DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the permeable decorative housing comprising an outer permeable portion comprising a fabric material and an inner permeable portion comprising a foam material, or claim 1, the attachment mechanism of claim 9, the interlocking portions of claim 10, the stems and grooves of claims 11 and 12, the Velcro, button, zippers of claim 13
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (5,765,751) in view of Hecking (4,712,737) and Lehman et al. (6,220,473)
Regarding claim 1, Joshi shows a fragrance diffusing device comprising: a fragrance reservoir (16); and a vessel (11), wherein the vessel comprises: a first substantially impermeable layer defining an internal space (figure 1) and comprising one or more openings (14); and a semi-permeable layer (13) disposed within the internal space of the first substantially impermeable layer; a first sealing flap (15) overlapping a first opening (14) of the one or more openings; wherein the fragrance reservoir is configured to be placed within the vessel with the semi-permeable layer disposed between the first substantially impermeable layer and the fragrance reservoir (fig 1), and the first sealing flap comprise mechanical seals (tap includes a sticky glue that is a mechanical seal) configured to be an impermeable layer for allowing selective opening and closing of the first opening and the at least one additional openings;
But fails to disclose at least one additional sealing flap overlapping at least one additional opening of the one or more openings.
However Hecking teaches a sent diffusing device that includes two sealing flaps (16) that each close separate openings (15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to make the single sealing flap of Joshi into at least two sealing flaps so that the sealing flaps can be removed to permit exposure of less than all of the openings as taught by Hecking (abstract).
The above combination still fails to disclose that the fragrance reservoir and vessel are housed by a permeable decorative housing comprising an outer permeable portion comprising a fabric material and an inner permeable portion comprising a foam material.
However, Lehman et al. teaches a permeable decorative housing (10) comprising an outer permeable portion (58) comprising a fabric material and an inner permeable portion comprising a foam material (60),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to put the vessel with the fragrance reservoir of Joshi as modified above, inside the container (10) of Lehman et al. in order to keep the inside of the container scented.
In the above combination, the inner permeable portion (60 on the inside of 10) is disposed between the outer permeable portion (58 on the outside of 10) and the vessel (of Joshi).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the first substantially impermeable layer comprises plastic (col 2, lines 63).
Regarding claim 4, the above combination fails to disclose that the first sealing flap and the at least one additional sealing flap comprise of at least one of a plastic based material, a paper based material, or a combination thereof.
However, plastic and paper based tapes are well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use a paper based tape in order to be more environmentally friendly
Regarding claim 5, wherein at least a portion of the mechanical seal is disposed on at least a portion of the first sealing flap and the at least one additional sealing flap (each flap is a tape with a sickly seal).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first substantially impermeable layer comprises a perforated portion that extends partially from a first edge of the substantially impermeable layer to a second edge about a width of the first substantially impermeable layer (figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, further comprising an attachment mechanism (fig 5, 6 Joshi) used to attach the decorative housing to a mirror of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a resealable opening (14) configured for selectively placing or removing the fragrance reservoir and/or the vessel from inside the permeable decorative housing, wherein the resealable opening comprises at least one of Velcro (50), buttons, zippers, or combinations thereof.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (5,765,751) as modified by Hecking (4,712,737) and Lehman et al. (6,220,473) above, further in view of Van Kippersluis (2007/0057086).
Regarding claim 3, Joshi as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose that the semi-permeable layer comprises cotton fibers. synthetic fibers, or both.
However, Van Kippersluis teaches a similar scent dispensing device that has a semi-permeable layer (70) made from synthetic or cotton fibers [0026]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use cotton or synthetic fibers for the semi-permeable layer of Joshi as modified above, in order to absorb and release scented material.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (5,765,751) as modified by Hecking (4,712,737) and Lehman et al. (6,220,473) above, further in view of Joshi et al (2010/0176214).
Regarding claim 10, Joshi as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose that the mechanical seals comprise one or more interlocking portions.
However, Joshi et al teaches the use of Velcro as a mechanical seal [0019] to secure a cover to a sent diffuser.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to Velcro as the mechanical seal to make the seal reusable.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Velcro includes interlocking stems and grooves.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON J BOECKMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 10/3/2025