Detailed Action
This second Non-Final Office Action is responsive to Applicants’ reply, with amendments and arguments, as received 6/25/26. Claims 1-20 remain pending, of which claims 1, 10, and 15 are independent.
In the prior Office Action dated 3/24/26, claim 9 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. In view of Applicants’ reply, this rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Non-Patent Literature “Ultra-low-vibration closed-cycle cryogenic surface-electrode ion trap apparatus” (“Dubielzig”).
Regarding claim 1, DUBIELZIG teaches A quantum information processing (QIP) system (page 1, section II Concept, sub-section A. Design goals: “The application scenario of the setup discussed here is for scalable quantum computing and simulations with trapped ions using microwave-frequency magnetic field gradients for the underlying multi-qubit interactions.”) comprising:
a cryostat (Abstract: “an ultra-low-vibration closed-cycle cryogenic ion trap apparatus”) comprising:
a nanopositioning system comprising a movable platform configured to reposition one or more components coupled to the movable platform (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. … On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”, which the Examiner submits clearly teaches nanopositioning in relation to “stage made out of a stack” and/or a “mounted … titanium structure that holds the objective”, the latter features akin to a “movable platform” as recited);
a viewport aligned with at least a portion of the nanopositioning system (page 2, 1st column, bottom paragraph: “Laser access from two orthogonal directions was required as well as optical access for imaging of the trapped-ion resonance fluorescence.” [where optical access as taught suggests an alignment is necessary to provide a sightline/access and is hence akin to the recited “viewport”]; and also page 7, Figure 6: the inner chamber having various viewport features as explicitly depicted);
an interferometer sensor aligned with the viewport and configured to measure a displacement of the movable platform (pages 10-11, section B: “… a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table …”, where the interferometer is used to detect/measure vibrational disturbance to provide a vibration isolation effect, see e.g., page 2’s bottom of 1st column and continuing into the 2nd column: “Furthermore, it is desirable to limit mechanical vibrations of the setup to allow for control with pairs of laser beams that need to exhibit interferometric stability at the position of the ions. If the trap is vibrating with respect to the table on which the laser optics are placed, the ions also exhibit that vibration and are moving with respect to the laser beams. For this reason, a vibration isolation is required.”, where vibration isolation for the system is more fully taught beginning on page 9’s section V: “To minimize vibrations coupling in from the floor, the optical table is supported by pneumatic legs outfitted with repositioning valves with a positioning accuracy of better than 0.3mm (86-19888-02, TMC) so that, after movement, the optical table comes back to a position in which the vibration isolation does not need to be realigned.” (specifically in page 9’s 2nd column), where the work of the legs and repositioning valves is a correction to the vibration as detected); and
a controller configured to: receive information indicative of the measured displacement of the movable platform from the interferometer sensor and generate a repositioning signal configured to adjust the movable platform based on the information indicative of the measured displacement (pages 10-11, section B: “We detected the signal on one port of a differential photodetector … The second port was illuminated with laser light that was split off from the laser source before entering the interferometer. We adjusted the respective power levels to obtain a signal centered around 0V. We locked the signal to the zero-crossing with a PID controller (PID 110, Toptica) with feedback on the piezo actuator, therefore forcing the reference mirror to exhibit the same movement as the probe mirror.”, where the feedback on the actuator to force the movement is akin to the recited “repositioning signal” and is understood to be based in part on an interferometer reading, i.e. “information indicative of the measured displacement” as caused by vibrational displacement which is to be mitigated).
Regarding claim 2, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 1, wherein the movable platform is displaced in a displacement direction (page 10, 1st column, 1st paragraph under sub-section B. Characterization, discussing displacement/movement measurements in the direction of gravity) and wherein a field of view of the viewport is orthogonal to the displacement direction (page 2, 1st column, bottom paragraph: “Laser access from two orthogonal directions was required as well as optical access for imaging of the trapped-ion resonance fluorescence.”, which the Examiner understands to be orthogonal to the direction of gravity as mentioned just prior, e.g. see Figure 6’s inner chamber having a viewport for a probe mirror explicitly understood to be situated on a non-bottom side).
Regarding claim 3, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 2, wherein the interferometer sensor is not configured to measure the displacement of the movable platform in at least one direction orthogonal to the displacement direction (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. The six current-carrying lines needed to connect the translation stage are connected to one of the 25 pin D-sub ports of the inner chamber (not the one used for trap voltages). On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”, where the Examiner notes that positioning is enabled with respect to x and z axis directions but not along the y axis).
