DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 17-23 are pending.
Claims 1, 13, 21, and 22 are amended.
This Action is Made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Nicoletti does not teach “wherein the biodrying system is operated to dry the static pile without any mechanical agitation…”. This argument is not persuasive because claim 1 is directed to a system, not a method. Method limitations only add weigh to system claims to the extent that the prior art system must be capable of the same method. In the instant case as Nicoletti teaches that the agitator can be controlled (see Nicoletti para. 0085) therefore the pile could be dried without mechanical agitation and the structural limitations of the claim are disclosed by the prior art.
The applicant does not make any arguments regarding the similarly amended method claims 13 and 22. However, with regard to the method claims the rejection is now made in view of the previously cited prior art and further in view of Franko (WO 2020/012473), which teaches that agitated piles can be replaced with static piles and eliminate the need to physical agitation or turning (see Franko pg. 2 lines 19-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoletti et al (US 2010/0184131) in view of Whiteman (US 2020/0087183).
Regarding Claim 1:
Nicoletti teaches the system for biodrying wastewater solids, comprising: a first biological component including de-watered cake solids (sludge cake) (see para. 0143); a second biological component including biodried solids (processed compost material) (see para. 0143); a mixing station (charge zone) (see para. 0162), configured to combine the first biological component and the second biological component to form a static pile (pile are formed) (see fig. 1) of a homogenous mixed biomaterial pile (mixing) )(see para. 0194); and a biodrying system configured to form a biodried material from the static pile, the biodrying system comprising an aeration system (ventilation system 124) (see para. 0108) configured to force ventilate the static pile to form the biodried material (processed compost material) (see para. 0143) through aeration of the static pile without mechanical agitation (mechanical agitation is for the loading and unloading of the pile, not the forming of the biodried material) (see para. 0079), wherein the biodrying system is operated to dry the static pile without any mechanical agitation of the static pile during an entire period between formation of the static pile to a dividing of the biodried material into a recycle biosolid and a dried biomaterial product. Method limitations only add weigh to system claims to the extent that the prior art system must be capable of the same method. In the instant case as Nicoletti teaches that the agitator can be controlled (see Nicoletti para. 0085) therefore the pile could be dried without mechanical agitation and the structural limitations of the claim are disclosed by the prior art.
Nicoletti does not teach that the sludge cake is anaerobically digested.
Whiteman teaches mesophilically or thermophilically anaerobically digesting (anaerobic digester 354) (see para. 0103) and dewatering sludge before additional drying (see para. 0101).
Nicoletti and Whiteman are analogous inventions in the art of treating wastewater sludge. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the anaerobically digester de-watered solids of Whiteman and the sludge cake in Nicoletti because it is the simple substitution of one wastewater treatment plant treated sludge cake with another wastewater treatment plant treated sludge cake, obviously resulting in a biosolid able to be dried, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). And one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to treat any known sludge cake with the known method. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 2:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first biological component comprises cake solids processed by thermal hydrolysis and anaerobically digested at mesophilic or thermophilic temperatures. The specifics of the first biological component is interpreted as the intended use of the system as it is what the system is acting on, and not a structural feature of the system and therefore only adds patentable weight to the extent that the prior art system must be capable of processing the same material. As the system of Nicoletti can process a cake from a wastewater water treatment plant is can include cake solids processed by thermal hydrolysis and anaerobically digested at mesophilic or thermophilic temperatures (see Nicoletti para. 0143).
Regarding Claim 3:
Nicoletti teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first biological component comprises about 25% (about 25%) (see Nicoletti para. 0160) to about 35% solid material.
Regarding Claim 4:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first biological component comprises a de-watered anaerobically digested sludge processed with a micro-hydrolysis process including hyper- thermophilic bacteria. The specifics of the first biological component is interpreted as the intended use of the system as it is what the system is acting on, and not a structural feature of the system and therefore only adds patentable weight to the extent that the prior art system must be capable of processing the same material. As the system of Nicoletti can process a cake from a wastewater water treatment plant is can include de-watered anaerobically digested sludge processed with a micro-hydrolysis process including hyper- thermophilic bacteria (see Nicoletti para. 0143).
Regarding Claim 5:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second biological component comprises at least a portion of the biodried material produced in the aeration system (see Nicoletti para. 0192).
Regarding Claim 7:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the static pile comprises: an initial mixture between about 38% to about 45% solid material; and/or a pile between about 1.5m and about 4m in height, between about 2m and about10m in width, and between about 4m and about 35m in length; and/or a mass bed having at least two piles situated adjacent to each other (adjacent piles) (see Nicoletti fig, 1).
Regarding Claim 10:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the aeration system comprises: a ventilation conduit (feed line 256) in fluid communication with a pressurized air source (blower 44); and a plurality of delivery conduits (distribution lines 262) disposed within the static pile, the delivery conduits extending from the ventilation conduit and configured to deliver air to the pile to promote an aerobic biological process and control internal pile temperatures (see Nicoletti para 0154-0155).
