DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 08/28/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 9, and 16 are independent and currently amended.
The IDS(s) filed on 05/23/2023 and 11/01/2023 has been considered relative and found to be pertinent in furnishing prior art for future prosecution of the application.
The earliest priority date of 12/29/2022 is acknowledged.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner introduces Mohan et al (US20070105548 A1) to address the amended limitations with Mohan’s Fig. 19 showing the claimed protocol stack for Bluetooth verbatim and is applied in the rejection shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7,8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al (US 20190281547 A1) in view Mohan et al (US 20070105548 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses a method (i.e. Figs 1-14) comprising:
establishing communications between a first device (i.e. mobile device 360 – Figs. 3-5) having first device identification information (i.e. mobile device 360 as the first device transmits a BLE signal/packet with BLE packet containing first device identification information as the BLE identification information of mobile device 360) with a second device (device 310 in Figs. 3-5) having a radio control circuit (communicator 313 in Figs. 4 and 5 and in Fig. 5 it is shown communicator 313 has Bluetooth Module 511 is the radio control circuit but can also include wireless module 512 with internal memory 512 ) and a host circuit (i.e. controller 311 plus display 317 in Figs. 4 and 5 ), wherein the first device identification information (i.e. BLE identification information of first device mobile device 360 per paragraphs 14 and 119) is communicated to (i.e. paired per paragraph 119) and stored by the radio control circuit of the second device(i.e. BLE identification information of first device mobile device 360 is stored in the memory 315 and internal memory of the communicator 313 and memory 315 of second device 310 in Fig. 4 or second device 511 of Fig. 5 per paragraphs 14 and 119. See also paragraph 12-123, 145 and 245 );
operating the second electronic device (device 310 in Figs. 3-5 and 9) in a sleep mode which maintains operational power to the radio control circuit(communicator 313 in Figs. 4 and 5 and in Fig. 5 it is shown communicator 313 has Bluetooth Module 511 is the radio control circuit) without maintaining operational power to the host circuit (i.e. controller 311 plus display 317 in Figs. 4 and 5 ); (See paragraph 243 controller 311 stop powering all components of second device display device 310 except communicator 313 is in sleep mode as shown in Fig. 9 S916. Per paragraph 285 the communicator 313 and the Bluetooth Module operates in Low Power Mode (LPM))
detecting by the radio control circuit of the second device(communicator 313 in Figs. 4 and 5 and in Fig. 5 it is shown communicator 313 has Bluetooth Module 511 is the radio control circuit) a radio advertisement signal (i.e. BLE signa received from first device mobile 360 contains a BLE advertisement signal as detailed in paragraphs 84 and 222 – Fig. 11c s1131)from the first device containing the first device identification information (i.e.. Fig 9 S911 Mobile Device 360 as the first device sends BLE identification of itself to 2nd device display 310 in Fig. 9 per paragraphs 221-222 and 232); and waking up the second device from the sleep mode (i.e. Display Device 310 goes to sleep mode in S916 in Fig. 9 and wakes up in S921 in Fig. 9) , in response to detecting the radio advertisement signal (in Fig. 9 S920 the second device 310 communicator 310 with the BLE Module 511 of Fig. 5 monitors in S018 in Fig. 9 and detects the radio advertisement signal S919, see paragraphs 221-222, 232 and 249) , to operate in an awake mode (i.e. Fig. 9 S923 WAKE-UP mode paragraph 253) which maintains operational power to both the radio control circuit and the host circuit (i.e. per paragraph 254 when the mobile is previously paired and its BLE identification is found the display device 310 is turned on and per paragraph 10 it is stated “…The communicator may be further configured to wake up the controller based on a result of determining whether information corresponding to the BLE identification information is present, when the BLE identification information is received from the mobile device after a sleep mode is started. See paragraph 109 where both operational power is supplied and controller 311 and display 310 is turned on by communicator 313 and communicator 313 keeps using same operational power. See also paragraphs 111 and 117-118 ), wherein in the awake mode the first device is capable of establishing a control link with the host circuit of the second device.(See paragraph 142 indicating where in the awake mode between first device mobile 360 and host device being controller 311 plus display 317 in Fig. 4 a control link through the BLE Network 405 and through the WiFi communication to the host circuit being controller 311 and display 315 in Fig. 5 and clearly shown in Fig. 6 as detailed in paragraph 152)
Yoon discloses radio control circuit but fails to disclose a protocol stack comprising: a control physical bus driver layer and a control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer, wherein the host circuit comprises protocol stack comprising: a host control physical bus driver layer, a host control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer, wherein the control and host HCI drivers communicate via HCI packets.
