DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1 & 21, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 5, 3rd para. & pg. 7, 3rd para.], that “Specifically, Wang does not disclose either a first or a second peripheral rim disposed at the edge of a first and second cover member sidewall, respectively.”
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Rim is defined as “the outer often curved or circular edge or border of something” [merriam-webster.com].
Refer to figure 3a of Wang, note first sidewall portion of first part 31a [corresponding to claimed first cover member] having an outer edge [corresponding to claimed first peripheral rim].
Refer to figure 3a of Wang, note second sidewall portion of second part 31b [corresponding to claimed second cover member] having an outer edge [corresponding to claimed second peripheral rim].
Refer to figures 3d & 3e of Wang, which more clearly shows a peripheral rim relative to an inserted foldable device 7, note that the peripheral rim portion of second part 31b that interfaces with the foldable device 7.
Thus, Wang teaches the independent claims as argued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 21, & 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20200352045).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a foldable case (foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67 & 69 & abstract] for removably receiving a separate and distinct foldable mobile electronic device (foldable device 7) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67] having a first portion (first portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] and a second portion (second portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] joined by a hinge (flexible structure 312) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] defining a hinge axis, the case comprising:
a first cover member (first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] comprising
a first peripheral rim disposed at the edge of a first cover member sidewall [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a second cover member (to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] comprising
a second peripheral rim disposed at the edge of a second cover member sidewall [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a first hinge member (first element 312a) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] disposed at the hinge axis, the first hinge member joining the first peripheral rim to the second peripheral rim on a first side of the electronic device [figs. 3a-3e]; and
a second hinge member (second element 312b) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] disposed at the hinge axis, the second hinge member joining the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim on a second side of the electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 6, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 1, wherein the hinge axis extends in a widthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 7, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 1, wherein the hinge axis extends in a lengthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 21, Wang discloses a foldable case (foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67 & abstract] for removably receiving a separate and distinct foldable mobile electronic device (foldable device 7) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67] having a first portion (first portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] and a second portion (second portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] joined by a hinge (flexible structure 312) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] defining a hinge axis, the case comprising:
a first cover member (first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] comprising:
a first peripheral rim [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a second cover member (to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] comprising:
a second peripheral rim [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a first hinge member (first element 312a) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74]; and
a second hinge member (second element 312b) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74];
the first and second cover members being configured to rotate from an open position wherein the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim are coplanar [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67, 74, & 79], to a closed position wherein the first cover member and the second cover member define an end opening configured to permit insertion of the first portion and the second portion of the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67, 69, 74, & 79];
wherein the first hinge member joins the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim at the hinge axis on a first side of the mobile device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 73-74], and the second hinge member joins the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim at the hinge axis on a second side of the mobile device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 73-74], thereby forming a continuous peripheral rim around a screen of the mobile device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 73-74].
As to claim 23, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 21 wherein the hinge axis extends in a widthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 24, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 21, wherein the hinge axis extends in a lengthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID TUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622