DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN2020232287453, filed on 12/28/2020.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 8 and 9 describe a testing result of stripping the protective layer from a surface of the positive electrode current collector which do not provide adequate structural limitations to the battery of claim 1. The instant application implies that the residual protective layer remaining on the surface of the positive electrode current collector after stripping is based on the content of binder of the protective layer [PgPublication pars. 0089-91], but fails to teach what the necessary binder amount is for the respective residual amounts claimed. For examination purposes, if the prior art teaches the binder amounts reasonably within the same scope as disclosed in the instant specification, it will be considered to have met the requirements of these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiozaki (US20200020921A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Shiozaki discloses a a lithium ion battery (secondary battery 1 in which the positive electrode active material is composed of a lithium transition metal oxide) [pars. 0018,0039; Fig. 1], comprising a positive electrode plate 2, a negative electrode plate 3, and a separator 4, the positive electrode plate, the separator and the negative electrode plate being stacked successively and then wound from inside to outside [par. 0018; Figs. 1-2];
wherein the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode current collector 21, at least one functional surface of the positive electrode current collector (i.e., main surfaces including coatings) is provided with a protective layer 23, a surface of the protective layer away from the positive electrode current collector is provided with a positive electrode active layer 22, and a length of the protective layer is greater than a length of the positive electrode active layer in a winding direction of the positive electrode current collector [pars. 0020,0027; Figs. 2,4A,4B].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Shiozaki discloses wherein the at least one functional surface of the positive electrode current collector comprises an active layer region and further comprises a first end region and/or a second end region; wherein the protective layer comprises a conductive protective layer, the conductive protective layer is disposed on the first end region and/or the second end region and on the active layer region, and a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the active layer region away from the positive electrode current collector is provided with the positive electrode active layer.
Regarding Claim 11, Shiozaki discloses wherein the conductive protective layer comprises 92% of an inorganic filler, 5% of a first conductive agent and 3% of a first binder by a mass percentage [par. 0057], which falls within the claim ranges of 50%-98% of an inorganic filler, 0.5%- 10% of a first conductive agent and 1.5%-50% of a first binder.
Regarding Claim 14, Shiozaki discloses a uniform thickness of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region, the second end region and the active layer region to be from 1 μm to 5 μm [par. 0046; Fig. 4B], which falls within the claimed ranges.
Regarding Claim 16, Shiozaki discloses wherein the at least one functional surface of the positive electrode current collector comprises an installation region (tab bonding part 28) exposing the positive electrode current collector, and the installation region is disposed to a side of the positive electrode current collector (i.e., end part on the winding start side – not explicitly shown) [pars. 0018,0036; Figs. 2,4A,4B].
Regarding Claim 17, Shiozaki discloses the positive electrode plate further comprises a positive battery tab 27, the positive battery tab is disposed on the installation region on the at least one functional surface of the positive electrode current collector, and a side of outside the installation region close to a winding center and a side of outside the installation region away from the winding center are both provided with the protective layer [Fig. 4A,4B].
Claim(s) 3, 12-13, 15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiozaki, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sasaki (JP2013206743A – see IDS; machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 3, Shiozaki fails to disclose wherein the protective layer further comprises an insulating protective layer, and the insulating protective layer is disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region and/or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector. However, Sasaki, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a positive electrode plate 410 comprising a positive electrode current collector (base material 411), a protective layer (undercoat layer 412) and a positive electrode active layer 414, in this order, and further an insulating protective layer (protective layer 416), and the insulating protective layer is disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region and/or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector in order to impart the protective layer at the second end region thereof with higher adhesion than at the central portion to suppress the peeling or detachment of the protective layer from the current collector [Sasaki – pars. 0010-11,0046-55; Fig. 5]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have further modified the battery of Shiozaki wherein the protective layer further comprises an insulating protective layer, and the insulating protective layer is disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region and/or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector in order to impart the protective layer at the second end region thereof with higher adhesion than at the central portion to suppress the peeling or detachment of the protective layer from the current collector.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Shiozaki teaches wherein the insulating protective layer comprises 21%-73% of a ceramic material and 27%-79% of a second binder by a mass percentage [Sasaki – pars. 0054-55,0062], which overlaps the claimed ranges of 50%-96% of a ceramic material and 4%- 50% of a second binder by a mass percentage, respectively, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Regarding Claim 13, Shiozaki fails to explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the protective layer is 1%-50% of a thickness of the positive electrode active layer. However, Sasaki discloses that a thickness of the insulating protective layer disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector to be greater than the thickness of the protective layer but less than the thickness of the active material layer [Sasaki – Fig. 5]. Thus, an ordinary skilled artisan would appreciate that modified Shiozaki necessarily teaches a thickness of the insulating protective layer disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector overlaps the claimed range of from 1 μm to 15 μm, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05(I)]. Moreover, Sasaki teaches that a thickness of the insulating layers is formed to have a thickness so as not to abut the separator [par. 0054]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan to have controlled the thickness of the insulating protective layer disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector to be from 1 μm to 15 μm in order to prevent the insulating protective layer from abutting the separator, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Shiozaki teaches wherein a thickness of the insulating protective layer is 0.5 μm to 5 μm, and the thickness of the positive electrode active layer is 50 μm to 100 μm, such that the thickness ratio of the insulating protective layer to the positive electrode active layer overlaps the claimed range of 1%-50% [Takezaki – pars. 0050,0073]. Further, Sasaki discloses that a thickness of the insulating protective layer disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector to be greater than the thickness of the protective layer but less