Mohan in the same endeavor discloses a radio control circuit (i.e. Bluetooth Module 1971 with radio layer 1980 per paragraph 143) comprises a protocol stack (Fig. 19 and paragraphs 141-144 ) comprising: a control physical bus driver layer (Fig. 19, Physical Bus Driver 1972 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 Physical Bus Driver 324) and a control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer (Fig. 19 HCI Driver 1974 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3, HCI Driver 322), wherein the host circuit (i.e. Host Circuit 1951 in Fig. 19) comprises protocol stack (Fig. 19 and paragraphs 141-144 ) comprising: a host control physical bus driver layer (Fig. 19 Physical Bus Driver 1962 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 Physical Bus Driver 332), a host control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer (i.e. Fig. 19 HCI Driver 1960 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 HCI Driver 334), wherein the control and host HCI drivers (i.e. Between Control Bluetooth HCI Driver 1974and Host HCI driver 1960 using HCI packets 1999) communicate via HCI packets.(i.e. HCI packets 1999 correspond to Applicant’s HCI packets 330)
In view of the above, having Yoon’s Bluetooth low energy communication and then given the well- established teaching of Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yoon’s Bluetooth low energy communication as taught by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack, since Mohan states in paragraph 140 that the modification results in allowing a BLUETOOTH device to be made up of two parts: a host implementing the higher layers of the protocol stack, and a module implementing the lower layers. This separation of the layers can be useful for several reasons. For example, hosts such as PCs have spare capacity to handle higher layers, allowing the BLUETOOTH device to have less memory and a less powerful processor, which leads to cost reduction. Also, the host device can sleep and be awoken by an incoming BLUETOOTH connection.
Regarding claim 9, Yoon discloses a device (i.e. Figs. 3 and 4 device 310 , Fig. 5 device 500 and Fig. 6 device 600) comprising:
a radio antenna (i.e. Fig. 6 antenna tuner 640);
a microprocessor in signal communication with the radio antenna and comprising: (communicator 650 and controller 680 are the microprocessors in communication with radio antenna tuner 640 in Fig. 6. See paragraph 46 and paragraphs 1151-152)
a radio control circuit (i.e. Communicator 650 in Fig. 6 corresponding to communicator 313 of Fig. 5 and contains Bluetooth 652 corresponding to Bluetooth Module 511 of Fig. 5 and memory 690 corresponding to memory 315 of Fig. 5 and in total make the radio control circuit per paragraph 152) in a communication with the radio antenna to store identification information of a remote controller(i.e. BLE identification information of first device mobile device 360 is stored in the memory 315 and internal memory of the communicator 313 and memory 315 of second device 310 in Fig. 4 or second device 511 of Fig. 5 per paragraphs 14 and 119. See also paragraph 12-123, 145 and 245 ) and detect an advertising signal from a remote controller containing identification information of the remote controller; (i.e. BLE signa received from first device mobile 360 contains a BLE advertisement signal as detailed in paragraphs 84 and 222 – Fig. 11c s1131 and in Fig 9 S911 Mobile Device 360 as the first device sends BLE identification of itself to 2nd device display 310 in Fig. 9 per paragraphs 221-222 and 232); and
a host circuit in communication (i.e. Controller 680 with various attached processors like display 615 in Fig. 6 and correspond to controller 311 and display 317 of Fig. 5 and collectively constitute a host circuit per paragraphs 150-151 )with the radio antenna to establish a control link with the remote controller.(See paragraph 142 indicating where in the awake mode between first device mobile 360 and host device being controller 311 plus display 317 in Fig. 4 a control link through the BLE Network 405 and through the WiFi communication to the host circuit being controller 311 and display 315 in Fig. 5 and clearly shown in Fig. 6 as detailed in paragraph 152);
