DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ota (US 20110197389).
Regarding claim 1, Ota teaches an electrical device (figure 1 items 50, 70 and 100 defined in paragraph [0036] as an electric power tool) comprising:
a control or regulating circuit (figure 5 item 152 defined in paragraph [0056] as a main controller); and
a plurality of electromechanical battery interfaces configured to supply the electrical device with a maximum permissible operating voltage using at least one exchangeable battery pack (figure 3 item 130 defined in paragraph [0049] wherein the electric tool includes a plurality of battery interfaces to supply the electrical device with at least one exchangeable pack, item 10),
wherein the at least one exchangeable battery pack is releasably accommodated by the plurality of electromechanical battery interfaces (Paragraphs [0038] teaches wherein the battery packs 10 and 30 are removable and releasable),
wherein the electromechanical battery interfaces are configured to accommodate exchangeable battery packs of at least two different voltage classes (Paragraphs [0036] – [0037] teaches wherein the battery interfaces may accommodate battery packs of a high voltage, item 30 and a low voltage item 10), and
wherein the control or regulating circuit of the electrical device is configured to electrically connect several exchangeable battery packs of a lower voltage class in series and/or in parallel such that a resulting battery voltage does not exceed the maximum permissible supply voltage ([0092] teaches wherein the battery packs may be accommodated to connect in series and/or parallel so as to not exceed a maximum voltage. Paragraph [0058] teaches controlling the voltage so that it does not exceed a maximum or pre-set permissible value), and
wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to connect a plurality of the exchangeable battery packs of a highest possible voltage class in parallel (paragraphs [0039] and [0092] teaches wherein the battery packs may be connected in parallel for a highest possible class).
Ota figure 3 shows wherein the electronic device, 100, accommodates two battery packs items 10
Regarding claim 9, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 5, further comprising: a display configured to display the exchangeable battery packs currently being controlled, the measured temperature values, and/or battery voltages thereof (paragraph [0072] teaches wherein a display, interpreted as LCD or lights indicate which battery pack is in use and its status of battery voltage).
Regarding claim 10, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of electromechanical battery interfaces includes (i) at least two electromechanical battery interfaces for exchangeable battery packs of the highest possible voltage class, and (ii) at least two electromechanical battery interfaces for exchangeable battery packs of the lower voltage class (figure 4 item 130 shows a plurality of battery interfaces for a plurality of low voltage battery packs. High voltage battery packs are taught within in the system, thus it is obvious to include a plurality of high battery packs to the plurality of battery interfaces).
Regarding claim 11, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 1, wherein: the plurality of electromechanical battery interfaces includes at least two combination battery interfaces, and a first combination interface consists of a plurality of the electromechanical battery interfaces for exchangeable battery packs of at least two different voltage classes such that exchangeable battery packs of different voltage classes cannot be accommodated in it at the same time (paragraph [0040] and figures 4 and 9 show wherein different battery pack with different voltage may be attached. Figure 4 shows wherein one battery pack may be attached and that no other battery pack may be attached).
Regarding claim 12, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 1, wherein: the exchangeable battery packs of a highest possible voltage class are 36 V exchangeable battery packs, and the exchangeable battery packs of the lower voltage classes are 18 V and/or 12 V exchangeable battery packs (paragraphs [0040] teaches wherein the voltages of the battery packs may be 36V and 18V and/or 12V).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 3 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (US 20110197389) in view of Willgert (US 20150357684).
Regarding claim 3, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to control a plurality of the exchangeable battery packs of a highest possible voltage class sequentially or alternately such that only one of the exchangeable battery packs provides energy to the battery-operated device at any given time.
Willgert teaches wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to control a plurality of the exchangeable battery packs of a highest possible voltage class sequentially or alternately such that only one of the exchangeable battery packs provides energy to the battery-operated device at any given time (defined in paragraph [0059] wherein the control circuitry item 100/102 sequentially operates or discharges a plurality of battery packs to provide power to a tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ota reference with the charging system of the Willgert reference so that the battery packs would improve performance and/or efficacy of the battery packs as power is provided to tool.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Willgert reference in paragraph [0008] wherein battery performance is improved.
