This office action is in response to remarks filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1, 3-14 and 16-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 14 and 16 are amended. Claims 2 and 15 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 8 and 14 have been considered based on amendments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al (US20120124229A1) (hereinafter "Sahu") in view of Jain et al (US20190014542A1) (hereinafter "Jain").
Regarding claim 1, Sahu discloses a method comprising:
determining a primary data subscription and a secondary data subscription for the electronic device ([0051] For example, the first application 116 is depicted as being of a first type 122 of application or service and the second application 118 is depicted as being a second type 124 of application or service.);
processing a request for packet service from an application associated with the electronic device; and ([0062) In block 406, the device launches an application that request a packet data connection.)
establishing one or more data connections for the application in response to the request for packet service through at least one of the primary data subscription or the secondary data subscription based on a data subscription policy ([0062] In FIG. 4, a methodology 400 is depicted for integrating device policy and network policy for arbitrating data connection priority between packet data applications or services. [0063] Additionally, methodology 400 includes making a first determination as to whether there is any active data connection (block 410). If not, the application is started with a new data connection (block 412). Otherwise, a second determination is made as to whether the same profile used for current active application may be used for running the application (block 414). If so, then the requested application can share the data connection (block 416). Otherwise, a third determination is made as to whether the same priority is accorded to the requesting application as the currently connected application, according to network policy (block 418). If not, then the application with the highest priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 420). Otherwise, a fourth determination is made as to whether the network policy mandates to share the connection (block 422). If so, then the requesting application can share the data connection (block 424). Otherwise, a fifth determination is made as to whether the applications have the same priority per device policy (block 426). If not, then the application having a high priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 428).);
wherein the data connections are established through the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, and the method further comprises ([0056] The method 200 includes receiving a request for a data connection to a wireless network from a first application of a first type of application or service (block 202). The method 200 further includes a determination as to whether a second application has an existing data connection (block 204). In block 204, the method 200 includes setting up a data session for the first application in response to determining that no other data session is in progress in block 202. Otherwise, the method 200 includes a determination as to whether the first type and the second type of application or service are compatible for sharing the existing data connection (block 206)):
Sahu fails to disclose a method comprising: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
However, Jain discloses a method comprising: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription ([0029] The UE 110 and/or power saving component 150 may execute performing component 190 to perform a carrier aggregation power saving mode procedure 154 for the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 based on a determination that one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 is configured as the DDS or the non-DDS. [0031] In an aspect, the UE 110 may also only broadcast carrier aggregation capabilities based on a threshold to reduce power consumption. For example, the threshold may correspond to battery charge levels of the UE and/or data usage. Regarding data usage, the user of a UE 110 may have a data plan that reduces data speeds after the user exceeds a data usage threshold for a period of time, and thus, there is no need for broadcasting carrier aggregation capabilities.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for carrier aggregation with respect to multiple subscriptions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create a method comprising: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to adjust carrier aggregation configuration in response to changes in data usage to minimize power usage.
Regarding claim 3, Sahu fails to disclose the method further comprising: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
However, Jain discloses the method further comprising: stopping aggregation of the data connections (Fig. 4B; Drop Call. Transmit UE capability information without carrier aggregation information, block 430) based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size ([0058] the method 420 may determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE satisfies a first performance threshold. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE 110 satisfies a first performance threshold. In an example, the performance characteristic of the UE 110 corresponds to at least one of a charge level of a battery of the UE 110 or a data usage of the UE 110, and the first performance threshold corresponds to at least one of a first battery charge level threshold or a first data usage threshold. [0060] At block 426, the method 420 may determine whether the UE is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether the UE 110 is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152. If at block 426, the UE 110 determines that an active call is currently engaged then method 420 proceeds to block 430, otherwise method 420 proceeds to block 432.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the method further comprising: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize power consumption in multi-SIM devices.
Regarding claim 8, Sahu discloses an electronic device comprising:
at least one processor; and ([0109] Processor 714 of a computing platform 715 can be coupled to memory 716, which can store data and/or program codes related to mobile terminal 702.)
