Election/Restrictions
The restriction/election requirement of 8-18-25 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huack et al. (US 2007/0274353), hereinafter (“Huack”), and provided by applicant.
Re claims 1, and 8-20, Huack discloses a method of creating a visual impairment zone, the method comprising: producing at least one beam of intense light having a bandwidth of less than 50 nm (p. [0006]); modulating the at least one beam of intense light to produce a spatial array comprising a pattern of light beams illuminating the visual impairment zone (p. [0019]); and altering the pattern of light beams as a function of time to form a varying spatial array, wherein the varying spatial array has the requisite irradiance to cause visual impairment.
Re claim 3, Huack (p. [0037]) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the modulating comprises moving the at least one beam of intense light across a space in a predetermined temporal pattern.
Re claims 4-6, Huack discloses the method of claim 1, where the modulating comprises using a diffractive optical element (p. [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huack in view of Casazza (US 7,239,655). Huack discloses the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the modulating comprises splitting the at least one beam of intense light into the pattern of light beams. Casazza teaches a method of visual impairment that modulates light and wherein the modulating comprises splitting the at least one beam of intense light into the pattern of light beams. The purpose of the beam splitting in Casazza is so that the light from the combined beams can produce the requisite disorientation and flashblinding effects without risking permanent damage to the eye (c. 11, l. 23+). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Huack to include the beam splitting of Casazza. The motivation (as taught by Casazza) would be so that the light from the combined beams can produce the requisite disorientation and flashblinding effects without risking permanent damage to the eye. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641