Willgert Figure 5 shows a plurality of battery packs attached to tool to provide power thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to control a plurality of exchangeable battery packs of different voltage classes in a parallel connection sequentially or alternately such that a resulting battery voltage of all exchangeable battery packs of the same voltage class does not exceed the maximum permissible supply voltage.
Willgert teaches wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to control a plurality of exchangeable battery packs of different voltage classes in a parallel connection sequentially or alternately such that a resulting battery voltage of all exchangeable battery packs of the same voltage class does not exceed the maximum permissible supply voltage (defined in paragraph [0059] wherein the control circuitry item 100/102 sequentially operates or discharges a plurality of battery packs to provide power to a tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ota reference with the charging system of the Willgert reference so that the battery packs would improve performance and/or efficacy of the battery packs as power is provided to tool.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Willgert reference in paragraph [0008] wherein battery performance is improved.
Regarding claim 5, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to record a temperature value measured in each exchangeable battery pack and to control the exchangeable battery packs sequentially or alternately as a function of the measured temperature values such that it switches from (i) an exchangeable battery pack the measured temperature value of which exceeds a temperature limit value to (ii) an exchangeable battery pack the measured temperature value of which does not exceed the temperature limit value.
Willgert teaches wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to record a temperature value measured in each exchangeable battery pack and to control the exchangeable battery packs sequentially or alternately as a function of the measured temperature values such that it switches from (i) an exchangeable battery pack the measured temperature value of which exceeds a temperature limit value to (ii) an exchangeable battery pack the measured temperature value of which does not exceed the temperature limit value (paragraphs [0033]-[0034] teaches wherein the temperature is sensed by a sensor network item 240 and the information is sent to control the switching assemblies based on the data received. The switching assemblies selectively control which battery pack is to be operated, sequentially or alternately, as it provides power to the tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ota reference with the charging system of the Willgert reference so that the battery packs would improve performance and/or efficacy of the battery packs as power is provided to tool.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Willgert reference in paragraph [0008] wherein battery performance is improved.
Regarding claim 6, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 3, wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to record the battery voltage of each exchangeable battery pack (defined in paragraph [0054] wherein the battery voltage of the battery pack is measured and compared to a predetermined threshold) but does not explicitly teach wherein to control the exchangeable battery packs sequentially or alternately as a function of the measured battery voltages such that it switches from (i) an exchangeable battery pack, the measured battery voltage of which falls below a minimum voltage limit value to (ii) an exchangeable battery pack, the measured battery voltage of which does not fall below the minimum voltage limit value.
Willgert teaches wherein to control the exchangeable battery packs sequentially or alternately as a function of the measured battery voltages such that it switches from (i) an exchangeable battery pack, the measured battery voltage of which falls below a minimum voltage limit value to (ii) an exchangeable battery pack, the measured battery voltage of which does not fall below the minimum voltage limit value (paragraph [0048] teaches determining when a battery voltage falls below a minimum voltage value the user is notified and the switches selectively switch off the battery pack. Paragraph [0061] teaches wherein the voltage is sensed by a sensor network item 240 and the information is sent to control the switching assemblies based on the data received. The switching assemblies selectively control which battery pack is to be operated, sequentially or alternately, as it provides power to the tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ota reference with the charging system of the Willgert reference so that the battery packs would improve performance and/or efficacy of the battery packs as power is provided to tool.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Willgert reference in paragraph [0008] wherein battery performance is improved.
Regarding claim 7, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to control the exchangeable battery packs such that a total power does not fall below a preset minimum power for the battery-operated device.
Willgert teaches wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to control the exchangeable battery packs such that a total power does not fall below a preset minimum power for the battery-operated device (paragraph [0048] teaches determining when a battery voltage falls below a minimum voltage value, the user is notified and the switches selectively switch off the battery pack. Paragraph [0061] teaches wherein the voltage is sensed by a sensor network item 240 and the information is sent to control the switching assemblies based on the data received. The switching assemblies selectively control which battery pack is to be operated, sequentially or alternately, as it provides power to the tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ota reference with the charging system of the Willgert reference so that the battery packs would improve performance and/or efficacy of the battery packs as power is provided to tool.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Willgert reference in paragraph [0008] wherein battery performance is improved.
