DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1 has been amended. No claims have been newly added or newly canceled.
Claims 1 and 3-17 are currently pending.
Claims 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/2025.
Claims 1 and 3-15 have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to amendment. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 includes an underscore in line 2 of the claim as if it was amended. However, this appears to be inadvertently left in from a previous amendment and the status of “Previously Presented” appears to be correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the phrase “without causing the synovial tissue to undergo a disinfection step” in lines 6-7.
This phrase is interpreted as excluding a step that kills off microbial contamination such as subjecting the cells to isodine solution for 1 minute as a tissue disinfection step (Applicant’s Specification page 3 paragraph 8 and pages 14-15 paragraphs 50-51). Filtering of the cells with a device such as a cell strainer is not excluded from the method as it is not considered to be disinfection (Applicant’s Specification page 15 paragraph 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 2020 78282-abstract from IDS filed 03/20/2023, using machine translation) in view of Wood (Newcastle University PhD Thesis, 2017), Sugita et al (Regenerative Therapy, 2016-from IDS filed 11/05/2025), and Waise et al. (2019, Scientific Reports-from IDS filed 04/13/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi disclose a method of separating and culturing MSCs from preserved synovial tissue (abstract). The synovial tissue is digested with an enzyme mixture (protease solution) of collagenase and dispase (neutral protease) (page 4, paragraphs 1-2) for 1-3 hours. Yamaguchi disclose wherein the MSCs seeded at a cell density of 5,000 to 10,000 cells/cm2 (page 8 last paragraph and page 9 last paragraph) which overlaps with the claimed seeding range. In cases involving overlapping ranges, the courts have consistently held that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Yamaguchi do not specifically include an embodiment wherein the synovial tissue is treated with the enzyme mixture comprising collagenase I, collagenase II and a neutral protease for 2 hours or more.
Wood disclose a method of producing synovium-derived cells comprising treating the synovial tissue with an enzyme mixture, specifically Liberase which according to Applicant’s disclosure contains collagenase I, collagenase II and a neutral protease, for 2 hours or more (either one 2 hour digestion or three 45 minute digestions adding up to more than 2 hours total) without causing (without requiring) the synovial tissue to undergo a disinfection step (pages 24-25, section 2.3.3, page 38 section 3.4, page 39 Fig. 3.5 and 3.6, page 153, last paragraph). Tissue and media were transferred to a tube and topped off with warm RF10 and Liberase was added to this tube to form a solution containing enzyme mixture and media solution (page 24). Enzymatic digestion was later stopped by placing the filtered solution on ice (page 25).
Although Wood does not explicitly disclose that mesenchymal stem cells are produced by this enzymatic treatment, since they are carrying out the same claimed steps they are deemed to produce the same claimed cells.
Providing guidance on instances where the method steps of the prior art and instant claims are the same, Ex parte Marhold, 231 USPQ 904, 905 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1986) relying on In re Sussman, 141 F.2d 267, 269-70, 60 USPQ 538, 540-41 (CCPA 1944) states “[T]hat since the steps are the same, the results must inherently be the same unless they are due to conditions not recited in the claims.”
Sugita disclose a method for the optimization of human mesenchymal stem cells isolation from synovial tissue for subsequent tissue engineering (Title). Sugita disclose that the synovial tissue is treated with collagenase for 3 hours or more (Page 80, section 2.1, column 2, first paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat the synovial tissue in the method of Yamaguchi with an enzyme mixture such as Liberase for about 3 hours because Wood teach that Liberase is a suitable enzyme mixture for digesting synovial tissue for cell isolation and Sugita teach and suggest that this is a suitable time for digesting synovial tissue with a collagenase enzyme. The substituting of the enzyme mixture Liberase taught by Wood for the enzyme mixture of collagenase and a neutral protease used by Yamaguchi is merely the exchange of one art recognized equivalent for another as both enzyme mixtures are known to digest synovial tissue for cell isolation and thus an obvious modification (see MPEP 2144.06). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Yamaguchi also suggest the use of an enzyme mixture with collagenase and a neutral enzyme and also suggest a digestion time of 3 hours is suitable for synovial tissue as well.
Yamaguchi do not specifically teach that the aqueous solution for the step of treating a synovial tissue with an enzyme also contains human serum.
Sugita et al. teach that the tissue dissociation of synovial membrane can be carried out in a growth medium containing DMEM supplemented with FBS and collagenase (p.80, 1st col. Materials and methods).
