REMARKS
1. On pages 8-9 of the remark Applicant argued prior art Lee does not disclose that the referenced "resource" is an SL resource within the "configured sidelink grant"
In response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s own specification at paragraph [0056]-[0057] in the pre-grant publication discloses sl-TimeOffsetCG-Type1 that is corresponding to claimed an offset in time domain. Prior art Lee at [0406]-[0407]; [0384]-[0385]; [090] discloses similar feature that define the sl-TimeOffsetCG-Type1 : Offset of a resource with respect to SFN=sl-TimeReferenceSFN-Type1 in time domain, referring to the number of logical slots that can be used for SL transmission. Here logical slots (=resource) that are used for SL (=side-link) transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 10-11, 20, 23 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US 2021/0153176 to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)
As to claims 1, 11 and 23, Lee discloses a method for sidelink (SL) configured grant (CG) resource determination, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a time-domain resource for a first SL CG according to at least one of: a number of slots corresponding to a period of the first SL CG in a resource pool associated with the first SL CG and an offset in time domain of a target SL transmission resource in the first SL CG relative to a first SL transmission resource (Lee; [0384]-[0385]; [0390] discloses RRC configures the parameters when the configured grant Type 1 is configured, wherein one of the parameter is sl-TimeOffsetCG-Type1: Offset of a resource with respect to SFN=sl-TimeReferenceSFN-Type1 in time domain, referring to the number of logical slots that can be used for SL transmission. [0402]; [0404]-[0407] discloses Upon configuration of a configured grant Type 1, the MAC entity shall for each configured side-link grant initialise or re-initialise the configured sidelink grant to determine PSCCH duration(s) and PSSCH duration(s) according to sl-TimeOffsetCG-Type1 and sl-TimeResourceCG-Type1. sl-TimeOffsetCG-Type1 corresponding to an offset in time domain of a target SL transmission resource in the first SL CG relative to a first SL transmission resource. Here Lee is applied for the 2nd t alternative an offset in time domain of a target SL transmission resource in the first SL CG relative to a first SL transmission resource).
wherein the number of slots corresponding to the period of the first SL CG in the resource pool associated with the first SL CG is determined according to:
a total length of a bitmap for configuring resource-pool time-domain resources, a number of bits with a first value in the bitmap for configuring resource- pool time-domain resources, and the period of the first SL CG configured by a network device (This limitation is dependent on the 1st alternative (i.e. a number of slots corresponding to a period of the first SL CG in a resource pool associated with the first SL CG) of the 1st limitation. 1st limitation is rejected based on the 2nd alternative (i.e. an offset in time domain of a target SL transmission resource in the first SL CG relative to a first SL transmission resource) and therefore this limitation is not considered).
As to claims 10, 20 and 30, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Lee discloses wherein:
the first SL CG is a type-1 SL CG, wherein the type-1 SL CG is a SL CG configured by the network device through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Lee; [0384]-[0394]. Here Lee is applied for the 1st alternative); or
the first SL CG is a type-2 SL CG, wherein the type-2 SL CG is a SL CG configured by the network device through a RRC signaling and activated through downlink control information (DCI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 3-4, 9, 13-14, 19 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US 2021/0153176 to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) in view of Applicant submitted prior art 3GPP R1-2001746 to Oppo et al. (hereinafter Oppo)
As to claims 3, 13 and 27, Lee discloses resource pool, but fails to disclose wherein the resource pool associated with the first SL CG has the first value in the bitmap. However, Oppo discloses
wherein the resource pool associated with the first SL CG has the first value in the bitmap (Oppo; Section 2.1 discloses the length of bitmap which is used to indicate the time resource of
resource pool is 10. There should be 2 reserved slots within a SFN period to promise the rest slot (excluding SSSB slot and reserved slots) can be divided by 10. The number of rest slots is 10110 (= 10240-128-2). The bitmap will be repeated 1011 times to indicate which slot within the rest slots belongs to the resource pool. The first 3 bits of bitmap is set to 1, corresponding to totally 3033 slots belonging to the resource pool)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to indicate the time resource of resource pool
As to claims 4, 14 and 28, Lee discloses resource pool, but fails to disclose wherein the first value is 1. However, Oppo discloses
wherein the first value is 1 (Oppo; Section 2.1 discloses the first 3 bits of bitmap is set to 1).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to indicate the time resource of resource pool
As to claims 9, 19 and 29, Lee discloses resource pool, but fails to disclose of target slot. However, Oppo discloses wherein:
there are two SL transmission resources in one period of the first SL CG, and the target SL transmission resource is a second SL transmission resource among the two SL transmission resources; or
there are three SL transmission resources in one period of the first SL CG, and the target SL transmission resource is a second SL transmission resource or a third SL transmission resource among the three SL transmission resources (Oppo; Section 2.1; Fig.1 shows and discloses the sl-TimeOffsetCG is set to 2 (corresponding to the first slot within the resource pool of the SFN period), the slots belong to the SL configured grant is shown as red block in the figure, i.e., the logical slot 2/5/8/11/14/17…..,etc, which are within the resource pool. Here Oppo is applied for the 2nd alternative).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to indicate the time resource of resource pool
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478