wherein the device is operable in a low-power mode wherein operational power is maintained to the radio control circuit and not maintained to the host circuit, (See paragraph 243 controller 311 stop powering all components of second device display device 310 except communicator 313 is in sleep mode as shown in Fig. 9 S916. Per paragraph 285 the communicator 313 and the Bluetooth Module operates in Low Power Mode (LPM))
wherein the device is operable in a high-power mode wherein operational power is maintained to both the radio control circuit and the host circuit, (i.e. per paragraph 285 after the second display device is awaken both communicator 313 and controller 311 are powered for fully awake operation) and wherein the device switches from the low-power mode to the high-power mode in response to detection, by the radio control circuit, of a radio advertisement signal containing the identification information of the remote controller.(Per Fig. 9 Display Device 310 and Display Device 600 of Fig. 6 switch from sleep mode (Low Power Mode) S916 to awake mode (high-power mode) S913 based on the detection of BLE packet/signal S919 in Fig. 9 per paragraph 250 )
Yoon discloses radio control circuit but fails to disclose a protocol stack comprising: a control physical bus driver layer and a control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer, wherein the host circuit comprises protocol stack comprising: a host control physical bus driver layer, a host control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer, wherein the control and host HCI drivers communicate via HCI packets.
Mohan in the same endeavor discloses a radio control circuit (i.e. Bluetooth Module 1971 with radio layer 1980 per paragraph 143) comprises a protocol stack (Fig. 19 and paragraphs 141-144 ) comprising: a control physical bus driver layer (Fig. 19, Physical Bus Driver 1972 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 Physical Bus Driver 324) and a control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer (Fig. 19 HCI Driver 1974 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3, HCI Driver 322), wherein the host circuit (i.e. Host Circuit 1951 in Fig. 19) comprises protocol stack (Fig. 19 and paragraphs 141-144 ) comprising: a host control physical bus driver layer (Fig. 19 Physical Bus Driver 1962 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 Physical Bus Driver 332), a host control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer (i.e. Fig. 19 HCI Driver 1960 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 HCI Driver 334), wherein the control and host HCI drivers (i.e. Between Control Bluetooth HCI Driver 1974and Host HCI driver 1960 using HCI packets 1999) communicate via HCI packets.(i.e. HCI packets 1999 correspond to Applicant’s HCI packets 330)
In view of the above, having Yoon’s Bluetooth low energy communication and then given the well- established teaching of Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yoon’s Bluetooth low energy communication as taught by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack, since Mohan states in paragraph 140 that the modification results in allowing a BLUETOOTH device to be made up of two parts: a host implementing the higher layers of the protocol stack, and a module implementing the lower layers. This separation of the layers can be useful for several reasons. For example, hosts such as PCs have spare capacity to handle higher layers, allowing the BLUETOOTH device to have less memory and a less powerful processor, which leads to cost reduction. Also, the host device can sleep and be awoken by an incoming BLUETOOTH connection.