Waise et al. teach the use of different protease cocktails including Collagenase P, Liberase DL, TL and TM on fibroblast isolation from lung tissue in the 'complete' DMEM containing fetal calf serum (p.7, Tissue disaggregation). Waise et al. teach that the 'complete' DMEM is utilized for the culturing of the cells (p.8, Cell Culture).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success to use the culture medium utilized for culturing the synovial derived MSCs, i.e. a-MEM containing 10% autologous human serum, for tissue digestion. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is known in the art that Liberase can be utilized for tissue digestion/disaggregation in a culture medium containing serum as taught by Waise et al. and Sugita et al.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi disclose wherein the concentration of the enzyme treatment is 1 to 2 mg/ml collagenase and 3000 to 7000 units/ml dispase or 1.3-1.8 mg/ml collagenase and 4000 to 6000 units/ml dispase (page 4 paragraph 2).
These concentrations appear to fall within the claimed concentration range, however, even if they did not, they would provide for starting points for arriving at the claimed concentration range through routine optimization and experimentation.
With regard to the concentrations of enzymes in the enzyme composition, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
The selection of specific concentrations clearly would have been a routine matter of optimization and experimentation on the part of the artisan of ordinary skill, said artisan recognizing that the amount and viability of the cells obtained would have been affected by these concentrations.
Regarding claims 4-6, 14-15, Yamaguchi do not specifically identify human patients as a source for the synovial tissue, but do suggest that the MSCs obtained from synovial tissue are intended for therapeutic methods of cell transplantation in joints such as the knee (page 2).
Sugita disclose that mesenchymal stem cells isolated from human synovial tissue are beneficial and desirable for cartilage repair (Title, abstract, pages 79-80). Sugita teach the cells are from multiple individual human donors (page 80). Since the individual donor cells are treated separate from other donor cells the synovial tissue is deemed to be derived from a single donor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use human synovial tissue in the method of Yamaguchi because Sugita teach and suggest that human patients are a suitable source for such tissue. The beneficial use of autologous cells is well known in the art of cell therapy and thus human synovial MSCs from a single donor for administration to the same subject would have been motivated by the desire to avoid the risks of graft versus host disease and potential infection by any viruses or bacteria from a different individual donor. Since Yamaguchi suggest the knee joint as a potential site in need of the MSC administration, formulation for injection into the knee would provide a medical treatment for meniscus injury repair as the meniscus is located in the knee joint. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Yamaguchi and Sugita are producing mesenchymal stem cells from synovial tissue for use in cell therapy.
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi does not teach culturing the MSCs for 10 days or more.
Sugita disclose that the best yields for expanding synovial derived MSCs are when seeding at a low density and culturing for 21 days (page 82, Discussion).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to culture the synovial derived MSCs in the method of Yamaguchi for 21 days because Sugita disclose that the best yields of 5-fold more cells are obtained when cells are seeded at a lower density of 1000 cells/cm2 and cultured for 21 days (more than 10 days). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Yamaguchi and Sugita are producing mesenchymal stem cells from synovial tissue for use in cell therapy.
Regarding claims 11-12, Yamaguchi disclose wherein the MSCs seeded at a cell density of 5,000 to 10,000 cells/cm2 (page 8 last paragraph and page 9 last paragraph) which overlaps with the claimed seeding range. In cases involving overlapping ranges, the courts have consistently held that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seed at a lower density of 1000 cells/cm2 and skipping a filtering step in the MSC expansion method of Yamaguchi because Sugita disclose that the best yields of 5-fold more cells (5 times more cells which falls into Applicant’s claimed range for expansion) are obtained when cells are seeded at a lower density of 1000 cells/cm2, without a filtering step and cultured for 21 days (more than 10 days). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Yamaguchi and Sugita are producing mesenchymal stem cells from synovial tissue for use in cell therapy.
