This office action is in response to remarks filed on 04/10/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11-14 and 16-24 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 8, 14, and 20 are amended. Claims 4 and 10 are canceled. Claims 21-24 are added.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 8, 14, and 20 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 21-24 have been added and considered.
Claims 4 and 10 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al (US20120124229A1) (hereinafter "Sahu") in view of Jain et al (US20190014542A1) (hereinafter "Jain") and Shih et al (US20150281929A1) (hereinafter "Shih").
Regarding claim 1, Sahu discloses a method comprising:
determining a primary data subscription and a secondary data subscription for the electronic device ([0051] For example, the first application 116 is depicted as being of a first type 122 of application or service and the second application 118 is depicted as being a second type 124 of application or service.);
processing a request for packet service from an application associated with the electronic device; and ([0062) In block 406, the device launches an application that request a packet data connection.)
establishing one or more data connections for the application in response to the request for packet service through at least one of the primary data subscription or the secondary data subscription based on a data subscription policy ([0062] In FIG. 4, a methodology 400 is depicted for integrating device policy and network policy for arbitrating data connection priority between packet data applications or services. [0063] Additionally, methodology 400 includes making a first determination as to whether there is any active data connection (block 410). If not, the application is started with a new data connection (block 412). Otherwise, a second determination is made as to whether the same profile used for current active application may be used for running the application (block 414). If so, then the requested application can share the data connection (block 416). Otherwise, a third determination is made as to whether the same priority is accorded to the requesting application as the currently connected application, according to network policy (block 418). If not, then the application with the highest priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 420). Otherwise, a fourth determination is made as to whether the network policy mandates to share the connection (block 422). If so, then the requesting application can share the data connection (block 424). Otherwise, a fifth determination is made as to whether the applications have the same priority per device policy (block 426). If not, then the application having a high priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 428).);
wherein the data connections are established through the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, and the method further comprises ([0056] The method 200 includes receiving a request for a data connection to a wireless network from a first application of a first type of application or service (block 202). The method 200 further includes a determination as to whether a second application has an existing data connection (block 204). In block 204, the method 200 includes setting up a data session for the first application in response to determining that no other data session is in progress in block 202. Otherwise, the method 200 includes a determination as to whether the first type and the second type of application or service are compatible for sharing the existing data connection (block 206)):
Sahu fails to disclose a method comprising: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
However, Jain discloses a method comprising: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription ([0029] The UE 110 and/or power saving component 150 may execute performing component 190 to perform a carrier aggregation power saving mode procedure 154 for the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 based on a determination that one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 is configured as the DDS or the non-DDS. [0031] In an aspect, the UE 110 may also only broadcast carrier aggregation capabilities based on a threshold to reduce power consumption. For example, the threshold may correspond to battery charge levels of the UE and/or data usage. Regarding data usage, the user of a UE 110 may have a data plan that reduces data speeds after the user exceeds a data usage threshold for a period of time, and thus, there is no need for broadcasting carrier aggregation capabilities.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for carrier aggregation with respect to multiple subscriptions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create a method comprising: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to adjust carrier aggregation configuration in response to changes in data usage to minimize power usage.
Sahu fails to disclose a method comprising: wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprises: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and
switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
However, Shih discloses a the method wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprising: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription ([0037] In Step S304, the select module 200 is configured to determine whether the other SIM 100b camps on a communications network which supports the emergency service (S304), i.e., whether the communications network is a 2G, 3G, or LTE network with IMS or VoLTE supportability. If so, the select module 200 can automatically switch to the SIM 100b for making the emergency call (S306).);
recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and ([0036] The select module 200 may further determine a network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a. The network status includes radio coverage and IMS and VoLTE supportability of the LTE network 12 … the network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a indicates the LTE network 12 has no coverage.)
switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription ([0038] the select module 200 is configured to select the SIM 100b for acquiring the emergency service. The dual-SIM device 10 then performs the emergency call from the SIM 100b. After the emergency call, the select module 200 may switch back to the SIM 100a for acquiring nonemergency services.).