Regarding claim 16, Yoon discloses A system comprising:
a remote controller (i.e. Figs. 3 and 4 mobile 360) having remote controller identification information (i.e. paragraph 105 a BLE identification info identifying the remote controller Mobile 360 contained in the BLE advertisement packet/signal); and
an line powered (i.e. paragraph 159 with respect to Fig. 6 power unit 630 is external and has to be line powered) electronic device (Fig. 4 Device 310 or Fig. 5 device 500 and Fig. 6 Device 600) comprising:
a radio antenna; (i.e. Fig. 6 antenna tuner 640);
a radio control circuit (i.e. Communicator 650 in Fig. 6 corresponding to communicator 313 of Fig. 5 and contains Bluetooth 652 corresponding to Bluetooth Module 511 of Fig. 5 and memory 690 corresponding to memory 315 of Fig. 5 and in total make the radio control circuit per paragraph 152) in a communication with the radio antenna to store identification information of a remote controller(i.e. BLE identification information of first device mobile device 360 is stored in the memory 315 and internal memory of the communicator 313 and memory 315 of second device 310 in Fig. 4 or second device 511 of Fig. 5 per paragraphs 14 and 119. See also paragraph 122-123, 145 and 245 ) and detect an advertising signal from a remote controller containing identification information of the remote controller; (i.e. BLE signa received from first device mobile 360 contains a BLE advertisement signal as detailed in paragraphs 84 and 222 – Fig. 11c s1131 and in Fig 9 S911 Mobile Device 360 as the first device sends BLE identification of itself to 2nd device display 310 in Fig. 9 per paragraphs 221-222 and 232);
a host circuit in communication (i.e. Controller 680 with various attached processors like display 615 in Fig. 6 and correspond to controller 311 and display 317 of Fig. 5 and collectively constitute a host circuit per paragraphs 150-151 )with the radio antenna to establish a control link with the remote controller.(See paragraph 142 indicating where in the awake mode between first device mobile 360 and host device being controller 311 plus display 317 in Fig. 4 a control link through the BLE Network 405 and through the WiFi communication to the host circuit being controller 311 and display 315 in Fig. 5 and clearly shown in Fig. 6 as detailed in paragraph 152);
wherein the radio control circuit (communicator 313 in Figs. 4 and 5 and in Fig. 5 it is shown communicator 313 has Bluetooth Module 511 is the radio control circuit) to wake-up the host circuit in response to detection, by the radio control circuit, of a radio advertisement signal (i.e. BLE signa received from first device mobile 360 contains a BLE advertisement signal as detailed in paragraphs 84 and 222 – Fig. 11c s1131) containing the remote controller identification information. (i.e.. Fig 9 S911 Mobile Device 360 as the first device sends BLE identification of itself to 2nd device display 310 in Fig. 9 per paragraphs 221-222 and 232,; i.e. per paragraph 254 when the mobile is previously paired and its BLE identification is found the display device 310 is turned on and per paragraph 10 it is stated “…The communicator may be further configured to wake up the controller based on a result of determining whether information corresponding to the BLE identification information is present, when the BLE identification information is received from the mobile device after a sleep mode is started. See paragraph 109 where both operational power is supplied and controller 311 and display 310 is turned on by communicator 313 and communicator 313 keeps using same operational power. See also paragraphs 111 and 117-118 ).
Yoon discloses radio control circuit but fails to disclose a protocol stack comprising: a control physical bus driver layer and a control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer, wherein the host circuit comprises protocol stack comprising: a host control physical bus driver layer, a host control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer, wherein the control and host HCI drivers communicate via HCI packets.
Mohan in the same endeavor discloses a radio control circuit (i.e. Bluetooth Module 1971 with radio layer 1980 per paragraph 143) comprises a protocol stack (Fig. 19 and paragraphs 141-144 ) comprising: a control physical bus driver layer (Fig. 19, Physical Bus Driver 1972 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 Physical Bus Driver 324) and a control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer (Fig. 19 HCI Driver 1974 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3, HCI Driver 322), wherein the host circuit (i.e. Host Circuit 1951 in Fig. 19) comprises protocol stack (Fig. 19 and paragraphs 141-144 ) comprising: a host control physical bus driver layer (Fig. 19 Physical Bus Driver 1962 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 Physical Bus Driver 332), a host control host controller interface (HCI) driver layer (i.e. Fig. 19 HCI Driver 1960 and corresponds to Applicant’s Fig. 3 HCI Driver 334), wherein the control and host HCI drivers (i.e. Between Control Bluetooth HCI Driver 1974and Host HCI driver 1960 using HCI packets 1999) communicate via HCI packets.(i.e. HCI packets 1999 correspond to Applicant’s HCI packets 330)
In view of the above, having Yoon’s Bluetooth low energy communication and then given the well- established teaching of Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yoon’s Bluetooth low energy communication as taught by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack, since Mohan states in paragraph 140 that the modification results in allowing a BLUETOOTH device to be made up of two parts: a host implementing the higher layers of the protocol stack, and a module implementing the lower layers. This separation of the layers can be useful for several reasons. For example, hosts such as PCs have spare capacity to handle higher layers, allowing the BLUETOOTH device to have less memory and a less powerful processor, which leads to cost reduction. Also, the host device can sleep and be awoken by an incoming BLUETOOTH connection.
