the one or more assigned distributed actors; (claims 8, 21, and 34)
forming a bespoke response to the unfulfilled need based, at least in part, upon the one or more response portions; (claims 9, 22, and 35)
providing the bespoke response to a party associated with the unfulfilled need; (claims 10, 23, and 36)
effectuating, in whole or in part, the bespoke response; (claims 11, 24, and 37)
wherein maintaining a group of distributed actors includes: maintaining a database that defines the group of distributed actors.”. (claims 12, 25, and 38)
in response to determining that the user does not have access to the private network group, preventing access to one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group. (claims 13, 26, and 39)
The claims describe a process of maintaining skills for a group of distributed actors (i.e. resources), monitoring an environment for a request from a user of an unfulfilled need, and assigning distributed actors (i.e. resources) to address the request/unfulfilled need. Maintaining skills of distributed actors (i.e. resources), monitoring an environment for requests from users, and assigning distributed actors (i.e. resources) to address the requests reflects certain methods of organizing human activity as the assigning facilitates interaction between a person (i.e. user) that has an unfulfilled need or request and a computer (i.e. resource) that is fulfilling the need or request. Therefore, these limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity includes managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions. Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity can encompass the activity of a single person (e.g. a person following a set of instructions), activity that involve multiple people (e.g. a commercial interaction), and certain activity between a person and a computer (e.g. a method of anonymous loan shopping). Therefore, claims 1-39 are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Step 2A (2): This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1, 5, 12, 14, 18, 25, 27, 31, and 38 recite additional elements of “a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device (claim 1), a paywall (claims 1, 14, and 27 ); wherein the group of distributed actors include one or more of: a software platform; a software application; a virtual machine; and a web-based service (claims 5, 18, and 31); database (claims 12, 25, and 38); a computer program product residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (claim 14); and a computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations (claim 27)”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not recite (a) an improvement to another technology or technical field and (b) an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself and (c) implementing the abstract idea with or by use of a particular machine, (d) effecting a particular transformation or reduction of an article, or (e) applying the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as computing devices that are used to perform that abstract idea stated above. Limitations that recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea are not indicative of integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-39 do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and thus are not patent eligible.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 1, 5, 12, 14, 18, 25, 27, 31, and 38 recite additional elements of “a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device (claim 1), a paywall (claims 1, 14, and 27 ); wherein the group of distributed actors include one or more of: a software platform; a software application; a virtual machine; and a web-based service (claims 5, 18, and 31); database (claims 12, 25, and 38); a computer program product residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (claim 14); and a computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations (claim 27)”. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as mere instructions to apply or implement the abstract idea on a computer. Applying an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-39 do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and thus are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horvitz et al. (US 2014/0278634 A1) in view of Carter et al. (US 2017/0264634 A1).
As per claim 1, 14, and 27 (Currently Amended), Horvitz teaches a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising (Horvitz e.g. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram summarizing some example steps that may be taken by a geospatial crowdsourcing service or the like when a task is received, which may be in real time, or based upon a scheduled task [0057]. The techniques described herein can be applied to any device. Accordingly, the below general purpose remote computer described below in FIG. 5 is but one example of a computing device [0062]. A method implemented at least in part on at least one processor, comprising (claim 1).); Horvitz teaches a computer program product residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (Horvitz e.g. Computer 510 typically includes a variety of computer readable media and can be any available media that can be accessed by computer 510 (Fig. 5 and [0066]. One or more computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions, which when executed on at least one processor perform step (claim 19).); Horvitz teaches a computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations comprising (Horvitz e.g. With reference to FIG. 5, an example remote device for implementing one or more embodiments includes a general purpose computing device in the form of a computer 510 [0065]. A system comprising, one or more processors, a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, and a spatiotemporal crowdsourcing configured to execute on the one or more processors from memory,.. (claim 13).):
Horvitz teaches maintaining a group of distributed actors, wherein each of the distributed actors offers at least one skill… (Horvitz e.g. The subject matter described herein are directed towards spatiotemporal crowdsourcing technology (e.g., implemented as a service) configured to receive a task that includes task-related criteria [0005]. Actor-related data is accessed to select an actor set needed for accomplishing the task, including selecting one or more actors until the actor set is sufficient to accomplish the task [0007]. FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing example components of an example spatiotemporal crowdsourcing implementation, in the form of a service 102 [0018]. In general, users 104 register as actors (members) in the spatiotemporal crowdsourcing service via a network (e.g., Internet) interface, shown as coupling to a user task preference and ability component 106 [0018]. The preference and qualification information is stored in an actor data store 108, and may include a list of capabilities, competencies and/or experience (e.g., a math tutor for algebra to calculus, five years teaching), price/rate (including overtime), preferences (e.g., evenings OK but not weekends, will work within thirty minutes of a general location), assets e.g., (have a bike or car), calendar data, schedule data and/or possibly other pertinent information. This information may be updated in real time as it changes, either with explicit instructions from the user and/or automatically through sensing and inference [0019].)