Sahu and Shih are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu with Shih to create a method, wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprising: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a process wherein the device is able to determine when a particular connection/subscription should be utilized.
Regarding claim 3, Sahu fails to disclose the method further comprising: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
However, Jain discloses the method further comprising: stopping aggregation of the data connections (Fig. 4B; Drop Call. Transmit UE capability information without carrier aggregation information, block 430) based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size ([0058] the method 420 may determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE satisfies a first performance threshold. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE 110 satisfies a first performance threshold. In an example, the performance characteristic of the UE 110 corresponds to at least one of a charge level of a battery of the UE 110 or a data usage of the UE 110, and the first performance threshold corresponds to at least one of a first battery charge level threshold or a first data usage threshold. [0060] At block 426, the method 420 may determine whether the UE is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether the UE 110 is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152. If at block 426, the UE 110 determines that an active call is currently engaged then method 420 proceeds to block 430, otherwise method 420 proceeds to block 432.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the method further comprising: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize power consumption in multi-SIM devices.
Regarding claim 8, Sahu discloses an electronic device comprising:
at least one processor; and ([0109] Processor 714 of a computing platform 715 can be coupled to memory 716, which can store data and/or program codes related to mobile terminal 702.)
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, and cause the electronic device to perform ([0109] Processor 714 of a computing platform 715 can be coupled to memory 716, which can store data and/or program codes related to mobile terminal 702.):
determining a primary data subscription and a secondary data subscription for the electronic device ([0051] For example, the first application 116 is depicted as being of a first type 122 of application or service and the second application 118 is depicted as being a second type 124 of application or service.);
processing a request for packet service from an application associated with the electronic device; and ([0062) In block 406, the device launches an application that request a packet data connection.)
establishing one or more data connections for the application in response to the request for packet service through at least one of the primary data subscription or the secondary data subscription based on a data subscription policy ([0062] In FIG. 4, a methodology 400 is depicted for integrating device policy and network policy for arbitrating data connection priority between packet data applications or services. [0063] Additionally, methodology 400 includes making a first determination as to whether there is any active data connection (block 410). If not, the application is started with a new data connection (block 412). Otherwise, a second determination is made as to whether the same profile used for current active application may be used for running the application (block 414). If so, then the requested application can share the data connection (block 416). Otherwise, a third determination is made as to whether the same priority is accorded to the requesting application as the currently connected application, according to network policy (block 418). If not, then the application with the highest priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 420). Otherwise, a fourth determination is made as to whether the network policy mandates to share the connection (block 422). If so, then the requesting application can share the data connection (block 424). Otherwise, a fifth determination is made as to whether the applications have the same priority per device policy (block 426). If not, then the application having a high priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 428).);
wherein the data connections are established through the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, and the electronic device further performs ([0056] The method 200 includes receiving a request for a data connection to a wireless network from a first application of a first type of application or service (block 202). The method 200 further includes a determination as to whether a second application has an existing data connection (block 204). In block 204, the method 200 includes setting up a data session for the first application in response to determining that no other data session is in progress in block 202. Otherwise, the method 200 includes a determination as to whether the first type and the second type of application or service are compatible for sharing the existing data connection (block 206)):
Sahu fails to disclose an electronic device to perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
However, Jain discloses an electronic device to perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription ([0029] The UE 110 and/or power saving component 150 may execute performing component 190 to perform a carrier aggregation power saving mode procedure 154 for the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 based on a determination that one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 is configured as the DDS or the non-DDS. [0031] In an aspect, the UE 110 may also only broadcast carrier aggregation capabilities based on a threshold to reduce power consumption. For example, the threshold may correspond to battery charge levels of the UE and/or data usage. Regarding data usage, the user of a UE 110 may have a data plan that reduces data speeds after the user exceeds a data usage threshold for a period of time, and thus, there is no need for broadcasting carrier aggregation capabilities.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for carrier aggregation with respect to multiple subscriptions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create an electronic device to perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to adjust carrier aggregation configuration in response to changes in data usage to minimize power usage.