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, and cause the electronic device to perform ([0109] Processor 714 of a computing platform 715 can be coupled to memory 716, which can store data and/or program codes related to mobile terminal 702.):
determining a primary data subscription and a secondary data subscription for the electronic device ([0051] For example, the first application 116 is depicted as being of a first type 122 of application or service and the second application 118 is depicted as being a second type 124 of application or service.);
processing a request for packet service from an application associated with the electronic device; and ([0062) In block 406, the device launches an application that request a packet data connection.)
establishing one or more data connections for the application in response to the request for packet service through at least one of the primary data subscription or the secondary data subscription based on a data subscription policy ([0062] In FIG. 4, a methodology 400 is depicted for integrating device policy and network policy for arbitrating data connection priority between packet data applications or services. [0063] Additionally, methodology 400 includes making a first determination as to whether there is any active data connection (block 410). If not, the application is started with a new data connection (block 412). Otherwise, a second determination is made as to whether the same profile used for current active application may be used for running the application (block 414). If so, then the requested application can share the data connection (block 416). Otherwise, a third determination is made as to whether the same priority is accorded to the requesting application as the currently connected application, according to network policy (block 418). If not, then the application with the highest priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 420). Otherwise, a fourth determination is made as to whether the network policy mandates to share the connection (block 422). If so, then the requesting application can share the data connection (block 424). Otherwise, a fifth determination is made as to whether the applications have the same priority per device policy (block 426). If not, then the application having a high priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 428).);
wherein the data connections are established through the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, and the electronic device further performs ([0056] The method 200 includes receiving a request for a data connection to a wireless network from a first application of a first type of application or service (block 202). The method 200 further includes a determination as to whether a second application has an existing data connection (block 204). In block 204, the method 200 includes setting up a data session for the first application in response to determining that no other data session is in progress in block 202. Otherwise, the method 200 includes a determination as to whether the first type and the second type of application or service are compatible for sharing the existing data connection (block 206)):
Sahu fails to disclose the electronic device further performs: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
However, Jain discloses the electronic device further performs: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription ([0029] The UE 110 and/or power saving component 150 may execute performing component 190 to perform a carrier aggregation power saving mode procedure 154 for the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 based on a determination that one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 is configured as the DDS or the non-DDS. [0031] In an aspect, the UE 110 may also only broadcast carrier aggregation capabilities based on a threshold to reduce power consumption. For example, the threshold may correspond to battery charge levels of the UE and/or data usage. Regarding data usage, the user of a UE 110 may have a data plan that reduces data speeds after the user exceeds a data usage threshold for a period of time, and thus, there is no need for broadcasting carrier aggregation capabilities.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for carrier aggregation with respect to multiple subscriptions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the electronic device further performs: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to adjust carrier aggregation configuration in response to changes in data usage to minimize power usage.
Regarding claim 9, Sahu fails to disclose the electronic device, further performing: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
However, Jain discloses the electronic device, further performing: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size ([0058] the method 420 may determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE satisfies a first performance threshold. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE 110 satisfies a first performance threshold. In an example, the performance characteristic of the UE 110 corresponds to at least one of a charge level of a battery of the UE 110 or a data usage of the UE 110, and the first performance threshold corresponds to at least one of a first battery charge level threshold or a first data usage threshold. [0060] At block 426, the method 420 may determine whether the UE is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether the UE 110 is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152. If at block 426, the UE 110 determines that an active call is currently engaged then method 420 proceeds to block 430, otherwise method 420 proceeds to block 432.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the electronic device, further performing: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize power consumption in multi-SIM devices.
Regarding claim 14, Sahu discloses a non-transitory storage medium of an electronic device storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of the electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform:
determining a primary data subscription and a secondary data subscription for the electronic device ([0051] For example, the first application 116 is depicted as being of a first type 122 of application or service and the second application 118 is depicted as being a second type 124 of application or service.);
processing a request for packet service from an application associated with the electronic device; and ([0062) In block 406, the device launches an application that request a packet data connection.)