Horvitz teaches monitoring an environment to detect a request from a requesting distributed actor concerning an unfulfilled need; (Horvitz e.g. FIG. 1 shows a task being received at a planning component 112, in which the task includes any number of criteria. Example criteria include a task deadline, a maximum cost, any reputation requirements, any acquaintance requirements and so on. Other criteria may specify a number of workers, skill sets required for the workers, non-human assets needed, and so forth. Basically any task requirement that may be matched against known data regarding actors' preferences and abilities to perform that task may be used as part of the task criteria [0024]. The planning component 112 (or another component of the service 102) may receive task completion state information, to ensure that tasks are completed by the deadline, with any re-planning as needed (e.g., an extra worker is needed) [0027]. State data also may be accessed, to determine the current state of an actor [0058]. Re-planning may be performed as state information comes in, e.g., the task is behind schedule and the task owner is willing to increase the budget to hire another worker, a confirmed worker did not show up, a piece of equipment broke down, and so forth. Tracking continues until the task is complete, as evaluated at step 416 [0060].
Horvitz teaches…assigning one or more distributed actors…to address the unfulfilled need based, at least in part, upon the at least one skill offered by the one or more distributed actors, thus defining one or more assigned distributed actors, thus defining one or more distributed actors, wherein assigning one or more distributed actors…to address the unfulfilled need includes allowing the requesting distributed actor to choose the one or more distributed actors… from a group of potential distributed actors… to assign to address the unfulfilled need (Horvitz e.g. The spatiotemporal crowdsourcing service selects an actor set (e.g., one or more human workers and/or entities) for accomplishing the task, including having the task-related criteria and actor-related data used to determine inclusion in the actor set [0005]. Actor-related data is accessed to select an actor set needed for accomplishing the task, including selecting one or more actors until the actor set is sufficient to accomplish the task [0007]. FIG. 1 shows a task being received at a planning component 112, in which the task includes any number of criteria. Example criteria include a task deadline, a maximum cost, any reputation requirements, any acquaintance requirements and so on. Other criteria may specify a number of workers, skill sets required for the workers, non-human assets needed, and so forth. Basically any task requirement that may be matched against known data regarding actors' preferences and abilities to perform that task may be used as part of the task criteria [0024]. When a task needs to be performed, a subset of one or more actors is summoned by the planning component 112, which in the example of FIG. 1. In general, the planning component 112 uses the task criteria matching module 114 to work with the preference and ability component 106 to match the criteria associated with the task with an actor set (e.g., one or more users and/or any other actor or actors) [0025]. Note that the selection of actors for the actor set may be dynamic, e.g., selection may change as a task progresses [0025]. Users are one type of actor that may be summoned to accomplish a task. Although not explicitly shown in FIG. 1, other example types of actors that may have actor data stored in the data store108 include non-human participants, such as a sensor (e.g., as a security camera, traffic camera and/or microphone), an automobile equipped with communication capabilities, tagged equipment, and so forth. An entity such as a truck or airplane thus may be entered into the service 102 as an actor along with its ability data, such as cargo capacity, weight, cost per mile, cost per hour, and so forth. Such other non-human actors may be summoned as part of accomplishing a task [0020]. When the summoning is done and the appropriate actors have confirmed their availability, step 414 represents tracking the task completion state, e.g., versus the deadline, as task state information becomes available (Fig. 4 and [0060]). Non-human actors may have automated confirmation or a person confirm on their behalf [0059].)