Regarding claim 4, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 2, wherein the displacement direction is a vertical direction relative to an orientation of the cryostat (page 10, 1st column, 1st paragraph under sub-section B. Characterization, discussing displacement/movement measurements in the direction of gravity, which when considered in view of Figure 2, is understood to be vertical relative to the Figure’s elements b and d for example).
Regarding claim 5, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 4, wherein the interferometer sensor is insensitive to displacements of the movable platform in a horizontal direction that is orthogonal to the vertical direction (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. The six current-carrying lines needed to connect the translation stage are connected to one of the 25 pin D-sub ports of the inner chamber (not the one used for trap voltages). On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”, where the Examiner notes that positioning is enabled with respect to x and z axis directions but not along the y axis, and hence the sensor could not be sensitive to movement with respect to the y axis).
Regarding claim 6, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 1, wherein the nanopositioning system comprises one or more optics configured to bend a beam produced by the interferometer sensor and an optic configured to reflect the beam produced by the interferometer sensor (page 10, section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”).
Regarding claim 7, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 6, wherein the nanopositioning system comprises a base coupled to a portion of the cryostat (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. The six current-carrying lines needed to connect the translation stage are connected to one of the 25 pin D-sub ports of the inner chamber (not the one used for trap voltages). On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”, where the Examiner asserts that the stage and titanium structure features both are base elements that are coupled to positioner features as taught, i.e., coupled to a portion of the cryostat as recited) and the one or more optics include at least one optic coupled to the movable platform and an optic coupled to the base (page 10, section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”).
Regarding claim 8, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 7, wherein displacement of the movable platform is configured to cause displacement of the at least one optic coupled to the movable platform relative to the optic coupled to the base, thereby changing a length of the beam produced by the interferometer sensor (pages 10-11, section B: “We detected the signal on one port of a differential photodetector … The second port was illuminated with laser light that was split off from the laser source before entering the interferometer. We adjusted the respective power levels to obtain a signal centered around 0V. We locked the signal to the zero-crossing with a PID controller (PID 110, Toptica) with feedback on the piezo actuator, therefore forcing the reference mirror to exhibit the same movement as the probe mirror.”, where the reference and probe mirrors as taught read on the two optic instances as recited,
and further per page 10 section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”, where the Examiner equates the second measurement as mentioned to be equivalent to a length of the beam produced by the interferometer sensor as recited).
Regarding claim 9, Dubielzig teaches The QIP system of claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to:
compare the length of the beam reflected by the optic to a target beam length (page 10 section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”, where the Examiner equates the second measurement as mentioned to be equivalent to a length of the beam produced by the interferometer sensor as recited) and generate the repositioning signal based on the comparison (pages 10-11, section B: “We detected the signal on one port of a differential photodetector … The second port was illuminated with laser light that was split off from the laser source before entering the interferometer. We adjusted the respective power levels to obtain a signal centered around 0V. We locked the signal to the zero-crossing with a PID controller (PID 110, Toptica) with feedback on the piezo actuator, therefore forcing the reference mirror to exhibit the same movement as the probe mirror.”, where the repositioning is understood to happen based on the measurement of the displacement/measurement using the interferometer sensor to arrive at the appropriate feedback on the actuator to effect the “same movement”).
