Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 10, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“ monitoring port including a trapping part configured to trap the fluid flowing into the chemical liquid supplying part and a sensing part configured to sense an inflow of the fluid, …
wherein the fluid is trapped … “
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Abstract, paragraphs 8 , 12, 14-15, 20, 22-23, 53-54, and 56 recite
“ monitoring port including a trapping part configured to trap the fluid flowing into the chemical liquid supplying part and a sensing part configured to sense an inflow of the fluid, …
wherein the fluid is trapped …”
But it is not shown.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ fluid supplying part”, “liquid supplying part”, trapping part”, “sensing part”, in claim 1; “control part” in claims 4 or 11, or “discharging part” in claim 5.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
“a monitoring port” in claim 1 should be “a monitoring part”
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
“a substrate” in line 3 of claim 5 should be “the substrate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “ monitoring port including a trapping part configured to trap the fluid flowing into the chemical liquid supplying part and a sensing part configured to sense an inflow of the fluid, …
wherein the fluid is trapped … “
Based on Fig. 1, and the earlier part of the claim 1, a suggested revision is as follows”: “ monitoring [[port]] part including a trapping part configured to trap the fluid flowing [[into]] from the chemical liquid supplying part and a sensing part configured to sense an inflow of the fluid, …
wherein the fluid is trapped … “
Claims 2-12 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Us Pat. Num. 3,793,805 to Hoffman (hereinafter Hoffman).
Regarding claim 1, Hoffman teaches a device for supplying a solution comprising: a fluid supplying part (10) configured to provide a fluid (air from the atmosphere); a chemical liquid supplying part (11, 17) configured to provide a chemical liquid (liquid such as latex) having a specific gravity different from a specific gravity of the fluid; and a monitoring port including a trapping part configured to trap the fluid flowing into the chemical liquid supplying part and a sensing part (22) configured to sense an inflow of the fluid, wherein a heat transfer is generated between the fluid and the chemical liquid, and wherein the fluid is trapped at a top portion or a bottom portion of the trapping part in accordance with a difference between the specific gravity of the fluid and the specific gravity of the chemical liquid. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu teaches all of the structure capable of the same function (control of viscosity and temperature), the resulting structure would expect to be capable of the same function, Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu and can be used for the same purpose as in the instant application Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu teaches all of the necessary structures the limitations would necessarily follow as set forth in MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant claims a specific material or article worked upon including two materials with a relative relationship in their specific gravity. The substrate is not being given patentable weight in the coating apparatus.
The coating apparatus in Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu would be capable of operating with these two materials. Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Regarding claim 2, Hoffman teaches the fluid supplying part (11) is configured to the fluid along a first direction (upwards) and the chemical liquid is configured to provide the chemical liquid in a second direction (downwards) different from the first direction. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 3, Hoffman teaches the fluid supplying part (10) is configured to partially enclose the chemical liquid supplying part (11, 17) or pass through the chemical liquid supplying part. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 4, Hoffman teaches a control part (23) configured to stop a supply of the chemical liquid from the chemical liquid supplying part when the inflow of the fluid is identified by the monitoring part (22). (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 5, Hoffman teaches an apparatus for processing a substrate comprising: a chemical liquid discharging part (31) configured to discharge a chemical liquid having a first specific gravity onto a substrate; a chemical liquid supplying part (11, 17) configured to provide the chemical liquid to the chemical liquid discharging part; a fluid supplying part (10) configured to provide a fluid having a second specific gravity different from the first specific gravity; a chemical liquid supplying part (11, 17) configured to provide a chemical liquid having a second specific gravity different from the first specific gravity; and a monitoring port (15) including a trapping part configured to trap the fluid flowing into the chemical liquid supplying part and a sensing part (22) configured to sense an inflow of the fluid, wherein a heat transfer is generated between the fluid and the chemical liquid such that the chemical liquid (16) has a desired temperature, and wherein the fluid (air atmosphere) is trapped at a top portion (top) or a bottom portion of the trapping part in accordance with a difference between the first specific gravity and the second specific gravity. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 6, Hoffman teaches chemical liquid discharging part (31) includes a slit nozzle configured to discharge the chemical liquid onto the substrate in a scan manner. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 7, Hoffman teaches the fluid is trapped at the top portion of the trapping part when the first specific gravity of the chemical liquid is greater than the second specific gravity of the fluid, and the sensing part (22) is disposed at the top portion of the trapping part. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 9, Hoffman teaches the chemical liquid supplying part is configured to provide the chemical liquid along a first direction (upwards) and the fluid supplying part is configured to the fluid in a second direction different (downwards) from the first direction. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 10, Hoffman teaches the fluid supplying part is configured to partially enclose the chemical liquid supplying part or pass through the chemical liquid supplying part. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 11, Hoffman teaches the fluid supplying part is configured to partially enclose the chemical liquid supplying part or pass through the chemical liquid supplying part. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 12, Hoffman teaches a control part configured to stop a supply of the chemical liquid when the inflow of the fluid is identified by the monitoring part. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Regarding claim 13, Hoffman teaches a control part configured to stop a supply of the chemical liquid when the inflow of the fluid is identified by the monitoring part. (See Hoffman, Abstract, col. 2, lines 32-65, col. 3, lines 1-9, and Fig 1.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Us Pat. Num. 3,793,805 to Hoffman (hereinafter Hoffman) as applied to claim 5 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 4,987,852 to Sakai et al (hereinafter Sakai) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20040173153 A1 to Muramatsu et al (hereinafter Muramatsu).
Regarding claim 8, Hoffman does not explicitly teach the fluid is trapped at the bottom portion of the trapping part when the first specific gravity of the chemical liquid is smaller than the second specific gravity of the fluid, and the sensing part is disposed at the bottom portion of the trapping part.
Sakai is directed to paint coating system.
Sakai teaches the sensing part (level gauge 22, 32) is disposed at the bottom portion of the trapping part. (See Sakai, Abstract, Figs. 1-2, and col. 4, lines 40-45; col. 5, line 65 to col. 6, line 6.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sensing part is disposed at the bottom portion of the trapping part, because Sakai teaches when the liquid reaches its predetermined level the flow rate of the valve is controlled to regulate the paint flowing into the desired level. (See Sakai, Abstract, Figs. 1-2, and col. 4, lines 40-45; col. 5, line 65 to col. 6, line 6.)
Regarding claim 8, Hoffman does not explicitly teach the fluid is trapped at the bottom portion of the trapping part when the first specific gravity of the chemical liquid is smaller than the second specific gravity of the fluid.
Muramatsu is directed to process liquid supply nozzle.
Muramatsu teaches the fluid is trapped at the bottom portion of the trapping part. (See Muramatsu, Abstract, Figs. 1-15, paragraphs 6, 9-12, 65-67, 85, and 88. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fluid is trapped at the bottom portion of the trapping part, because Muramatsu teaches this structure would allow the liquid to flow downward along the outer circumferential surface to wash away the coating liquid in the periphery. (See Muramatsu, Abstract, Figs. 1-15, paragraphs 5-6, 9-12, 65-67, 85, and 88. )
Regarding claim 8, Hoffman does not explicitly teach the first specific gravity of the chemical liquid is smaller than the second specific gravity of the fluid.
Muramatsu teaches siloxane-series polymers are known for forming film. (See Muramatsu, Abstract, Figs. 1-15, paragraph 5. )
Examiner is considering siloxanes to generally have a lower specific gravity than water. (See Benchchem, page, Table 1.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fluid is trapped at the bottom portion of the trapping part, because Muramatsu teaches this structure would allow the liquid to flow downward along the outer circumferential surface to wash away the coating liquid in the periphery. (See Muramatsu, Abstract, Figs. 1-15, paragraphs 6, 9-12, 65-67, 85, and 88. )
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu teaches all of the structure capable of the same function (control of viscosity and temperature), the resulting structure would expect to be capable of the same function, Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu and can be used for the same purpose as in the instant application Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu teaches all of the necessary structures the limitations would necessarily follow as set forth in MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Regarding claim 8, the Applicant claims a specific material or article worked upon including two materials with a relative relationship in their specific gravity. The substrate is not being given patentable weight in the coating apparatus.
The coating apparatus in Hoffman and Sakai and Muramatsu would be capable of operating with these two materials. Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717