Horvitz does not explicitly teach, however, Carter teaches the following:
Carter teaches and at least a portion of the distributed actors are associated with a private network group positioned behind a paywall; (Carter e.g. Carter teaches a computer-implemented method and system for facilitating information security and sub-system operational conformance of protocols ([0003]-[0004]). FIG. 1 shows an example network for controlling resource access and operation across sub-systems and/or systems [0018]. Each of on-site client 1 system 102, virtual client system 106 and client 2 system 104 can correspond to a set of devices and/or other components, such as one or more servers (e.g., and/or server farms or server clusters), user devices (e.g., desktop computers, laptops, tablets, or smart phones), data storage devices (e.g., network-attached storage), and/or equipment. The clients need not be co-located but are connected via a network (e.g., a private network) [0018]. The implementation depicted in FIG. 1 illustrates various types of resources of systems. It will be appreciated that these resources are illustrative. Resources represented by separate blocks may, but need not, correspond to separate devices or groups of devices [0020]. An allocation resource 152 can control which cloud resources are allocated to a given client, client sub-system, task performance, and so on. For example, allocation resource 152 can control allocation of memory, data stores (e.g., network attached storage), processors, and/or virtual machines [0030]. FIG. 9 is a simplified block diagram of one or more components of a system environment 900 by which services provided by one or more components of an embodiment system may be offered as cloud services [0109]. In some examples, a service in a computer network cloud infrastructure may include protected computer network access to storage, a hosted database, a hosted web server, a software application, or other service provided by a cloud vendor to a user, or as otherwise known in the art [0116]. For example, a service can include password-protected access to remote storage on the cloud through the Internet. As another example, a service can include a web service based hosted relational database and a script-language middleware engine for private use by a networked developer. As another example, a service can include access to an email software application hosted on a cloud vendor's web site [0116]. Cloud infrastructure system 902 may include a suite of applications, middleware, and database service offerings that are delivered to a customer in a self-service, subscription-based, elastically scalable, reliable, highly available, and secure manner [0117]. A customer, via a subscription order, may order one or more services provided by cloud infrastructure system 902. Cloud infrastructure system 902 then performs processing to provide the services in the customer's subscription order [0119]. In exemplary operation 934, a customer using a client device, such as client device 904, 906 or 908, may interact with cloud infrastructure system 902 by requesting one or more services provided by cloud infrastructure system 902 and placing an order for a subscription for one or more services offered by cloud infrastructure system 902 [0129]. At operation 938, the order information is forwarded to an order management module 920. In some instances, order management module 920 may be configured to perform billing and accounting functions related to the order, such as verifying the order, and upon verification, booking the order [0132]. At operation 942, upon receiving an order for a new subscription, order orchestration module 922 sends a request to order provisioning module 924 to allocate resources and configure those resources needed to fulfill the subscription order [0134]. The Examiner submits that Carter’s teaching of a “subscription-based” access to cloud-based services and resources reflects a private network group positioned behind a paywall.)
Carter teaches in response to determining that the request is associated with the private network group, confirming that the user has access to the private network group; and (Carter e.g. FIG. 2 shows an example interaction 200 between devices and systems for processing resource access requests [0031]. At an eighth action, agent device 205 transmits a request for access to a resource to an access control system 225. The request can include the identifier data. The resource can include a physical resource or electronic resource. For example, the request can be for entry to a building or for access to retrieve and modify data stored at a data-storage device [0040]. At a ninth action, access control system 225 transmits the identifier data to information security system 210 to determine whether the identifier data is authentic and (in some instances) to determine whether the identifier data indicates that agent device 205 or a corresponding agent is authorized for the requested access [0041]. At an eleventh action, access control system 225 controls a resource 230 so as to enable or inhibit access to the resource in accordance with the access right data [0042]. The resource may include (for example) an electronic or non-electronic resource, and the access may include physical access or an ability to retrieve, modify and/or store data [0045].)