Sahu fails to disclose an electronic device, wherein one of the data connections is associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the electronic device further performs: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
However, Shih discloses an electronic device, wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprising: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription ([0037] In Step S304, the select module 200 is configured to determine whether the other SIM 100b camps on a communications network which supports the emergency service (S304), i.e., whether the communications network is a 2G, 3G, or LTE network with IMS or VoLTE supportability. If so, the select module 200 can automatically switch to the SIM 100b for making the emergency call (S306).);
recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and ([0036] The select module 200 may further determine a network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a. The network status includes radio coverage and IMS and VoLTE supportability of the LTE network 12 … the network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a indicates the LTE network 12 has no coverage.)
switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription ([0038] the select module 200 is configured to select the SIM 100b for acquiring the emergency service. The dual-SIM device 10 then performs the emergency call from the SIM 100b. After the emergency call, the select module 200 may switch back to the SIM 100a for acquiring nonemergency services.).
Sahu and Shih are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as with Shih to create an electronic device, wherein one of the data connections is associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the electronic device further performs: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a process wherein the device is able to determine when a particular connection/subscription should be utilized.
Regarding claim 9, Sahu fails to disclose the electronic device, further performing: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
However, Jain discloses the electronic device, further performing: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size ([0058] the method 420 may determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE satisfies a first performance threshold. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE 110 satisfies a first performance threshold. In an example, the performance characteristic of the UE 110 corresponds to at least one of a charge level of a battery of the UE 110 or a data usage of the UE 110, and the first performance threshold corresponds to at least one of a first battery charge level threshold or a first data usage threshold. [0060] At block 426, the method 420 may determine whether the UE is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether the UE 110 is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152. If at block 426, the UE 110 determines that an active call is currently engaged then method 420 proceeds to block 430, otherwise method 420 proceeds to block 432.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the electronic device, further performing: stopping aggregation of the data connections based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize power consumption in multi-SIM devices.
Regarding claim 14, Sahu discloses a non-transitory storage medium of an electronic device storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of the electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform:
determining a primary data subscription and a secondary data subscription for the electronic device ([0051] For example, the first application 116 is depicted as being of a first type 122 of application or service and the second application 118 is depicted as being a second type 124 of application or service.);
processing a request for packet service from an application associated with the electronic device; and ([0062) In block 406, the device launches an application that request a packet data connection.)
establishing one or more data connections for the application in response to the request for packet service through at least one of the primary data subscription or the secondary data subscription based on a data subscription policy ([0062] In FIG. 4, a methodology 400 is depicted for integrating device policy and network policy for arbitrating data connection priority between packet data applications or services. [0063] Additionally, methodology 400 includes making a first determination as to whether there is any active data connection (block 410). If not, the application is started with a new data connection (block 412). Otherwise, a second determination is made as to whether the same profile used for current active application may be used for running the application (block 414). If so, then the requested application can share the data connection (block 416). Otherwise, a third determination is made as to whether the same priority is accorded to the requesting application as the currently connected application, according to network policy (block 418). If not, then the application with the highest priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 420). Otherwise, a fourth determination is made as to whether the network policy mandates to share the connection (block 422). If so, then the requesting application can share the data connection (block 424). Otherwise, a fifth determination is made as to whether the applications have the same priority per device policy (block 426). If not, then the application having a high priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish (or maintain) a packet data connection (block 428).);
wherein the data connections are established through the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, and the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform ([0056] The method 200 includes receiving a request for a data connection to a wireless network from a first application of a first type of application or service (block 202). The method 200 further includes a determination as to whether a second application has an existing data connection (block 204). In block 204, the method 200 includes setting up a data session for the first application in response to determining that no other data session is in progress in block 202. Otherwise, the method 200 includes a determination as to whether the first type and the second type of application or service are compatible for sharing the existing data connection (block 206)):
