DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (US 2019/0002740) in view of Matzdorf et al. (US 2012/0187350) and Lawless et al. (US 2015/0191604).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4 5, and 7, Moore et al. teaches aircraft surfaces are typically made of a metal, such as aluminum, a primer can be coated on the metal surface and adhesive coatings are typically disposed between a metal surface and a primer (paragraphs [0004] and [0041], [0065]), wherein the adhesive coatings are adhesive sol-gel films comprising a metal alkoxide, an acid stabilizer, and an organosilane (paragraphs [0005] and [0007]). A corrosion inhibitor may be used (paragraph [0041]).
Moore et al. fails to teach the organic primer coating having a plurality of metal particles.
However, Matzdorf et al. teaches aluminum alloy powder-pigments coated with a semi-conducting corrosion inhibiting oxide combined with film-forming binders for coating metal substrates to inhibit corrosion (See Abstract, paragraphs [0052], [0085]-[0086]). Matzdorf et al. further discloses the coating may be used as primers (paragraph [0042]) and wherein the binder for the coating composition can be siloxane (paragraph [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use primer including aluminum alloy powder-pigments and polysiloxane as the organic primer coating of Moore et al. in order to impart additional corrosion resistance (Matzdorf et al., paragraph [0086]).
Moore et al. in view of Matzdorf et al. fails to teach the surfactant as claimed.
However, Lawless et al. teaches a corrosion inhibiting composition including a liquid carrier and an electrically conductive nanomaterial dispersed in the liquid carrier (See Abstract) and applied to a substrate such as aluminum (paragraph [0023]), wherein the liquid carrier includes a surfactant such as ethoxylated alcohol (paragraph [0038]), i.e. ethylene-oxide alcohol. Given the surfactant of Lawless et al. is identical to that presently claimed, the surfactant necessarily has surface-wettability-enhancing characteristics as presently claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use ethoxylated alcohol in the sol-gel coating of Moore et al. in view of Matzdorf et al. in order to achieve the desired surface tension (Lawless et al., paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Moore et al. teaches wherein the corrosion inhibitor has two or more thiol moieties (paragraphs [0041]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 6, note that because claim 5 is in the form of alternatives, and Matzdorf et al. teaches siloxane, it is not required that Matzdorf et al. meet the further limitation of the non-selected groups via subsequent dependent claims.
Regarding claim 8, Moore et al. teaches wherein the corrosion inhibitor is a mercaptothiadiazole (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Moore et al. teaches wherein the dimercaptothiadiazole is 2-amino-5-mercapto-1,3,4-thiadiazole, wherein at least one aspect, for example, the azole may be 2,5-dimercapto-1,3,4-thiadiazole (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Moore et al. teaches wherein the sol-gel coating has a concentration of the corrosion inhibitor of from about 0.1 wt % to about 50 wt % (paragraph [0077]). It is noted that Moore et al. discloses amounts of particles in weight percent while claims recite percent by volume. However, given that the amounts disclosed by Moore et al. overlaps those amounts claimed, respectively, it is clear that Moore et al. meets the ranges as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 11, Moore et al. teaches wherein the organosilane is glycidoxypropyltrimethoxy silane (paragraph [0035]), the acid is acetic acid (paragraph [0056]), and the metal alkoxide is zirconium propoxide (paragraph [0038]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 8-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, and 8-12 of copending Application No. 18143998. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a coated substrate.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 8-11, claims 1, 3-6, and 8-12 of copending claims are substantially identical aside from the amount of organic corrosion inhibitor. However, the range disclosed by the copending claim falls within the range presently claimed.
Further, regarding limitations recited in the patented claims not found in the present claims, these limitations are encompassed by the present claims given that the present claims use the open language of "comprising".
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended claim 1 to recite surfactant “having surface-wettability-enhancing characteristics” and overcame 35 USC 112(b) rejection of record.
Applicant argues that Moore does not disclose or suggest any component capable of providing surface wettability-enhancing characteristics, now expressly required by amended claim 1
It is agreed that Moore does not disclose surfactant as presently claimed which is why claim 1 is now rejected over Moore in view of Matzdorf and Lawless. Given the surfactant of Lawless et al. is identical to that presently claimed, the surfactant necessarily has surface-wettability-enhancing characteristics as presently claimed.
Applicant argues that Matzdorf does not disclose a sol-gel layer, adding any surfactant to a sol-gel coating, or any component having surface wettability-enhancing characteristics.
However, note that while Matzdorf does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Matzdorf is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely organic primer coating having a plurality of metal particles, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicant argues that Lawless does not disclose or suggest any surfactant or any compound having surface-active or wettability-enhancing characteristics. Lawless describes corrosion-inhibiting compositions that include a carrier liquid such as water or alcohols and optional additives but nowhere identifies or implies the presence of a surfactant.
However, Lawless explicitly states the carrier may be or may include a surfactant, such as ethoxylated alcohol (see paragraph [0038]) which is identical to that presently claimed and therefore, would necessarily have wettability-enhancing characteristics as presently claimed.
With respect to the double patenting rejection of record, Applicant argues that no primer coating is required in the independent claim.
However, in the amendment filed 07/14/25 of 18/143,998, claims 1, 2, and 3 disclose a primer coating and metal particles and now, in the amendment filed 02/12/2026, claim 1 includes a primer coating and along with claim 3 which discloses metal particles, would still meet present claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787