DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the 112 rejection of “the receiver” has not been corrected and further clarification has been disclosed by the examiner with a picture disclosing their interpretation of “line 8”. Further the secondary reference Manolakos does disclose transmitting the positioning measurement for location of the UE. Within figures 10 and 11 along with their corresponding paragraphs, a target UE triggers PRSs from assisting UEs that include information such as [0116], “The length of time between reception of the ranging signal from the assisting UE 1002 and the transmission of the responding ranging signal by the target UE 1004 is referred to as “T.sub.UE2,Rx-Tx,”. In the previous office action paragraphs [0144] and [0145] are steps of figure 14 in which a UE performs this positioning procedure in figures 10 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the receiver" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3-16 are also rejected based on the dependencies of claim 1.
(NOTE: the examiner’s interpretation of line 8 in the previous office action is depicted as:
. As currently written the claim still falls under antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 7-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (US 20230319951 A1, hereinafter Cai) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (US 20210297206 A1, hereinafter Manolakos).
Regarding claims 1 and 20 Cai discloses: A User equipment (UE) comprising: a processor and a transmitter, configured to transmit a first message on sidelink, (Paragraph [0119], “In this case, the transmitting terminal device may also be a receiving terminal device.” And Paragraph [0017], “the first terminal device receives a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a MAC PDU sent by the second terminal device, and SCI corresponding to the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or the MAC PDU indicates at least two resources…” Like described in the specs the SCI here could be the first message transmitted.)
The processor and the receiver configured to monitor Sidelink Control Information (SCI) during an active time of a sidelink Discontinuous Reception (DRX) period; (Paragraph [0143], “the terminal device may monitor the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or the SC in the sidelink DRX active time. Sidelink DRX may be sidelink DRX of the receiving terminal device…” and Paragraph [0176], “if a terminal device receives a PSCCH or SCI indicating new sidelink data transmission in sidelink DRX active time, the terminal device starts or restarts drx-InactivityTimerPC5…” The terminal monitors the sidelink channels for new SCI.)
wherein the active time of the sidelink DRX period comprises a first time resource, and the first time resource depends on a transmission time of the first message. The processor and a receiver configured to detect a first SCI during the active time of the sidelink DRX period; (Paragraph [0237], “the sidelink DRX active time of the second terminal device may include running time of drx-onDurationTimerPC5 and drx-InactivityTimerPC5.” And paragraph [0144], “The terminal device may determine a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource of PSSCH transmission based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in the SCI…” This first time resource is based on info included in the SCI.)
processor and transmitter and receiver (Claim 51, “A first terminal device, comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory” and Fig. 3 shows the devices transmitting and receiving.)
Cai does not disclose:
the first message being used to trigger a first signal;
the processor and a receiver configured to receive the first signal through sidelink, wherein the first SCI is used to determine time-domain resources occupied by the first signal, and wherein the first signal is a physical layer reference signal dedicated for positioning
The transmitter configured to transmit a second message, the second message comprising location information, the location information being based on a measurement performed on the first signal;
However, Manolakos does disclose:
the first message being used to trigger a first signal; (Paragraph [0143], “the target UE transmits a request to perform a positioning procedure (e.g., RTT) to at least one assisting UE” and Fig. 13 and 14. The UE transmits a request to a second UE, the second UE uses the SCI to determine the PRS a signal used for positioning (triggered by the request).)
the processor and a receiver configured to receive the first signal through sidelink, wherein the first SCI is used to determine time-domain resources occupied by the first signal, and wherein the first signal is a physical layer reference signal dedicated for positioning (Paragraph [0128], “the target UE transmits the location request to the assisting UEs over sidelinks established with the respective assisting UEs, and the assisting UEs can select ranging signal (e.g., SL-PRS) time/frequency resources without coordinating with the network. The assisting UEs then send sidelink transmissions to the target UE that include the selected ranging signal configuration in the chosen subchannel.” And paragraph [0130], “an assisting UE chooses SL-PRS resources based on a deterministic function of various parameters (described below) derived relative to either the time/frequency resources carrying the SCI-1/SCI-2 that contains the assisting UE's response to a location request” The target UE receives the SL-PRS from assisting UE through sidelink.)