Regarding claim 2, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the method of claim 1, Yoon further discloses comprising establishing the control link (see paragraph 58 mobile 360 setting up a link to control display device 310 via the BLE network 405) between the first device (i.e. mobile device 360 – Fig. 4) and the host circuit (i.e. Controller 311 plus Display 317 of Fig. 4 of second device 310) of the second device (device 310 of Fig. 4) after detecting by the radio control circuit 9i.e. Fig. 4 Communicator 313 and Fig. 5 Communicator 313 plus Bluetooth module 511) the radio advertisement signal from the first device containing the first device identification information. (See paragraphs 111-113 indicates the BLE advertisement signal received from the mobile 360 contains identification information of the first device mobile 360)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
3. Regarding claim 3, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the method of claim 1, Yoon further discloses wherein the first device identification information is communicated via a signal selected from Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and Zigbee (i.e. per paragraphs 110 and 112 the first device identification information is communicated via a signal selected from Bluetooth)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 4, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the method of claim 1, Yoon further discloses wherein the advertising signal comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy radio signal. (i.e. per paragraph 3 a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) network 405 exists between mobile 360 and display device 310 and per paragraphs 84 and 110-112 the advertising signal comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy radio signal.)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the method of claim 1, Yoon further discloses comprising comparing by the radio control circuit the detected first device identification information contained in the radio advertisement signal from the first device with the stored first device identification information. (Per paragraphs 111, 118 and 122 the stored BLE identification info is compared to the one stored in memory from a previous pairing procedure)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the method of claim 1, Yoon further discloses wherein the second electronic device comprises a microprocessor comprising the radio control circuit and the host circuit.(Yoon discloses in paragraph 46 the functional blocks in Figs. 4-6 showing the radio control circuit and the host circuit can fully be implemented by microprocessor.)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the method of claim 1, Yoon further discloses wherein the electronic device is a line powered electronic device. (See Fig. 6 power unit 630 powering the electronic device 600 and is external and has to be line powered)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the device of claim 9, Yoon further discloses wherein the radio control circuit (i.e. Fig. 9 Communicator 313) triggers the device to operate in the high-power mode (i.e. wakes it up and gets powered up Fig. 9 S923) when the radio control circuit detects the radio advertisement signal containing the identification information of the remote controller (Fig. 9 Communicator 313 detects BLE advertisement signal S919 at S920 and after verifying the identification of the remote mobile is contained then a triggering signal S922 is sent to wake up controller 311/host at S923. See paragraphs 246-254) .
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 11, Yoon modified by Mohan disclose the device of claim 9, Yoon further discloses wherein the remote controller is an application of a smartphone (see paragraphs 63 and 83 indicating the remote device is a smartphone), and the radio control circuit pairs with the smartphone and stores smartphone identification information from the pairing.(see paragraph 15 pairing occurs between the smartphone and the radio circuit of the display device 310 and the smartphone id/address is stored at the memory of the radio control circuit. See paragraphs 58 and 113 and 119)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 12, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the device of claim 11, Yoon discloses wherein the remote controller is an application of a smartphone (see paragraphs 63 and 83 indicating the remote device is a smartphone), and wherein the radio control circuit pairs with the smartphone by communicating a signal selected from Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and ZigBee. (i.e. per paragraphs 110 and 112 the first device identification information is communicated via a signal selected from Bluetooth in a pairing process )
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 14, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the device of claim 9, Yoon further discloses wherein the radio control circuit processes radio signals according to Bluetooth Low Energy and WiFi protocols (i.e. Fig. 5 Communicator 313 being radio control circuit uses Bluetooth Module 511 and Wireless LAN Module 512) , and wherein the host circuit processes radio signals according to Bluetooth Low Energy protocol. (Per paragraph 116 the host circuit being controller 311 during normal operation received BLE signals to process)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, Yoon modified by Yoon discloses the system of claim 16, Yoon further discloses wherein the radio control circuit and host circuit are capable of processing radio signals according to Bluetooth Low Energy protocols. (Per paragraph 116 the host circuit being controller 311 during normal operation received BLE signals to process and Fig. 5 Communicator 313 being radio control circuit uses Bluetooth Module 511 and Wireless LAN Module 512)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the system of claim 16, Yoon further discloses wherein the line powered electronic device (See Fig. 6 power unit 630 powering the electronic device 600 and is external and has to be line powered)
is capable of operating in a sleep mode (i.e. Fig. 9 S916 Controller 311 goes to Sleep mode) , wherein the line powered electronic device is capable of operating in an awake mode (Fig. 9 S923 awake mode of Controller 311) and wherein waking-up the host circuit comprises switching from the sleep mode to the awake mode.(Per Fig. 9 Controller 311/host circuit flips from sleep mode in S916 to awake mode in S923 and S921 is the spot determination is made to see condition to switch mode exists. See paragraphs 246 - 254.)
