DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on February 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. (US 2022/0097348) in view of Nelson et al. (U.S. Pat. 8,647,550).
Regarding claim 1: Oliveira et al. teaches a process comprising injecting/adding an additive into a molten polymer, solvent, and unreacted monomer (end of para. 111). The stream is introduced into a hopper/Kenics static mixing element (para. 11). A mixture of the molten polymer and additive is withdrawn/separated from the solvent and unreacted monomer (para. 112) and is extruded into a polymer extrudate/pellet (para. 112).
Oliveira et al. does not clearly teach that the liquid diluent/solvent is added with the polymer additive. However, Nelson et al. teaches a similar process in which the additive is added with a liquid comprising water (abstract). Oliveira et al. and Nelson et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polymer melt additive processes. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the liquid diluent/solvent/water mixture with the additive to the molten polymer as in Nelson et al. in the process of Oliveira et al. and would have been motivated to do so since Nelson et al. teaches the quality of mixing and functionality of the resulting blend may depend on the physical properties of the additive mixture.
Regarding claim 2: Oliveira et al. teaches flowing the feed stream into a hopper/Kenics static mixing elements (para. 111), meaning the stream entered the mixing element through an inlet.
Regarding claim 3: Oliveira et al. teaches the effluent from the polymerization reactor exits the reactor loop and enters a zone, and additives are added to this zone (para. 111) and then goes through another set of Kenics static mixing elements (para. 111). The “zone” can be considered the inlet device.
Regarding claim 5: Oliveira et al. teaches a heat exchanger to raise the stream temperature to perform devolatilization of the lower boiling point components/vaporizes the liquid diluent (para. 112). The polymer is separated from the solvent and unreacted monomer (para. 112).
Regarding claims 7 and 8: Oliveira et al. teaches low density polyethylene (para. 7) and diluents having 5-10 carbon atoms and are alkanes/saturated hydrocarbons (para. 50).
Regarding claim 9: Oliveira et al. teaches an antioxidant (para. 111).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. (US 2022/0097348) in view of Nelson et al. (U.S. Pat. 8,647,550) as applied to claims 2 and 3 set forth above and in view of Bigiavi et al. (US 2005/0234217).
Regarding claim 4: Oliveira et al. teaches the basic claimed process as set forth above. Not disclosed is the molten polymer pool. However, Bigiavi et al. teaches a similar process in which the polymer melt settles downwards in an empty volatilizer/pool (para. 40). Oliveira et al. and Bigiavi et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyolefin production and removing unreacted monomers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the pool of Bigiavi et al. in the process of Oliveira et al. and would have been motivated to do so since Bigiavi et al. teaches this step helps separate further the amount of unreacted monomer (para. 40).
Regarding claim 6: Oliveira et al. teaches the basic claimed process as set forth above. Not disclosed is the vapor liquid gravity separator. However, Bigiavi et al. teaches separating the polymer melt from the vaporized components via a gravity separator (para. 40). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the gravity separator of Bigiavi et al. in the process of Oliveira et al. and would have been motivated to do so since Bigiavi et al. teaches that additional volatile components are released away during the vertical drop.
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767