Carter teaches in response to determining that the user has access to the private network group, assigning one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group to address the unfulfilled need…. (Carter e.g. An allocation resource 152 can control which cloud resources are allocated to a given client, client sub-system, task performance, and so on. For example, allocation resource 152 can control allocation of memory, data stores (e.g., network attached storage), processors, and/or virtual machines [0030]. At a twelfth action, access control system 225 sends a response communication to agent device 205 that indicates whether access to the resource is granted [0042]. The resource may include (for example) an electronic or non-electronic resource, and the access may include physical access or an ability to retrieve, modify and/or store data [0045]. FIG. 4 shows an example block diagram of a system 400 to support sub-system conformance of a systemwide protocol. Each of one, more or all of the depicted components may be assigned to, at least partly allocated to and/or configured to perform operations or store data for a particular client [0054]. FIG. 6 shows a flow diagram of an example process for processing resource access requests via conditioned authentication communications [0074]. When it is determined that the agent is authenticated, at block 620, the agent is granted access to the electronic environment of the system. For example, a request corresponding to the interaction (e.g., to view, query or edit data in a data store or to transmit a resource instruction) may be granted [0079].)
Carter teaches wherein the one or more assigned distributed actors are enabled to review previous content associated with other assigned distributed actors associated with the private network group based upon, at least in part, privacy constraints defined for the other assigned distributed actors of the private network group. (Carter e.g. The present disclosure relates generally to supporting information security and sub-system operational conformance with protocols [0001]. Agent access to resources can be controlled via generation of credentials and/or tokens and/or conditioned external authentication and/or workflows to assess protocol conformance can be conditionally triggered at sub-systems [0001]. For example, on-site client system 102 can include a first sub-system 110 and a second subsystem 112. First sub-system 110 can be configured to receive and respond to requests from user devices for content, and second sub-system 112 can be configured to dynamically monitor and re-configure network resources [0019]. In the depicted instance, first sub-system 110 includes a content management resource 118, which is configured to query one or more data stores for content responsive to content requests and to transmit responses to content requests (Fig. 1 and [0021]). First sub-system 110 can further include a security resource 120, which may be configured to determine what data various users are authorized to receive and/or what types of actions various agents are authorized to make [0021]. For example, security resource 120 may receive or intercept a request from an agent device 122 to add or modify data in a content data store (e.g., stored locally at first sub-system 110 or remotely) and to determine whether such an addition or modification is allowed (e.g., based on an authentication of agent device 122 and/or information associated with the request) [0021]. Virtual client system 106 includes various resources for a system that are, for example, operating in the cloud. In some instances, part or all of virtual client system 106 is identified as being or being used for or by an on-site sub-system (e.g., first sub-system 110 and/or second subsystem 112). A component may, but need not, be shared across two or more sub-systems [0026]. Sub-systems may differ from each with regard to (for example) types of operations performed functionality, types of results generated, types of associated agents, specific associated agents, resource accessibility, and/or geographical locations [0055]. For example, a data store can include content objects managed by content management resource 118, and query resource 144 can be configured to generate a query for content objects from an external source (e.g., a source system 146). As another example, a data store can include historical operational data of one or more equipment resources 134 for client 2 system [0027]. A data store can include data corresponding to requests for particular types of outputs of equipment resource 134, such that queries of the data store (e.g., as performed using query resource 144) can be used to control operation parameters of equipment resource 134 to facilitate responsiveness to the requests [0027]. Information security system 210 can query an access right data store 215 for access right data corresponding to the request ( e.g., to an agent or user identified in the request or to agent device 205). In some instances, other information in the request (e.g., identifying a type of agent or sub-system) can be used to identify the access right data [0032]. The access right data may indicate what type of access is to be granted (e.g., by identifying one or more resources and/or one or more resource for