Regarding claim 10, Dubielzig teaches A nanopositioning system configured for performing displacement measurements (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. … On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”,
where the Examiner understands the nanopositioning aspect to address displacement via vibration, see e.g., pages 10-11, section B: “… a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table …”, where the interferometer is used to detect/measure vibrational disturbance to provide a vibration isolation effect, see e.g., page 2’s bottom of 1st column and continuing into the 2nd column: “Furthermore, it is desirable to limit mechanical vibrations of the setup to allow for control with pairs of laser beams that need to exhibit interferometric stability at the position of the ions. If the trap is vibrating with respect to the table on which the laser optics are placed, the ions also exhibit that vibration and are moving with respect to the laser beams. For this reason, a vibration isolation is required.”, where vibration isolation for the system is more fully taught beginning on page 9’s section V: “To minimize vibrations coupling in from the floor, the optical table is supported by pneumatic legs outfitted with repositioning valves with a positioning accuracy of better than 0.3mm (86-19888-02, TMC) so that, after movement, the optical table comes back to a position in which the vibration isolation does not need to be realigned.” (specifically in page 9’s 2nd column), where the work of the legs and repositioning valves is a correction to the vibration as detected)), the nanopositioning system comprising:
a base including an optic (page 10, section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”);
a platform configured to be repositioned relative to the base (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. … On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”, which the Examiner submits clearly teaches nanopositioning in relation to “stage made out of a stack” and/or a “mounted … titanium structure that holds the objective”, the latter features akin to a “movable platform” as recited), the platform comprising:
a first surface configured to support one or more components and a second surface opposite the first surface (Figure 2’s various surfaces, including elements f, h, and g for example that are situated in parallel and opposite one another, each of which playing a role in the support of other critical components including the cryo chamber elements b and d and imaging system e, but see also the various opposite surfaces represented in Figure 6 which are in support of components included inside the inner chamber as shown per Figure 7);
a mounting arm coupled to the platform at or proximate the second surface (“arm” as mentioned on page 10, 1st column, 1st paragraph under sub-section B. Characterization, as understood to mount the interferometer); and
one or more optics coupled to the mounting arm, wherein the optic coupled to the base and the one or more optics coupled to the mounting arm are configured to form an optical path for a beam produced by an interferometer sensor and wherein the optical path is configured to be used to determine a displacement of the platform in a vertical direction relative to an orientation of the nanopositioning system (page 10, section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”, where the different mirrors read on the optics as recited).
Regarding claim 11, Dubielzig teaches The nanopositioning system of claim 10, wherein the one or more optics coupled to the mounting arm include a first optic aligned with the optic coupled to the base in the vertical direction (page 10, section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”).
Regarding claim 14, Dubielzig teaches The nanopositioning system of claim 10, wherein the optical path is configured not to detect displacements in a horizontal direction that is orthogonal to the vertical direction (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. The six current-carrying lines needed to connect the translation stage are connected to one of the 25 pin D-sub ports of the inner chamber (not the one used for trap voltages). On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”, where the Examiner notes that positioning is enabled with respect to x and z axis directions but not along the y axis, and hence the sensor could not be sensitive to movement with respect to the y axis).
Regarding claim 15, Dubielzig teaches A method for performing vertical displacement measurements for cryogenic interferometric stabilization (page 8, 1st column, 1st full paragraph: “A Schwarzschild objective is placed 8mm above the trap for ion detection through resonance fluorescence imaging. It is mounted on a 3D translation stage made out of a stack of two x-nanopositioners (SLC-1720-CR-UHVT-NM-TI, Smar-Act GmbH) and one z-nanopositioner (ANPz101, attocube systems AG), all fully non-magnetic. … On the z-positioner, we mounted a titanium structure that holds the objective and an OFE-copper counter weight to minimize torque on the positioner.”,
where the Examiner understands the nanopositioning aspect to address displacement via vibration, see e.g., pages 10-11, section B: “… a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table …”, where the interferometer is used to detect/measure vibrational disturbance to provide a vibration isolation effect, see e.g., page 2’s bottom of 1st column and continuing into the 2nd column: “Furthermore, it is desirable to limit mechanical vibrations of the setup to allow for control with pairs of laser beams that need to exhibit interferometric stability at the position of the ions. If the trap is vibrating with respect to the table on which the laser optics are placed, the ions also exhibit that vibration and are moving with respect to the laser beams. For this reason, a vibration isolation is required.”, where vibration isolation for the system is more fully taught beginning on page 9’s section V: “To minimize vibrations coupling in from the floor, the optical table is supported by pneumatic legs outfitted with repositioning valves with a positioning accuracy of better than 0.3mm (86-19888-02, TMC) so that, after movement, the optical table comes back to a position in which the vibration isolation does not need to be realigned.” (specifically in page 9’s 2nd column), where the work of the legs and repositioning valves is a correction to the vibration as detected)) in quantum information processing (QIP) systems (page 1, section II Concept, section A. Design goals: “The application scenario of the setup discussed here is for scalable quantum computing and simulations with trapped ions using microwave-frequency magnetic field gradients for the underlying multi-qubit interactions …”), the method comprising:
aligning an interferometer sensor with a nanopositioning system positioned within a cryostat of the QIP system (as cited to just above, pages 10-11, section B: “… a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table …”, where the interferometer is used to detect/measure vibrational disturbance to provide a vibration isolation effect, see e.g., page 2’s bottom of 1st column and continuing into the 2nd column: “Furthermore, it is desirable to limit mechanical vibrations of the setup to allow for control with pairs of laser beams that need to exhibit interferometric stability at the position of the ions. If the trap is vibrating with respect to the table on which the laser optics are placed, the ions also exhibit that vibration and are moving with respect to the laser beams. For this reason, a vibration isolation is required.”, where vibration isolation for the system is more fully taught beginning on page 9’s section V: “To minimize vibrations coupling in from the floor, the optical table is supported by pneumatic legs outfitted with repositioning valves with a positioning accuracy of better than 0.3mm (86-19888-02, TMC) so that, after movement, the optical table comes back to a position in which the vibration isolation does not need to be realigned.” (specifically in page 9’s 2nd column), where the work of the legs and repositioning valves is a correction to the vibration as detected));
producing, with the interferometer sensor, a beam that travels along an optical path produced by one or more optics coupled to a movable platform of the nanopositioning system and receiving, with the interferometer sensor, a reflected beam from the optical path and determining a length of the beam path of the reflected beam and determining a displacement of the movable platform based on the length of the beam path of the reflected beam (as previously referenced, pages 10-11, section B: “We detected the signal on one port of a differential photodetector … The second port was illuminated with laser light that was split off from the laser source before entering the interferometer. We adjusted the respective power levels to obtain a signal centered around 0V. We locked the signal to the zero-crossing with a PID controller (PID 110, Toptica) with feedback on the piezo actuator, therefore forcing the reference mirror to exhibit the same movement as the probe mirror.”, where the reference and probe mirrors as taught read on the two optic instances as recited,
and further per page 10 section B: “We use a Michelson-type interferometer to characterize the residual vibrations of the inner vacuum chamber relative to the optical table. The interferometer uses 626 nm light from the sum frequency generation setup (see section VI). The 1050 nm and 1550 nm lasers have a specified short-term linewidth of less than 10 kHz and less than 1 kHz, respectively. The probe mirror is mounted to the inner chamber, while the reference mirror is on the optical table, supported by a piezo actuator. The arm lengths were equal to within 5 cm. For the measurement of movement parallel to the optical table, we placed the interferometer on a breadboard surrounding the outer chamber (h in figure 2). For a second measurement, along the direction of gravity, we placed it on a smaller breadboard below the optical table, usually reserved for ion imaging optics and camera (f in figure 2)”, where the Examiner equates the second measurement as mentioned to be equivalent to a length of the beam produced by the interferometer sensor as recited).
Regarding claim 16, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as discussed above in relation to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as discussed above in relation to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as discussed above in relation to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, Dubielzig teaches The method of claim 15, further comprising:
receiving information indicative of a disturbance in a position of the movable platform and commanding one or more actuators coupled to the movable platform to reposition the movable platform in response to the information indicative of the disturbance (page 2’s bottom of 1st column and continuing into the 2nd column: “Furthermore, it is desirable to limit mechanical vibrations of the setup to allow for control with pairs of laser beams that need to exhibit interferometric stability at the position of the ions. If the trap is vibrating with respect to the table on which the laser optics are placed, the ions also exhibit that vibration and are moving with respect to the laser beams. For this reason, a vibration isolation is required.”, where vibration isolation for the system is more fully taught beginning on page 9’s section V: “To minimize vibrations coupling in from the floor, the optical table is supported by pneumatic legs outfitted with repositioning valves with a positioning accuracy of better than 0.3mm (86-19888-02, TMC) so that, after movement, the optical table comes back to a position in which the vibration isolation does not need to be realigned.” (specifically in page 9’s 2nd column), where the work of the legs and repositioning valves is a correction to the vibration as detected).
Regarding claim 20, the claim includes the same or similar limitations as discussed above in relation to claim 9, and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubielzig in view of previously-cited U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0108792 (“Boege”).
Regarding claim 12, Dubielzig teaches the nanopositioning system of claim 11, as discussed above. The aforementioned reference does not teach the additional limitation wherein the one or more optics coupled to the mounting arm includes a second optical component aligned with the optic coupled to the base in a direction orthogonal to the vertical direction, and a third optic substantially aligned with the second optical component in the vertical direction, and rather the Examiner relies upon BOEGE to teach what Dubielzig otherwise lacks, see e.g., Boege’s FIGs. 3-4 that the Examiner believes provides a beam/light path and would necessarily involve optics in each of the recited directions and alignments.
Like Dubielzig, Boege relates to a framework involving the use of interferometer readings to stabilize quantum applications known in the state of the art. Hence, the references are similarly directed and therefore analogous. It would have been obvious to incorporate Boege’s optical structure and assembly into Dubielzig’s framework to provide the capability to flexibly direct Dubielzig’s beam in a manner that provides stabilization as Boege contemplates.
