DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the measurement instrument (e.g. Claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “a rotation of the polishing pad and the light irradiation part”, which renders the claim indefinite because the capability of the light irradiation part to rotate has not been established.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, & 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merchant et al (6364744) in view of Wiswesser et al (6159073).
Merchant et al disclose a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (e.g. 29, 31, Figs. 3-4) comprising: a polishing platen (e.g. 25’); a polishing pad (e.g. 24’) positioned on the polishing platen and including a light transmissive part (e.g. Col. 3, Ln. 48-51) overlapping the opening; a slurry supply (e.g. 30) having a slurry including a photocatalyst (e.g. Col. 4, Ln. 42 - Col. 5, Ln. 2), the slurry supply disposed so as to supply the slurry with the photocatalyst to the polishing pad; a head part (e.g. 21) positioned on the polishing pad and capable of mounting a substrate (e.g. 20) to be polished; and a light irradiation part (e.g. 34, Col. 3, Ln. 48-52) positioned within the opening of the polishing platen so as to direct light to the light transmissive part of the polishing pad. Wherein the head part and the light irradiation part are rotatable, a rotation direction of the head part is the same as a rotation direction of the light irradiation part, and a rotation speed of the head part is the same as a rotation speed of the light irradiation part (e.g. as indicated by arrows associated with 23 & 26 in Fig. 3, Col. 3, Ln. 38-42); the light irradiation part includes a plurality of regions (e.g. , Col. 3, Ln. 43-44, “fiber optics”), and a light amount is controlled for one or more regions of the plurality of regions (e.g. Col. 3, Ln. 52-55, “intermittent ...” ); the plurality of regions are divided in a form of at least one of straight, circular, and radial (e.g. according to the positioning of the fiber optics); the entire polishing pad is transparent (e.g. 24’, Figs. 3-4); the photocatalyst includes at least one among Au/TiO.sub.2, TiO.sub.2/SeO.sub.2, TiO.sub.2/SiO.sub.2, TiO.sub.2, ZnO, ZrO.sub.2, CdSe, WO.sub.3/TiO.sub.2, and Al.sub.2O.sub.3/ZrO.sub.2. (e.g. Col. 4, Ln. 3-7); the light irradiated from the light irradiation part passes through the transmissive part and reaches the wafer mounted on the head part (e.g. Figs. 3-4).
Merchant et al do not explicitly teach the polishing platen including an opening (e.g. Col. 3, Ln. 51-52, “carried”).
Wiswesser et al teach a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (e.g. Fig. 2) having a polishing platen (e.g. 24) including an opening (e.g. 26) for allowing light (e.g. 42) to pass through the polishing platen.
Merchant et al and Wiswesser et al all seek to provide a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus including a platen and polishing pad, thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus of Merchant et al such that the polishing platen includes an opening, as taught by Wiswesser et al, for the purpose of carrying the light irradiation part.
Further regarding Claims 3-4, 11-12, & 14, Merchant et al, as modified, disclose a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus, as described above, but do not explicitly teach a protection member positioned between the polishing platen and the polishing pad; wherein the protection member is transparent.
Wiswesser et al teach a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (e.g. Fig. 2) including a protection member (e.g. 32) positioned between a polishing platen (e.g. 24) and a polishing pad (e.g. 34); wherein the protection member is transparent (e.g. at 36).
Merchant et al and Wiswesser et al all seek to provide a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus including a platen and polishing pad, thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the chemical mechanical polishing apparatus of Merchant et al, as modified, such that a protection member is positioned between the polishing platen and the polishing pad; wherein the protection member is transparent, as taught by Wiswesser et al, for the purpose of supporting the polishing pad while allowing light to pass there-through.
Further regarding Claim 18, Merchant et al, as modified, disclose a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus, as described above, further including a light source of the light irradiation part is composed of at least one unit, but do not explicitly teach that the light irradiation part includes a measuring instrument controlling the amount of light, and the unit receives power independently from the measuring instrument and controls the amount of light, however these features are considered to be encompassed by the knowledge of the ordinarily skilled artisan (e.g. Col. 3, Ln. 52-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 & 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/MICHAEL LESLIE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745
February 12, 2026