The processor and the transmitter configured to transmit a second message, the second message comprising location information, the location information being based on a measurement performed on the first signal; (Paragraph [0139], “the assisting UE receives a request to perform a positioning procedure (e.g., RTT) from a target UE.” And paragraph [0115], “A UE may use round-trip-time (RTT) positioning techniques with multiple other UEs or RSUs to determine its location based on ranging signals to/from, and the known locations of, the other involved UEs/RSUs.” And (paragraph [0120], “the first assisting UE 1102 transmits a ranging signal (e.g., SL-PRS) that is received at the target UE 1104 after some propagation time T.sub.prop,UE1-UE2. The ranging signal is also received/measured at the second assisting UE 1106 after some propagation time T.sub.prop,UE1-UE3.” And (paragraph [0122], “The second assisting UE 1106 determines the time difference between the ToA of the ranging signal transmitted by the first assisting UE 1102 and the ToA of the response ranging signal transmitted by the target UE 1104, referred to as T.sub.UE-RX-UE-RX, or more simply, T.sub.Rx-Rx. The second assisting UE 1106 sends a measurement report to the positioning entity (e.g., target UE 1104) reporting the T.sub.UE-RX-UE-RX measurement.” And Figs. 10 and 11. The disclose steps involve the target UE trying to determine its location/position by requesting(triggering) a first signal (SL PRS from another UE). This is disclosed in figure 11 which is showing an example timing of ETT signals (TOA involved as per specification), however, figure 10 and its corresponding paragraphs discusses the calculation to find the location of the target through the delays and other parameters.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cai in view of Manolakos to implement a PRS for positioning. One would have been motivated to do this to have lower latency and further support V2X.
Regarding claims 7-10 Cai discloses:
The processor and the receiver are further configured to receive a second signal on sidelink, wherein the first message is used to trigger the second signal; (Paragraph [0017], “the first terminal device receives a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a MAC PDU sent by the second terminal device, and SCI corresponding to the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or the MAC PDU indicates at least two resources…” And Paragraph [0264], “If the second terminal device receives new SCI (including a second-level SCI) transmitted on a scheduling sidelink, a source layer-1 ID included in the SCI is the same as a layer-1 ID of the first terminal device, and a destination layer-1 ID included in the SCI is the same as a layer-1 ID of the second terminal device…” As mentioned above the signals on sidelink could be PRS.)
a reception of the second signal is later than a reception of the first signal; (Paragraph [0264], “If the second terminal device receives new SCI (including a second-level SCI) transmitted on a scheduling sidelink, a source layer-1 ID included in the SCI is the same as a layer-1 ID of the first terminal device, and a destination layer-1 ID included in the SCI is the same as a layer-1 ID of the second terminal device…” Since the signal is carried on pscch or pssch mentioned above a reception of a new or second sci could also carry a reception of another signal later than the previous.)
the location information is based on a measurement performed on the second signal; (Paragraph [0120], “The SL-CSI report MAC CE includes a channel quality indicator (channel quality indicator, CQI)” The MAC CE has the quality indicator which can be used as measurement as signal strength can be used to find the location information defined in the specs.)
and the first time resource depends on one of a transmission time or a reception time of the second signal. (Paragraph [0237], “the sidelink DRX active time of the second terminal device may include running time of drx-onDurationTimerPC5 and drx-InactivityTimerPC5.” And paragraph [0144], “The terminal device may determine a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource of PSSCH transmission based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in the SCI…” This first time resource is based on info included in the SCI.)
Regarding claims 11-14 Cai does not disclose:
The processor and the transmitter are further configured to transmit third signal on sidelink, and the third signal being used to determine a location of the UE; wherein the third signal being physical-layer reference signals.
However, Manolakos does disclose:
The processor and the transmitter are further configured to transmit third signal on sidelink, and the third signal being used to determine a location of the UE; (Paragraph [0145], “the target UE transmits the one or more positioning reference signals to the at least one assisting UE via the set of time and/or frequency resources.”)
wherein the third signal being physical-layer reference signals. (Paragraph [0145], “the target UE transmits the one or more positioning reference signals to the at least one assisting UE via the set of time and/or frequency resources.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cai in view of Manolakos to implement a PRS for positioning. One would have been motivated to do this to have lower latency and further support V2X.
Regarding claim 15 Cai discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the second message comprises a first timestamp, the first timestamp is referenced to a timing of a third UE, i.e., a UE other than the first UE and a transmitter of the first signal. (Paragraph [0155], “The communication system includes a network device 301, a first terminal device 302, and a plurality of second terminal devices that perform sidelink communication with the first terminal device 302.” And paragraph [0470], “a determining module 701, configured to determine a first time period, where the first time period belongs to sidelink DRX active time of a second terminal device, and the second terminal device is a device that performs sidelink communication with a first terminal device...” The plurality of second terminal devices could include this third UE with its time period.)
