DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
change claim 1 line 12 accordingly: “when a matching state- of the first matching state and the second matching state”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 11 recites “a side surface”. Each of claims 11-18 recited “a side surface”. It is unclear if the side surface of each of claims 11-18 (1) refer to the claim 1 side surface, or (2) are each a second side surface. For purposes of compact prosecution the side surfaces are not required to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European patent document EP 3785583 A1 (Prieto) in view of International patent document WO 2021/017140 A1 (Zhou), Pub. No. US 2024/0407584 A1 (Xu), Pub. No. US 2019/0059654 A1 (Gupta) and Pub. No. US 2021/0137298 A1 (Zakowski).
Regarding claim 1, Prieto discloses (see figs. 1-3) an overturnable (machine core 2 can be inverted as shown by figs. 1 and 2 and discussed in abstract) dual-purpose (Regarding dual purpose, fig.1 shows the purpose of providing a flow of hot air downward from the machine core 2 and into the fryer 10 and this is discussed at the bottom of page 1 and at the top of page 2. In contrast fig. 3 shows the purpose of heating food by placing the fryer 10 on top of the machine core 2 to heat the contents of the container and this is discussed in bottom of the abstract and page 9 middle) shows multifunctional (The functions being (1) air frying by way of the matching state of fig. 1 and (2) cooking for example like with a hot plate in fig. 13) air fryer (see middle of page 6), comprising a machine core 2 and a fryer 10, wherein the machine core 2 has a bottom 31a opening (see opening at location 11 in annotated fig. 3 below wherein the opening contains heating element 11 and wherein such opening is at the bottom 31a of the machine core 2 in fig. 1 and wherein the heating element 11 faces downward in fig. 1) which is provided with a thermal circulation fan (see “hot air circulation device of the fan type” at the middle of page 6) therein and a heating element 11, and the fryer 10 has a top opening (see annotated figure below); and the machine core 2 and the fryer 10 are detachably connected (See figs. 1-2 showing that “the base 3 defines a housing 9 located below the heating block 2. This housing 9 allows the reception of a container 10” that is discussed at the middle of page 6. This permits sealing of the fryer 10 to the machine core 2 by way of seal 12 shown in fig. 1. The fryer 10 can be detached from the housing 9 and placed on top of the machine core 2 as shown in fig. 13), and the machine core 2 and the fryer 10 can be in a first matching state (see fig. 1), wherein the machine core 2 is located above (see fig. 1) the fryer 10, and the bottom opening (see annotated figures below) of the machine core 2 faces downward (see that lower edge 13 faces downward in fig. 1) and communicates (There is thermal communication via “circulating hot air in the [fryer], this hot air entering through the upper opening of the [fryer 10]” as discussed at the middle of page 2. The instant hot air is circulated from the machine core 2 by way of heating element 11 and the fan as discussed at the middle of page 6) with the top opening (see annotated figures below) of the fryer 10 (The top opening of the fryer 10 shown in annotated figure 13 is shown sealed via seal 12 to the bottom 31a of the machine core 2 as shown in fig. 1). Prieto embodiment of fig. 1 does not explicitly disclose that the thermal circulation fan of Prieto is provided in the bottom opening of the machine core of Prieto; and a second matching state, wherein the fryer is located above the machine core, and the bottom opening of the machine core faces upward and connects to a bottom of the fryer; and a control panel is arranged on a side surface of the machine core, and the control panel is configured to display automatically a corresponding working mode when a matching state between the machine core and the fryer is switched. Prieto points out that naming of corresponding structures of the embodiments of fig. 1-11 and figs. 12-13 are similar however there is a slight difference in dimensions (see the second par. of page 9).
[AltContent: textbox (top opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (lower edge 13)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (bottom opening (see fig. 1 wherein lower edge 13 is facing down) where machine core 2 is overturned here)][AltContent: arrow]
Zhou teaches (see figs. 2-3) an air fryer 1,2 (see fig. 5 and the middle of page 4 stating “air fryer”) and further teaches a thermal circulation fan (thermal circulation fan 83 of overall fan 8) is provided in a bottom opening (see annotated figure below) of a machine core 1 (of the air fryer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto with the thermal circulation fan of Prieto is provided in the bottom opening of the machine core of Prieto in order to facilitate cooking food (see Zhou second par. of page 5) by circulating air heated with a heating element that is also in the instant bottom opening (see heating element 6 in Zhou fig. 2 wherein this is similar to the heating element 11 in the bottom opening of Prieto shown in annotated figure above).
