DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 25 November 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 are now pending in the application.
Amendments to the claims 2 and 5 to overcome the informalities are acceptable. Therefore, claim objections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 25 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 5, second paragraph that “an object of Takeshi is to dissolve the resin using induction heating during permeant magnet recovery. Therefore, the invention disclosed in Takeshi does not consider maintaining the permanent magnet properties and represents a technical concept directly opposed to the object of the present application” and in the sixth paragraph, “the technical concept of Takeshi (which is aimed at demagnetization) provides no motivation for preserving the properties of permanent magnets and acts as an inhibiting factor. For the reasons states above, Takeshi and Kazutoshi differ in object, configuration and technical concept. There is no rational basis for combining them and a person skilled in the art would not be able to easily conceive of combining them”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, in response to applicant’s argument on Page 4 last paragraph that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “reuse of the expensive magnets such as rare earth magnets by selectively heating a resin material while minimizing the temperature rise of the permanent magnet itself” are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
Secondly, Takeshi teaches in para. [0001] that, “the present invention relates to a method and an apparatus…which removes a permanent magnet fixed inside a through hole formed in a mover or stator, and a method for manufacturing a permanent magnet, which recycles the permanent magnet removed from the through hole…the rotor core is heated to partially melt the resin used to secure the permanent magnets, loosening the permanent magnets, and then the permanent magnets are pushed out of the magnet accommodating holes.” Takeshi further teaches an induction coil 6 surround the outer periphery of the holder 3, and in para. [0061], “heat concentrates in the vicinity of the outermost surface of the rotor core 12, and at least one of the joints 18 is melted by heat with respect to one magnet housing hole 16 is melted by heat” and in para. [0046] “heating the rotor core 12 to rapidly increase the temperature in a short time, such that, “the heat-generating portion due to induction heating can be localized in the vicinity of the permanent magnet 17 held by the degaussing holder 3” and in para. [0051], “the heating device is not limited to the induction heating coil 6, and a heating device using resistance heating may also be used”.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that replacing an inductive heating device with a microwave generator would improve the heating and melting time of the adhesive. As applicant agrees in Page 5 third paragraph, Kazutoshi teaches a microwave generator that heats and melts the insulation coating adhesive films, and hence integrates the insulating coating with the iron core. Further, Kazutoshi teaches in Fig. 1, providing a high-frequency wave absorbent 3 along the peripheral portion of the lamination 1, that generates heat in a short time. Both Takeshi and Kazutoshi teach a method of melting an adhesive, which is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would easily combine and replace the induction heating of Takeshi with a microwave generator of Kazutoshi. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised or any special materials used in the high-frequency wave absorbing material with the microwave generator. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshi (JP 2012147602) in view of Kazutoshi (JP H11234972, a prior art reference listed in 12/23/2022 IDS).
[AltContent: textbox (heat treating furnace)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 1a, Takeshi.
Regarding claim 1, Takeshi teaches, a permanent magnet recovery device (Fig. 1a, see Abstract, rotor core 12 is heated by the induction heating coil 6, thereby partially melting or degrading the resin…and then the permanent magnets 17 are pushed out of the magnet accommodating holes 16, para. [0055], recycles the permanent magnet removed from the through hole…the rotor core is heated to partially melt the resin used to secure the permanent magnets, loosening the permanent magnets, and then the permanent magnets are pushed out of the magnet accommodating holes, para. [0001]) comprising:
a heat-treating furnace (induction heating coil 6, an induction heating coil 6…is disposed so as to surround the outer periphery of the rotor 2, para. [0012]) that stores a permanent magnet holder (rotor 2, Fig. 1a, rotor 2 of an IPM motor is placed on and fixed to a degaussing holder 3, para. [0012]) in which a permanent magnet (permanent magnet 17, Fig. 1a) is attached to a laminated steel sheet (rotor core 12, Fig. 1a, rotor core 12 has a plurality of magnet accommodating holes 16, which are through holes formed to extend approximately parallel to the rotation axis of the rotor 2, and a permanent magnet 17 is fixed inside each magnet accommodating hole 16, para. [0014]), via a resin material (to fix the permanent magnet 17…using an adhesive such as resin, para, [0055]).
Takeshi does not teach an insulating film; or a high-frequency wave absorbent is provided at each end portion of the permanent magnet holder in a lamination direction of the laminated steel sheet so as to contact at least the resin material; and a microwave generator that emits a microwave into the heat-treating furnace. However, Kazutoshi teaches a device for producing magnetic steel sheets for a motor having insulating films (see Abstract) in which,
[AltContent: textbox (laminated steel sheet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (high-frequency wave absorbent)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 1, Kazutoshi.
a high-frequency wave absorbent (high-frequency absorbing material 3, see annotated Fig. 1) is provided at each end portion of the permanent magnet holder (supporting body 5, Fig. 1) in a lamination direction of the laminated steel sheet (laminated iron core 1, Fig. 1) so as to contact at least the resin material (electromagnetic steel sheets having such adhesive coatings…a high-frequency absorber consisting of a high frequency absorbing material and a support is brought into contact with the laminated iron core, and the heating part is heated by microwave heating to exhibit the adhesive properties of the insulating coating of the electromagnetic steel sheets and integrate the laminated iron core, para. [0008-0009]; high frequency waves referred to in the present invention are generally called microwaves, and the frequency band used is from 300 MHz to 300 GHz, para. [0020]); and a microwave generator that emits a microwave into the heat-treating furnace (the adhesive coating can also absorb the high-frequency energy and become heated, para. [0013]).