Regarding claim 16 Cai discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first time-frequency resource is unrelated to whether an onduration timer, an inactivity timer and a retransmission timer for the sidelink DRX is running. (Paragraph [0144], “The terminal device may determine a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource of PSSCH transmission based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in the SCI, and resources of PSCCH transmission.” It does not matter what the timers are doing because the information comes from the SCI and other resources.)
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cai and Manolakos in view of Babaei (US 20230328843 A1, hereinafter Babaei).
Regarding claims 3-4 Cai discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first message is Media Access Control (MAC) layer control information; (Paragraph [0017], “the first terminal device receives a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a MAC PDU sent by the second terminal device, and SCI corresponding to the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or the MAC PDU indicates at least two resources…” And paragraph [0120], “…a MAC PDU of sidelink communication may include one or more of a MAC control element (control element, CE), data of a sidelink control channel (sidelink control channel, SCCH), and data of a sidelink traffic channel (sidelink control channel, STCH).” MAC PDU which contains MAC CE is a type of MAC layer control information.)
a MAC Protocol Data Unit (PDU) comprises the first message; (Paragraph [0017], “the first terminal device receives a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a MAC PDU sent by the second terminal device, and SCI corresponding to the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or the MAC PDU indicates at least two resources…” And paragraph [0120], “…a MAC PDU of sidelink communication may include one or more of a MAC control element (control element, CE), data of a sidelink control channel (sidelink control channel, SCCH), and data of a sidelink traffic channel (sidelink control channel, STCH).” MAC PDU which contains MAC CE is a type of MAC layer control information.)
Cai and Manolakos does not disclose:
the MAC PDU comprises a MAC sub-header, a first field of the MAC sub-header comprises N1 bit(s) of a first identity of the UE, and a second field of the MAC sub-header comprises N2 bit(s) of a second identity;
the first identity of the UE and the second identity are respectively link-layer identities, and the first identity of the UE and the second identity respectively comprise N bits, N being greater than N1, N being greater than N2;
the second identity is related to a transmitter of the first signal.
However, Babaei does disclose:
the MAC PDU comprises a MAC sub-header, a first field of the MAC sub-header comprises N1 bit(s) of a first identity of the UE, and a second field of the MAC sub-header comprises N2 bit(s) of a second identity; (Paragraph [0046], “The Source Layer-2 ID may be 24 bits long and may be split in the MAC layer into two bit strings: One bit string may be the LSB part (8 bits) of Source Layer-2 ID and forwarded to physical layer of the sender. This may identify the source of the intended data in sidelink control information and may be used for filtering of packets at the physical layer of the receiver; and the Second bit string may be the MSB part (16 bits) of the Source Layer-2 ID and may be carried within the Medium Access Control (MAC) header… the Destination Layer-2 ID may be 24 bits long and may be split in the MAC layer into two bit strings: One bit string may be the LSB part (16 bits) of Destination Layer-2 ID and forwarded to physical layer of the sender. This may identify the target of the intended data in sidelink control information and may be used for filtering of packets at the physical layer of the receiver; and the Second bit string may be the MSB part (8 bits) of the Destination Layer-2 ID and may be carried within the MAC header. This may be used for filtering of packets at the MAC layer of the receiver.” This paragraph discusses the source and destination layer-2 ID, which from the specs could be these ID.)
the first identity of the UE and the second identity are respectively link-layer identities, and the first identity of the UE and the second identity respectively comprise N bits, N being greater than N1, N being greater than N2;
(Paragraph [0046], “The Source Layer-2 ID may be 24 bits long and may be split in the MAC layer into two bit strings: One bit string may be the LSB part (8 bits) of Source Layer-2 ID and forwarded to physical layer of the sender. This may identify the source of the intended data in sidelink control information and may be used for filtering of packets at the physical layer of the receiver; and the Second bit string may be the MSB part (16 bits) of the Source Layer-2 ID and may be carried within the Medium Access Control (MAC) header… the Destination Layer-2 ID may be 24 bits long and may be split in the MAC layer into two bit strings: One bit string may be the LSB part (16 bits) of Destination Layer-2 ID and forwarded to physical layer of the sender. This may identify the target of the intended data in sidelink control information and may be used for filtering of packets at the physical layer of the receiver; and the Second bit string may be the MSB part (8 bits) of the Destination Layer-2 ID and may be carried within the MAC header. This may be used for filtering of packets at the MAC layer of the receiver.” Both of these identities comprises N1 and N2 bits and its combination, N, is greater than each of them.)