[AltContent: textbox (bottom opening)][AltContent: arrow]
Prieto teaches a second matching state (see fig. 13), wherein the fryer 10 is located above (see fig. 2) the machine core 2, and the bottom opening (see annotated figures above) of the machine core 2 faces upward (lower edge 13 in annotated figure 13 above is facing upward wherein the lower edge 13 is a portion of the bottom of the machine core 2 as shown in annotated figures above and in fig. 1) and connects to a bottom 27 (see fig. 1) of the fryer 10 (In the second matching state shown in fig. 13 the bottom 27 of the fryer 10 sits inside the machine core 2 as shown in fig. 13. This is discussed at the middle of page 9: “when said … [machine core] 2 is in the inverted position and stabilized over the base 3, [this] makes it possible to receive the bottom 27 of the … [fryer] 10, as shown in figure 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou with a second matching state, wherein the fryer is located above the machine core, and the bottom opening of the machine core faces upward and connects to a bottom of the fryer as taught by Prieto embodiment of figs. 12-13 in order to facilitate a second functional configuration allowing food to be cooked in a container placed on the machine core (see Prieto abstract) thereby increasing the number of types of cooking thereby making cooking more economical (see Prieto middle of page 2).
Xu teaches (see fig. 1) a multifunctional cooking appliance 1 (see title) and further teaches a control panel 105 is arranged on a side surface (at 104) of a machine core 104 (core 104 includes a heating element 1044 (see fig. 3) and thus can be called a machine core similar to applicant machine core 1 that includes heating element 5 in fig. 2), the control panel is configured to display automatically (the appliance displays a menu prompt corresponding to a respective cooking mode such as air fryer mode as discussed in par. 119; more specifically a sensor that detects the corresponding cooking mode sends a signal to a controller that then provides the instant display information to a display of the control panel automatically as pointed out the bottom of par. 119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou with a control panel is arranged on a side surface of the machine core, and the control panel is configured to display automatically as taught by Xu in order to facilitate providing a friendly and convenient user cooking experience (see Xu par. 28, bottom).
The instant sensor 1028 (see fig. 6) of Xu detects a working mode by sensing the position of air frying valve 1023 and the controller uses this information to provide the instant menu prompt (see top of par. 119). However Prieto in view of Zhou does not have this air frying valve and the working mode of Prieto in view of Zhou depends upon the position of machine core 2 (shown in figs. 1 and 13 of Prieto). For example, in fig. 1 the machine core is right side up for use in the air frying working mode and in fig. 13 the machine core is inverted for use in the bottom heating working mode (see Prieto abstract). Thus a different sensor then that of Xu is needed to implement the menu prompt feature of Prieto in view of Zhou and Xu. Gupta teaches a matching state between the machine core 1 and the fryer 80 (is changed). Gupta teaches a position sensor (see claim 3) also called a tilt switch 48 that detects when a machine core 1 has been inverted such that a matching state wherein the machine core 1 covers the fryer 80 has been changed (see pars. 24 and 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou and Xu with to display automatically when a matching state between the machine core and the fryer is switched as taught by Gupta in order to facilitate providing a sensor corresponding with the display of Prieto in view of Zhou and Xu discussed above. This results in the combination of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu and Gupta having a sensor to detect when the machine core is inverted, such sensor providing input to the controller (regarding the claimed “automatically”) taught by Xu above of the combination.
Zakowski teaches a multifunctional cooking appliance 10 (see air fryer mode and bottom heating mode such as for sauté discussed in pars. 51 and 62) and further teaches to display (on display 76 ) a corresponding working mode (display 76 displays cooking mode such as air frying mode or sauté mode; see par. 60, bottom and par. 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu and Gupta with display the working mode as taught by Zakowski in order to facilitate improved ease of use and overall functionality (see Zakowski par. 2, bottom). The controller of Prieto in view of Zhou and Xu already had knowledge of the working mode because such knowledge is used to provide the menu prompt of the working mode (e.g., see par. 119 of Xu). Zakowski adds that it would have been obvious to also display the working mode along with the menu prompt of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski.
Regarding claim 4, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. The teachings of Prieto embodiment figs. 12-13 applied in the claim 1 analysis above include (see fig. 12) a sectional area of a top 31b (see fig. 1) of the machine core 2 is less than (see top of page 9 of Prieto) a sectional area of the top opening (see annotated figure above) of the fryer 10, such that the machine core 2 is at least partially accommodated in the fryer 10 (see top of page 9 of Prieto: “in the storage configuration … configuration, inserting said second portion 31b into the container 10).