than the thickness of the active material layer [Sasaki – Fig. 5]. Thus, an ordinary skilled artisan would appreciate that modified Shiozaki necessarily teaches a thickness of the insulating protective layer disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector overlaps the claimed range of from 1 μm to 15 μm, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05(I)]. Moreover, Sasaki teaches that a thickness of the insulating layers is formed to have a thickness so as not to abut the separator [par. 0054]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan to have controlled the thickness of the insulating protective layer disposed on a surface of the conductive protective layer disposed on the first end region or the second end region away from the positive electrode current collector to be from 1 μm to 15 μm in order to prevent the insulating protective layer from abutting the separator, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 18, Shiozaki discloses wherein the first end region along the winding direction of the positive electrode current collector comprises a first flat region, an installation region, a second flat region, a third flat region and a first arc region, the installation region is provided with a positive battery tab, but fails to disclose wherein a surface of the positive electrode plate is pasted with a first taping, and the first taping is bonded with a surface of the protective layer disposed on the third flat region, a surface of the protective layer disposed on the first arc region and at least part of a surface of the positive electrode active layer disposed on the active layer region. However, Sasaki, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a positive electrode plate 410 comprising a positive electrode current collector (base material 411), a protective layer (undercoat layer 412) and a positive electrode active layer 414, in this order, and further a first taping (protective layer 416) pasted on a surface of the positive electrode plate, wherein the first end region along the winding direction of the positive electrode comprises a third flat region, a first arc region, and the wherein a surface of the positive electrode plate is pasted with a first taping, and the first taping is bonded with a surface of the protective layer disposed on the third flat region, a surface of the protective layer disposed on the first arc region and at least part of a surface of the positive electrode active layer disposed on the active layer region in order to impart the protective layer at the first end region thereof with higher adhesion than at the central portion to suppress the peeling or detachment of the protective layer from the current collector [Sasaki – pars. 0010-11,0046-55; Fig. 5]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have further modified the battery of Shiozaki, wherein a surface of the positive electrode plate is pasted with a first taping, and the first taping is bonded with a surface of the protective layer disposed on the third flat region, a surface of the protective layer disposed on the first arc region and at least part of a surface of the positive electrode active layer disposed on the active layer region in order to impart the protective layer at the second end region thereof with higher adhesion than at the central portion to suppress the peeling or detachment of the protective layer from the current collector.
Regarding Claim 19, Shiozaki fails to disclose wherein the second end region along the winding direction of the positive electrode current collector comprises a second arc region and a fourth flat region, a surface of the positive electrode plate is pasted with a second taping, and the second taping is bonded with at least part of a surface of the positive electrode active layer disposed on the active layer region, a surface of the protective layer disposed on the second arc region and at least part of a surface of the protective layer disposed on the fourth flat region. However, Sasaki, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a positive electrode plate 410 comprising a positive electrode current collector (base material 411), a protective layer (undercoat layer 412) and a positive electrode active layer 414, in this order, and further a second taping (protective layer 416) pasted on a surface of the positive electrode plate, wherein the second end region along the winding direction of the positive electrode comprises a second arc region and a fourth flat region, and the second taping is bonded with at least part of a surface of the positive electrode active layer disposed on the active layer region, a surface of the protective layer disposed on the second arc region and at least part of a surface of the protective layer disposed on the fourth flat region in order to impart the protective layer at the second end region thereof with higher adhesion than at the central portion to suppress the peeling or detachment of the protective layer from the current collector [Sasaki – pars. 0010-11,0046-55; Fig. 5]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have further modified the battery of Shiozaki, wherein the second end region along the winding direction of the positive electrode current collector comprises a second arc region and a fourth flat region, a surface of the positive electrode plate is pasted with a second taping, and the second taping is bonded with at least part of a surface of the positive electrode active layer disposed on the active layer region, a surface of the protective layer disposed on the second arc region and at least part of a surface of the protective layer disposed on the fourth flat region in order to impart the protective layer at the second end region thereof with higher adhesion than at the central portion to suppress the peeling or detachment of the protective layer from the current collector.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiozaki, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Takezawa (US20200020924A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Shiozaki discloses wherein the protective layer comprises an inorganic filler (inorganic particles – not shown) [par. 0032], but fails to disclose wherein a D50 of the inorganic filler is less than a D50 of an active substance in the positive electrode active layer. However, Takezawa, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a positive electrode plate 30 for a lithium ion battery (i.e., battery 10 including a lithium-based positive electrode active material), the positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode current collector 31, at least one functional surface of the positive electrode current collector is provided with a protective layer 33, a surface of the protective layer away from the positive electrode current collector is provided with a positive electrode active layer 32, wherein the protective layer comprises an inorganic filler, an average particle diameter of the inorganic filler is from 0.01 μm to 1 μm, and the average particle diameter of an active substance in the positive electrode active layer is from 5 μm to 20 μm [Takezawa – pars. 0014,0024,0028,0041,; Figs. 1-2]. Takezawa further teaches that if the particle diameter of the inorganic filler is too large, the porosity of the protective layer is made large, so that there is a possibility that the electrical conductivity of the protective layer is deteriorated [Takezawa – par. 0041]. Therefore, before the effective fling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have modified the battery of Shiozaki wherein the D50 of the inorganic filler to be less than the D50 of the active substance in order to provide optimal electrical conductivity to the protective layer and prevent the electrical conductivity from being deteriorated, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claims 5-6, modified Shiozaki discloses wherein the inorganic filler comprises a ceramic material, and the ceramic material is one or more selected from aluminium oxide, boehmite, zirconium dioxide, titanium dioxide, silicon dioxide, magnesium oxide and magnesium hydroxide [Shiozaki – par. 0044].
