Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment and request for reconsideration of application 18/145,446 filed on December 26, 2025.
The amendment contains amended claims: 1, 11, 13.
Claims 1, 11 and 13 are amended.
Claims 2, 4-16, 18-22 was previously.
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-22 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Claim 3 and 17 are cancelled.
Claims 1-, 2, 4-16, 18-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 9-10, 14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lekkas (2019/0281052) in view of Takahashi (US 10805813 B2)
Regarding claim 1, Lekkas discloses a vehicle control apparatus, comprising:
a communications bus (¶0024);
a plurality of first circuit boards each comprising an internal network interface, wherein the internal network interface is configured to communicatively couple the vehicle control apparatus to an in-vehicle network of a vehicle (FIG. 1, ECU1..ECUN, Vehicle Network 177, 155 TCU); and
a second circuit board coupled to the plurality of first circuit boards via the communications bus, wherein the second circuit board comprises an external network interface (FIG. 1, 110, vehicle network 170), configured to communicatively couple the vehicle control apparatus to a vehicle external network (FIG. 1, 110, vehicle network 175), wherein the second circuit board is configured to only communicate with the in-vehicle network through the plurality of first circuit boards (FIG. 1, Module 110, connected to ECU1…ECUN.. through access port and vehicle network 170).
Lekkas discloses Takahashi teaches wherein the plurality of first circuit boards is configured to only communicate with the vehicle external network through the second circuit board (fig. 1, circuit 155 connected to circuit 190 through remote network 180). However, should it be found that Lekkas does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first circuit boards is configured to only communicate with the vehicle external network through the second circuit board, Takahashi teaches wherein the plurality of first circuit boards is configured to only communicate with the vehicle external network through the second circuit board (FIG. 1 shows circuits 102-107 communicate to external network 111 through control unit 101. Furthermore, circuits 102-107 communicate to external network 150 through 111.).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle network disclosed in Lekkas with the first circuit and second circuit in Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted ensuring that no data are lost by the presence of other bus participants (i.e., by transmission to and from other endpoints).
Regarding claim 4, Lekkas discloses further comprising a plurality of second circuit boards, and, wherein the plurality of second circuit boards comprises the second circuit board, and wherein each of the plurality of second circuit boards is communicatively coupled to the first circuit board (FIG. 1 shows ECU1, ECU2,.. ECU n coupled and ¶0037 “one or more ECUs (e.g., one or more of ECU nodes 140, 145, and 150) communicatively coupled to automotive controller network 170.”).
Regarding claim 5, Lekkas discloses a plurality of first circuit boards comprising the first circuit board; and a plurality of second circuit boards, and comprising the second circuit board, wherein each of the plurality of first circuit boards is communicatively coupled to a part or all of the plurality of second circuit boards (FIG. 1 shows ECU1, ECU2,.. ECU n coupled and ¶0037 “one or more ECUs (e.g., one or more of ECU nodes 140, 145, and 150) communicatively coupled to automotive controller network 170.”).
Regarding claim 7, Lekkas discloses wherein the internal network interface comprises an input/output (I/O) interface configured to communicate with a vehicle component in the vehicle using the in-vehicle network (¶0027, “TCU 155 may include a Bluetooth radio configured to transmit authorized operations and/or information received from external devices over vehicle network 177”).
Regarding claim 8, Lekkas discloses wherein the internal network interface comprises one or more of the following input/output interfaces: a controller area network Controller Area Network(CAN) input interface; a local interconnect network (LIN) input interface; an analog input interface; a digital input interface[[,]];a single edge nibble transmission (SENT) input interface[[,]];a Hall signal input interface[[,]];a low edge output interface[[,]];a high edge output interface[[,]];an H-bridge output interface[[,]];a brushless direct current motor (BLDCM) output interface[[,]];a current valve control interface; an Ethernet internal network interface, and; or Peripheral Component Interconnect Express(PCIe) interface (¶0024, “CAN, LIN, Ethernet …”).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Lekkas dislcoses wherein the VIU is configured to implement, using the vehicle control apparatus, some or all electronic control functions of a plurality of vehicle components in the vehicle (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 4.
Claims 2, 6, 9-10, 14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lekkas (2019/0281052), Takahashi (US 10805813 B2) and further in view of Bauer (20200125858).
Regarding claim 2, Lekkas discloses one micro processing unit (MPU) is further disposed on the second circuit board, and configured to process to- be-processed data (¶0033, “a pass-through adapter and may include processor 112, .. processor 112 may be configured to perform functions ..monitor data frame transmissions via automotive controller network 170, monitor physical coupling status with access port ”); and
Lekkas does not explicitly disclose, but Bauer teaches a micro control unit (MCU) is further disposed on the second circuit board and configured to control a vehicle component in the vehicle (claim 9).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automotive controller network disclosed in Lekkas with the circuit board controlling the vehicle component taught in Bauer with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in securing an automotive controller network using a security module physically and communicatively coupled to an access port of a select vehicle's automotive controller network.
Regarding claim 6, Bauer further teaches further comprising an interface disposed on the second circuit board and configured to transmit audio/video data (¶0138).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automotive controller network disclosed in Lekkas with the circuit board controlling the vehicle component taught in Bauer with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in securing an automotive controller network using a security module physically and communicatively coupled to an access port of a select vehicle's automotive controller network.
Regarding claim 9, Bauer teaches an external power supply is disposed on the first circuit board, and configured to supply power to an electronic element in the vehicle other than electronic elements on the first circuit board and the second circuit board (¶0117).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automotive controller network disclosed in Lekkas with the circuit board controlling the vehicle component taught in Bauer with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in securing an automotive controller network using a security module physically and communicatively coupled to an access port of a select vehicle's automotive controller network.
Regarding claim 10, Bauer teaches wherein the vehicle control apparatus comprising a power supply circuit board, wherein the power supply circuit board comprises an external power supply configured to supply power to an electronic element in the vehicle other than electronic elements on the first circuit board and the second circuit board (¶0117).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automotive controller network disclosed in Lekkas with the circuit board controlling the vehicle component taught in Bauer with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in securing an automotive controller network using a security module physically and communicatively coupled to an access port of a select vehicle's automotive controller network.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 2.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lekkas (2019/0281052), Takahashi (US 10805813 B2) and further in view of Cai (11,418,935).
Regarding claim 21, Lekkas does not explicitly disclose but Cai teaches comprising at least one vehicle domain controller (DC) disposed on the first circuit board; and at least one vehicle integrated unit (VIU) disposed on the second circuit board (abstract).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automotive controller network disclosed in Lekkas with DC and VIU taught in Cai with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted implementing an automobile electronic control function, and an automobile, to reduce costs of automobile parts in the automobile.
Regarding claim 22, Lekkas does not explicitly disclose but Cai teaches wherein the vehicle control apparatus further comprises: at least one vehicle domain controller (DC) disposed on the first circuit board; and at least one vehicle integrated unit (VIU) disposed on the second circuit board (abstract).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automotive controller network disclosed in Lekkas with DC and VIU taught in Cai with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted implementing an automobile electronic control function, and an automobile, to reduce costs of automobile parts in the automobile.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667