From the teachings of Kazutoshi, a microwave heating that enables the resin material to heat in a short time that improves the workability and from the teaching of Takeshi para. [0055], rotor core 12 is heated by the induction heating coil 6, thereby partially melting or degrading the resin…and then the permanent magnets 17 are pushed out of the magnet accommodating holes 16, one of ordinary skill in the art would have thought that, replacing the induction heating of Takeshi with a microwave heating would improve the heating time. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kazutoshi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the permanent magnet recovery device of Takeshi and to replace the induction coil furnace 6 of Takeshi in Fig. 1a, with a microwave heating device including a high-frequency wave absorbing material 3 as Kazutoshi taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables the high-frequency absorber to heats up the resin material in a very short time compared to a conventional heating furnace. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised to use the high-frequency wave absorbing material with a microwave generator. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 2, Takeshi in view of Kazutoshi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Takeshi further teaches, the permanent magnet recovery device according to claim 1, wherein the laminated steel sheet of the permanent magnet holder has an outer peripheral portion (see the peripheral portion of rotor core 12 in Fig. 1a).
Takashi does not teach a high-frequency wave absorbent. However, Kazutoshi further teaches, a high-frequency wave absorbent is further provided along the outer peripheral portion (high-frequency absorbing material 3, Fig. 1, high-frequency absorbing material 9, Fig. 2). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kazutoshi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the permanent magnet recovery device of Takeshi and to replace the induction coil furnace 6 of Takeshi in Fig. 1a, with a microwave heating device including a high-frequency wave absorbing material as Kazutoshi taught in Figs. 1 and 2 so that it enables the high-frequency absorber to selectively heat the resin material in a short time.
Regarding claim 3, Takeshi in view of Kazutoshi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Takeshi further teaches, the permanent magnet recovery device according to claim 1, wherein the permanent magnet holder is a predetermined rotating electrical machine rotor (rotor 2 of an IPM motor, Fig. 1a, para. [0009, 0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Takeshi teaches, a permanent magnet recovery method (Fig. 1a, see Abstract, rotor core 12 is heated by the induction heating coil 6, thereby partially melting or degrading the resin…and then the permanent magnets 17 are pushed out of the magnet accommodating holes 16, para. [0055]) comprising:
a permanent magnet (permanent magnet 17, Fig. 1a) is attached to a laminated steel sheet (rotor core 12, Fig. 1a, rotor core 12 has a plurality of magnet accommodating holes 16, which are through holes formed to extend approximately parallel to the rotation axis of the rotor 2, and a permanent magnet 17 is fixed inside each magnet accommodating hole 16, para. [0014]), via a resin material (to fix the permanent magnet 17…using an adhesive such as resin, para, [0055]), in a lamination direction of the laminated steel sheet.
Takeshi does not teach an insulating film; or a high-frequency wave absorbent is provided at each end portion of the permanent magnet holder in a lamination direction of the laminated steel sheet so as to contact at least the resin material; and a microwave generator that emits a microwave into the heat-treating furnace. However, Kazutoshi teaches a device for producing magnetic steel sheets for a motor having insulating films (see Abstract) in which, a high-frequency wave absorbent attachment step (high-frequency absorbing material 3, see annotated Fig. 1) of attaching a high-frequency wave absorbent to each end portion of a permanent magnet holder, such that the high-frequency wave absorbent contacts at least the resin material; and a microwave heating step of heating, in a microwave heating furnace, the permanent magnet holder to which the high-frequency wave absorbent has been attached in the high-frequency wave absorbent attachment step (a high-frequency absorber consisting of a high frequency absorbing material and a support is brought into contact with the laminated iron core, and the heating part is heated by microwave heating to exhibit the adhesive properties of the insulating coating of the electromagnetic steel sheets and integrate the laminated iron core, para. [0009], the adhesive coating can also absorb the high-frequency energy and become heated, para. [0013]).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kazutoshi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the permanent magnet recovery device of Takeshi and to replace the induction coil furnace 6 of Takeshi in Fig. 1a, with a microwave heating device including a high-frequency wave absorbing material 3 as Kazutoshi taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables the high-frequency absorber to heats up the resin material in a very short time compared to a conventional heating furnace.
Regarding claim 5, Takeshi in view of Kazutoshi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Takeshi further teaches, the permanent magnet recovery method according to claim 4, wherein the laminated steel sheet of the permanent magnet holder has an outer peripheral portion (see the degaussing holder 3, Fig. 1a). Takashi does not teach a high-frequency wave absorbent. However, Kazutoshi further teaches a high-frequency wave absorbent is further provided along the outer peripheral portion in the high-frequency wave absorbent attachment step (see high-frequency absorbing material 3, Fig. 1, high-frequency absorbing material 9, Fig. 2). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kazutoshi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the permanent magnet recovery device of Takeshi and to replace the induction coil furnace 6 of Takeshi in Fig. 1a, with a microwave heating device including a high-frequency wave absorbing material provided at the outer peripheral portion as Kazutoshi taught in Figs. 1 and 2 so that it enables the high-frequency absorber to selectively heat the resin material.
Regarding claim 6, Takeshi in view of Kazutoshi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Takeshi further teaches, the permanent magnet recovery method according to claim 4, wherein the permanent magnet holder is a predetermined rotating electrical machine rotor (rotor 2 of an IPM motor, Fig. 1a, para. [0009, 0012]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729