Regarding claim 5, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. The teachings of Prieto embodiment figs. 12-13 applied in the claim 1 analysis above include the air fryer 1 further comprises a lid (see middle of page 9) matched (the lid is matched in the sense it covers the fryer 10 and because the lids are adapted to a specific fryer 10 as discussed on the instant page 10) with the top opening (see annotated figure above) of the fryer 10, and the lid covers the fryer when the machine core 2 and the fryer 10 are in the second matching state (see fig. 13; the middle of page9 is discussing fig. 13 as shown at the top of page 9).
Regarding claim 8, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses (see fig. 1) the fryer 10 is made of a transparent material or part region of the fryer is made of a transparent material (fryer 10 may be made of transparent glass as discussed at the bottom of page 6).
[AltContent: textbox (step 14 is embedded into the bottom opening (step 14 is mated with lower edge 13 via seal 12 as discussed at page 6 middle and bottom)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Regarding claim 9, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses (see figs. 1 and 13) one of the bottom opening of the machine core and the top opening (see annotated figures above) of the fryer 10 is provided with a second step 14 which is embedded into the other of the bottom opening (see annotated figures above) of the machine core 2 and the top opening of the fryer, when the machine core 2 and the fryer 10 are in the first matching state (see annotated figure 1 above).
Regarding claims 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses (claims 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18) a top 40 of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4); an air inlet 42 (see fig. 3); and a side surface (at 31) of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4). Prieto does not disclose (claims 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18) the top of the machine core is provided with the air inlet; the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor.
Zhou teaches (see figs. 2 and 6) (claims 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18) a top of a machine core 1 is provided with the air inlet 31. It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the location of the air inlet taught by Zhou (i.e. at the top of the machine core) for the location of the air inlet of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing a location for an inlet of air for cooking.
Zhou teaches (claims 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18) a side surface (at 32 in fig. 5) of a machine core 1 is provided with an air outlet 32 (see fig. 5); and a cooling (such fan 82 is used to reduce the temperature of the machine core 1; see third par. of page 5) fan 82 is sleeved over a motor 81,811 (see fig. 3). The fan 82 is sleeved over shaft 811 of fan 82 (this is consistent with applicant page 6, middle: “a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the motor 3. Specifically, a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the output shaft of the motor 3 and driven by the motor 3.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski with (claims 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18) the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor as taught by Zhou in order to facilitate preventing overheating of electrical equipment (see Zhou third par. of page 2).
Regarding claim 16, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses a top 40 of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4); an air inlet 42 (see fig. 3); and a side surface (at 31) of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4). Prieto does not disclose the top of the machine core is provided with the air inlet; the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor.
Zhou teaches (see figs. 2 and 6) a top of a machine core 1 is provided with the air inlet 31. It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the location of the air inlet taught by Zhou (i.e. at the top of the machine core) for the location of the air inlet of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing a location for an inlet of air for cooking.
Zhou teaches a side surface (at 32 in fig. 5) of a machine core 1 is provided with an air outlet 32 (see fig. 5); and a cooling (such fan 82 is used to reduce the temperature of the machine core 1; see third par. of page 5) fan 82 is sleeved over a motor 81,811 (see fig. 3). The fan 82 is sleeved over shaft 811 of fan 82 (this is consistent with applicant page 6, middle: “a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the motor 3. Specifically, a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the output shaft of the motor 3 and driven by the motor 3.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski with the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor as taught by Zhou in order to facilitate preventing overheating of electrical equipment (see Zhou third par. of page 2).
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pub. No. US 2022/0369862 A1 (Zhang).
Regarding claim 2, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses the bottom 27 of the fryer 10 is provided with a structure 27. Prieto does not explicitly disclose the structure is a thermal conductive structure (Prieto mentions that the fryer 10 can include aluminum at location bottom of page 6 however does not specifically discuss the material of the bottom 27 of the fryer 10 wherein aluminum being thermally conductive is consistent with applicant bottom of page 4).
Zhang teaches (see fig. 10) a structure (i.e. the bottom of fryer 10) is a thermally conductive structure (thermally conductive aluminum plate 1040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski with the structure is a thermal conductive structure as taught by Zhang in order to facilitate better broiling, steaming and baking of food (see Zhang par. 138, top).
Regarding claim 11, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and Zhang teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses a top 40 of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4); an air inlet 42 (see fig. 3); and a side surface (at 31) of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4). Prieto does not disclose the top of the machine core is provided with the air inlet; the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor.