which access is to be granted and/or by identifying one or more actions are to be permitted). Access right data can indicate or include (for example) one or more permissions, access constraints and/or access rules [0033]. Agent device 205 transmits a request for access to a resource to an access control system 225. The request can include the identifier data. The resource can include a physical resource or electronic resource. For example, the request can be for entry to a building or for access to retrieve and modify data stored at a data-storage device [0040]. The resource may include (for example) an electronic or non-electronic resource, and the access may include physical access or an ability to retrieve, modify and/or store data [0045]. Access control system 310 can send a request to an information security system 315 for security data pertaining to agent device 305. The request may include an identifier of agent device 305 and/or a corresponding agent (e.g., as extracted from the access request, as detected in metadata, as determined based on data or metadata in the request via a look-up table, as included in data or metadata in a previous communication from agent device 305 in a session, and so on) [0046]. In some instances, the security data includes more general access-right data (e.g., identifying generally whether agent device 305 is authorized to access a system, identifying which resources or resource types for which agent device 305 is authorized to access, and/or identifying what types of access is authorized) [0046].)
The Examiner submits that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Horvitz’s Crowdsourcing Service which includes assigning human and non-human distributed actors to address unfulfilled needs with Carter’s system for controlling resource access and cloud infrastructure services that includes distributed actors associated with a private network with access rights to content and positioned behind a paywall in order to include additional resources to fulfill user requests and facilitate protection of a system from unauthorized access (Carter e.g. [0043]).
As per claims 2, 15, and 28 (Currently Amended), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 14, and the computing system of claim 27, wherein assigning one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group to address the unfulfilled need includes one or more of: immediately assigning to the one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group; and inquiring on the availability of the one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group;.
Horvitz teaches wherein assigning one or more distributed actors…to address the unfulfilled need includes one or more of: immediately assigning to the one or more distributed actors…; inquiring on the availability of the one or more distributed actors…; (Horvitz e.g. The spatiotemporal crowdsourcing service selects an actor set (e.g., one or more human workers and/or entities) for accomplishing the task, including having the task-related criteria and actor-related data used to determine inclusion in the actor set [0005]. Note that the selection of actors for the actor set may be dynamic, e.g., selection may change as a task progresses [0025]. The planning component 112 operates in conjunction with the other components 106, 114 and 116 to coordinate the summoning of the equipment and personnel to a specified location at a desired time, based upon who is available, when and where, and their pricing, along with any other criteria such as experience, reputation and so forth [0027]. When the summoning is done and the appropriate actors have confirmed their availability, step 414 represents tracking the task completion state, e.g., versus the deadline, as task state information becomes available (Fig. 4 and [0060]).)
Horvitz does not explicitly teach, however, Carter teaches assigning one or more distributed actors associated with a private network group to address the unfilled need (Carter e.g. FIG. 4 shows an example block diagram of a system 400 to support sub-system conformance of a systemwide protocol. Each of one, more or all of the depicted components may be assigned to, at least partly allocated to and/or configured to perform operations or store data for a particular client [0054]. FIG. 9 is a simplified block diagram of one or more components of a system environment 900 by which services provided by one or more components of an embodiment system may be offered as cloud services [0109]. Cloud infrastructure system 902 may provide the cloud services via different deployment models. For example, services may be provided under a private cloud model in which cloud infrastructure system 902 is operated solely for a single organization and may provide services for one or more entities within the organization [0118]. A customer, via a subscription order, may order one or more services provided by cloud infrastructure system 902. Cloud infrastructure system 902 then performs processing to provide the services in the customer's subscription order [0119]. At operation 942, upon receiving an order for a new subscription, order orchestration module 922 sends a request to order provisioning module 924 to allocate resources and configure those resources needed to fulfill the subscription order [0134].)