Regarding Claim 12:
Nicoletti, as modified teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a temperature feedback control system coupled to the aeration system, the temperature feedback control system configured to control pile temperatures and drying rate (see Nicoletti para. 0036).
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 17-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoletti et al (US 2010/0184131) in view of Whiteman (US 2020/0087183) and Franko (WO 2020/012473).
Regarding Claim 13:
Nicoletti teaches the method for drying wastewater solids, comprising: blending digested and de-watered biosolid cake (sludge cake) with a pre-dried biosolid to form a mixed biomaterial (processed compost material) (see para. 0143); shaping the mixed biomaterial to form a static pile (bed) (see para. 0081); drying, without mechanical agitation, the static pile (see para. 0079, 0085) to form a biodried material, wherein the drying comprises of aerating the static pile by forced air ventilation throughout the mixed biomaterial (see para. 0108); and dividing the biodried material into a recycle biosolid and a dried biomaterial product, wherein the recycle biosolid is recycled to form at least a portion of the previously dried biosolid and the dried biomaterial product is divided to various portions (see para. 0150).
Nicoletti does not teach that the dewatered biosolids cake is anaerobically digested or the drying comprises drying the static pile without any mechanical agitation of the static pile during an entire period between formation of the static pile to a dividing of the biodried material into a recycle biosolid and a dried biomaterial product.
Whiteman teaches anaerobically digesting (anaerobic digester 354) (see para. 0103) and dewatering sludge before additional drying (see para. 0101).
Franko teaches that agitated piles can be replaced with static piles and eliminate the need to physical agitation or turning wherein drying comprises drying the static pile without any mechanical agitation of the static pile (see Franko pg. 2 lines 19-22).
Nicoletti and Whiteman are analogous inventions in the art of treating wastewater sludge. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the anaerobically digester de-watered solids of Whiteman and the sludge cake in Nicoletti because it is the simple substitution of one wastewater treatment plant treated sludge cake with another wastewater treatment plant treated sludge cake, obviously resulting in a biosolid able to be dried, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). And one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to treat any known sludge cake with the known method. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Nicoletti and Franko are analogous inventions in the art of drying composting material. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the agitated bays of Nicoletti with aerated static piles, as disclosed by Franko, such that drying comprises drying the static pile without any mechanical agitation of the static pile during an entire period between formation of the static pile to a dividing of the biodried material into a recycle biosolid and a dried biomaterial product because using aerated static piles eliminates the need to physical agitation (see Franko pg. 2, lines 19-22). Further Nicoletti teaches the use of a ventilation system (see Nicoletti para. 0108).
Regarding Claim 15:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the method of claim 13, wherein aerating the static pile comprises a continuous forced ventilation of the static pile or an intermittent forced ventilation of the static pile (ventilation is actuated based on temperature, therefore it is intermittent) (see Nicoletti para. 0036).
Regarding Claim 17:
Nicoletti, as modified teaches the method of claim 13, wherein aerating the static pile comprises at least one of a positive aeration (blower) or a negative aeration of the static pile (see Nicoletti para. 0114).
Regarding Claim 18:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the method of claim 13, wherein blending an anaerobically digested and de-watered biosolid cake with a previously biodried biosolid to form the mixed biomaterial includes between about a 2:1 to 4:1 ratio by volume of the previously biodried biosolids to the anaerobically digested and de-watered biosolid cake. As the volume ratio disclosed by the prior art overlaps the range 0.5:1 ratio and about a 2.0:1 at an endpoint a prima facie case of obviousness exists and it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to select a ratio of about 2:1.
Regarding Claim 19:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising aerating the static pile and maintaining thermophilic temperatures of 40°C or higher within the static pile for at least 72 hours (14 days above 40°C) (see Nicoletti para. 0197).
Regarding Claim 20:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the method of claim 13, wherein shaping the mixed biomaterial to form the static pile comprises stacking the mixed biomaterial pile into a static pile between about 1.5m and about 4m in height (five feet depth (about 1.5 meters)) (see Nicoletti para. 0081), between about 2m and about 10m in width (6 to 12 feet (1.8-3.6m)), and between about 4m and about 35m in length (100 to 300 feet long (30-900m)) (see Nicoletti para. 0080). Given that the prior art ranges for width and length partially overlap the claimed ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to stack the pile to the same claimed (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 21:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the method of claim 13, wherein shaping the mixed biomaterial to form a static pile comprises placing the mixed biomaterial into one or more bays (see Nicoletti para. 0050, 0085).