Zhou teaches (see figs. 2 and 6) a top of a machine core 1 is provided with the air inlet 31. It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the location of the air inlet taught by Zhou (i.e. at the top of the machine core) for the location of the air inlet of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and Zhang for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing a location for an inlet of air for cooking.
Zhou teaches a side surface (at 32 in fig. 5) of a machine core 1 is provided with an air outlet 32 (see fig. 5); and a cooling (such fan 82 is used to reduce the temperature of the machine core 1; see third par. of page 5) fan 82 is sleeved over a motor 81,811 (see fig. 3). The fan 82 is sleeved over shaft 811 of fan 82 (this is consistent with applicant page 6, middle: “a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the motor 3. Specifically, a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the output shaft of the motor 3 and driven by the motor 3.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and Zhang with the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor as taught by Zhou in order to facilitate preventing overheating of electrical equipment (see Zhou third par. of page 2).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pub. No. US 2008/0190301 A1 (Peng).
Regarding claim 3, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses the bottom of the fryer 10 is embedded into the bottom opening (see annotated figure above) of the machine core 2 when the machine core 2 and the fryer 10 are in the second matching state (state shown in fig. 13). The bottom surface 27 of the fryer 10 is seated on support 43 during the second matching state as discussed in the lower portion of the abstract and top and middle of page 9. Prieto does not explicitly disclose providing a first step.
[AltContent: textbox (step)][AltContent: arrow]
Peng teaches (see fig. 1) a cooker 100 of a similar configuration as the second matching state of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski and further teaches a step (see annotated figure above) (provided to a bottom of fryer 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski with providing a first step as taught by Peng in order to facilitate better securing the fryer at the support 43 taught by Prieto of Prieto in view Zhou and Peng.
Regarding claim 12, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and Peng teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses a top 40 of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4); an air inlet 42 (see fig. 3); and a side surface (at 31) of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4). Prieto does not disclose the top of the machine core is provided with the air inlet; the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor.
Zhou teaches (see figs. 2 and 6) a top of a machine core 1 is provided with the air inlet 31. It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the location of the air inlet taught by Zhou (i.e. at the top of the machine core) for the location of the air inlet of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and Peng for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing a location for an inlet of air for cooking.
Zhou teaches a side surface (at 32 in fig. 5) of a machine core 1 is provided with an air outlet 32 (see fig. 5); and a cooling (such fan 82 is used to reduce the temperature of the machine core 1; see third par. of page 5) fan 82 is sleeved over a motor 81,811 (see fig. 3). The fan 82 is sleeved over shaft 811 of fan 82 (this is consistent with applicant page 6, middle: “a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the motor 3. Specifically, a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the output shaft of the motor 3 and driven by the motor 3.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and Peng with the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor as taught by Zhou in order to facilitate preventing overheating of electrical equipment (see Zhou third par. of page 2).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent US 6,963,051 (You).
Regarding claim 6, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto does not disclose a sectional area of a top of the lid is less than a sectional area of the top opening of the fryer, so that the lid is at least partially accommodated in the fryer.
You teaches a cooker similar in configuration to the second matching state of Prieto in view of Zhou and further teaches a sectional area of a top (at 1 in fig. 1) of a lid 1 is less than a sectional area of a top opening a container 4 of the cooker, so that the lid 1 is at least partially accommodated (see fig. 1) in the container 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta and Zakowski with a sectional area of a top of the lid is less than a sectional area of the top opening of the fryer, so that the lid is at least partially accommodated in the fryer as taught by You in order to facilitate securing the lid on the fryer.
Regarding claim 15, Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and You teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Prieto further discloses a top 40 of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4); an air inlet 42 (see fig. 3); and a side surface (at 31) of the machine core 2 (see fig. 4). Prieto does not disclose the top of the machine core is provided with the air inlet; the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor.
Zhou teaches (see figs. 2 and 6) a top of a machine core 1 is provided with the air inlet 31. It is further noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1395 (U.S. 2007) (MPEP 2143 I.B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the location of the air inlet taught by Zhou (i.e. at the top of the machine core) for the location of the air inlet of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and You for the purpose of substituting one known element for another in order to provide the expected result of providing a location for an inlet of air for cooking.
