DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noual (“Surface Acoustic Waves-Localized Plasmon Interaction in Pillared Photonic Crystals”) in view of Witte (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0354026 A1).
Noual teaches, as in claim 1, an apparatus comprising an optical structure (Page 3, first paragraph “optomechanical structures”) having one or more sub-wavelength features (Fig. 1a; Page 5, paragraph 3 “square array of gold nanocylinders) disposed on a substrate (Fig. 1a; Page 5, paragraph 3,“substrate made of silicon”), wherein each feature has one or more corresponding plasmon resonances (“localized surface plasmon (LSP) waves supported by small metallic nanoparticles”, Page 3, paragraph 2); and an acoustic transducer (Page 4, paragraph 2 “interdigital transducers”) configured to provide an acoustic excitation (Page 4, paragraph 2 “Lamb waves”) to the optical structure; wherein each feature has an optical spectral response that can be altered by the acoustic excitation via modulation of the corresponding plasmon resonances (Abstract, “modulated by surface acoustic waves due to deformation of the structure in the vicinity of the pillars”), Noual fails to teach wherein the optical structure is configured as an optical metasurface including two or more sub-wavelength features disposed on a substrate; wherein the optical metasurface is configured to manipulate properties of incident light responsive to the acoustic excitation; wherein the properties of the incident light are manipulated with spatial variation by the acoustic excitation. In a related art, Witte teaches wherein the optical structure is configured as an optical metasurface (1014) including two or more sub-wavelength features (Fig. 12) disposed on a substrate the layer 1014 sits on); wherein the optical metasurface (1014) is configured to manipulate properties of incident light responsive to the acoustic excitation (1004), wherein the properties of the incident light are manipulated with spatial variation by the acoustic excitation (¶0092 “a modulation, which is the result of the diffraction 1016 of the acoustic wave (AW)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical structure, as taught by Noual, with the piezoelectric, as taught by Witte, for the purpose of providing distinct acoustic diffraction orders can be expected at pre-defined angles (¶0097).
Noual teaches, as in claim 3, wherein each feature includes a metal-dielectric-metal layer stack (Abstract and Fig. 1a) having a gap defined by the dielectric (Page 8, first paragraph “the spacer layer situated right underneath the gold nanocylinder acts as an effective cavity”), and wherein the plasmon resonances of each feature are affected by the corresponding gaps (Page 8, first paragraph “the cavity oscillates together with the cylinder with some volume deformation occurring, especially along the axis; the deformation is much weaker than those of modes (3) and (8), so should be the plasmon-phonon coupling magnitude”).
Noual teaches, as in claim 7, wherein the apparatus is configured to provide characterization of elastic properties of the sub-wavelength features (Page 5, paragraph 3 “the elastic properties of which are represented by a Young’s modulus of E=2.5G Pa”).
Noual teaches, as in claim 8, wherein the apparatus is configured to provide an optical functionality selected from the group consisting of optical modulation (Abstract, “light modulation”).
Noual teaches, as in claim 9, wherein the acoustic excitation is selected from the group consisting of Lamb waves (Page 4, paragraph 2 “Lamb waves”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noual (“Surface Acoustic Waves-Localized Plasmon Interaction in Pillared Photonic Crystals”) in view of Witte (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0354026 A1) and in further view of Favalora (US Patent Number 11,243,450 B2).
Noual and Witte fail to teach, as in claim 4, wherein the substrate is piezoelectric. In a related art, Favalora teaches an optical structure (32) wherein the substrate (36) is piezoelectric (Col 4. Lines 52-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical structure, as taught by Noual Witte, with the piezoelectric, as taught by Favalora, for the purpose of providing an optical power component for directing light from optical modulators (Col. 3, lines 7-8).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noual (“Surface Acoustic Waves-Localized Plasmon Interaction in Pillared Photonic Crystals”) in view of Witte (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0354026 A1) and in further view of in view of Valette (EP Patent Number 0620470 A1).
Noual fails to teach, as in claim 5, wherein the acoustic excitation includes acoustic signals having one or more distinct periods. In a related art, Valette teaches an optical device wherein the acoustic excitation includes acoustic signals (20) having one or more distinct periods (See the distinct periods in in the wave 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical structure, as taught by Noual, with the distinct periods, as taught by Valette, for the purpose of providing an acoustic wave is strongly diffracted, (Col. 3, lines 7-8).
Noual fails to teach, as in claim 6, wherein the one or more distinct periods are in one or more different lateral directions. In s related art, Valette teaches an optical device wherein the one or more distinct periods are in one or more different lateral directions. (See the distinct periods in in the wave 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical structure, as taught by Noual, with the distinct periods, as taught by Valette, for the purpose of providing an acoustic wave is strongly diffracted (Col. 3, lines 7-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
11 June 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872