Sahu fails to disclose a non-transitory storage medium of an electronic device, the electronic device to further perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
However, Jain discloses a non-transitory storage medium of an electronic device, the electronic device to further perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription ([0029] The UE 110 and/or power saving component 150 may execute performing component 190 to perform a carrier aggregation power saving mode procedure 154 for the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 based on a determination that one of the plurality of subscriptions 152 is configured as the DDS or the non-DDS. [0031] In an aspect, the UE 110 may also only broadcast carrier aggregation capabilities based on a threshold to reduce power consumption. For example, the threshold may correspond to battery charge levels of the UE and/or data usage. Regarding data usage, the user of a UE 110 may have a data plan that reduces data speeds after the user exceeds a data usage threshold for a period of time, and thus, there is no need for broadcasting carrier aggregation capabilities.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for carrier aggregation with respect to multiple subscriptions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create a non-transitory storage medium of an electronic device, the electronic device to further perform: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to adjust carrier aggregation configuration in response to changes in data usage to minimize power usage.
Sahu fails to disclose a non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: switching the first data connection to be through the secondary data subscription; recovering the primary data subscription; and switching the first data connection to be through the primary data subscription.
However, Shih discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform:
determining a service failure or a service degradation associated with the first data connections ([0036] The select module 200 may further determine a network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a. The network status includes radio coverage and IMS and VoLTE supportability of the LTE network 12. For example, the LTE network 12 may have normal service coverage, limited service coverage, or no service coverage. In some embodiments, the network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a indicates the LTE network 12 has a normal or limited service coverage and IMS or VoLTE supportability.);
switching the first data connection to be through the secondary data subscription ([0037] In Step S304, the select module 200 is configured to determine whether the other SIM 100b camps on a communications network which supports the emergency service (S304), i.e., whether the communications network is a 2G, 3G, or LTE network with IMS or VoLTE supportability. If so, the select module 200 can automatically switch to the SIM 100b for making the emergency call (S306).);
recovering the primary data subscription; and ([0036] The select module 200 may further determine a network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a. The network status includes radio coverage and IMS and VoLTE supportability of the LTE network 12 … the network status of the connection associated with the SIM 100a indicates the LTE network 12 has no coverage.)
switching the first data connection to be through the primary data subscription ([0038] the select module 200 is configured to select the SIM 100b for acquiring the emergency service. The dual-SIM device 10 then performs the emergency call from the SIM 100b. After the emergency call, the select module 200 may switch back to the SIM 100a for acquiring nonemergency services.);
Sahu and Shih are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu with Shih to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining a service failure or a service degradation associated with the first data connections; witching the first data connection to be through the secondary data subscription; recovering the primary data subscription; and switching the first data connection to be through the primary data subscription.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a process wherein the device is able to determine when a particular connection/subscription should be utilized.
Regarding claim 16, Sahu fails to disclose the non-transitory storage, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: stopping aggregation of the first data connection and the second data connection based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
However, Jain discloses the non-transitory storage, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: stopping aggregation of the first data connection and the second data connection based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size ([0058] the method 420 may determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE satisfies a first performance threshold. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether a performance characteristic of the UE 110 satisfies a first performance threshold. In an example, the performance characteristic of the UE 110 corresponds to at least one of a charge level of a battery of the UE 110 or a data usage of the UE 110, and the first performance threshold corresponds to at least one of a first battery charge level threshold or a first data usage threshold. [0060] At block 426, the method 420 may determine whether the UE is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to determine whether the UE 110 is engaged in an active call on the one of the plurality of subscriptions 152. If at block 426, the UE 110 determines that an active call is currently engaged then method 420 proceeds to block 430, otherwise method 420 proceeds to block 432.).
