Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beam et al. (US 2020/0209107 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 9 Beam teaches a system for analyzing large area laser powder bed fusion systems and other high-speed motion laser beam systems, comprising:(a) a plurality of lasers (800, par.0031) (i) wherein each laser creates a field of view such that an overlapping region is created (scanning zones that overlap see par.0038), and (ii) wherein each laser generates a non-stationary laser beam (see par.0009, 0031); (b) a build platform (build plane see Par.0009) positioned at a predetermined location relative to the field of view of the lasers (Fig 2, 7 par.0009, 0040); and (c) a plurality of portable measurement devices (300, 400, 500, 600) positioned on the build platform (Fig 2), (i) wherein the portable measurement device includes a pin-hole sensor (700) that receives laser light generated by the non-stationary laser beam (par.0037& 0040), and (ii) wherein the plurality of portable measurement (300,400, 500, 600) devices are electrically coupled to one another via the sensor (700) to form a modular array (see Fig 2).Beam further teaches the plurality of portable measurement devices (300,400, 500, 600) can be repositioned and recoupled to form a second modular array (see Fig 2).
Beam is silent regarding each portable measurement device including a pin hole sensor. Beam only teaches having a single pin hole sensor for multiple portable measurement devices.
However, it would have been a matter of design consideration to have formed multiple sensor devices to allow each portable measurement device to have a dedicated sensor for the purpose of forming a more precise detection device. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claims 2, 10 and 15 Beam teaches wherein the plurality of portable measurement devices (300-600) are positioned on the build platform (Fig 2) at any location within the field of view of each laser, within the overlapping region, or within a combination thereof (Fig 2).
Regarding Claims 3, 12 and 16 Beam teaches wherein the plurality of portable measurement devices (300-600) are positioned at extremities in the field of view of each laser (Fig 2 and 7).
Regarding Claim 4 Beam teaches wherein the plurality of portable measurement devices (300-400) can be moved or reconfigured singly or collectively to form a variety of modular arrays (ig 2).
Regarding Claims 5 and 17 Beam teaches wherein each pin-hole sensor (400-600) measures quality of the non-stationary laser beam generated from each laser (Fig 2, par.0037 and 0039).
Regarding Claims 6-7, 13 and 18-19 Beam teaches each pin-hole sensor measures location of its respective portable measurement device and the measured location of the portable measurement device is used for motion speed measurement, location precision, and calibration (Fig 2, par.0037&0039).
Regarding Claims 8 and 20 Beam teaches wherein the plurality of lasers are used in large part manufacturing (par.0009).
Regarding Claim 14 Beam teaches a method for analyzing large area laser powder bed fusion systems and other high-speed motion laser beam systems, providing:(a) a plurality of lasers (800, par.0031) (i) wherein each laser creates a field of view such that an overlapping region is created (scanning zones that overlap see par.0038), and (ii) wherein each laser generates a non-stationary laser beam (see par.0009, 0031); (b) positioning a build platform (build plane see Par.0009) positioned at a predetermined location relative to the field of view of the lasers (Fig 2, 7 par.0009, 0040); and (c) positioning a plurality of portable measurement devices (300, 400, 500, 600) positioned on the build platform (Fig 2), (i) wherein the portable measurement device includes a pin-hole sensor (700) that receives laser light generated by the non-stationary laser beam (par.0037& 0040), and (ii) wherein the plurality of portable measurement (300,400, 500, 600) devices are electrically coupled to one another via the sensor (700) to form a modular array (see Fig 2).Beam further teaches the plurality of portable measurement devices (300,400, 500, 600) can be repositioned and recoupled to form a second modular array (see Fig 2).
Conclusion
/ABIY TEKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745