DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments and amendments, filed on 5/19/26, have been fully considered but they do not confer patentability on all of the instantly filed claims. Applicants have amended independent claim 1 to require that the first layer is in direct contact with the second layer, and further requires that the hole transport region comprises a hole transport layer which does not include a p-dopant which is in direct contact with the first layer. These amendments overcome the previously relied upon prior art rejections. Applicants have also amended the claims to overcome the claim objections and 112(b) rejections raised in the previous Office action. Further search has led to new prior art rejections, which are described below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watabe et al. (US 2024/0324386). Watabe et al. has a foreign application priority date of 7/15/21 which is before Applicants (unperfected) foreign priority date and qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2)
Claim 1: Light-emitting device 50 of Watabe et al. is comprised of an anode, a hole injection layer, a first hole transport layer comprising compound mmtBumTPoFBi-04, a second hole transport layer comprising compound PCBBiPDBt-02, a third hole transport layer comprising compound mmtBuBiFF, an emission layer comprising two host materials and a green phosphorescent dopant [Ir(ppy)2(mbfpypy-d3)], a hole-blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, a cathode, and a capping layer (Table 14). The hole transport region comprises a first hole transport layer which does not comprise a p-dopant (the first hole transport layer of Watabe et al.), a first layer which comprises an amine-based compound, and a second layer which comprises an amine-based compound. The second amine-based compound is mmtBuBiFF, whose structure is
(page 61) and is comprised of two fluorene moieties which satisfies Condition 1-2 of claim 1.
Claim 4: Table 16 of Watabe et al. teaches that light-emitting device 50 has chromaticity coordinates of 0.22,0.73, making light-emitting device 50 a green-light emitting device, thereby anticipating claim 4.
Claim 5: In device example 50 of Watabe et al., the first layer consists of the first amine-based compound, thereby anticipating claim 5.
Claim 6: While Watabe et al. does not explicitly teach that the lowest excitation triplet energy level of the second amine-based compound, which is mmtBuBiFF, is 2.65 eV or more, it would be expected that this compound would satisfy this limitation based on the structural features present in this compound. Additionally, an energy of 2.65 eV corresponds to a wavelength of approximately 468 nm, which is well above the emission spectrum for mmtBuBiFF.1, meaning that the triplet energy level would be expected to be well above -2.65 eV.
Claim 7: Paragraph 0621 of Watabe et al. teaches that the HOMO energy level of PCBBiPDBt-02 is -5.48 eV, which is less than -4.50 eV, thereby anticipating claim 7.
Claim 8: Paragraph 0621 of Watabe et al. teaches that the HOMO energy level of mmtBuBiFF is -5.33 eV which is less than -4.50 eV, thereby anticipating claim 8.
Claim 9: The fluorene moieties in compound mmtBuBiFF satisfy Formula A of claim 9 with CY1 and CY2 being unsubstituted benzene rings and X1 being a group including C, thereby anticipating claim 9.
Claim 19: Claim 19 serves to further limit an optional embodiment where there is a group of Formula B present. However, because this is not required, Watabe et al. may be properly relied upon to reject claim 19.
Claim 21: Device example 50 as taught by Watabe et al. is inherently an electronic apparatus which anticipates claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18 and 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 10 requires that the light-emitting device satisfies Condition 1-3 which is that both the first and second amine-based compounds comprise two or more fluorene moieties. Watabe et al. does not teach or suggest such devices. Claim 11 is also drawn to embodiments which satisfy Condition 1-3. Claims 12-18 are allowable by virtue of their dependency on claim 11. Claim 20 has been previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766
1 See Fig. 18 of Kubota (US 2022/0328763) which shows the absorption and emission spectrum for mmtBuBiFF.