DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on February 17, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 11-12, and 14-15.
Applicant cancelled claims 5-6.
In the non-final rejection of November 21, 2025, Examiner noted that the information disclosure statement filed May 8, 2023, fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2). Applicant submitted a copy of EP 2320842. Concern is withdrawn.
Examiner advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. Applicant cancelled claim 6. Concern is withdrawn.
Examiner objected to claims 11-12 and 14-15. Applicant amended claims 11-12 and 14-15. Objection is withdrawn.
Examiner rejected claims 11-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Applicant amended claim 11. Rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 11, line 23, “the the material” should be changed to “the material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim 1, line 6 recites: a pressure regulator “located within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Claims 2-4 and 7-10 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keh et al (US 2019/0099546).
In regards to claim 1, Keh et al teaches a system (Figure 8), comprising:
an ocular surgical handpiece (20) comprising an irrigation conduit (portions of 20 and/or Irrigation Line, as defined in dependent claims 2, 4, and 7 below) (Figure 8)
an irrigation tube (portions of Irrigation Line, as defined in dependent claims 2, 4, and 7 below) (Figure 8), configured to establish fluidic communication between a supply of irrigation fluid (30) and the irrigation conduit, such that the irrigation fluid flows distally from the supply, via the irrigation tube and the irrigation conduit, to an eye (10) of a patient (Figure 8)
a pressure regulator (862/820) located within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube, or between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube (Figure 8), and configured to regulate an intraocular pressure of the eye by regulating the flow of the irrigation fluid within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube, or between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube (Figure 8)
In regards to claim 2, Keh et al teaches wherein the irrigation tube comprises:
a proximal segment (labeled in Figure 8 below)
a distal segment (labeled in Figure 8 below), configured to couple with the irrigation conduit (20)
wherein the pressure regulator (862) is coupled with the irrigation tube between the proximal segment and the distal segment such that the pressure regulator regulates the flow within the irrigation tube (Figure 8)
In regards to claim 4, Keh et al teaches wherein the pressure regulator (862) comprises:
a proximal port (labeled in Figure 8 below) coupled with a distal end of the irrigation tube (labeled in Figure 8 below)
a distal port (labeled in Figure 8 below) configured to couple with the irrigation conduit (labeled in Figure 8 below) such that the pressure regulator regulates the flow between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube (Figure 8 below)
In regards to claim 7, Keh et al teaches wherein the irrigation conduit comprises:
a proximal segment (labeled in Figure 8 below), configured to couple with the irrigation tube (labeled in Figure 8 below)
a distal segment (labeled in Figure 8 below)
wherein the pressure regulator (862) is coupled with the irrigation conduit between the proximal segment and the distal segment such that the pressure regulator regulates the flow within the irrigation conduit (Figure 8)
In regards to claim 8, Keh et al teaches wherein the ocular surgical handpiece is a phacoemulsification handpiece (20) (paragraph [0023])(Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keh et al, as applied to claim 2 above.