The Examiner submits that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Horvitz’s Crowdsourcing Service which includes assigning human and non-human distributed actors to address unfulfilled needs with Carter’s system for controlling resource access and cloud infrastructure services that includes distributed actors associated with a private network with access rights to content and positioned behind a paywall in order to include additional resources to fulfill user requests and facilitate protection of a system from unauthorized access (Carter e.g. [0043]).
As per claims 3, 16, and 29 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 14, and the computing system of claim 27 Horvitz teaches wherein monitoring an environment to detect a request from a user concerning an unfulfilled need includes: detecting the existence of a request. (Horvitz e.g. FIG. 1 shows a task being received at a planning component 112, in which the task includes any number of criteria. Example criteria include a task deadline, a maximum cost, any reputation requirements, any acquaintance requirements and so on [0024]. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram summarizing some example steps that may be taken by a geospatial crowdsourcing service or the like when a task is received, which may be in real time, or based upon a scheduled task [0057].)
As per claims 4, 17, and 30 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3, The computer program product of claim 16, and the computing system of claim 29 Horvitz teaches wherein detecting the existence of a request includes one or more of: receiving a request from a human distributed actor; and receiving a request from a non-human distributed actor. (Horvitz e.g. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram summarizing some example steps that may be taken by a geospatial crowdsourcing service or the like when a task is received, which may be in real time, or based upon a scheduled task [0057]. Step 410 evaluates whether the needed distributed actors have confirmed and the summoning is done. Note that if the task criteria cannot be met, step 412 represents notifying the owner of the issue (i.e. human) [0059]. The actor set includes at least one human actor and at least one non-human actor (claim 14).)
As per claims 5, 18, and 31 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 14, and the computing system of claim 27 Horvitz teaches wherein the group of distributed actors include one or more of: a software platform; a software application; a virtual machine; and a web-based service. (Horvitz e.g. Users are one type of actor that may be summoned to accomplish a task. Although not explicitly shown in FIG. 1, other example types of actors that may have actor data stored in the data store108 include non-human participants, such as a sensor (e.g., as a security camera, traffic camera and/or microphone), an automobile equipped with communication capabilities, tagged equipment, and so forth. Such other non-human actors may be summoned as part of accomplishing a task, as described below [0020]. Via contemporary computer-aware connectedness, mobile actors also may provide current state information (e.g., via a mobile device application) such as including current GPS coordinates and velocity at a certain sampling rate, and possibly a destination. A non-human mobile actor may likewise provide such state information, e.g., via GPS coordinates and velocity, a nearby truck may be summoned to help accomplish a task, regardless of who is actually driving the truck [0021]. Embodiments can partly be implemented via an operating system, for use by a developer of services for a device or object, and/or included within application software that operates to perform one or more functional aspects of the various embodiments described herein [0063].)
As per claims 6, 19, and 32 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim, the computer program product of claim 14, and the computing system of claim 27 Horvitz teaches wherein the one or more assigned distributed actors interact, directly or indirectly, with one or more distributed sub-actors to address at least a portion of the unfulfilled need. (Horvitz e.g. Note that the selection of actors for the actor set may be dynamic, e.g., selection may change as a task progresses. If a larger task is broken up into smaller tasks, or subtasks, each subtask may have an actor set selected for that task at whatever time is appropriate including dynamically; for example, a single actor may be selected for a subtask such as part of a package delivery, with a next single actor selected ( e.g., dynamically based on proximity and availability) for the next subtask part of the delivery, and so on [0025]. The planning component 112 operates in conjunction with the other components 106, 114 and 116 to coordinate the summoning of the equipment and personnel to a specified location at a desired time, based upon who is available, when and where, and their pricing, along with any other criteria such as experience, reputation and so forth [0027]. One or more actors are matched to task-related criteria and summoned to accomplish a task, which may be divided into a set of coordinated tasks (subtasks) [0061].)