Regarding claim 13, Grassani in view of Boege teach the nanopositioning system of claim 12, as discussed above. The aforementioned references teach the additional limitation wherein the first and second optics coupled to the mounting arm are prisms and the third optic coupled to the mounting arm is a mirror (the lens assembly of Boege’s FIGs. 3-4). The motivation for combining the references is as discussed above in relation to claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the pending claims have been carefully considered, and deemed persuasive for the most part. Accordingly, the Examiner is presenting this second Non-Final Office Action with some newly-cited prior art.
The Examiner notes that, on page 9 of Applicants’ Reply, Applicants argue that the independent claims “as a whole … [are] directed to a specific architecture in which the interferometer sensor sits outside the cryostat ...” Respectfully, this is not a limitation found in the language of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure:
WO 2018106678 A1 PERTSINIDIS:
A cryostat is taught at [0045]-[0047], and further a microscope in the Abstract and [0257], specifically including a 3D Interferometer Instrument Setup inside a temperature stabilized room.
[0257] 3D Interferometer Instrument Setup: “The microscope setup was built on a 4' χ6' optical table, mounted on a vibration- isolation system (Stacis iX, TMC), that was placed inside a temperature-stabilized room (-0.2C r.m.s. air temperature fluctuations). The output from three lasers (532nm, Coherent Verdi G2; 640-642nm, Coherent Cube 640-100C or MPB Communications VFL642 2W; 730nm, Coherent Cube 730-30C) was coupled to single-mode polarization-maintaining fibers, collimated and combined to three co-linear beams than were delivered to one input port of the interferometer through a multi-edge dichroic mirror (zt405/488/532/640/730rpc, Chroma). An achromatic lens (f=lm, Thorlabs AC508-1000-A-ML) focuses the laser beams at the back-focal -planes of two opposed 1.27 NA water-immersion objective lenses (MRD07650, Plan Apo 60x/1.27, Nikon), creating two counter-propagating collimated excitation beams in the specimen space between the lenses. Although background fluorescence from molecules in solution in this epi-illumination configuration is higher than in a TIR excitation configuration, single molecules can still be tracked in 3D with nanometer precision at up to a few nM concentrations.”
FIGs. 8A, 15A-15H, 16A
(Abstract, [0011]) “Described herein are 3D single-molecule super-resolution imaging systems and methods. The provided systems and methods use modulation interferometry and phase-sensitive detection techniques that achieve less than 2 nanometer axial localization precision, which is well below the 5-10-nanometer-sized individual protein components. To illustrate the capability of this technique in probing the dynamics of complex macromolecular machines, (1) movement of individual multi-subunit E.coliRNA Polymerases were visualized through the complete transcription cycle, (2) kinetics of the initiation-elongation transition were dissected, (3) the conformational changes from the open initiation complex to the elongation complex were analyzed, and (4) the fate of (3.sup.70initiation factors during promoter escape were determined. The microscope system comprises two opposing objectives (OL1,OL2) for simultaneously exciting a sample and collecting light therefrom. Each objective is coupled to an arm of an such that the exciting light beams can interfer on the sample volume whereas the light emitted by the samples interferes on a CCD (CCD1, CCD2).”
[0013] “As described herein, a setup was built that allows single-molecule axial localization measurements through phase-shifting interferometry. Oscillating patterns of constructive and destructive interference were created by dynamically and continuously modulating the path-length difference between the two optical paths ("arms") that guide the excitation and emission beams through the two opposed lenses. This is accomplished with less than 1 nm precision by employing a capacitive sensor-equipped piezo-electric mirror mount (PZM) (FIG. 1 A, FIGS. 8A-8G).In contrast to previous setups that allowed gaining simultaneous access to only a discrete (3 or 4)number of phases of the fluorescence photons that travel through the two arms of the ,the provided systems and methods enable accessing any arbitrary phase over an extended dynamic range (FIG. 1 A), while also achieving simultaneous wide-field, coherent superposition of both excitation and emission beams.”
0037]: “In certain embodiments, the one or more features of the sample comprise a first single-molecule and a second single-molecule. In certain embodiments, the one or more features of the sample comprise a first single atom and a second single atom (e.g., wherein the first and second single atoms are trapped in a vacuum) (e.g., for applications in atomic physics, e.g., quantum information, e.g., precision meteorology).”
