DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
This final office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/17/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11, and 21 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/17/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 and 103 rejections of claims 1-30 have been fully considered. The Applicant argues the following.
(1) As per the 101 rejection, the Applicant argues that the claims reflect an improvement of resolving a technical machine-to-machine communication problem caused by human-oriented websites and non-standard, hard-coded APIs by 1) providing an overlay to identify website spatial regions and website-structure portions, associate those portions with functions, and generate a function description model for machine use and 2) generating a machine- readable and machine-executable script directly from the association of website-structure portions with functions) is apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner maintains the position that the additional elements recited in the claims and listed in steps 2A(2) and 2B do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more because these additional elements do not improve the functioning of a computer beyond its original capacity nor improve upon another technology or technological component. The Applicant identifies the problem of machine-to-machine communication problem caused by human-oriented websites and non-standard, hard-coded APIs. The Applicant’s specification in paragraph [003] states that the issue is with the design and structure of APIs. However, it is not clear in the specification nor in the claims how this problem with the APIs is addressed. The solution provided by the Applicant’s claims is an automated process to assist a user in creating and designing a website. It’s not clear what technology or additional element recited in the claim addresses the machine-to-machine communication and API issue. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained.
(2) As per the 103 rejection, the Applicant argues, in summary, that the combination of Rathod and Lynch does not teach all the features recited in amended claims 1, 11, and 21.
The Examiner submits that based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims that the combination of prior art references Rathod and Lynch teach the limitations of amended claims 1, 11, and 21 as shown in the updated claim mappings below. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained. See details below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 05/29/2026 and 08/04/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Dependent claims 2, 12, and 22 recite the limitation of “wherein the addressable datasource is a website addressable via an http protocol” which is the same limitation recited in independent claims 1, 11, and 21. Therefore, claim 2, 12, and 22 fail to further limit the subject matter of independent claims 1, 11, and 21 upon which it depends and thus are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention, “Distributed Actor-Based Information System & Method”, is directed to an abstract idea, specifically Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, without significantly more. The claims as a whole do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually or in combination provide mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 1: Claims 1-30 are directed to a statutory category, namely a process (claims 1-10), a manufacture (claims 11-20), and a machine (claims 21-30).
Step 2A (1): Independent claims 1, 11, and 21 are directed to an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, based on the following claim limitations: “maintaining an addressable datasource that is capable of offering one or more skills and is capable of being associated with one or more distributed actors that enable access to the one or more skills…; in response to a user accessing the addressable datasource, identifying skills offered by the distributed actors associated with the addressable datasource, thus defining one or more associated distributed actors, wherein identifying skills offered by the distributed actors associated with the addressable datasource includes identifying the distributed actors associated with the addressable datasource from a plurality of distributed actors associated with a plurality of addressable datasources; defining one or more new distributed actors that enable access to the one or more offered skills…; associating the one or more existing interactive portions of the addressable datasource with the one or more functions of the addressable datasource…; providing previous content associated with the addressable datasource to the one or more associated distributed actors concerning a previous interaction between a distributed actor and the user to influence the performance of the respective skill, wherein the previous content includes a description of a previous interaction between the distributed actor and the user that is persisted following performance of a corresponding skill offered by the distributed actor.”. These claims describes facilitating an interaction between a user and a distributed actor via an addressable datasource for the performance of a skill, task, or function on behalf of the user. Dependent claims 2-10, 12-20, 22-30 further define the addressable datasource, user, distributed actors, and offered skills along with user and distributed actor interactions. These limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the abstract groupings of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity which encompasses managing interactions between people and commercial interactions. Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity can encompass the activity of a single person (e.g. a person following a set of instructions), activity that involve multiple people (e.g. a commercial interaction), and certain activity between a person and a computer (e.g. a method of anonymous loan shopping). Therefore, claims 1-30 as a whole are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Step 2A (2): The claims as a whole do not integrate this abstract idea into a practical application. In particular, claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15-19, 21-23, and 25-29 recite additional elements of “a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device; an addressable datasource; one or more distributed actors, wherein the group of distributed actors includes one or more non-human distributed actors that perform a respective skill without human intervention, wherein the addressable datasource is a website addressable via an http protocol; providing, via a user interface including an extension of a web browser, an overlay on the addressable datasource for the user to navigate the addressable datasource; providing, within the user interface, a list of one or more functions for visual identification within the addressable datasource; receiving, through the overlay, user identification of one or more spatial regions corresponding to one or more existing interactive portions of the addressable datasource; generating a machine-interpretable function description model of the addressable datasource that maps the one or more existing interactive portions to respective functions selected from the list of one or more functions of the addressable datasource; processing the machine-interpretable function description model of the addressable datasource, wherein the machine-interpretable function description model is configured to generate one or more machine-executable scripts directly from the association of the existing interactive portions with one or more functions, thereby enabling automated access to and utilization of the addressable datasource without human visual navigation (claims 1, 11, and 21) wherein the addressable datasource includes a website addressable via an http protocol (claims 2, 12, and 22); wherein the addressable datasource includes a data system that is addressable via a MAC address and/or a TCP-IP address (claims 3, 13, and 23); wherein the distributed actors include one or more of: a software platform; a software application; a virtual machine; and a web-based service (claims 5, 15, and 25); a computer program product residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (claim 11); and a computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations (claim 21)”. The Examiner evaluated the claims in light of the Applicant’s specification and determined that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims do not recite (a) an improvement to another technology or technical field and (b) an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself and (c) implementing the abstract idea with or by use of a particular machine, (d) effecting a particular transformation or reduction of an article, or (e) applying the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as computing devices that are used to facilitate an interaction between a user and a distributed actor (i.e. a computer). Limitations that recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea are not indicative of integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-30 as a whole do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and thus are not patent eligible.
Step 2B: The claims as a whole do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15-19, 21-23, and 25-29 recite additional elements of “a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device; an addressable datasource; one or more distributed actors, wherein the group of distributed actors includes one or more non-human distributed actors that perform a respective skill without human intervention, wherein the addressable datasource is a website addressable via an http protocol; providing, via a user interface including an extension of a web browser, an overlay on the addressable datasource for the user to navigate the addressable datasource; providing, within the user interface, a list of one or more functions for visual identification within the addressable datasource; receiving, through the overlay, user identification of one or more spatial regions corresponding to one or more existing interactive portions of the addressable datasource; generating a machine-interpretable function description model of the addressable datasource that maps the one or more existing interactive portions to respective functions selected from the list of one or more functions of the addressable datasource; processing the machine-interpretable function description model of the addressable datasource, wherein the machine-interpretable function description model is configured to generate one or more machine-executable scripts directly from the association of the existing interactive portions with one or more functions, thereby enabling automated access to and utilization of the addressable datasource without human visual navigation (claims 1, 11, and 21) wherein the addressable datasource includes a website addressable via an http protocol (claims 2, 12, and 22); wherein the addressable datasource includes a data system that is addressable via a MAC address and/or a TCP-IP address (claims 3, 13, and 23); wherein the distributed actors include one or more of: a software platform; a software application; a virtual machine; and a web-based service (claims 5, 15, and 25); a computer program product residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (claim 11); and a computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations (claim 21)”. These additional elements evaluated individually and in combination are viewed as mere instructions to apply or implement the facilitation of a user’s request (i.e. abstract idea) on a computer. Applying an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, claims 1-30 as a whole do not include individual or a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and thus are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathod (US 2018/0260481 A1) in view of Lynch et al. (US 2014/0164317 A1).