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi do not produce their synovial-derived MSCs by co-culturing with any cell other than a synovial-derived MSCs.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Yamaguchi, Wood, Sugita and Waise would have rendered obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 2020 78282-abstract from IDS filed 03/20/2023, using machine translation) in view of Wood (Newcastle University PhD Thesis, 2017) and Sugita et al (Regenerative Therapy, 2016-from IDS filed 11/05/2025) and Waise et al. (2019, Scientific Reports-from IDS filed 04/13/2026) as applied to claim 1, 3-6, 8, 11-15 above, and further in view of Novagen (2008, ProteoExtract Collagenase Set).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings of Yamaguchi, Wood, Sugita and Waise render obvious the claimed invention as described above, but do not particularly disclose that the mass ratio between the synovial tissue to the enzyme as being 1,000:1 to 10:1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the mass ratio between the tissue and the enzyme in the method of Yamaguchi in order to obtain the desired dissociation of the synovial tissue to release the synovium-derived MSCs using no more than routine experimentation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to arrive at the claimed range with a reasonable expectation of success because according to Novagen, the starting point for the concentration of collagenase is about 10,000 units per g of tissue (p.3), and considering the activity of collagenase per mg of dry weight being more than 100, 125 or 160 (see Table at p. 2), 10,000 units would be about 60-100 mg (or 0.06-0.1 g). From this calculation, the mass ratio of the tissue to enzyme would be 1 g of tissue to 0.06-0.1 g of collagenase, which is 17:1 to 10:1.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Yamaguchi, Wood, Sugita, Waise and Novagen would have rendered obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 2020 78282-abstract from IDS filed 03/20/2023, using machine translation) in view of Wood (Newcastle University PhD Thesis, 2017) and Sugita et al (Regenerative Therapy, 2016-from IDS filed 11/05/2025) and Waise et al. (2019, Scientific Reports-from IDS filed 04/13/2026) as applied to claim 1, 3-6, 8, 11-15 above, and further in view of Hatakeyama et al (Stem Cells International, 2017).
Regarding claims 8-9, Yamaguchi does not teach culturing the MSCs for 10-28 days.
Hatakeyama disclose a method of isolating synovial mesenchymal stem cells (Title) and include wherein the synovial derived MSCs are seeded and cultured for 3-4 days and then the adherent cells (MSCs) were then cultured for 14 days without refeeding (10 days or more without culture medium exchange) (page 2 column 2 third paragraph).
Sugita disclose that the best yields for expanding synovial derived MSCs are when seeding at a low density and culturing for 21 days (page 82, Discussion).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to culture the synovial derived MSCs in the method of Yamaguchi for 19 days or more because Sugita disclose that the best yields of 5-fold more cells are obtained when cells are seeded at a lower density of 1000 cells/cm2 and cultured for 21 days (more than 10 days). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include culturing for 10 days or more without refeeding because Hatakeyama suggest that this is suitable for the expansion and isolation of synovial-derived MSCs and this would have also provided the benefit of minimizing the expense of culture medium used as well. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yamaguchi, Hatakeyama and Sugita are all producing mesenchymal stem cells from synovial tissue for use in cell therapy.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Yamaguchi, Wood, Sugita, Waise and Hatakeyama would have rendered obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 2020 78282-abstract from IDS filed 03/20/2023, using machine translation) in view of Wood (Newcastle University PhD Thesis, 2017) and Sugita et al (Regenerative Therapy, 2016-from IDS filed 11/05/2025) and Waise et al. (2019, Scientific Reports-from IDS filed 04/13/2026) as applied to claim 1, 3-6, 8, 11-15 above, and further in view of Nimura et al (Arthritis and Rheumatism, 2008, from IDS filed 01/03/2024).
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi disclose wherein the serum used can be bovine serum, fetal bovine serum, horse serum, human serum or the like (page 4, second to last paragraph). Yamaguchi do not specifically teach or suggest the use of autologous serum in their method.
Nimura discloses that synovial mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) are a promising cell source for cartilage regeneration due to their high chondrogenic potential. Nimua state that for clinical safety autologous human serum should be used instead of fetal bovine serum (FBS). Nimura also state that human synovial MSCs demonstrated increased proliferation and expanded more in human serum than in FBS (abstract, page 504, Figure 1, page 509 end of column 1 to top of column 2).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use autologous human serum in the method of Yamaguchi because Nimua teach and suggest that autologous human serum is preferred to other serum, such as FBS, because it provides added clinical safety (avoidance of contaminating microorganisms and prions) and because the cells expand better with autologous human serum as well. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yamaguchi already indicate that human serum is suitable for their method and both Yamaguchi and Nimura are producing mesenchymal stem cells from synovial tissue for further culture and use in cell therapy.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Yamaguchi, Wood, Sugita, Waise and Nimura would have rendered obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 07/22/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Application 18/146109 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection(s) filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered and are found persuasive with regard to the newly amended claims. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn as indicated above.
However, a new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated based on the instant amendment to the claims that requires limitations in combinations not examined previously.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizuno et al., “Complete human serum maintains viability and chondrogenic potential of human synovial stem cells: suitable conditions for transplantation”, Stem Cell Research & Therapy (2017), 8:144, pp. 1-11.
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631