As per claims 7, 20, and 33 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 14, and the computing system of claim 27 Horvitz teaches further comprising: addressing at least a portion of the unfulfilled need with the at least one skill offered by the one or more assigned distributed actors. (Horvitz e.g. One or more actors are matched to task-related criteria and summoned to accomplish a task, which may be divided into a set of coordinated tasks (subtasks) [0061]. Other criteria may specify a number of workers, skill sets required for the workers, non-human assets needed, and so forth. Basically any task requirement that may be matched against known data regarding actors' preferences and abilities to perform that task may be used as part of the task criteria [0024].)
As per claims 8, 21, and 34 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 7, the computer program product of claim 20, and the computing system of claim 33 Horvitz teaches wherein addressing at least a portion of the unfulfilled need with the at least one skill offered by the one or more assigned distributed actors includes: generating one or more response portions with the at least one skill offered by the one or more assigned distributed actors. (Horvitz e.g. FIG. 4 is a flow diagram summarizing some example steps that may be taken by a geospatial crowdsourcing service or the like when a task is received [0057]. If the actor data store is arranged as a data store, an optimized query may be made against the data store to obtain the actor set of actors that meet the criteria (Fig. 4 step 402 and [0058]). One or more actors are matched to task-related criteria and summoned to accomplish a task, which may be divided into a set of coordinated tasks (subtasks) [0061]. Step 406 represents summoning the actor to appear at the specified location at the specified time. If the actor does not confirm (non-human actors may have automated confirmation or a person confirm on their behalf) within a confirmation time [0059]. The planning component 112 may specify that to be hired, each worker needs to confirm that he or she will be at the specified location at the specified time with any specified equipment [0028]. Step 410 evaluates whether the needed actors have confirmed and the summoning is done. The process continues until the needed actors have done so [0059]. Note that if the task criteria cannot be met, step 412 represents notifying the owner of the issue (Fig. 4 and [0059])
As per claims 9, 22, and 35 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 8, the computer program product of claim 21, and the computing system of claim 34 Horvitz teaches further comprising: forming a bespoke response to the unfulfilled need based, at least in part, upon the one or more response portions. (Horvitz e.g. Step 406 represents summoning the actor to appear at the specified location at the specified time. If the actor does not confirm (non-human actors may have automated confirmation or a person confirm on their behalf) within a confirmation time. Note that the candidate pool may be larger than the number of actors needed at step 404 so that the query and/or function need not be re-run each time an actor does not confirm in time [0059]. Step 410 evaluates whether the needed actors have confirmed and the summoning is done. The process continues until the needed actors have done so [0059]. The planning component 112 ( or another component of the service 102) may receive task completion state information, to ensure that tasks are completed by the deadline, with any re-planning as needed (e.g., an extra worker is needed) [0027]. Re-planning may be performed as state information comes in, e.g., the task is behind schedule and the task owner is willing to increase the budget to hire another worker, a confirmed worker did not show up, a piece of equipment broke down, and so forth. Tracking continues until the task is complete, as evaluated at step 416 [0060]. State information as to when the task is completed is distributed to the participants so as to stop working on the task [0029].)
As per claims 10, 23, and 36 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 9, the computer program product of claim 22, and the computing system of claim 35 Horvitz teaches further comprising: providing the bespoke response to a party associated with the unfulfilled need. (Horvitz e.g. The planning component 112 operates in conjunction with the other components 106, 114 and 116 to coordinate the summoning of the equipment and personnel to a specified location at a desired time, based upon who is available, when and where, and their pricing, along with any other criteria such as experience, reputation and so forth [0027]. Bidding or the like may be implemented, e.g., different actors and/or groups may bid on the task [0026]. One or more actors are matched to task-related criteria and summoned to accomplish a task, which may be divided into a set of coordinated tasks (subtasks) [0061]. Note that if the task criteria cannot be met, step 412 represents notifying the owner of the issue [0059].)