As per claims 1, 11, and 21 (Currently Amended), Rathod teaches a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising; a computer program product residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising; a computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations comprising (Rathod e.g. One or more embodiments described herein provide that methods, techniques, and actions performed by a computing device are performed programmatically, or as a computer-implemented method [0189]. FIG. 1 illustrates an example in-search structured content, actions & reactions and real-time communication system and searching platform, under an embodiment [0210]. System 100 can be implemented through software that operates on a portable computing device, such as a mobile computing device 110 [0210]. FIG. 2 illustrates an electronic device 200 implementing operations of the invention. In one embodiment, the electronic device 200 is a smartphone with a processor 230 in communication with a memory 236 [0222].):
Rathod teaches maintaining an addressable datasource offering one or more skills associated with one or more distributed actors that perform the one or more skills, wherein the group of distributed actors includes one or more non-human distributed actors that perform a respective skill without human intervention, wherein the addressable datasource is a website addressable via an http protocol; (Rathod e.g. FIG. 1 illustrates an example in-search structured content, actions & reactions and real-time communication system and searching platform, under an embodiment [0210]. FIG. 1 illustrates a gateway 120, a database 115 and a server 110 as separate entities,... [0211]. The server 110 stores database server 164, API server 162 and application server 160 which stores applications, modules, services, APIs, web services 136 including Structured Site/Website Management & Searching 151,...[0221]. In an embodiment the server(s) 110 associated database(s) or storage medium 115 maintains structured website or structured site's structure or data related to structured website or structured site or both [0244]. A website is a collection of related web pages, including multimedia content, typically identified with a common domain name, and published on at least one web server. Web pages are accessed and transported with the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), which may optionally employ encryption (HTTP Secure, HTTPS) to provide security and privacy for the user [0013]. In an embodiment structured site or website e.g. name "GUCCI" 452 having unique URL or link or namespace "/Gucci" (472) comprise protocol (http), a host-name (www.example.com)+"/Gucci"=full accessible path of URL is "http://www.example.com/Gucci") 1102 [0277]. In an embodiment server 110 Action & Reactions controls & GUIs, web services and Web Applications Store, for enabling structured site or website owner or user to search, match, view details, select, make payment, register, download, install, uninstall, subscribe, update, upgrade, customize, access one or more Action & Reactions controls & GUIs and Web Applications [0301].)
Rathod teaches in response to a user accessing the addressable datasource, identifying skills offered by the distributed actors associated with the addressable datasource, thus defining one or more associated distributed actors, wherein identifying skills offered by the distributed actors associated with the addressable datasource includes identifying the distributed actors associated with the addressable datasource from a plurality of distributed actors associated with a plurality of addressable datasources; (Rathod e.g. The present invention also relates to providing of a 'web search engine' that is designed to search for information on the World Wide Web. The search results are generally presented in a line of results often referred to as search engine results pages (SERPs). The information may be a mix of web pages, images, and other types of files [0021]. In an embodiment, searching users can communicate with search results associated contextual websites users or search results associated advertisers or enterprise users or websites users or advertisers or enterprise users can communicate with searching users [0022]. FIG. 1 illustrates an example in-search structured content, actions & reactions and real-time communication system and searching platform, under an embodiment. System 100 can be configured to communicate with one or more network services, databases, objects that coordinate, orchestrate or otherwise provide search results, search results associated structured contents or sites...[0210]. Gateway 120 may be configured to receive search requests from mobile devices 130/140 for searching and presenting structured contents with search result [0215]. Server module 151 of server 110 identifies identity of search result item associated website, webpage, source, account or user based on extracting worldwide or global unique identity domain name or host name or second level domain name from parsing search result item associated Uniform Resource Locator (URL) or web address of website or webpage. In an embodiment server module 153 identifies identity of registered user of server 110 and identify structured site or website 1490 based on matching said global unique identity in the form of unique domain name with said identified registered user associated stored website or domain name or hostname [0347].)
