DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 21, & 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20200352045).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a foldable case (foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67 & 69 & abstract] for removably receiving a separate and distinct foldable mobile electronic device (foldable device 7) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67] having a first portion (first portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] and a second portion (second portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] joined by a hinge (flexible structure 312) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] defining a hinge axis, the case comprising:
a first cover member (first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] a first peripheral rim disposed at the edge of a first cover member sidewall [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a second cover member (to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] comprising a second peripheral rim disposed at the edge of a second cover member sidewall [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a first hinge member (first element 312a) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] disposed at the hinge axis, the first hinge member joining the first peripheral rim to the second peripheral rim on a first side of the electronic device [figs. 3a-3e]; and
a second hinge member (second element 312b) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] disposed at the hinge axis, the second hinge member joining the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim on a second side of the electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 6, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 1, wherein the hinge axis extends in a widthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 7, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 1, wherein the hinge axis extends in a lengthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 21, Wang discloses a foldable case (foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67 & abstract] for removably receiving a separate and distinct foldable mobile electronic device (foldable device 7) [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67] having a first portion (first portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] and a second portion (second portion of foldable device 7 corresponding to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] joined by a hinge (flexible structure 312) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74] defining a hinge axis, the case comprising:
a first cover member (first part 31a of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] comprising:
a first peripheral rim [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a second cover member (to second part 31b of frame 31 of foldable apparatus 3) [figs. 3a & para. 71-72] comprising:
a second peripheral rim [figs. 3a & para. 71-72];
a first hinge member (first element 312a) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74]; and
a second hinge member (second element 312b) [fig. 3a & para. 70 & 73-74];
the first and second cover members being configured to rotate from an open position wherein the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim are coplanar [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67, 74, & 79], to a closed position wherein the first cover member and the second cover member define an end opening configured to permit insertion of the first portion and the second portion of the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 67, 69, 74, & 79];
wherein the first hinge member joins the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim at the hinge axis on a first side of the mobile device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 73-74], and the second hinge member joins the first peripheral rim and the second peripheral rim at the hinge axis on a second side of the mobile device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 73-74], thereby forming a continuous peripheral rim around a screen of the mobile device [figs. 3a-3e & para. 73-74].
As to claim 23, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 21 wherein the hinge axis extends in a widthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
As to claim 24, Wang discloses the foldable case of claim 21, wherein the hinge axis extends in a lengthwise direction relative to the mobile electronic device [figs. 3a-3e].
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11689239. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
Claims of instant application
Claims of US 11689239
1
7 & 8
21
7 & 8
Conclusion
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622