DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 7-20, and 26-32 are pending and are examined on their merits.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b) Rejections Overcome by Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claim 4 in the response filed on March 17th 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant has amended the claim to further limit R4 instead of R3. As claim 4 is now further limiting to claim 1, the 112(b) rejection over claim 4 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections Overcome by Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is acknowledged. Applicant has amended claim 1 to complete the previously recited limitation for option (viii) of Z1, thus overcoming the objection for claim 1.
35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) Rejections Overcome by Amendment
Applicant has amended the claims to no longer encompass the structures of Boes, Young, Xu, CAS RN 1519825-56-9, CAS RN 1009038-75-8, and Hinklin. All 102 rejections are thereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 – Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 9, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (Xu et al., The Journal of Organic Chemistry 2016 81 (22), 11081-11094).
Xu teaches CAS RN 2036080-77-8:
(Xu, pg. 11085, compound 4p).
Xu’s compound anticipates claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 9, 12, and 15.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stambuli (US20100056800 A1).
Stambuli teaches CAS RN 1213236-31-7:
(Stambuli, pg. 7).
Stambuli’s compound anticipates claims 1, 2, 8, 14, and 15.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 20, 26, 27, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (WO 2017/120429 A1).
Song teaches CAS RN 2103352-29-8:
(Song, pg. 257, 3-(N-t-butoxycarbonylaminomethyl)-1-(2-chloropyrimidin-4-yl)-1H-indole).
Song’s compound anticipates claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 15.
Song teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compound (Song, pg. 519, claim 143), anticipating claim 20.
Song teaches the treatment of cancers such as non-small cell lung cancer with the compound (Song, pg. 520, claim 146), anticipating claims 26 and 31.
Song teaches the compound in combination with a K-Ras Inhibitor (Song, pg. 234, lines 10-15 and pg. 235 lines 8-16), anticipating claim 27.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19, 28-30, and 32 are allowed.
Applicant has developed the generic compound,
and particular species of the compound, which act as inhibitors for the YAP/TAZ-TEAD transcription process. The compounds of claim 19 are not found in the art. The generic compound of claim 18 includes features which distinguish it from the art. While the core structure,
,
is not novel, the requirement that R9 is a pyrazole and that R10 is a C=O substituted carbon chain distinguishes the generic compound from the art. The closest structures of the art appear in Ince (WO 2012/007345 published on January 19th 2012). Ex:
(Ince, pg. 198, specification, compound 2-71).
The instant generic structure shares the core structure with Ince, as well as the attached pyrazole. However, Ince requires an attached phenyl group at position R10, in contrast to the substituted carbon chain of the instant structure. As compounds of the generic structure of claim 18 are not found in the art and it is unclear how the differences between the structure and compounds known in the art would contribute to the activity of the compounds, the compounds of claims 18 and 19 are novel.
Applicant has further developed particular species of the generic invention,
,
a series of indole, indazole, and related compounds that act as inhibitors for the YAP/TAZ-TEAD transcription process. The particular compounds defined by applicant are not found in the art.
Zbieg (U.S. Provisional Patent No. 63/283,138 published on November 24th 2021) claims TAZ-TEAD inhibitors containing similar structures to the instant claims. Ex:
(Zbieg, claim 18 [left], instant compound 4, also found in claim 17 [right]).
However, while Zbieg’s structures are similar to the species exemplified in claims 16, 17, and 28, they are not identical, and it is unclear how the differences between Zbieg’s structures and the instant structures would contribute to the activity of the compounds. For these reasons, the compounds of claims 16, 17, and 28 are novel.
Consequently, claims 16-19, 28-30, and 32 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629