DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1 (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 01/06/26 is acknowledged. Claims 10-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species 2-3, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations …”a third magnetic core located in the space enclosed by the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core….and the third magnetic core is fixedly connected to the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core….” is vague and indefinite. Paea 0040-0043 of the applicant pgpub discloses wherein the third magnetic core is made of a plurality of core sections, wherein a first third core segment is connected a first magnetic core and a second third core section is connected to a second magnetic core. The examiner is unclear on how a third magnetic core is connected to the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core. In order for the third magnetic core to be connected to the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core wouldn’t the core portions of the third core need to have a plurality of core sections for this statement to be true so as to correlate with the drawings shown in figures 2-4 and specifications as well? For examing purposes the examiner will assume that third core segment is fixedly connected to at least one of first magnetic core or the second magnetic core. Claims 2-9 are rejected under the same premise as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations …” wherein the air gap is formed between each groove and the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core…” is vague and indefinite. The first two lines of claim 2, appears to claim a groove and the last two lines is a pair of grooves.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations …” wherein an opening area of each groove is greater than an end face area of the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core.…” is vague and indefinite. Claim 5 appears to claim a pair of grooves but only a groove is being claimed.
Regarding claim 6, the limitations …” a gap disposed between each sidewall of each groove and an opposite sidewall of the third magnetic core..…” is vague and indefinite. Claim 6 appears to claim a pair of grooves but only a groove is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Gaynor (US 2333995).
Regarding claim 1, Gaynor (figures 1-2 and Col 1, lines 28-55 - Col 3, lines 1-55) disclose a first magnetic core (see the outer legs and bottom portion of Ref# 16)and a second magnetic core (14) disposed opposite to each other, wherein the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core enclose a space for accommodating a winding (see figure 1); and a third magnetic core (see middle core leg that has winding wrapped around it) located in the space enclosed by the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core (see figure 1), wherein the third magnetic core is configured to wind the winding (see figure 1); and the third magnetic core is fixedly connected to the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core (see figure 1), and an air gap is disposed in at least one of the first magnetic core or the second magnetic core (see figure 1 showing the air gap between the groove 22 and the third middle core leg).
Regarding claim 2, Gaynor (figures 1-2) disclose a groove (22) disposed in at least one of the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core for accommodating an end portion of the third magnetic core (see figure 1); and wherein the air gap is formed between each groove and the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core. (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Gaynor (figures 1-2) disclose wherein the third magnetic core and the first magnetic core are of an integral structure (see figure 1); and the air gap is disposed in the second magnetic core. (see figure 1)
Regarding claim 8, Gaynor (figures 1-2) disclose wherein the first magnetic core and the third magnetic core form an E-shaped magnetic core (see figure 1); and the second magnetic core is of a plate-like structure (see figure 1).
2. Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hagiwara et al. (JP 04206509)(English translation in Prior art section).
Regarding claim 1, Hagiwara et al. (figure 1 and page 2) disclose a first magnetic core (see the outer legs 12a/12band bottom portion 13) and a second magnetic core (15) disposed opposite to each other, wherein the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core enclose a space for accommodating a winding (see figure 1); and a third magnetic core (11) located in the space enclosed by the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core (see figure 1), wherein the third magnetic core is configured to wind the winding (see figure 1); and the third magnetic core is fixedly connected to the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core (see figure 1), and an air gap is disposed in at least one of the first magnetic core or the second magnetic core (see figure 1 showing the air gap 4b between the groove and the third middle core leg).
Regarding claim 2, Hagiwara et al. (figures 1) disclose a groove (see figure 1) disposed in at least one of the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core for accommodating an end portion of the third magnetic core (see figure 1); and wherein the air gap is formed between each groove and the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core. (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Hagiwara et al. (figures 1) disclose wherein the third magnetic core and the first magnetic core are of an integral structure (see figure 1); and the air gap is disposed in the second magnetic core. (see figure 1)
Regarding claim 8, Hagiwara et al. (figures 1) disclose wherein the first magnetic core and the third magnetic core form an E-shaped magnetic core (see figure 1); and the second magnetic core is of a plate-like structure (see figure 1).
3. Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Huang et al. (W0 2010/057350).(English translation in Prior art section).