Zhou teaches a side surface (at 32 in fig. 5) of a machine core 1 is provided with an air outlet 32 (see fig. 5); and a cooling (such fan 82 is used to reduce the temperature of the machine core 1; see third par. of page 5) fan 82 is sleeved over a motor 81,811 (see fig. 3). The fan 82 is sleeved over shaft 811 of fan 82 (this is consistent with applicant page 6, middle: “a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the motor 3. Specifically, a cooling fan 10 is sleeved over the output shaft of the motor 3 and driven by the motor 3.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu, Gupta, Zakowski and You with the side surface of the machine core is provided with an air outlet; and a cooling fan is sleeved over a motor as taught by Zhou in order to facilitate preventing overheating of electrical equipment (see Zhou third par. of page 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., control circuit, control circuit included in machine core, flip-up machine core, the control panel located on the side surface of the lid assembly or heating element, flippable machine (overturnable is recited in the preamble of claim 1 but is not related to the first and second matching states in the body of the claim), enlightenment of a switching function via flipping) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). For example, the non-final office action on page 17 states “Xu … teaches a control panel 105 is arranged on a side surface (at 104) of a machine core 104 (core 104 includes a heating element 1044 (see fig. 3) and thus can be called a machine core similar to applicant machine core 1 that includes heating element 5 in fig. 2)”. Applicant argues that structure 104 cannot be a machine core. In response a body 104 would be considered a machine core by one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, Pub. No. US 20210298512 (Zhang) by the same applicant as the application identified above considers a multifunction cooker machine (including air fryer and steamer) to have a lower core 201 in fig. 11 that is similar to the machine core 104 of Xu. This is confirmed in US 20190208958 par. 42 wherein the cooking cavity is in a “lower core”. For example Zhang par. 52 states “the cooking chamber 1 is formed by the lower machine core 12”. This is similar to Xu machine core 104 that includes the cooking chamber. Further “core” can be interpreted as “a basic, essential, or enduring part” (Merriam-Webster online). Therefore Xu teaches a control panel arranged on a side surface of a machine core. Xu teaches control panel 105 on machine core 104 on the side surface (at 104) thereof. This is an essential part because the heating element 1044 of the machine core 104 is used for the both the pressure cooking mode (see par. 113) and the air fryer / steaming mode (see par. 113). The machine core also includes the cooking cavity 1043 that is essential to hold the food for cooking.
The office action states “the control panel [of Xu] is configured to display automatically (the appliance displays a menu prompt corresponding to a respective cooking mode such as air fryer mode as discussed in par. 119; more specifically a sensor that detects the corresponding cooking mode sends a signal to a controller that then provides the instant display information to a display of the control panel automatically as pointed out the bottom of par. 119)”. Thus Xu is used to teach an automatic display of a cooking mode (such as pressure cooking mode or air frying mode). Applicant argues against Xu because Xu does not teach “the control panel automatically detects the flipping state” and “the automatic display based on the switching of the matching state between the fryer and the machine core” of applicant structure. In response, applicant has omitted discussion of the remaining teachings in the office action regarding the content of the former claim 7 that has been included in the current claim 1. For example, as pointed out on page 18 of the non-final office action Gupta (Pub. No. US 2019/0059654 A1) teaches a position sensor (see claim 3) also called a tilt switch 48 that detects when a machine core 1 has been inverted such that a matching state wherein the machine core 1 covers the fryer 80 has been changed (see pars. 24 and 63). This teaching results in the combination of Prieto in view of Zhou, Xu and Gupta having a sensor to detect when the machine core is inverted, such sensor providing input to the controller (regarding the claimed "automatically") taught by Xu in par. 107. Zakowski on page 19 of the office action teaches displaying (on display 76) a corresponding working mode (display 76 displays cooking mode such as air frying mode or sauté mode) and this facilitates improved ease of use and overall functionality as pointed out by Zakowski in par. 2 bottom. Therefore teachings of Xu, Gupta and Zakowski include a control panel is arranged on a side surface of the machine core, and the control panel is configured to display automatically a corresponding working mode when a matching state between the machine core and the fryer is switched.
Applicant further argues “Xu neither discloses a flippable machine core nor two physical matching states, nor any enlightenment of a switching function via flipping”. As best understood applicant is referring to the claimed first matching state and second matching state and the matching state between the matching core and fryer is switched. In response Xu was not used to teach the first matching state and the second matching state. Base reference Prieto a first matching state (see fig. 1) being an air fryer mode (see translation page 6 middle) and a second matching state (fig. 13) that can be used for cooking such as boiling for example (see page 9 middle).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Two in one air fryer and slow cooker: US 20250302226.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC AMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741