DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicant presented no arguments against the Double Patenting rejections. The rejections are still considered proper.
The objection to claim 5 has been withdrawn as the offending language was previously cancelled from the claim.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/2026 regarding the 102 rejections of claims 2 and 18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Examiner’s interpretation of “predetermined time period” is unreasonable. However, the applicant’s original specification never explicitly uses the phrase “predetermine time period.” The phrase “tolerance time” appears to be equivalent to the claimed “predetermined time period.” Paragraph [84] of the original specification states that the “tolerance time” is any amount time that a WCD system would tolerate neither analyzing the patient, nor alerting them. Therefore, the Examiner’s interpretation is perfectly in line with the applicant’s original specification, as during the period of time of the noise determination test, the WCD system of Sullivan does not perform the shock criterion test (“analyzing the patient”) nor does it provide any alerts.
The claims DO NOT recite that the time period is fixed or is a specific temporal duration, as argued by the applicant. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
All previous rejections are still considered proper and new claims 25 and 26 are addressed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“support structure” in claim 18, which encompasses the structures discloses in par. 24 of the original specification.
“energy storage module” in claim 18, which is a capacitor as disclosed in par. 56 of the original specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,103,717. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all limitations of the current claims, but do not explicitly disclose delaying the determination of a shock criterion until identifying if a high-amplitude noise criterion is met. However, claim 1 of the ‘717 patent discloses that the shock should be discharged ONLY when the noise detection has been completed, even if the shock criterion is met. Therefore, it makes no sense to determine if the shock criterion is met before performing the noise detection, as it makes no difference if the shock criterion is met if there is noise in the signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to save battery and processing power by delaying shock determination until noise determination is compete, as suggested by the patented claims.
Claims 2, 5, 7-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,023,510. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all limitations of the current claims, but do not explicitly disclose delaying the determination of a shock criterion until identifying if a high-amplitude noise criterion is met. However, claim 1 of the ‘510 patent discloses that the shock should be discharged ONLY when the noise detection has been completed, even if the shock criterion is met. Therefore, it makes no sense to determine if the shock criterion is met before performing the noise detection, as it makes no difference if the shock criterion is met if there is noise in the signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to save battery and processing power by delaying shock determination until noise determination is compete, as suggested by the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 5, 7, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan et al. (US 2015/0328472, hereinafter Sullivan).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Sullivan discloses a WCD with support structure 170, an energy storage module 250, a discharge circuit 255 and electrodes 204/208 (figures 1 and 2). Sullivan discloses sensing ECG signals from the electrodes while the patient is wearing the support structure (par. 0043-0044). Sullivan discloses determining if at least one segment of the ECG signal meet a high-amplitude noise criterion and discarding that signal(s). A shock criterion test is delayed until the noise criterion test is performed (i.e., a predetermined time). When at least one segment of the ECG signal meets the noise criterion and is discarded and at least one segment of the ECG signal does not meet the criterion and is not discarded, then the shock criterion test is performed and if a shock criterion is determined to be met, then a shock is delivered (see abstract, par. 0007, 0044, 0071, 0095).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the high-amplitude noise criterion is met when at least one portion has an amplitude high enough to be indicative of noise but not high enough to register as an R-wave (par. 0087).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Sullivan discloses that the user interface displays what is detected, which would include any ECG meeting the noise criterion (par. 0031).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 and 14-17 would be allowable if Terminal Disclaimers were filed to overcome the double patenting rejections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3, 19, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 22-24 are allowed.
Conclusion
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796