The motivation to combine Yoon with Mohan is set forth above.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Mohan and further in view of Hamlin et al (US 20210034132 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the method of claim 1, Yoon further discloses comprising wherein the second electronic device comprises a microprocessor (i.e. per paragraph 46 every block is a microprocessor in Figs. 4-6) comprising the host circuit (i.e. Fig. 5 controller 311 and display 317 ) but Yoon modified by Mohan fails to explicitly disclose the host circuit comprises a BLE stack.(Implicitly it discloses interfacing with the remote device using a BLE network 405 in Fig. 4).
Hamlin in the same endeavor discloses the host circuit comprises a BLE stack. (i.e. in Fig. 2 shows a remote device UE 100 controlling electronic device 200 that has host processing device 205 as described in paragraph 30 and the host has a BLE stack per paragraphs 41-42.)
In view of the above, having Yoon’s remote control of a device via BLE network based communication modified by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack and then given the well- established teaching of Hamlin’s techniques of using BLE stacks, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the combination of Yoon’s remote control of a device via BLE network based communication and Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack as taught by Hamlin’s techniques of using BLE stacks, since Hamlin states in paragraphs 41-42 that the modification results in validating authenticity of the wake request received from wireless peripheral device and enable processing of BLE human interface device input data..
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Mohan and further in view of Sanchez Yoldi et al (US 20200380526 A1, hereinafter referred to as Yoldi).
Regarding claim 13, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the device of claim 9, Yoon further discloses comprising Per paragraphs 111, 118 and 122 the stored BLE identification info is compared to the one stored in memory from a previous pairing procedure)
Yoon modified by Mohan fails to disclose a comparator circuit to compare stored values with received value.
Yoldi discloses a comparator circuit to compare stored values with received value. (See paragraph 60 Fig. 2as an example circuit 227 is a comparator circuit comparing received biometric features via BLE signals with the ones stored.)
In view of the above, having Yoon’s remote control of a device via BLE network based communication modified by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack and then given the well- established teaching of Yoldi ’s comparator circuit , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Yoon’s remote control of a device via BLE network based communication modified by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack as taught by Yoldi ’s comparator circuit, since Yoldi states in paragraphs 60 that the modification results in generating a match probability and upon receiving a validation proceeding with transaction such as granting access.
Regarding claim 18, Yoon modified by Mohan discloses the system of claim 16, Yoon further discloses comprising a (Per paragraphs 111, 118 and 122 the stored BLE identification info is compared to the one stored in memory from a previous pairing procedure)
Yoon modified by Mohan fails to disclose a comparator circuit capable of comparing stored values with received value.
Yoldi discloses a comparator circuit to compare stored values with received value. (See paragraph 60 Fig. 2as an example circuit 227 is a comparator circuit comparing received biometric features via BLE signals with the ones stored.)
In view of the above, having Yoon’s remote control of a device via BLE network based communication modified by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack and then given the well- established teaching of Yoldi ’s comparator circuit , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Yoon’s remote control of a device via BLE network based communication modified by Mohan’s techniques for implementing Bluetooth protocol stack as taught by Yoldi ’s comparator circuit, since Yoldi states in paragraphs 60 that the modification results in generating a match probability and upon receiving a validation proceeding with transaction such as granting access.
Conclusion
Examiner Note: Examiner would like to bring to Applicant’s attention the prior art of Haljima et al (US 20240221495 A1) anticipates Applicant’s invention and can be used for future prosecution of the instant Application replacing Yoon or complimenting Yoon and Hamilton.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474