Rathod teaches defining one or more new distributed actors that enable access to the one or more offered skills by: providing, via a user interface including an extension of a web browser, an overlay on the addressable datasource for the user to navigate the addressable datasource; providing, within the user interface, a list of one or more functions for visual identification within the addressable datasource; receiving, through the overlay, user identification of one or more spatial regions corresponding to one or more existing interactive portions of the addressable datasource, and associating the one or more existing interactive portions of the addressable datasource with the one or more functions of the addressable datasource by generating a machine-interpretable function description model of the addressable datasource that maps the one or more existing interactive portions to respective functions selected from the list of one or more functions of the addressable datasource; and (Rathod e.g. Website builders are tools that typically allow the construction of websites without manual code editing. In other words, a website builder is a program, or tool, that helps you build a website [0012]. Websites can have many functions and can be used in various fashions; a website can be a personal website, a corporate website for a company, a government website, an organization website, etc. Websites are typically dedicated to a particular topic or purpose, ranging from entertainment and social networking to providing news and education [0013]. Web pages, which are the building blocks of websites, are documents, typically composed in plain text interspersed with formatting instructions of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML, XHTML). They may incorporate elements from other websites with suitable markup anchors [0013]. The user's application, often a web browser, renders the page content according to its HTML markup instructions onto a display terminal [0013]. A dynamic website is one that changes or customizes itself frequently and automatically. Server-side dynamic pages are generated "on the fly" by computer code that produces the HTML (CSS are responsible for appearance and thus, are static files). There are a wide range of software systems, such as CGI, Java Servlets and Java Server Pages (JSP), Active Server Pages and ColdFusion (CFML) that are available to generate dynamic web systems and dynamic sites [0013]. Various web application frameworks and web template systems are available for general-use programming languages like Perl, PHP, Python and Ruby to make it faster and easier to create complex dynamic websites. A server-side dynamic web page is a web page whose construction is controlled by an application server processing server-side scripts. In server-side scripting, parameters determine how the assembly of every new web page proceeds, including the setting up of more client-side processing [0013]. In an embodiment a program is written as a series of human understandable computer instructions that can be read by a compiler and linker, and translated into machine code so that a computer can understand and run it [0433]. FIG. 4 illustrates Graphical User Interface (GUI) of Structured Site or Website Management Application (Smart Client or Web enabled) 277 (In an embodiment of Structured Site or Website Management Application (Smart Client or Web enabled) 277 connected with server module 151 of sever 110) for enabling user or website owner or advertiser to create one or more types of named structured site or structured website [0250]. In an embodiment user can select or drag and drop one or more types of reactions controls or Graphical User Interface (GUIs) from list of reactions controls or Graphical User Interface (GUIs) 630 to associate with structured site or website including Like, Comment, Rate, I am Customer, I am Prospective Customer button or link or icon. For example, user selects "Like" to enable structured site or website viewing user to like said structured site or website [0263]. In an embodiment server module 151 stores said selected actions and reactions controls or Graphical User Interface (GUIs) with said structured site or website to database 115. In an embodiment server generates site and embedding or integrating said selected actions and reactions controls or Graphical User Interface (GUIs) with said structured site or website, so viewing user can click on said selected actions and reactions controls or Graphical User Interface (GUIs) with said structured site or website for taking actions or providing reactions and view associated structured information. In an embodiment user can preview said structured information or links of structured information [0265]. In an embodiment after configuring structured site or website (e.g. 472), user can preview 690, save 691 or remove 692 structured site or website associated said structured information, selected and added actions and reactions controls and Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs), named Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) and one or more web applications. In an embodiment server module 151 of server 110 stores said structured site or website associated said structured information, selected and added actions and reactions controls and Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs), named Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) and one or more web applications in database 115 for later retrieval, updates, management and publishing [0272]. FIG. 7 illustrates Graphical User Interface (GUI) of Structured Site or Website Management Application (Smart Client or Web enabled) 277 (In an embodiment of Structured Site or Website Management Application (Smart Client or Web enabled) 277 connected with server module 151 of sever 110) wherein user can preview, create, and update named structure information and one or more elements of structure site or website. User is enabling to add 785 or select 785 and remove 791 one or more actions and reaction controls or Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) e.g. 790. User can visually re-arrange position and move anywhere structured information 787 in structured page area 780. Likewise, user can visually re-arrange position and move anywhere webpage names 788 in named webpage link area 782. User is enabling to add 785 or select 785 and remove 791 one or more actions and reaction controls or Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) e.g. 790. User can visually re-arrange position and move anywhere one or more actions and reaction controls or Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) e.g. 790 in one or more actions and reaction controls or Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) area 784 [0273]. FIG. 8 illustrates exemplary web applications which can integrate with structured site or website. For example, flight booking online web application or smart client application or widget 815, hotel room booking online web application or smart client application or widget 835 and vehicle booking online web application or smart client application or widget 845 [0276]. In an embodiment a user can add or integrate in-page web application or smart client application 905 by providing in-page application name and Uniform Resource Locator (URL) or link, add selected one or more types of actions controls and Graphical User interface (GUIs) 945 and add selected reactions controls and Graphical User interface (GUIs) 940, named Uniform Resource Locator (URLs) 985 with said sub-page or sub-category 904 (Fig. 9 and [0277]). In an another embodiment the server 110 maintains various types of online web applications including hotel booking, ticket booking, air flight booking, cab booking, movie ticket booking, event booking, survey, poll, ordering, e-commerce, payment, subscribing of service(s), appointment, group deal, product catalogue, restaurant applications, web services, for enabling structured site or structured website owner or administrator to search, match, select, buy, customize, and add one or more web applications with structured site or structured website for making them available to their users [0291]. In an embodiment server 110 provides communication including chat, instant messaging, call, video call, and VOIP applications and services to enable structured site or structured website to integrate communication applications and service with structured site or structured website [0297].)