Sahu and Jain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu and Jain to create the non-transitory storage, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: stopping aggregation of the first data connection and the second data connection based on a satisfaction of a stop aggregation condition, wherein the stop aggregation condition is based on at least one of: a threshold battery level, a threshold data capacity, or a threshold file size.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize power consumption in multi-SIM devices.
Claims 5-7, 11-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu in view of Jain and Shih, as applied to claims 1, 8, or 14 above, and further in view of Chen et al (US20150237497A1) (hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding claim 5, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the method further comprising:
determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
However, Chen discloses the method further comprising: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the method further comprising: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 6, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the method wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
However, Chen discloses the method wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection ([0032] user specified constraint) or a system selection ([0032] dynamic information) ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the method wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 7, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the method wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
However, Chen discloses the method wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences ([0055] The select module 200 then determines whether a user selection of the SIM configuration is input or entered by the user (S518). If it is so, the select module 200 is configured to update the user selection to the SIM configuration and proceed to the automatic SIM selection in Step S506 with the updated SIM configuration.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the method wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 11, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the electronic device, further performing: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
However, Chen discloses the electronic device, further performing: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the electronic device, further performing: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 12, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the electronic device, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
However, Chen discloses the electronic device, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the electronic device, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 13, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the electronic device, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
However, Chen discloses the electronic device, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences ([0055] The select module 200 then determines whether a user selection of the SIM configuration is input or entered by the user (S518). If it is so, the select module 200 is configured to update the user selection to the SIM configuration and proceed to the automatic SIM selection in Step S506 with the updated SIM configuration.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the electronic device, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 17, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
However, Chen discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the instructions cause the electronic device to further perform: determining policy rule factors for the data subscription policy associated with the electronic device, wherein the policy rule factors are based on at least one of user preferences, capacity rule factors, application rule factors, traffic rule factors, load balance rule factors, use rule factors, status rule factors, or power rule factors.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 18, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
However, Chen discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection ([0032] the wireless device 110 can automatically select one or more active SIMs which provide satisfactory data traffic conditions, and access PS data services on the selected one or more active SIMs. Specifically, the wireless device 110 can select the active SIMs based on SIM information. The SIM information may be a user specified constraint such as a SIM priority, a transmission quota, or an operating status such as enablement and disablement associated with each SIM. The SIM information may also be a dynamic information associated with each SIM, including a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), a ratio of the energy per chip to the noise power density (Ee/NO), signal to noise ratio (SNR), radio resources such as a reception channel quality indicator (RX CQI) and transmission grants (TX grant) that provided by network, device SIM capability information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the wireless device 110, and cell broadcast information such as communication specifications and protocols supported by the PS networks. [0033] The wireless device 110 can calculate a SIM score for each SIM based on one or more SIM information, select the active SIM based on the SIM scores, and perform the PS data service on the selected active SIMs.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the determining the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription is based on a user selection or a system selection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Regarding claim 19, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
However, Chen discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences ([0055] The select module 200 then determines whether a user selection of the SIM configuration is input or entered by the user (S518). If it is so, the select module 200 is configured to update the user selection to the SIM configuration and proceed to the automatic SIM selection in Step S506 with the updated SIM configuration.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Chen to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the processing the request for packet service comprises at least one of: determining information associated with the electronic device, determining information associated with the application, determining information associated with a network for packet service, or determining user preferences.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have metrics on which decisions to change connections/subscriptions can be based.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu in view of Jain and Shih as applied to claims 1, 8, or 14 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US20230133784A1) (hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 20, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the service failure comprises a data stall, a disconnection, or a server timeout, and the service degradation comprises a reduction in throughput, or an increase in latency.