Regarding claim 8, Ota teaches the electrical device according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to block the battery-operated device when a resulting battery voltage of all possible connection variations of the exchangeable battery pack falls below a minimum voltage limit value.
Willgert teaches wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to block the battery-operated device when a resulting battery voltage of all possible connection variations of the exchangeable battery pack falls below a minimum voltage limit value (paragraph [0048] teaches determining when a battery voltage falls below a minimum voltage value, the device is blocked or the battery is blocked from providing power as it is selectively switched off. Paragraph [0061] teaches wherein the voltage is sensed by a sensor network item 240 and the information is sent to control the switching assemblies based on the data received. The switching assemblies selectively control which battery pack is to be operated, sequentially or alternately, as it provides power to the tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Ota reference with the charging system of the Willgert reference so that the battery packs would improve performance and/or efficacy of the battery packs as power is provided to tool.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Willgert reference in paragraph [0008] wherein battery performance is improved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Ota reference does not disclose or suggest the limitation, “wherein the control or regulating circuit is configured to connect a plurality of the exchangeable battery packs of a highest possible voltage class in parallel.” This is not persuasive.
The Ota reference discloses in paragraph [0092] a tool having battery interfaces configured to receive “three or more battery packs with differing nominal voltage in series/parallel.” The applicant improperly equates, “highest possible voltage” with the use of dedicated “high-voltage battery packs.” The claims do not recite a requirement for multiple “high-voltage battery packs” just merely achieving “highest possible voltage.” The Ota reference discloses a plurality of battery packs having a nominal voltage that may connected in series and/or parallel to match the voltage requirements of high-voltage tools. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that combining multiple battery packs of differing voltages can produce the maximum (highest) obtainable voltage for the system. The resulting combined voltage constitutes the claimed, “highest possible voltage,” even if the individual battery pack themselves are not each independently “high-voltage battery packs.”
The claim language does not limit how the highest possible voltage is achieved, nor does it require that the voltage originate exclusively from identical high-voltage battery packs.
Regarding claims 3 – 12, the claims are dependent upon claim 1. Please see arguments above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20210111568 A1 Battery System And Control Method Cho; Young Shin Et Al.
Us 20150200553 A1 Battery Pack Endo; Takayoshi Et Al.
Us 20180152043 A1 Power Tool And Control Method Thereof Geng; Zheng
Us 20120205984 A1 Power Supply Device Goto; Masahiko Et Al.
Us 20090071675 A1 Battery Pack And Cordless Tool Hanawa; Hiroyuki Et Al.
Us 7714538 B2 Battery Pack Johnson; Todd W. Et Al.
Us 20220146586 A1 Controlling Turn-On Operation Of Switch Units Kang; Su-Won
Us 20230405784 A1 Battery-Operated Handheld Power Tool Kuhlmann; Kevin
Us 20070236173 A1 Battery Pack Kimura; Tadao
Us 20180198292 A1 Universal Power Tool Battery Pack Lee; John Et Al.
Us 20140265604 A1 Power Tool Having Multiple Battery Packs Mergener; Matthew J.
Us 20190260209 A1 Battery Pack Nishikawa; Tomomasa Et Al.
Us 20130025893 A1 Electric Power Tool Ota; Tomoyuki Et Al.
Us 20110198103 A1 Electric Tool Suzuki; Hitoshi
Us 20160020443 A1 Power Tool System White; Daniel J. Et Al.
Us 10476278 B2 Archiving Battery Performance Data Yip; Sean Et Al.
Us 20090237012 A1 Cordless Power Tool Yokoyama; Kousei Et Al.
Us 20210354541 A1 User-Scalable Removable Battery Packs Zeiler; Jeffrey Et Al.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859