Rathod teaches processing the machine-interpretable function description model of the addressable datasource, wherein the machine-interpretable function description model is configured to generate one or more machine-executable scripts directly from the association of the existing interactive portions with one or more functions, thereby enabling automated access to and utilization of the addressable datasource without human visual navigation; and (Rathod e.g. A dynamic website is one that changes or customizes itself frequently and automatically. Server-side dynamic pages are generated "on the fly" by computer code that produces the HTML (CSS are responsible for appearance and thus, are static files). There are a wide range of software systems, such as CGI, Java Servlets and Java Server Pages (JSP), Active Server Pages and ColdFusion (CFML) that are available to generate dynamic web systems and dynamic sites [0013]. Various web application frameworks and web template systems are available for general-use programming languages like Perl, PHP, Python and Ruby to make it faster and easier to create complex dynamic websites. A server-side dynamic web page is a web page whose construction is controlled by an application server processing server-side scripts. In server-side scripting, parameters determine how the assembly of every new web page proceeds, including the setting up of more client-side processing [0013]. Present invention enables to create, promote and manage standardized, integrate-able, compact, social network or social attributes or social actions & reactions enabled, search engine friendly structured website including dynamically created domain, subject, feature, topic, and website specific structured information, structured pages, structured posts, website specific users actions, reactions, call-to-actions controls and GUIs, payment service, verification service, indexing service, standardized design, content posting, content presentation, user actions and reactions, deep data indexing and searching, categorization, standardized profile, in-search result standard presentation, standard advertisement, selling, marketing, boost and promotion [0017]. In an embodiment a program is written as a series of human understandable computer instructions that can be read by a compiler and linker, and translated into machine code so that a computer can understand and run it [0433]. In an embodiment automatically generating structured site or website, associated structured pages or categories, associated structured post based on type of structured site or website, name of structured site or website, domain name or host name, one or more categories, names of one or more structured pages, one or more categories of posts, selected and customized template or part of template including type of structured information to generate structured information or type of contents including product, service, information, advertisement, offer, event, application, album, slideshow, carousal, canvas, forms including profile, menu, survey, event, poll based on data in relational database, one or more types of files including photos, videos, icons, objects, controls and Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) including actions and reactions controls and Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs), named Uniform Resource Locators (URLs), web application, map & directions, preferences, settings, privacy settings, rules, wherein post or one or more types of content comprise photo, video, voice, text, location or place information, date & time, emoticons, profile link, Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) or named Uniform Resource Locators (URLs), structured information, actions and reactions controls and Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) and any combination thereof [0059].)
Rathod does not explicitly teach, however, Lynch teaches providing previous content associated with the addressable datasource to the one or more associated distributed actors concerning a previous interaction between a distributed actor and the user to influence the performance of the respective skill, wherein the previous content includes a description of a previous interaction between the distributed actor and the user that is persisted following performance of a corresponding skill offered by the distributed actor. (Lynch e.g. Systems, methods, and apparatus for use with at least one virtual agent. In some embodiments, at least one processor is programmed to store a receipt for an interaction between the at least one virtual agent and one or more users, wherein the receipt comprises at least some information provided by the one or more users to the at least one virtual agent during the interaction (Abstract). Some virtual agents are programmed to assist a user in performing various tasks. For example, a virtual agent may be programmed to send electronic messages, make appointments, place phone calls, and get directions. In completing such tasks, the virtual agent may interact with other applications (e.g., an email client) and may search for information either locally (e.g., from a user's electronic address book) or via one or more networks (e.g., from the World Wide Web, or the Web) [0002]. In some embodiments in which a virtual agent is injected into a multiparty conversation, the virtual agent may glean information from portions of the conversation that took place before the invocation of the virtual agent and/or portions that take place after the invocation. For instance, in a restaurant search example, a first user may express a preference for a particular location prior to invoking the virtual agent, while a second user may ask the virtual agent to limit the restaurant search to a certain price range after the virtual agent has been injected