In regards to claim 3, Keh et al is silent about wherein a length of the distal segment is less than 10 cm. But it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a length of the distal segment, of the system of Keh et al, to be less than 10 cm, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the system of Keh et al would not operate differently with the claimed length of the distal segment. Further, it appears that Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed for the length of the distal segment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 17, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In regards to claim 1, Applicant argued: Claim 1, as amended recites in part: "a pressure regulator located within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube, or between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube, and configured to regulate an intraocular pressure of the eye by regulating the flow of the irrigation fluid within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube, or between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube. " Keh does not disclose or suggest these features. Keh describes a pressure sensor 862 located in an irrigation line. (FIG. 8) The sensor 862 is not a regulator. The regulator 820 of Keh controls the pressure in irrigation supply 30 and is located on or in the irrigation supply per FIG. 8. Keh describes the function of the pressure regulator 820 as follows: "pressure regulator 820 [[to]] vent[s] excess pressure until the irrigation pressure is substantially equal to the desired pressure. If, for example, the irrigation pressure measurement is lower than the desired pressure, then the algorithm may increase the irrigation pressure by commanding the pressure regulator 820 to increase pressure until the irrigation pressure is substantially equal to the desired pressure." 1[0085] Thus, not only is the pressure regulator of Keh not located as stated in claim 1, but it does not function by regulating the flow of the irrigation fluid within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube, or between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube (Remarks and Arguments, pages 7-8). Examiner disagrees. A pressure regulator is known in the art to have a sensing element (https://www.beswick.com/resources/the-basics-of-pressure-regulators/)(https://automationforum.co/what-is-a-pressure-regulator-and-how-does-it-work/#htoc-what-is-a-pressure-regulator). Thus, pressure sensor 862 of Keh et al is a component of a pressure regulator 862/820 and is located at least between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube (Figure 8, as defined in dependent claim 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
In regards to claim 11, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of a method for controlling intraocular pressure, as claimed, specifically including wherein the pressure regulator comprises a pressure-regulator conduit, through which the irrigation fluid flows, an irrigation-fluid chamber in fluidic communication with the pressure-regulator conduit, and a control chamber, configured to contain a gas at a predefined threshold pressure, and wherein the pressure regulator comprises a diaphragm disposed between the irrigation-fluid chamber and the control chamber at a position that varies with a pressure differential between the control chamber and the irrigation-fluid chamber, a stopper, and a shaft that couples the stopper with the diaphragm; and wherein, when a pressure within the irrigation-fluid chamber exceeds the threshold pressure, the diaphragm pulls the stopper into the pressure-regulator conduit via the shaft, thereby slowing the flow of the irrigation fluid and regulating the intraocular pressure of the eye by regulating the flow of the irrigation fluid within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube, or between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube.
Keh et al teaches a method for controlling intraocular pressure, the method comprising:
providing a surgical system (Figure 8) comprising:
an ocular surgical handpiece (20) having an irrigation conduit (within 20) and an aspiration channel (within 20)
an irrigation tube (Irrigation Line) and an aspiration tube (Aspiration Line), wherein the irrigation tube and the aspiration tube are each coupled with a proximal end of the ocular surgical handpiece and coupled with the irrigation conduit and the aspiration channel, respectively (Figure 8)
at least one pump (810) coupled with the ocular surgical handpiece via the aspiration tube and configured to aspirate irrigation fluid and material from a lens of an eye (10)
coupling a proximal end of the irrigation tube with a supply (30) of the irrigation fluid, thereby establishing fluidic communication between the supply and the irrigation conduit such that the irrigation fluid flows distally from the supply to the eye, via the irrigation tube (Figure 8)
coupling a pressure regulator (862/820) with the irrigation conduit or the irrigation tube (Figure 8)
supplying the irrigation fluid to the eye (paragraph [0036])
activating the ocular surgical handpiece to emulsify the lens of the eye (paragraph [0039])
activating the at least one pump to aspirate the material from the lens and the irrigation fluid (paragraph [0038])
providing the threshold pressure to the pressure regulator (paragraph [0085])
However, Keh et al is silent about wherein the pressure regulator comprises a pressure-regulator conduit, through which the irrigation fluid flows, an irrigation-fluid chamber in fluidic communication with the pressure-regulator conduit, and a control chamber, configured to contain a gas at a predefined threshold pressure, and wherein the pressure regulator comprises a diaphragm disposed between the irrigation-fluid chamber and the control chamber at a position that varies with a pressure differential between the control chamber and the irrigation-fluid chamber, a stopper, and a shaft that couples the stopper with the diaphragm; and wherein, when a pressure within the irrigation-fluid chamber exceeds the threshold pressure, the diaphragm pulls the stopper into the pressure-regulator conduit via the shaft, thereby slowing the flow of the irrigation fluid and regulating the intraocular pressure of the eye by regulating the flow of the irrigation fluid within the irrigation conduit, within the irrigation tube, or between the irrigation conduit and the irrigation tube.
Thus, claim 11 is allowed. Claims 12-15 are allowed by virtue of being dependent upon claim 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783