However, Wang discloses the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the service failure comprises a data stall, a disconnection, or a server timeout, and the service degradation comprises a reduction in throughput, or an increase in latency ([0026] the UE may perform a call (e.g., voice call) over the second wireless connection using voice over LTE (VoLTE) or circuit switched fallback (CSFB), which may monopolize the common RF resources for the length of the call, and result and causes a timeout and loss of the first wireless connection associated with the first subscription. The UE may then perform a network discovery procedure (e.g., radio access technology acquisition procedure) associated with the first subscription using the first radio access technology (e.g., NR) to restore the first wireless connection.).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multi-SIM connectivity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Wang to create the non-transitory storage medium, wherein the service failure comprises a data stall, a disconnection, or a server timeout, and the service degradation comprises a reduction in throughput, or an increase in latency.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve throughput in response to changes in usage requirements.
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu in view of Jain and Shih as applied to claims 1, 8, or 14 above, and further in view of Cuevas Ramirez et al (WO2018172003A1) (hereinafter "Cuevas Ramirez").
Regarding claim 21, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the method, wherein the aggregation condition is further based on a threshold data size and/or a threshold throughput; wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a request for a file that satisfies or exceeds the threshold data size or in response to a request for throughput that satisfies or exceeds the threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
However, Cuevas Ramirez discloses the method, wherein the aggregation condition is further based on a threshold data size and/or a threshold throughput; wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a request for a file that satisfies or exceeds the threshold data size or in response to a request for throughput that satisfies or exceeds the threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections (Pg.2, Para. 4: In other words, the multi-subscriber-UE may establish a first bearer for a first subscription, and a second bearer for a second subscription, and combine the resources of both the first and second bearers. Any application running on the multi-subscriber-UE may then use these combined resources via both the first and second bearers as if they are a single resource, such that the maximum data rate for that application is the sum of the data rate of the first bearer and the data rate of the second bearer. In this manner, the multi-subscriber-UE may realise much greater data rates than it would have access to if it were only associated with a single subscription. Pg. 9, Para. 4: Furthermore, the skilled person will also understand that the decision to handover one or more of the bearers may be based on other factors than the cumulative data rate of all bearers. For example, it may be based on some other resource usage factor, such as the data rate of one or a subset of the bearers, an average data rate of all bearers, a usage percentage of the overall base station capacity, and/or the type of service being used by a bearer (e.g. if the bearer relates to a VoIP service)).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirezare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource balancing with multiple connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirez to create the method, wherein the aggregation condition is further based on a threshold data size and/or a threshold throughput; wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a request for a file that satisfies or exceeds the threshold data size or in response to a request for throughput that satisfies or exceeds the threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resource utilization or prevent resource overloading.
Regarding claim 22, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the method, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
However, Cuevas Ramirez discloses the method, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections (Pg.2, Para. 4: In other words, the multi-subscriber-UE may establish a first bearer for a first subscription, and a second bearer for a second subscription, and combine the resources of both the first and second bearers. Any application running on the multi-subscriber-UE may then use these combined resources via both the first and second bearers as if they are a single resource, such that the maximum data rate for that application is the sum of the data rate of the first bearer and the data rate of the second bearer. In this manner, the multi-subscriber-UE may realise much greater data rates than it would have access to if it were only associated with a single subscription. Pg. 9, Para. 4: Furthermore, the skilled person will also understand that the decision to handover one or more of the bearers may be based on other factors than the cumulative data rate of all bearers. For example, it may be based on some other resource usage factor, such as the data rate of one or a subset of the bearers, an average data rate of all bearers, a usage percentage of the overall base station capacity, and/or the type of service being used by a bearer (e.g. if the bearer relates to a VoIP service)).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirezare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource balancing with multiple connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirez to create the method, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resource utilization or prevent resource overloading.
