DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ arguments, filed 22 May 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the following chemical structure, which is reproduced below with annotation by the examiner.
As best understood by the examiner, the above-reproduced structure is drawn to the structure of the ligand prior to diabody conjugation. This structure becomes altered upon antibody conjugation. As such, a chemical structure that is within the scope of the above-reproduced structure prior to diabody conjugation but changes after diabody conjugation is understood to meet the claim requirements.
Evidence supporting this position is provided as of Vugts et al. (European Journal of Nuclear Medicine Molecular Imaging, Vol. 44, (2017) pages 286–295), page 290, relevant figure reproduced below.
As such, the examiner understands the claimed chemical structure to be that of the ligand prior to conjugation with the diabody.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claims 2 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 11-15 recite a labeled antibody conjugate. However, claims 2 and 11-15 ultimately depend upon claim 1. There is no antecedent basis for the phrase “a labeled antibody conjugate” in claim 1. In contrast, claim 1 recites a labeled diabody conjugate, not a labeled antibody conjugate.
For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner will examine claims 2 and 11-15 with the understanding that they are drawn to a labeled diabody conjugate.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by removing the phrase “a labeled antibody conjugate” and replacing this phrase with “a labeled diabody conjugate.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buyse et al. (US 2003/0099648 A1) in view of Vugts et al. (European Journal of Nuclear Medicine Molecular Imaging, Vol. 44, (2017) pages 286–295) and Bailly et al. (International Journal of Molecular Sciences, Vol. 18(57), 2017, pages 1-12).
Buyse et al. (hereafter referred to as Buyse) is drawn to an interferon gamma binding molecule, as of Buyse, title and abstract. Buyse appears to teach a diabody that binds to interferon as of paragraphs 0156 and 0187, as well as figure 26 of Buyse, which is reproduced below.
Buyse teaches a tag on the antibody, as of Buyse, at least figure 1A, wherein the antibody may be a diabody.
Buyse does not teach 89Zr or the required ligand p-SCN-Bn-DFO. Buyse also does not specify that the tag is intended for positron emission tomography (PET), which is intended use of 89Zr.
Vugts et al. (hereafter referred to as Vugts) is drawn to 89Zr immuno-PET studies, wherein “PET” refers to positron emission tomography, as of Vugts, page 286, title and abstract. Vugts teaches the following manner of linking an antibody with 89Zr on page 290, relevant figure reproduced below.
The teachings of Vugts include both 89Zr and p-SCN-Bn-DFO.
Vugts differs from the claimed invention because Vugts does not specify an interferon gamma binding diabody.
Bailly et al. (hereafter referred to as Bailly) is drawn to immuno-positron emission tomography (i.e. immune-PET), which is antibodies attached to PET radionuclides, as of Bailly, page 1, title and abstract. Bailly teaches that this is useful for studying the in vivo behavior of antibody based therapy, as of Bailly, page 8, “Conclusion” section.
Bailly does not teach interferon and does not suggest the specific ligand recited by the instant claims.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the 89Zr-DFO complex of Vugts as the tag to be attached to the diabody of Buyse. Buyse is drawn to a diabody that binds interferon gamma. This is used for therapeutic purposes, as of Buyse, abstract. Buyse suggests a tag to be attached to the antibody, as of figure 1A of Buyse. The 89Zr-DFO complex of Vugts is a tag for immune-PET imaging, and Bailly indicates that studying the in vivo behavior of antibody based therapy. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have attached the immuno-PET tag of Vugts to the diabody of Buyse in order to have predictably studied the in vivo behavior of the diabody of Buyse to have predictably evaluated its therapeutic potential and therapeutic properties of said diabody with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 2, Buyse teaches isolating antibodies in paragraph 0183. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have isolated the diabody of Buyse as modified by Vugts and Bailly.
As to claim 11, Buyse suggests human interferon gamma in at least paragraph 0036.
Note Regarding Reference Dates: The instant application appears to have an earliest effective filing date of 23 August 2017. Vugts was published on 30 August 2016 and Bailly was published on 28 December 2016. As such, both Vugts and Bailly are prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has presented arguments in applicant’s response on 22 May 2026. These arguments appear to relate to rejections which have been withdrawn. As such, the examiner has not addressed applicant’s arguments substantively as they appear to be moot in view of the withdrawal of the previously presented rejections.
Subject Matter Free of Prior Art
Claims 12-15 have not been subject to a prior art rejection. The examiner presents the following rationale for not subjecting these claims to a prior art rejection.
Claim 12 further modifies claim 1 to require a sequence with at least 90% similarity to Seq ID #11 or Seq ID #12. The examiner takes the position that a sequence having at least 90% similarity to Seq ID No. 11 was known prior to the effective filing date. See Gozzard et al. (WO 2010/103274 A1), specifically Sequence #19, which is reproduced below.
This sequence appears to have over 90% similarity to the claimed Seq. ID #11; see the following analysis set forth below.
With that being said, it appears that there would have been no motivation for the skilled artisan to have combined the sequence of Gozzard with the diabody of Buyse. This is because (a) the diabody of Buyse is drawn to a human composition, as of Buyse, abstract, whereas the sequence of Gozzard is a rat sequence, and (b) the sequence of Gozzard is intended for use in an anti-IL13 antibody, as of Gozzard, title, whereas the instant claims are drawn to an anti-interferon gamma diabody.
The examiner presents the following additional arguments related to item (b), the examiner notes that the sequence of Gozzard is taught as “(V + constant).” The examiner understands the letter “V” to refer to the variable domain of the antibody which varies dependent upon the antigen to which the antibody attaches, and “constant” to refer to a constant domain of the antibody, which does not vary dependent upon the antigen to which the antibody attaches. As such, the examiner best understands the above-reproduced sequence to include both a variable domain and a constant domain of an antibody. Therefore, even if, purely en arguendo, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have modified the antibody of Gozzard to have attached to interferon gamma rather than IL-13, the result of this modification would have caused the sequence of Gozzard to have varied. Therefore, there would have been no reasonable expectation that, had the sequence of Gozzard been modified to have bound to interferon gamma rather than IL-13, that the resultant sequence would have successfully retained at least 90% similarity to Seq. ID #11 as required by the instant claims.
A statement that modifications of the prior art to meet the claimed invention would have been "‘well within the ordinary skill of the art at the time the claimed invention was made’" because the references relied upon teach that all aspects of the claimed invention were individually known in the art is not sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness without some objective reason to combine the teachings of the references. See MPEP 2143.01(IV); the examiner notes that MPEP 2143.01(III) is also relevant. In this case, even if, purely en arguendo, there would have been a reason to have combined the teachings of Gozzard with the teachings of Buyse, Vugts, and Bailly, this combination would have necessitated changes to the sequences of Gozzard to result in an antibody attaching to interferon gamma rather than IL-13. There would have been a reasonable expectation that these changes would have caused the sequence of Gozzard to have lost its required similarity to that of the instant claimed invention. As such, the examiner has not combined the teachings of Gozzard with the teachings of Buyse, Vugts, and Bailly because there would have been no reasonable expectation of success without changing the sequence of Gozzard to have been outside the claim scope.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612