DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a capturing unit” in claims 5-6, associated with branch holes 321 [see Fig. 11; ¶0046];
“an injection unit” in claims 13-14, associated structure is indefinite [see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below];
“a first discharge unit” in claims 13-14, associated structure is indefinite [see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below];
“a second discharge unit” in claims 13-14, associated structure is indefinite [see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below];
“a first flow path forming unit” in claims 13-14, associated with a conduit connecting the first flow path 21 and the first discharge unit 202 [see 202A in Fig. 1; ¶0082];
“a second flow path forming unit” in claims 13-14, associated with a conduit connecting the second flow path 22 and the second discharge unit 203 [see 203A in Fig. 1; ¶0082].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12,
Claim 12 depends from claim 10, wherein claim 10 defines that the first axis is parallel to a vertical direction and claim 12 further defines that the third axis is parallel to a vertical direction. It is seemingly contradictory that the first and third axes are both parallel to a vertical direction given that independent claim 1 defines that the third axis intersects a plane including the first axis and the second axis. The scope of the claim cannot be ascertained and is therefore rendered indefinite.
Regarding claims 13-14,
Claim limitations “an injection unit”, “a first discharge unit”, and “a second discharge unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Upon review, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the functions in the claim. The descriptions provided by the specification with regard to these claim limitations merely define their function but do not recite any associated structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 15,
Line 2 recites “the particle removal apparatus according to claim 8” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim; rather, claim 8 defines a fluid flow path. It is unclear if applicant intends rather for claim 15 to depend from claim 13.
Line 4 recites the limitation "the injection unit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 10-082723A (hereinafter “JP’723”, machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 1,
JP’723 discloses [see ¶0008-¶0053 and Fig. 1-15] a fluid device (fine particle processing device) comprising:
a first flow path (a flow path between resonance plates 1512, 1522 [Fig. 9-10]) that extends along a first axis and through which a fluid flows in a positive side of the first axis;
a first ultrasonic element (ultrasonic vibrator 1312, 1322 [Fig. 9-10]) configured to generate a first standing wave along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis in the first flow path; and
a second flow path (a flow path in a suction pipe 1712 [Fig. 9-10]) connected to the first flow path such that the fluid flows therethrough and extending along a third axis intersecting a plane including the first axis and the second axis, wherein
a first connection port (a suction port 1713 [Fig. 9-10] for connecting the first flow path and the second flow path is formed corresponding to a position of either an antinode of the first standing wave or a node of the first standing wave [¶0032].
Regarding claim 2,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 1, wherein a length of the first connection port (1713) along the second axis is smaller than a half wavelength of an ultrasonic wave that forms the first standing wave (width of flow path is a half wavelength [¶0020], therefore so is first connection port 1713 [see Fig. 10]).
Regarding claim 3,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 1, wherein
an end portion of the first connection port on a negative side of the first axis is positioned on the positive side of the first axis with respect to an end portion of the first ultrasonic element on the negative side of the first axis [Fig. 9-10].
Regarding claim 4,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 2, wherein
an end portion of the first connection port on a negative side of the first axis is positioned on the positive side of the first axis with respect to an end portion of the first ultrasonic element on the negative side of the first axis [Fig. 9-10].
Regarding claim 11,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 1, wherein the third axis is parallel to a vertical direction (see Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’723.
Regarding claims 5-6,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 1, wherein a single inflow part is connected to a capturing unit (1713) corresponding to a node of the first standing wave [Fig. 10; ¶0032]. JP’723 does not expressly teach that a plurality of fluid inflow parts are connected to the capturing unit. However it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of JP’723 to further include multiple fluid inflow parts connected to the capturing unit corresponding to positions of nodes of the first standing wave. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced [MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)].
Regarding claims 7-8,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 1, but does not disclose a third flow path, second ultrasonic element, fourth flow path, and second connection port as defined by claims 7 and 8. These features are configured similarly to the corresponding first flow path, first ultrasonic element, second flow path, and first connection port defined by independent claim 1. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of JP’723 to further include a third flow path, second ultrasonic element, fourth flow path, and second connection port. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced [MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)].
Regarding claims 9-10,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach that the first axis is parallel to a vertical direction. However it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to merely reorient the fluid device of JP’723 such that the first axis is parallel to a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 12,
JP’723 discloses the fluid device according to claim 10, wherein the third axis is parallel to a vertical direction (see Fig. 9).
Conclusion
14. See the attached PTO-892 for a list of the prior art made of record which includes additional prior art not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/THOMAS BUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711