Regarding claim 23, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the electronic device, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
However, Cuevas Ramirez discloses the electronic device, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections (Pg.2, Para. 4: In other words, the multi-subscriber-UE may establish a first bearer for a first subscription, and a second bearer for a second subscription, and combine the resources of both the first and second bearers. Any application running on the multi-subscriber-UE may then use these combined resources via both the first and second bearers as if they are a single resource, such that the maximum data rate for that application is the sum of the data rate of the first bearer and the data rate of the second bearer. In this manner, the multi-subscriber-UE may realise much greater data rates than it would have access to if it were only associated with a single subscription. Pg. 9, Para. 4: Furthermore, the skilled person will also understand that the decision to handover one or more of the bearers may be based on other factors than the cumulative data rate of all bearers. For example, it may be based on some other resource usage factor, such as the data rate of one or a subset of the bearers, an average data rate of all bearers, a usage percentage of the overall base station capacity, and/or the type of service being used by a bearer (e.g. if the bearer relates to a VoIP service)).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirezare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource balancing with multiple connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirez to create the electronic device, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resource utilization or prevent resource overloading.
Regarding claim 24, Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, fails to disclose the electronic device, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
However, Cuevas Ramirez discloses the electronic device, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections (Pg.2, Para. 4: In other words, the multi-subscriber-UE may establish a first bearer for a first subscription, and a second bearer for a second subscription, and combine the resources of both the first and second bearers. Any application running on the multi-subscriber-UE may then use these combined resources via both the first and second bearers as if they are a single resource, such that the maximum data rate for that application is the sum of the data rate of the first bearer and the data rate of the second bearer. In this manner, the multi-subscriber-UE may realise much greater data rates than it would have access to if it were only associated with a single subscription. Pg. 9, Para. 4: Furthermore, the skilled person will also understand that the decision to handover one or more of the bearers may be based on other factors than the cumulative data rate of all bearers. For example, it may be based on some other resource usage factor, such as the data rate of one or a subset of the bearers, an average data rate of all bearers, a usage percentage of the overall base station capacity, and/or the type of service being used by a bearer (e.g. if the bearer relates to a VoIP service)).
Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirezare considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource balancing with multiple connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Sahu, as modified by Jain and Shih, and Cuevas Ramirez to create the electronic device, wherein aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition comprises: in response to a number of applications on the electronic device being below a threshold number while external data sharing is active, or in response to a number of clients associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold number, or in response to requested data throughput associated with external data sharing satisfying or exceeding a threshold throughput, aggregating the data connections.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resource utilization or prevent resource overloading.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states on page 12 of remarks that "… Sahu discloses a solution for multiple applications (i.e., the current active application and the requesting application) to preempt one data connection based on the multi-level arbitration mechanism integrating the device policy and the network policy. That is, the solution of Sahu is directed to solve the contentions between the applications by the multi-level priority arbitration mechanism when multiple applications request a single data connection. However, the solution in amended claim 1 is that one or more data connections are established for one application through the primary data subscription and/or the secondary data subscription based on the data subscription policy. As such, Sahu is directed to a scenario where multiple applications contend for a single data connection to resolve data connection contentions through priority arbitration. Therefore, the solution of Sahu is substantially different from that of amended claim 1 of the present application."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the broadest sense, the claim element merely states that at least one connection is established for an application through a primary subscription, a secondary subscription, or both subscriptions, based on a policy.
Sahu discloses a primary data subscription and a secondary data subscription ([0051] For example, the first application 116 is depicted as being of a first type 122 of application or service and the second application 118 is depicted as being a second type 124 of application or service), and that the determination of which subscription/application establishes a connection is based on the network policy, which specifies priority between applications ([0063] Additionally, methodology 400 includes making a first determination as to whether there is any active data connection ... otherwise, a fifth determination is made as to whether the applications have the same priority per device policy ... then the application having a high priority profile wins, e.g. obtains the right to establish ... a packet data connection (block 428). [0054] For example, the hybrid arbitrator 120 can operate to select the first application 116 or the second application 118 to use the existing data session based on the network policy 104 in response to determining that the network policy 104 specified a different in priority between the first type 122 and the second type 124 of application or service.).