[0068] “FIGS. 2B and 2G show movement of PZM. FIG. 2B shows open-loop operation, ~1μπ.Math. range. FIG. 2G shows closed-loop operation: 56.75nm PZM step size, 8-step cycles, PZM off-set readjusted in each cycle to lock the phase of a 40nm sphere in the field of view; stage and top-objective adjusted every 10th cycle.”
[0167] “FIG. 15G shows a schematic of a single-molecule 3D imaging system with modulation interferometry using a scheme for stabilization of the interferometer phase, as an illustrative embodiment of the invention. In this embodiment, the setup operates at path-length difference δ/: δ//λ~λ/Δλ. For example, for laser modulation: Δλ/λ~10.sup."4, δ/~10.sup.4χλ. Thus λ~0.4- Ιμπ.Math.,6.sub./~0.4-lcm. The lock-in amplifier shown in FIG. 15G can be used to detect electronic signals from the photo-detector. The phase information is then given to the feedback controller to adjust the piezo-electric mirror (PZM) to stabilize the interferometer phase and to control the closed-loop scheme, described in detail herein.”
[0188] Single-Molecule Real-Time 3D Imaging with Modulation Interferometry : “In order to address the limitations of current technologies, a setup was built that allows single-molecule axial localization measurements through phase-shifting interferometry. Oscillating patterns of constructive and destructive interference were created by dynamically and continuously modulating the path-length difference between the two optical paths ("arms") that guide the excitation and emission beams through the two opposed lenses. This is accomplished with less than 1 nm precision by employing a capacitive sensor- equipped piezo-electric mirror mount (PZM) (FIG. 1 A, FIGS. 8A-8G). In contrast to previous setups that allowed gaining simultaneous access to only a discrete (3 or 4) number of phases of the fluorescence photons that travel through the two arms of the , the provided systems and methods enable accessing any arbitrary phase over an extended dynamic range (FIG. 1A), while also achieving simultaneous wide-field, coherent superposition of both excitation and emission beams.”
[0194] “Active feedback systems were employed in the provided imaging systems and methods to: (1) stabilize the sample stage; (2) maintain alignment of the two objectives; (3) clamp the path-length difference between the arms (Extended Experimental Procedures (or Appendix A)). To better control the phase modulation, a 'closed-loop' scheme was implemented, moving the PZM indiscrete steps, and synchronized with the CCD acquisition (FIGS. 2F-2J) and the stepping pattern was repeated with a real-time servo-controlled offset every tcycle =0.4-4sec. Active stabilization of the using single 40nm reference spheres enabled maintaining alignment over more than 0.5hr-long time periods and reduced z fluctuations to a few lO's of nanometers (often less than lO nm) in the raw data, a significant improvement over the 100's nm drift often observed when operating open-loop. These residual fluctuations were correlated between traces of different molecules, suggesting that they reflect, at least partly, uncorrected time-dependent instabilities of the apparatus, and are likely subtractable as common-mode noise.”
Non-Patent Literature “Open-cavity in closed-cycle cryostat as a quantum optics platform”: VADIA
(Abstract) “The introduction of an optical resonator can enable efficient and precise interaction between a photon and a solid-state emitter. It facilitates the study of strong light-matter interaction, polaritonic physics and presents a powerful interface for quantum communication and computing … the challenge of combining the requirements of cryogenic temperature and high mechanical stability against vibrations while maintaining sufficient degrees of freedom for in-situ tunability. Here, we present a fiber-based open Fabry-Perot cavity in a closed-cycle cryostat exhibiting ultra-high mechanical stability while providing wide-range tunability in all three spatial directions.” (see also page 1, 2nd column, bottom two paragraphs)
(page 3, 2nd column, bottom paragraph, onto page 4) “To characterize the performance of the complete assembly, we measured the relative displacement between the fiber and macroscopic mirrors using the cavity itself as an interferometer. A schematic overview of the experiment on the optical table is presented in Fig. 1(c). The optical excitation is provided through the fiber side of the cavity. The transmitted light through the planar mirror of the cavity is guided to a photodiode (Siemens, BPW34 with DL Instruments, 1211 Current Preamplifier) and/or is spectrally dispersed by a monochromator (Roper Scientific, Acton SpectraPro-275) and detected by a CCD camera (Princeton Instruments, Spec-10). A part of the transmission signal can optionally be guided to another photodiode via a beamsplitter which can then be used to perform active feedback stabilization of the cavity length using the piezo actuator below the fiber mirror.”
/SHOURJO DASGUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144