into the conversation [0026]. In some embodiments, the virtual agent may combine the use of preference information for one or more users with the use of information gleaned from the conversation in making a recommendation [0027]. In accordance with some embodiments, a virtual agent may be programmed to use a record of a multiparty conversation in formulating a task to be performed and/or in performing the task [0036]. For instance, in some embodiments, the virtual agent may be programmed to analyze what was communicated by the participants in the conversation (e.g., during an IM session) prior to the virtual agent being invoked to determine or interpret what the virtual agent is asked to do for the participants [0036]. In some further embodiments, the virtual agent may be programmed to glean from the conversation history information that may be relevant for the requested task. For instance, in the above restaurant recommendation example, the virtual agent may be programmed to analyze the conversation history to determine whether the participants indicated any preferences for location, time, type of cuisine, price range, etc., or anything else that may inform the virtual agent's recommendation [0036]. In accordance with some embodiments, a virtual agent may be programmed to use a record of a prior virtual agent interaction to facilitate formulating a task to be performed and/or performing the task [0040]. In an illustrative scenario, a user may wish to invoke the virtual agent to modify one or more aspects of a previously performed task. For instance, the user may have previously invoked the same virtual agent or a different virtual agent to recommend a restaurant in a certain neighborhood and may later wish to change to a different neighborhood, while all other details (e.g., date, time, type of food, list of attendees, etc.) remain the same [0040]. It should be appreciated that the virtual agent may be programmed to analyze any suitable types of records of previous interactions, such as a full discussion thread between the virtual agent and one or more users, or an abridged version containing the virtual agent's previous recommendation and/or one or more pieces of salient information [0041]. In accordance with some embodiments, a record may be stored for an interaction between a virtual agent and one or more users [0051]. Having a record of the prior interaction may facilitate the virtual agent making a recommendation. For instance, in some embodiments, the user may modify the record of the previous interaction (e.g., by adding, modifying, and/or removing information) and provide the modified record to the virtual agent to request a new recommendation, without having to recreate the interaction or otherwise manually input all information desired to be provided to the virtual agent [0051].)
The Examiner submits that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rathod’s communication system and searching platform to include a virtual agent distributed actor that is provided previous content concerning a previous interaction between a distributed actor and the user to influence the performance of the respective skill as taught by Lynch in order to continually improve the virtual agent’s performance and improve user experience (Lynch e.g. [0157] and [0153]).
As per claims 2, 12, and 22 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 11, and the computing system of claim 21, Rathod teaches wherein the addressable datasource includes a website addressable via an http protocol. (Rathod e.g. A website is a collection of related web pages, including multimedia content, typically identified with a common domain name, and published on at least one web server. Web pages are accessed and transported with the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), which may optionally employ encryption (HTTP Secure, HTTPS) to provide security and privacy for the user [0013]. In an embodiment structured site or website e.g. name "GUCCI" 452 having unique URL or link or namespace "/Gucci" (472) comprise protocol (http), a host-name (www.example.com)+"/Gucci"=full accessible path of URL is "http://www.example.com/Gucci") 1102 [0277].)
As per claims 3, 13, and 23 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 11, and the computing system of claim 21, Rathod teaches wherein the addressable datasource includes a data system that is addressable via a MAC address and/or a TCP-IP address (Rathod e.g. A website may be accessible via a public Internet Protocol (IP) network, such as the Internet, or a private local area network (LAN), by referencing a uniform resource locator (URL) that identifies the site [0013]. In an embodiment structured site or structured website is identified by domain name, Uniform Resource Locator (URL) or web address, namespace, one or more types of unique identity including e-mail address, user identity, GUID, phone number, auto generated unique identity, current website's related domain name or host name,...[0243].).
As per claims 4, 14, and 24 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 11, and the computing system of claim 21, Rathod teaches wherein the user is a human user (Rathod e.g. Currently Google™ search engine enables searching user to search for information on the World Wide Web. Google ranking systems sort through hundreds of billions of webpages in the Search index to give searching user useful and relevant results [0004]. Searching user may be a customer or prospective customer (i.e. human) [0022]. FIG. 1 illustrates an example in-search structured content, actions & reactions and real-time communication system and searching platform, under an embodiment [0210]. Fig. 1 system may include a searching user device or mobile devices 130/140 and website owner or website user device or mobile devices 135/145 [0212].)