On pages 13 and 14 of remarks, Applicant states that "… the solution of Jain is merely for applying the carrier aggregation on the individual subscription; that is, Jain merely focuses on power reduction for an individual subscription, but fails to disclose establishing data connections using the DDS and non-DDS respectively and aggregating the data connections. … Jain is silent about aggregating the data connections based on the satisfaction of the aggregation condition, let alone disclosing that the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, as recited in amended claim 1."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim language "… establishing one or more data connections … wherein the data connections are established through the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription, and the method further comprises: aggregating the data connections based on a satisfaction of an aggregation condition, wherein the aggregation condition is based on at least one of: user preferences, a threshold data size, a threshold throughput, external data sharing, or capacities associated with the primary data subscription and the secondary data subscription" is not limited multiple subscriptions. The aggregation of a single connection reads on the claim. Jain discusses the aggregation of a single subscription based on the satisfaction of an aggregation condition (e.g. user preference/charge level of the UE battery).
[0023] In an aspect, a UE may be configured as a MSMS device, such as a DSDS device, that is running with LTE on both subscriptions, or LTE on one subscription and non-LTE on the other subscription. The UE broadcasts carrier aggregation capabilities on both subscriptions. However, in this example, only the primary subscription (i.e., DDS) requires a higher data rate (i.e., carrier aggregation throughput) to accommodate for data exchange of application data (e.g., browsing/streaming/etc.) while the secondary subscription (i.e., non-DDS) will only be used for VoLTE. Normally, the network configures secondary cells to UEs that have carrier aggregation capabilities, but this activation depends on the data activity and network loading. Once the secondary cell is configured, the UE configures front end components based on carrier aggregation combination requirements.
[0064] At block 434, the method 420 may transmit, by the UE to a network entity, a UE capability information message with carrier aggregation information on the subscription that is determined to be DDS subscription. For example, the UE 110 may execute the power saving component 150 to transmit, to a network entity, a UE capability information message 156 with carrier aggregation information on the subscription 152 based on the determination that the performance characteristic of the UE 110 fails to satisfy the first performance threshold and the determination that the UE 110 is not engaged in the active call.
[0066] In an example, the performance characteristic of the UE 110 corresponds to at least one of a charge level of a battery of the UE 110 or a data usage of the UE 110, and the second performance threshold corresponds to at least one of a second battery charge level threshold or a second data usage threshold. The second battery charge level threshold corresponds to a minimum charge level of the battery needed for the UE 110 to support carrier aggregation 172.
On pages 15 and 16 of remarks, Applicant states that "… Shih discloses that when the select module cannot launch the emergency service from the SIMl00a and determines that the SIMl00b camps on a communication network supporting the emergency service, the select module switches from the SIMl00a to the SIMl00b, so as to perform the emergency service on the SIMl00b. After the emergency call, the select module switches back to the SIMl00a for performing non-emergency services. In other words, although the select module switches back to the SIMl00a, the original emergency services are not resumed; instead, a different type of services (i.e., non-emergency services) is initiated. However, in amended claim 1, when one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, the one or more data connections are switched to be through a different data subscription. When the data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation is recovered, the one or more data connections are switched back to be through the recovered data subscription. In other words, the same one or more data connections are continued through the recovered data subscription, rather than being replaced by a new data connection."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the broadest sense, the claim limitation only requires the switching of one or more connection from one subscription to a second subscription when there is a failure/degradation, and then switching the connection back to the original subscription upon recovery of the primary subscription. Therefore, Shih discloses the broadest reasonable interpretation of "wherein the one or more data connections are associated with a service failure or a service degradation, and the method further comprises: switching the one or more data connections to be through a different data subscription; recovering a data subscription associated with the service failure or the service degradation to obtain a recovered data subscription; and switching the one or more data connections to be through the recovered data subscription."
Based on remarks above, Examiner maintains rejection of claims 1, 8, and 14, and associated dependent claims based on 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409