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiozaki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Endo (US20200006778A1).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Shiozaki fails to disclose wherein a bonding force between the protective layer and the positive electrode current collector is greater than a bonding force between the protective layer and the positive electrode active layer; and/or the bonding force between the protective layer and the positive electrode current collector is greater than a bonding force between particles of the active substance in the positive electrode active layer. However, Endo, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a positive electrode plate 20 comprising a positive current collector 21, a protective layer (intermediate layer 23), and a positive electrode active layer (positive electrode mixture layer 22), in this order, wherein the bonding force between the protective layer and the positive electrode current collector is greater than a bonding force between the protective layer and the positive electrode active layer in order to prevent the exposure of the surface of the positive electrode current collector caused by the peeling-off of the protective layer together with the positive electrode active material when a large force is applied to the positive electrode plate by contamination of foreign matter and the like [Endo – pars. 0019,0024,0030; Fig. 2]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have further modified the battery of Shiozaki, wherein the bonding force between the protective layer and the positive electrode current collector is greater than a bonding force between the protective layer and the positive electrode active layer in order to prevent the exposure of the surface of the positive electrode current collector caused by the peeling-off of the protective layer together with the positive electrode active material when a large force is applied to the positive electrode plate by contamination of foreign matter and the like.
Regarding Claim 8, Shiozaki discloses wherein a mass fraction of a binder in the protective layer is greater than a mass fraction of a binder in the positive electrode active layer [pars. 0057-58].
Regarding Claims 9-10, Shiozaki fails to explicitly teach wherein after the protective layer is stripped from a surface of the positive electrode current collector, total area of a residual protective layer on the positive electrode current collector accounts for more than 10 % or 70% of total area of the protective layer on the positive electrode current collector before stripping. However, the instant specification teaches the protective layer may comprise 1.5%-50% binder, 0.5%-10% of a conductive agent and 50%-96% of a ceramic material [Specifciation – par. 0093]. In this regard, Shiozaki discloses wherein the conductive protective layer comprises 92% of an inorganic filler, 5% of a first conductive agent and 3% of a first binder by a mass percentage [par. 0057], which falls within the disclosed ranges of 50%-98% of an inorganic filler, 0.5%- 10% of a first conductive agent and 1.5%-50% of a first binder. Thus, an ordinary skilled artisan would expect that the positive electrode plate of Shiozaki meets the requirements of the instant claims such that after the protective layer is stripped from a surface of the positive electrode current collector, total area of a residual protective layer on the positive electrode current collector accounts for more than 10 % or 70% of total area of the protective layer on the positive electrode current collector before stripping.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiozaki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Araki (US20140072877A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Shiozaki discloses wherein the negative electrode plate 3 comprises a negative electrode current collector 31 and a negative electrode active layer 32 disposed on at least one functional surface of the negative electrode current collector [Shiozaki – par. 0021; Fig. 2], but fails to disclose wherein a length of the negative electrode active layer is greater than a length of the positive electrode active layer. However, Araki, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a positive electrode plate 2 comprising a positive current collector 21, a protective layer (undercoat layer 23) and a positive electrode active layer 22, in this order, and further, a negative electrode plate 1 comprising a negative electrode current collector 11, a negative electrode active layer 12 disposed on at least one functional surface of the negative electrode current collector, in this order, and a separator 3 arranged therebetween, wherein a length of the negative electrode active layer is greater than a length of the positive electrode active layer so that, in the event an abnormal heat generation occurs in the electrode assembly and the separator is shrunk to cause the separator to be absent between the first end region or the second end region of the respective positive and negative electrode active layers, the undercoat prevents direct contact of the respective active layers to suppress short-circuit current [Araki – pars. 0059-63,0105-107,0110]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have further modified the battery of Shiozaki wherein a length of the negative electrode active layer is greater than a length of the positive electrode active layer so that, in the event an abnormal heat generation occurs in the electrode assembly and the separator is shrunk to cause the separator to be absent between the first end region or the second end region of the respective positive and negative electrode active layers, the undercoat prevents direct contact of the respective active layers to suppress short-circuit current.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,512,457 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of each claim of the instant application is anticipated by the claims of the U.S. Patent.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751