Regarding Claim 22:
Nicoletti teaches the process for biologically drying municipal waste, comprising: forming a static pile of a mixture of a digested cake solid (sludge cake) and a biodried cake solid( processed compost material) (see para. 0143), wherein the static pile comprises a height between about 1.5 meters and about 4 meters (five feet) (see para. 0081) and the initial mixture includes between about 38 percent and about 45 percent solids (40% solids) (see para. 0193); and forming an aerated pile of biosolid cake material, wherein the forming the aerated pile comprises of aerating, without mechanical agitation (see para. 0079, 0085), the static pile by forced air ventilation to form a biodried material (see par. 0197), wherein the aerated pile comprises an area between about 2m and about 10m in width (6 to 12 feet (1.8-3.6m)), and between about 4m and about 35m in length (100 to 300 feet long (30-900m)) (see Nicoletti para. 0080). Given that the prior art ranges for width and length partially overlap the claimed ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to stack the pile to the same claimed (see MPEP 2144.05).
Nicoletti does not teach that the dewatered biosolids cake is anaerobically digested or the drying comprises drying the static pile without any mechanical agitation of the static pile during an entire period between formation of the static pile to a dividing of the biodried material into a recycle biosolid and a dried biomaterial product.
Whiteman teaches mesophilically or thermophilically anaerobically digesting (anaerobic digester 354) (see para. 0103) and dewatering sludge before additional drying (see para. 0101).
Franko teaches that agitated piles can be replaced with static piles and eliminate the need to physical agitation or turning wherein drying comprises drying the static pile without any mechanical agitation of the static pile (see Franko pg. 2 lines 19-22).
Nicoletti and Whiteman are analogous inventions in the art of treating wastewater sludge. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the anaerobically digester de-watered solids of Whiteman and the sludge cake in Nicoletti because it is the simple substitution of one wastewater treatment plant treated sludge cake with another wastewater treatment plant treated sludge cake, obviously resulting in a biosolid able to be dried, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). And one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to treat any known sludge cake with the known method. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Nicoletti and Franko are analogous inventions in the art of drying composting material. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the agitated bays of Nicoletti with aerated static piles, as disclosed by Franko, such that drying comprises drying the static pile without any mechanical agitation of the static pile during an entire period between formation of the static pile to a dividing of the biodried material into a recycle biosolid and a dried biomaterial product because using aerated static piles eliminates the need to physical agitation (see Franko pg. 2, lines 19-22). Further Nicoletti teaches the use of a ventilation system (see Nicoletti para. 0108).
Regarding Claim 23:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the process of claim 22, wherein the aerated pile comprises at least one of a free- standing pile, a pile contained by walls (see Nicoletti fig. 1), or a mass bed.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoletti et al (US 2010/0184131) and Whiteman (US 2020/0087183) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Williams (US 2008/0290024).
Regarding Claim 6:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1. Nicoletti teaches mixing on an open pad (bay) (see Nicoletti para. 0162)
Nicoletti does not teach the mixing station comprises at least one of a windrow turner, a rototiller, a pug mill mixer, a mix box, or front end loader mixing.
Williams teaches mixing biological solids with least one of a windrow turner, a rototiller, a pug mill mixer, a mix box, or front end loader mixing (see para. 0039). Williams further teaches that a mix box can be used in place of an open pad for mixing biosolids (see para. 0045).
Nicoletti and Williams are analogous inventions in the art of drying biosolids. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the bay of Nicoletti with a mix box, as disclosed by Williams because it is the simple substitution of one known mixing device with another known mixing device, obviously resulting in mixed biological components with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoletti et al (US 2010/0184131) and Whiteman (US 2020/0087183) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhen et al (CN 104607440, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 11:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the system of claim 1.
Nicoletti does not teach the aeration system comprises a membrane cover over the mixed biomaterial pile.
Zhen teaches an aeration system that comprises a membrane cover (semipermeable membrane) over a biomaterial pile (see abstract).
Nicoletti and Zhen are analogous inventions in the art of biological drying. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the membrane of Zhen over the pile of Nicoletti because it helps controls the moisture within the pile (see Zhen para. 0018) and because it is the simple addition of a known feature to a known system, obviously resulting in a membrane covered pile, with an expectation of success. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoletti et al (US 2010/0184131), Whiteman (US 2020/0087183), and Franko (WO 2020/012473) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Nilsen et al (US 2019/0144320).
Regarding Claim 14:
Nicoletti, as modified, teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising performing a thermal hydrolysis process to form the anaerobically digested and de-watered biosolid cake (see Whiteman para. 0148).
The combination does not teach wherein the thermal hydrolysis process includes heating a wastewater sludge to between about 140°C to about 185°C.
Nilsen teaches thermal hydrolysis between about 140C and 220C. Given that the prior art range fully encompasses of the claimed range of about 140°C to about 185°C a prima facie case of obviousness exists and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to select a temperature of about 140°C to about 185°C (see MPEP 2144.05).
Nicoletti, as modified, and Nilsen are analogous inventions in the art of treating wastewater sludge. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform the thermal hydrolysis of Nicoletti (as modified by Whiteman) at a temperature between about 140°C to about 185°C, as disclosed by Nilsen because one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to select a known temperature range for a known process. The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550
U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 5/20/2026