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al. (figure 11 and page 8) disclose a first magnetic core (see right side of figure 11) and a second magnetic core (see left side of figure 11) disposed opposite to each other, wherein the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core enclose a space for accommodating a winding (see figure 11); and a third magnetic core (see middle portion of figure 11) located in the space enclosed by the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core (see figure 11), wherein the third magnetic core is configured to wind the winding (see figure 11); and the third magnetic core is fixedly connected to the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core (see figure 11), and an air gap is disposed in at least one of the first magnetic core or the second magnetic core (see figure 11 showing the air gap section that are disposed in the right core portion of figure 11 and page 3 disclosing magnetic air gap section implemented into the core section: the groove section can be broadly interpreted as a air gap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (W0 2010/057350) in view of Hagiwara et al. (JP 04206509)
Regarding claim 2, Huang et al. (figure 11 and page 8) discloses a groove disposed in at least one of the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core for accommodating an end portion of the third magnetic core (see figure 11).
Huang et al. does not expressly disclose wherein an air gap is formed between a groove and the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core.
Hagiwara et al. (figure 1 and page 2) discloses a teaching wherein an air gap is formed between a groove and the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein an air gap is formed between a groove and the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core as taught by Hagiwara et al. to the inductive of Huang et al. so as design a more compact core while also allowing the inductive device the capability to prevent magnetic saturation, increase energy storage capacity, and stabilize inductance against temperature fluctuations.
5. Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (W0 2010/057350) in view of Hagiwara et al. (JP 04206509) in further view of Shao et al (CN 103258624A) (English translation in Prior art section).
Regarding claim 3, Huang et al. (figure 11 and page 8) discloses all the limitations noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein the air gap comprises an insulation layer, and the end portion of the third magnetic core is fixedly connected to the corresponding groove using the insulation layer.
Shao et al (see figure 4 and the last para of page 4) discloses wherein the air gap (34) comprises an insulation layer, and the end portion of the third magnetic core is fixedly connected to the corresponding groove using the insulation layer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the air gap comprises an insulation layer, and the end portion of the third magnetic core is fixedly connected to the corresponding groove using the insulation layer as taught by Shao et al. to the inductive of Huang et al. so as to prevent to heat loss and moisture problems.
Regarding claim 4, Shao et al (see figure 4) discloses wherein a thickness of the insulation layer is less than a depth of the corresponding groove.
Regarding claim 5, Shao et al (see figure 4) discloses wherein an opening area of each groove is greater than an end face area of the corresponding inserted end portion of the third magnetic core.
Regarding claim 6, Shao et al (see figure 4) discloses wherein a gap disposed between each sidewall of each groove and an opposite sidewall of the third magnetic core.
6. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (W0 2010/057350) in view of Vail (US 8,035,472)
Regarding claim 9, Huang et al. (figure 11 and page 8) disclose wherein each of the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core is a C-shaped magnetic core, and the air gap is disposed in each of the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core. (see figure 11 disclosing and air gap sections disposed in the left and right core sections: the groove/notch sections can be broadly interpreted as a air gap)
Huang et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the third magnetic core comprises: a fourth magnetic cores fixedly connected to the first magnetic core; and a fifth magnetic core fixedly connected to the second magnetic core.
Vail (figure 7) disclose a teaching wherein the third magnetic core comprises: a fourth magnetic cores fixedly connected to the first magnetic core; and a fifth magnetic core fixedly connected to the second magnetic core.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the third magnetic core comprises: a fourth magnetic cores fixedly connected to the first magnetic core; and a fifth magnetic core fixedly connected to the second magnetic core as taught by Vail to the inductive of Huang et al. so as to allow for improved resistance to magnetic saturation will also allowing for a reduction in energy losses.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (W0 2010/057350) in view of CN 207909617(English translation in Prior art section).
Regarding claim 9, Huang et al. (figure 11 and page 8) disclose wherein each of the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core is a C-shaped magnetic core, and the air gap is disposed in each of the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core. (see figure 11 disclosing and air gap sections disposed in the left and right core sections: the groove/notch sections can be broadly interpreted as a air gap)
Huang et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the third magnetic core comprises: a fourth magnetic cores fixedly connected to the first magnetic core; and a fifth magnetic core fixedly connected to the second magnetic core.
CN 207909617 (figure 1) disclose a teaching wherein the third magnetic core comprises: a fourth magnetic cores fixedly connected to the first magnetic core; and a fifth magnetic core fixedly connected to the second magnetic core.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the third magnetic core comprises: a fourth magnetic cores fixedly connected to the first magnetic core; and a fifth magnetic core fixedly connected to the second magnetic core as taught by CN 207909617 to the inductive of Huang et al. so as to allow for improved resistance to magnetic saturation will also allowing for a reduction in energy losses.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837