As per claims 5, 15, and 25 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 11, and the computing system of claim 21, Rathod teaches wherein the distributed actors include one or more of: a software platform; a software application; a virtual machine; and a web-based service (Rathod e.g. In an another embodiment the server 110 maintains various types of online web applications including hotel booking, ticket booking, air flight booking, cab booking, movie ticket booking, event booking, survey, poll, ordering, e-commerce, payment, subscribing of service(s), appointment, group deal, product catalogue, restaurant applications, web services, for enabling structured site or structured website owner or administrator to search, match, select, buy, customize, and add one or more web applications with structured site or structured website for making them available to their users [0291].).
As per claims 6, 16, and 26 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 11, and the computing system of claim 21, Rathod teaches wherein the distributed actors interact, directly or indirectly, with one or more distributed sub-actors (Rathod e.g. System 100 can be configured to communicate with one or more network services, databases, objects that coordinate, orchestrate or otherwise provide search results, search results associated structured contents or sites...[0210]. Additionally, the mobile computing device can integrate third-party services which enable further functionality through system 100 [0210].).
As per claims 7, 17, and 27 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 11, and the computing system of claim 21, further comprising: Rathod teaches enabling the user to define one or more new distributed actors that enable access to the one or more offered skills (Rathod e.g. FIG. 8 illustrates exemplary web applications which can integrate with structured site or website. For example Flight booking online web application or smart client application or widget 815, hotel room booking online web application or smart client application or widget 835 and vehicle booking online web application or smart client application or widget 845 [0276]. User can add or create one or more web applications or smart client applications 1155...add or integrate one or more types of services including payment service, verification service, sign-in or sign-up service, notification service, messaging service, and translation service 1245 and any combination thereof [0284].).
As per claims 8, 18, and 28 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 7, the computer program product of claim 17, and the computing system of claim 27, Rathod teaches wherein the one or more new distributed actors may include one or more of: publicly available new distributed actors; and privately available new distributed actors (Rathod e.g. User can add or create one or more web applications or smart client applications 1155...add or integrate one or more types of services including payment service, verification service, sign-in or sign-up service, notification service, messaging service, and translation service 1245 and any combination thereof [0284]. In an embodiment enabling admin of structured site or website to provide one or more types of settings 1297 including make published structured site or website or one or more structured pages or sub-pages of structured site or website or one or more structured posts as un-published...allow to subscribe notification service to notify about new updates to subscribers,...allow to access only registered users or logged-in users or subscribers or members,...[0309]. Web search engine is using web crawlers to organize information from webpages and other publicly available content in the Search index [0312].).
As per claims 9, 19, and 29 (Original), Rathod in view of Lynch teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the computer program product of claim 11, and the computing system of claim 21, further comprising: Rathod teaches enabling the user to define one or more new offered skills to be offered by the addressable datasource (Rathod e.g. FIG. 7 illustrates Graphical User Interface (GUI) of Structured Site or Website Management Application (Smart Client or Web enabled) 277 (In an embodiment of Structured Site or Website Management Application (Smart Client or Web enabled) 277 connected with server module 151 of sever 110) wherein user can preview, create, and update named structure information and one or more elements of structure site or website. User is enabling to add 785 or select 785 and remove 791 one or more actions and reaction controls or Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) e.g. 790 [0273].)
As per claims 10, 20, and 30 (Original), Rathod teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, the computer program product of claim 17, and the computing system of claim 27, Rathod teaches wherein the one or more new offered skills may include one or more of: publicly available new offered skills; and privately available new offered skills (Rathod e.g. FIG. 13 illustrates shows exemplary types of structured information and structured posts. For example user can add product by providing one or more types of structured information including...add offers or group deals 1309, type or categories of product or service,...and checkout URL 1320 related to one or more products. User can add buy or order button 1322 with product post or subscribe button with service post [0310]. In an embodiment each of registered user or account with server 110 gets a unique monitoring code when they activate their account, wherein monitoring code makes possible for the server module 154 of server 110 to identify and monitor visitors on said website, automatic display of live instant messenger or chat or application (discussed in FIG. 18) on their website [0349].).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624