DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1-2, 6-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Klesyk et al. (US 20230230744)
Regarding claim 1, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0022-0070) discloses plurality of conductive coils (104/112 or 106/114), stacking in a first direction, comprising: a topmost conductive coil (104/112 or 106/114) comprising a first portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and a second portion extending in the first direction (see figures 1/8/10); a bottommost conductive coil (104/112 or 106/114),comprising a third portion extending in the second direction and a fourth portion extending in the first direction(see figures 1/8/10); and at least one intermediate conductive coil extending in the second direction and disposed between the topmost conductive coil and the bottommost conductive coil.(see figures 1/3/7)
Regarding claim 2, Klesyk et al. (figures 1-2/8/10) discloses wherein the first portion of the topmost conductive coil, the third portion of the bottommost conductive coil, and the intermediate conductive coil further extend in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
Regarding claim 6, Klesyk et al.(para 0067) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil, the bottommost conductive coil, and the intermediate conductive coil comprise a copper film.
Regarding claim 7, Klesyk et al.(figures 1/5 and para 0056) discloses a magnetic body (107) covering the plurality of conductive coils.
Regarding claim 8, Klesyk et al.(figures 1/5) discloses wherein a top surface of the magnetic body is higher than a top surface of the topmost conductive coil.
Regarding claim 9, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10) discloses wherein a bottom surface of the magnetic body is lower than a bottom surface of the third portion of the bottommost conductive coil.
Regarding claim 10, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10) discloses wherein the second portion of the topmost conductive coil extends in the first direction to the bottom surface of the magnetic body, and the fourth portion of the bottommost conductive coil extends in the first direction to the bottom surface of the magnetic body.
Regarding claim 11, Klesyk et al.(para 0056) discloses wherein the magnetic body is formed by a mixture of a magnetic alloy powder and a binder.
Regarding claim 14, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0022-0070) discloses a plurality of conductive coils (104/112 or 106/114), stacking in a first direction, comprising: a topmost conductive coil (104/112 or 106/114), extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figures 1/8/10); a bottommost conductive coil (104/112 or 106/114), extending in the second direction(see figures 1/8/10); and at least one intermediate conductive coil extending in the second direction (see figures 1/8/10); and disposed between the topmost conductive coil and the bottommost conductive coil (see figures 1/8/10); and a magnetic body (107); covering the plurality of conductive coils, wherein a first terminal of the topmost conductive coil and a second terminal of the bottommost conductive coil extend in the first direction.(see figures 1/8/10)
Regarding claim 15, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0067) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil comprises a topmost conductive film and the first terminal perpendicular to the topmost conductive film, and the bottommost conductive coil comprises a bottommost conductive film and the second terminal perpendicular to the bottommost conductive film.
Regarding claim 16, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10) discloses wherein the first terminal extends in the first direction to a bottom surface of the magnetic body, and the second terminal extends in the first direction to the bottom surface of the magnetic body.
Regarding claim 17, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil, the bottommost conductive coil, and the intermediate conductive coil further extend in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
2 Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Freakes (US 20160035473)
Regarding claim 1, Freakes (figures 1-5b and para 0057-0070) discloses plurality of conductive coils (12/14), stacking in a first direction, comprising: a topmost conductive coil (see figure 1a) comprising a first portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and a second portion extending in the first direction (see figure 1a); a bottommost conductive coil (12/14),comprising a third portion extending in the second direction and a fourth portion extending in the first direction(see figure 1a); and at least one intermediate conductive coil extending in the second direction and disposed between the topmost conductive coil and the bottommost conductive coil.(see figure 1a)
Regarding claim 3, Freakes (figure 1a and para 0057) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil is in electric contact with the intermediate conductive coil through a first contact (16), and the bottommost conductive coil is in electric contact with the intermediate conductive coil through a second contact (16).
Regarding claim 4, Freakes (figures 3-5a and para 0064) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil and the intermediate conductive coil are separated by a first insulation film (42/52) and the first contact penetrates the first insulation film, and the bottommost conductive coil and the intermediate conductive coil are separated by a second insulation film and the second contact penetrates the second insulation film.
Regarding claim 5, Freakes (para 0082-0083) discloses wherein the first insulation film and the second insulation film comprise a polyimide film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3-4, 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20150155091 in view of Klesyk et al. (US 20230230744)
Regarding claim 1, Chang et al.(figures 1-5 and para 0025-0040) discloses plurality of conductive coils (101-106), stacking in a first direction, comprising: a topmost conductive coil (see figure 2) comprising a first portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figure 2) ; a bottommost conductive coil (101-106),comprising a third portion extending in the second direction (see figure 2) and at least one intermediate conductive coil extending in the second direction and disposed between the topmost conductive coil and the bottommost conductive coil.(see figure 2)
Chang et al. does not expressly disclose a second portion extending in the first direction and a fourth portion extending in the first direction.
Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0022-0070) discloses a teaching wherein second portion extending in the first direction and a fourth portion extending in the first direction.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein second portion extending in the first direction and a fourth portion extending in the first direction as taught by Klesyk et al. to the inductive device of Chang et al. so as to easily allow for the inductive device to be connected to the printed circuit board thereby allowing for improved mechanical strength.
Regarding claim 3, Chang et al. (figure 2 and para 0026) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil is in electric contact with the intermediate conductive coil through a first contact and the bottommost conductive coil is in electric contact with the intermediate conductive coil through a second contact.
Regarding claim 4, Chang et al. (para 0025) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil and the intermediate conductive coil are separated by a first insulation film and the first contact penetrates the first insulation film, and the bottommost conductive coil and the intermediate conductive coil are separated by a second insulation film and the second contact penetrates the second insulation film.
Regarding claim 14, Chang et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0025-0040) discloses discloses a plurality of conductive coils (101-106), stacking in a first direction, comprising: a topmost conductive coil (101-106), extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figure 2); a bottommost conductive coil (101-106), extending in the second direction(see figure 2); and at least one intermediate conductive coil extending in the second direction (see figure 2); and disposed between the topmost conductive coil and the bottommost conductive coil (see figure 2); and a magnetic body (112); covering the plurality of conductive coils.
Chang et al. does not expressly disclose wherein a first terminal of the topmost conductive coil and a second terminal of the bottommost conductive coil extend in the first direction
Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0022-0070) discloses a teaching wherein wherein a first terminal of the topmost conductive coil and a second terminal of the bottommost conductive coil extend in the first direction
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a first terminal of the topmost conductive coil and a second terminal of the bottommost conductive coil extend in the first direction as taught by Klesyk et al. to the inductive device of Chang et al. so as to easily allow for the inductive device to be connected to the printed circuit board thereby allowing for improved mechanical strength.
Regarding claim 18, Chang et al. (figure 2 and para 0026) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil is in electric contact with the intermediate conductive coil through a first contact, and the bottommost conductive coil is in electric contact with the intermediate conductive coil through a second contact.
Regarding claim 19, Chang et al. (para 0025-0026) discloses wherein the topmost conductive coil and the intermediate conductive coil are separated by a first insulation film and the first contact penetrates the first insulation film, and the bottommost conductive coil and the intermediate conductive coil are separated by a second insulation film and the second contact penetrates the second insulation film.
4 Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klesyk et al. (US 20230230744) in view of Karino et al. (US 20170125154).
Regarding claim 12, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0022-0070) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly discloses wherein a first thickness of the topmost conductive coil is less than a second thickness of the intermediate conductive coil, and a third thickness of the bottommost conductive coil is less than the second thickness of the intermediate conductive coil.
Karino et al.(figure 3 and para 0071-0072) discloses a teaching wherein a first thickness of the topmost conductive coil (36) is less than a second thickness of the intermediate conductive coil (34/32), and a third thickness of the bottommost conductive coil (30a) is less than the second thickness of the intermediate conductive coil.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a first thickness of the topmost conductive coil is less than a second thickness of the intermediate conductive coil, and a third thickness of the bottommost conductive coil is less than the second thickness of the intermediate conductive coil as taught by Karino et al to the inductive device of Klesyk et al. so as to easily allow for a more compact inductive device while also saving in production cost in regards to materials and time needed to make the inductive device.
5 Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klesyk et al. (US 20230230744).
Regarding claim 13, Klesyk et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein each of the plurality of conductive coils comprises a plurality of conductive films
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to wherein each of the plurality of conductive coils comprises a plurality of conductive films since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Such as to provides the inductive device with superior electrical/thermal conductivity and high corrosion resistance.
6 Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klesyk et al. (US 20230230744) in view of Ikriannikov (US 20110279100).
Regarding claim 20, Klesyk et al.(figures 1-10 and para 0022-0070) discloses a coil inductor configured to convert a source voltage to a required voltage, the coil inductor comprising: a plurality of conductive coils (104/112 or 106/114), stacking in a first direction (see figures 1-10), comprising: a topmost conductive coil comprising a first portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figures 1-10), and a second portion extending in the first direction (see figures 1-10); a bottommost conductive coil comprising a third portion extending in the second direction and a fourth portion extending in the first direction (see figures 1-10,; and at least one intermediate conductive coil extending in the second direction and disposed between the topmost conductive coil and the bottommost conductive coil(see figures 1-10).
Klesyk et al. does not expressly discloses wherein a coil inductor configured to convert a source voltage to a required voltage and a controller coupled to the coil inductor and configured to control operations of the coil inductor.
Ikriannikov (figures 36 and para 0103-0112) discloses wherein a coil inductor configured to convert a source voltage to a required voltage and a controller coupled to the coil inductor and configured to control operations of the coil inductor.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a coil inductor configured to convert a source voltage to a required voltage and a controller coupled to the coil inductor and configured to control operations of the coil inductor as taught by Ikriannikov to the inductive device of Klesyk et al. so as to allow the capability to step up or down DC voltages and to provide faster response to load changes, allowing for tighter voltage regulation in high-current applications
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837