establishing one or more data connections for the application in response to the request for packet service through at least one of the primary data subscription or the secondary data subscription based on a data subscription policy ([0062] In FIG. 4, a methodology 400 is depicted for integrating device policy and network policy for arbitrating data connection priority between packet data applications or services. [0063] Additionally, methodology 400 includes making a first determination as to whether there is any active data connection (block 410). If not, the application is started with a new data connection (block 412). Otherwise, a second determination is made as to whether the same profile used for current active application may be used for running the application (block 414). If so, then the requested application can share the data connection (block 416). Otherwise, a third determination is made as to whether the same priority is accorded to the requesting application as the currently connected application, according to network policy (block 418). If not, then the application with the highest priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 420). Otherwise, a fourth determination is made as to whether the network policy mandates to share the connection (block 422). If so, then the requesting application can share the data connection (block 424). Otherwise, a fifth determination is made as to whether the applications have the same priority per device policy (block 426). If not, then the application having a high priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 428).);
wherein the data connections are established through the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, and the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform ([0056] The method 200 includes receiving a request for a data connection to a wireless network from a first application of a first type of application or service (block 202). The method 200 further includes a determination as to whether a second application has an existing data connection (block 204). In block 204, the method 200 includes setting up a data session for the first application in response to determining that no other data session is in progress in block 202. Otherwise, the method 200 includes a determination as to whether the first type and the second type of application or service are compatible for sharing the existing data connection (block 206)):
Sahu fails to disclose the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
However, Jain discloses the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription ([0029] The UE 110 and/or power saving component 150 may execute performing component 190 to perform a carrier aggregation power saving mode procedure 154 for the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 based on a determination that one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 is configured as the DDS or the non-DDS. [0031] In an aspect, the UE 110 may also only broadcast carrier aggregation capabilities based on a threshold to reduce power consumption. For example, the threshold may correspond to battery charge levels of the UE and/or data usage. Regarding data usage, the user of a UE 110 may have a data plan that reduces data speeds after the user exceeds a data usage threshold for a period of time, and thus, there is no need for broadcasting carrier aggregation capabilities.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for carrier aggregation with respect to multiple subscriptions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to adjust carrier aggregation configuration in response to changes in data usage to minimize power usage.
Regarding claim 16, Sahu fails to disclose the non-transitory storage, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: stopping aggregation of the first data connection and the second data connection based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
However, Jain discloses the non-transitory storage, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: stopping aggregation of the first data connection and the second data connection based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size ([0058] the method 420 may determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE satisfies a first performance threshold. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE 110 satisfies a first performance threshold. In an example, the performance characteristic of the UE 110 corresponds to at least one of a charge level of a battery of the UE 110 or a data usage of the UE 110, and the first performance threshold corresponds to at least one of a first battery charge level threshold or a first data usage threshold. [0060] At block 426, the method 420 may determine whether the UE is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether the UE 110 is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152. If at block 426, the UE 110 determines that an active call is currently engaged then method 420 proceeds to block 430, otherwise method 420 proceeds to block 432.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the non-transitory storage, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: stopping aggregation of the first data connection and the second data connection based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize power consumption in multi-SIM devices.
Claims 4, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu in view of Jain as applied to claims 1, 8, or 14 above, and further in view of Shih et al (US20150281929A1) (hereinafter "Shih") and Wang et al (US20230133784A1) (hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 4, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the method, wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprising: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
However, Shih discloses the method wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprising: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription ([0037] In Step S304, the select module 200 is configured to determine whether the other SIM 100b camps on a communications network which supports the emergency service (S304), i.e., whether the communications network is a 2G, 3G, or LTE network with IMS or VoLTE supportability. If so, the select module 200 can automatically switch to the SIM 100b for making the emergency call (S306).);
recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and ([0036] The select module 200 may further determine a network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a. The network status includes radio coverage and IMS and VoLTE supportability of the LTE network 12 … the network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a indicates the LTE network 12 has no coverage.)
switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription ([0038] the select module 200 is configured to select the SIM 100b for acquiring the emergency service. The dual-SIM device 10 then performs the emergency call from the SIM 100b. After the emergency call, the select module 200 may switch back to the SIM 100a for acquiring nonemergency services.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Shih are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, with Shih to create the method, wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprising: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a process wherein the device is able to determine when a particular connection/subscription should be utilized.
Regarding claim 10, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the electronic device, wherein one of the data connections is associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the electronic device further performs: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
However, Shih discloses the method wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprising: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription ([0037] In Step S304, the select module 200 is configured to determine whether the other SIM 100b camps on a communications network which supports the emergency service (S304), i.e., whether the communications network is a 2G, 3G, or LTE network with IMS or VoLTE supportability. If so, the select module 200 can automatically switch to the SIM 100b for making the emergency call (S306).);
recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and ([0036] The select module 200 may further determine a network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a. The network status includes radio coverage and IMS and VoLTE supportability of the LTE network 12 … the network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a indicates the LTE network 12 has no coverage.)
switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription ([0038] the select module 200 is configured to select the SIM 100b for acquiring the emergency service. The dual-SIM device 10 then performs the emergency call from the SIM 100b. After the emergency call, the select module 200 may switch back to the SIM 100a for acquiring nonemergency services.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Shih are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, with Shih to create the electronic device, wherein one of the data connections is associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the electronic device further performs: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a process wherein the device is able to determine when a particular connection/subscription should be utilized.
Regarding claim 20, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining a service failure or a service degradation associated with the first data connection; wherein the service failure comprises a data stall, a disconnection, or a server timeout, and the service degradation comprises a reduction in throughput, or an increase in latency.