As per claims 11, 24, and 37 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 9, the computer program product of claim 22, and the computing system of claim 35 Horvitz teaches further comprising: effectuating, in whole or in part, the bespoke response. (Horvitz e.g. When a task needs to be performed, a subset of one or more actors is summoned by the planning component 112, which in the example of FIG. 1 [0025]. One or more actors are matched to task-related criteria and summoned to accomplish a task, which may be divided into a set of coordinated tasks (subtasks) [0061]. Users are one type of actor that may be summoned to accomplish a task… Such other non-human actors may be summoned as part of accomplishing a task [0020]. For example, crowdphysics tasks may be performed using spatiotemporal crowdsourcing such as reducing traffic congestion. Given a sufficient percentage of participants' locations and velocities, a traffic flow model may be implemented, according to which participants may be notified ( e.g., audibly while driving) to get into a certain lane, drive at a certain speed, detour to avoid an accident scene and so forth. Participants may be separately notified of an optimal or advantageous departure time, (e.g., "Based upon traffic, the system recommends leaving no earlier than 5:15 pm") ([0029] and [0031]).)
As per claims 12, 25, and 38 (Original), Horvitz in view of Carter teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 14, and the computing system of claim 27 Horvitz teaches wherein maintaining a group of distributed actors includes: maintaining a database that defines the group of distributed actors. (Horvitz e.g. The preference and qualification information is stored in an actor data store 108, and may include a list of capabilities, competencies and/or experience (e.g., a math tutor for algebra to calculus, five years teaching), price/rate (including overtime), preferences (e.g., evenings OK but not weekends, will work within thirty minutes of a general location), assets e.g., (have a bike or car), calendar data, schedule data and/or possibly other pertinent information. This information may be updated in real time as it changes, either with explicit instructions from the user and/or automatically through sensing and inference [0019]. Users are one type of actor that may be summoned to accomplish a task. Although not explicitly shown in FIG. 1, other example types of actors that may have actor data stored in the data store108 include non-human participants, such as a sensor (e.g., as a security camera, traffic camera and/or microphone), an automobile equipped with communication capabilities, tagged equipment, and so forth. An entity such as a truck or airplane thus may be entered into the service 102 as an actor along with its ability data, such as cargo capacity, weight, cost per mile, cost per hour, and so forth [0020]. Reputation data may be associated with a user's data, e.g., in the data store 108, such as provided via evaluations, manual ratings, automatic ratings and the like, such as entered by a task owner. A certain reputation measure ( e.g., a minimum average rating level) may be specified in the task related criteria [0022].)
As per claims 13, 26, and 39 (Amended), Horvitz in view of Carter teach The computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 14, and the computing system of claim 27 Horvitz does not explicitly teach, however, Carter teaches further comprising: in response to determining that the user does not have access to the private network group, preventing access to one or more distributed actors associated with the private network group. (Carter e.g. The present disclosure relates generally to supporting information security and sub-system operational conformance with protocols. Agent access to resources can be controlled via generation of credentials and/or tokens and/or conditioned external authentication and/or workflows to assess protocol conformance can be conditionally triggered at sub-systems [0001]. FIG. 6 shows a flow diagram of an example process for processing resource access requests via conditioned authentication communications [0074]. At block 605, a first action of an agent device is detected [0075]. At block 610, one or more identifying characteristics of the agent are assessed to authenticate the agent [0076]. At block 615, it can be determined, based on the identifying characteristic(s), whether the agent is authenticated [0077]. When it is determined that the agent is not authenticated, at block 617, the agent may be denied access to an electronic environment of the system. For example, a request corresponding to the interaction may be denied, an access-rejection communication may be transmitted to the agent device, an action performed by the agent device may be reversed, and so on [0078].)
The Examiner submits that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Horvitz’s Crowdsourcing Service which includes assigning human and non-human distributed actors to address unfulfilled needs with Carter’s system for controlling resource access and cloud infrastructure services that includes distributed actors associated with a private network with access rights to content and positioned behind a paywall in order to include additional resources to fulfill user requests and facilitate protection of a system from unauthorized access (Carter e.g. [0043]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624