the second identity is related to a transmitter of the first signal. (Paragraph [0046], “The Source Layer-2 ID may be 24 bits long and may be split in the MAC layer into two bit strings: One bit string may be the LSB part (8 bits) of Source Layer-2 ID and forwarded to physical layer of the sender. This may identify the source of the intended data in sidelink control information and may be used for filtering of packets at the physical layer of the receiver; and the Second bit string may be the MSB part (16 bits) of the Source Layer-2 ID and may be carried within the Medium Access Control (MAC) header.” The identity related to the transmitter is the source layer ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined teachings of Cai and Manolakos in view of Babaei for further clarification of these link layer identities and have more detailed information of the bits.
Note: Although Cai does not disclose the bits that make up these identities in the same detail like N being comprised of N1 and N2, Cai’s paragraph [0143], “A layer-1 ID is 8 LSB (least significant bits) of a layer-2 ID. That is, the layer-1 ID is the 8 least significant bits of the layer-2 ID. That is, the source layer-1 ID is 8 LSB of the source layer-2 ID, and the destination layer-1 ID is 8 LSB of the destination layer-2 ID.” Does mention layer-1 id with 8 LSB.
Regarding claims 5-6 Cai discloses:
wherein the first message is an SCI; (Paragraph [0017], “the first terminal device receives a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a MAC PDU sent by the second terminal device, and SCI corresponding to the PSCCH, the PSSCH, or the MAC PDU indicates at least two resources…” The first terminal receives SCI.)
the first message comprises N2 bit(s) of a first identity of the first UE, and the first message comprises N1 bit(s) of a second identity; (Paragraph [0013], “the SCI includes any one or more of a source address layer-1 identifier source layer-1 ID, a destination address layer-1 identifier destination layer-1 ID, or a cast type cast type, and the cast type is used to indicate broadcast communication, groupcast communication, or unicast communication.” And paragraph [0143], “A layer-1 ID is 8 LSB (least significant bits) of a layer-2 ID. That is, the layer-1 ID is the 8 least significant bits of the layer-2 ID. That is, the source layer-1 ID is 8 LSB of the source layer-2 ID, and the destination layer-1 ID is 8 LSB of the destination layer-2 ID.”)
the second identity is related to a transmitter of the first signal. (Paragraph [0013], “the SCI includes any one or more of a source address layer-1 identifier source layer-1 ID, a destination address layer-1 identifier destination layer-1 ID, or a cast type cast type, and the cast type is used to indicate broadcast communication, groupcast communication, or unicast communication.” The SCI includes the source layer-1 which is related to the transmitter.)
Cai does not disclose:
the first identity of the UE and the second identity are respectively link-layer identities, and the first identity of the UE and the second identity respectively comprise N bits, N being greater than N1, N being greater than N2;
However, Babaei does disclose:
the first identity of the UE and the second identity are respectively link-layer identities, and the first identity of the UE and the second identity respectively comprise N bits, N being greater than N1, N being greater than N2;
(Paragraph [0046], “The Source Layer-2 ID may be 24 bits long and may be split in the MAC layer into two bit strings: One bit string may be the LSB part (8 bits) of Source Layer-2 ID and forwarded to physical layer of the sender. This may identify the source of the intended data in sidelink control information and may be used for filtering of packets at the physical layer of the receiver; and the Second bit string may be the MSB part (16 bits) of the Source Layer-2 ID and may be carried within the Medium Access Control (MAC) header… the Destination Layer-2 ID may be 24 bits long and may be split in the MAC layer into two bit strings: One bit string may be the LSB part (16 bits) of Destination Layer-2 ID and forwarded to physical layer of the sender. This may identify the target of the intended data in sidelink control information and may be used for filtering of packets at the physical layer of the receiver; and the Second bit string may be the MSB part (8 bits) of the Destination Layer-2 ID and may be carried within the MAC header. This may be used for filtering of packets at the MAC layer of the receiver.” This goes into the specifics of the link layers and the bits that make up N and how N is greater than N1 and N2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined teachings of Cai and Manolakos in view of Babaei for further clarification of these link layer identities and have more detailed information of the bits.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479