However, Wang discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform:
determining a service failure or a service degradation associated with the first data connection ([0028] Aspects of the disclosure are further illustrated by and described with reference to apparatus diagrams, system diagrams, and flowcharts that relate to recovering user equipment from call failure in new radio.);
wherein the service failure comprises a data stall, a disconnection, or a server timeout, and the service degradation comprises a reduction in throughput, or an increase in latency ([0026] the UE may perform a call (e.g., voice call) over the second wireless connection using voice over LTE (VoLTE) or circuit switched fallback (CSFB), which may monopolize the common RF resources for the length of the call, and result and causes a timeout and loss of the first wireless connection associated with the first subscription. The UE may then perform a network discovery procedure (e.g., radio access technology acquisition procedure) associated with the first subscription using the first radio access technology (e.g., NR) to restore the first wireless connection.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Wang to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining a service failure or a service degradation associated with the first data connection; wherein the service failure comprises a data stall, a disconnection, or a server timeout, and the service degradation comprises a reduction in throughput, or an increase in latency.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve throughput in response to changes in usage requirements.
Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: switching the first data connection to be through the secondary data subscription; recovering the primary data subscription; and switching the first data connection to be through the primary data subscription.
However, Shih discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: switching the first data connection to be through the secondary data subscription ([0037] In Step S304, the select module 200 is configured to determine whether the other SIM 100b camps on a communications network which supports the emergency service (S304), i.e., whether the communications network is a 2G, 3G, or LTE network with IMS or VoLTE supportability. If so, the select module 200 can automatically switch to the SIM 100b for making the emergency call (S306).);
recovering the primary data subscription; and ([0036] The select module 200 may further determine a network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a. The network status includes radio coverage and IMS and VoLTE supportability of the LTE network 12 … the network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a indicates the LTE network 12 has no coverage.)
switching the first data connection to be through the primary data subscription ([0038] the select module 200 is configured to select the SIM 100b for acquiring the emergency service. The dual-SIM device 10 then performs the emergency call from the SIM 100b. After the emergency call, the select module 200 may switch back to the SIM 100a for acquiring nonemergency services.);
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Shih are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, with Shih to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: switching the first data connection to be through the secondary data subscription; recovering the primary data subscription; and switching the first data connection to be through the primary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a process wherein the device is able to determine when a particular connection/subscription should be utilized.
Claims 5-7, 11-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu in view of Jain as applied to claims 1, 8, or 14 above, and further in view of Chen et al (US20150237497A1) (hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding claim 5, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the method further comprising:
determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
However, Chen discloses the method further comprising: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the method further comprising: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 6, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the method wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
However, Chen discloses the method wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection ([0032] user specified constraint) or a system selection ([0032] dynamic information) ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the method wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 7, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the method wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
However, Chen discloses the method wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences ([0055] The select module 200 then determines whether a user selection of the SIM configuration is input or entered by the user (S518). If it is so, the select module 200 is configured to update the user selection to the SIM configuration and proceed to the automatic SIM selection in Step S506 with the updated SIM configuration.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the method wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 11, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the electronic device, further performing: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
However, Chen discloses the electronic device, further performing: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the electronic device, further performing: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 12, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the electronic device, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
However, Chen discloses the electronic device, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the electronic device, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 13, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the electronic device, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
However, Chen discloses the electronic device, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences ([0055] The select module 200 then determines whether a user selection of the SIM configuration is input or entered by the user (S518). If it is so, the select module 200 is configured to update the user selection to the SIM configuration and proceed to the automatic SIM selection in Step S506 with the updated SIM configuration.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the electronic device, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 17, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
However, Chen discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 18, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
However, Chen discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 19, Sahu, as modified by Jain, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
However, Chen discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences ([0055] The select module 200 then determines whether a user selection of the SIM configuration is input or entered by the user (S518). If it is so, the select module 200 is configured to update the user selection to the SIM configuration and proceed to the automatic SIM selection in Step S506 with the updated SIM configuration.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain, and Chen to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chin et al (US20210282065A1) discloses methods to select a data connection based on which applications are active in a foreground process of an application processor.
Li et al (US20230328120A1) discloses emergency call reliability and session response time optimization through subscription selection.
Majumder et al (US20210029773A1) discloses data service and voice over long term evolution support in a multi-subscriber identity module system using a single transceiver.
Purkayastha et al (US11882610B2) discloses establishing connections using multiple subscriber identity modules via a single communication link.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419