DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application filed 12/23/2022 is a Continuation of PCT/CN2020/097931
(filed 06/24/2020), and does not claim priority from any domestic or foreign applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO et al. (US 2020/0045709 A1, hereinafter SEO), in view of Cirik et al. (US 2020/0351841 A1, hereinafter Cirik).
Regarding claim 1, SEO teaches a method, comprising (in general, see sections including paragraphs 141-166):
determining, by a wireless communication device, a transmission control indication state identifier (TCI) according to at least one transmission from a wireless communication node, the at least one transmission comprising at least one of a system information block (SIB), synchronization signal, physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and a reference signal (RS) (SEO, see at least para. 157 along with para. 152, for a non-limiting example, “…That is, with respect to the CORESET #0, only the TCI state for setting/instructing the CSI-RS/TRS associated with the SSB can be understood to be valid. The CSI-RS/TRS associated with the SSB may refer to the CSI-RS/TRS in which the type D QCL relationship with the SSB is defined by the TCI state…”);
determining, by the wireless communication device, an identity of a domain (SEO, see at least para. 152, for an unlimited example, cell ID);
and
identifying, by the wireless communication device according to the TCI and the identity, a transmission control indication state within the domain (SEO, see at least para. 157 along with para. 152 and 165, for an unlimited example, “…a field indicating a TCI state applicable to the CORESET identified by the CORESET ID field (TCI state ID, for example, 7 bits), etc. At this time, with respect to the CORESET index #0 (CORESET #0), only the TCI state for setting/instructing the CSI-RS/TRS associated with the SSB can be limited to be valid…”),
SEO differs from the claim, in that, it does not specifically disclose identity of a domain according to the at least one transmission, and wherein both the TCI and the identity are determined based on the at least one transmission.
Cirik, for example, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches similar or known mechanism of identity of a domain according to the at least one transmission, and wherein both the TCI and the identity are determined based on the at least one transmission (Cirik, see at least para. 507 of fig. 28, “…a PCID may be configured in a TCI state of a wireless device...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cirik into the method of SEO for effectively randomize interferences.
Regarding claim 17, SEO in view of Cirik teaches identifying, by the wireless communication device using the TCI, a location (SEO, see at least para. 160, for one example, but not limited to, “…The one TCI state may include information on a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship between the CSI-RS and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port for the PDCCH/PDSCH…”),
or
reporting, by the wireless communication device, the TCI with at least one of: a measurement, a radio link failure, a beam failure, or a minimization of drive test (MDT).
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1 except this claim is in apparatus claim format.
To be more specific, SEO in view of Cirik also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising processor, transceiver, and memory (SEO, see at least fig. 16), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 19 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of claim 1. For example, it would be a wireless communication node of claim 19 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the wireless communication device of claim 1. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 19 except this claim is in apparatus claim format.
To be more specific, SEO in view of Cirik also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising processor, transceiver, and memory (SEO, see at least fig. 16), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Claims 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO in view of Cirik, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JAIN et al. (US 2020/0162981 A1, hereinafter JAIN).
Regarding claim 4, SEO in view of Cirik teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain (SEO, see at least para. 157, for one example, but not limited to, “…with respect to the CORESET #0, only the TCI state for setting/instructing the CSI-RS/TRS associated with the SSB can be understood to be valid…”; Cirik, see at least para. 507 of fig. 28, “…a PCID may be configured in a TCI state of a wireless device...”).
SEO in view of Cirik differs from the claim, in that, it does not specifically disclose TCI using the identity of the domain in the SIB and additional information in the SIB.
JAIN, for example, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches TCI using the identity of the domain in the SIB and additional information in the SIB (JAIN, see least para. 53, “...A cell-defining SSB may refer to an SSB that includes system information block 1 (SIB1). The contents of SIB1 may include, for example, a cell identifier (cell ID) of a cell...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 5, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain in the SIB and a synchronization signal block index (SSBI) in the PBCH. (SEO, see at least para. 157 along with para. 133 and fig. 13, “…The TCI state at CORESET #0 may be determined by the SSB associated with the corresponding CORESET/search space set. There may exist a CORESET #0 and a search space set # 0 associated with each SSB…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 6, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain and a transmission control indication state group identity (TCGI) in the SIB, and a synchronization signal block index (SSBI) in the PBCH. (SEO, see at least para. 145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 7, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain and a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) in the SIB, the CRI selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 8, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain and TCI information in the SIB, the TCI information selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 9, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain, a transmission control indication state group identity (TCGI) and TCI information in the SIB, the TCI information selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 143-145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 10, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain, a transmission control indication state group identity (TCGI) and a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) in the SIB, the CRI selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 143-145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 11, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using the identity of the domain and a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) in the SIB, and a synchronization signal block index (SSBI) in the PBCH, the CRI selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 143-145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 12, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using information in the SIB. (SEO, see at least para. 157 and 161-162, for one example, but not limited to, “…with respect to the CORESET #0, only the TCI state for setting/instructing the CSI-RS/TRS associated with the SSB can be understood to be valid…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 13, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using a transmission control indication state group identity (TCGI) in the SIB, and a synchronization signal block index (SSBI) in the PBCH. (SEO, see at least para. 145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 14, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using a transmission control indication state group identity (TCGI) and a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) in the SIB, the CRI selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 143-145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 15, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using a transmission control indication state group identity (TCGI) and TCI information in the SIB, the TCI information selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 143-145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Regarding claim 16, SEO in view of Cirik and JAIN teaches determining, by the wireless communication device, the TCI using a transmission control indication state group identity (TCGI) and a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) in the SIB, a synchronization signal block index (SSBI) in the PBCH, the CRI selected according to the CSI-RS. (SEO, see at least para. 143-145 along with para. 165, for one example, but not limited to, “…If the above applies to the default TCI, the above proposal may be applied to the valid TCI state of the candidate group. For example, the TCI state of the lowest index among the set of TCI states which are set for the PDSCH, etc. … is used as the default TCI, when the index # 0 is set to CSI-RS # 2 and the index # 1 is set to SSB # 1, the TCI state for CORESET #0/search space # 0 can be set to index #1 (SSB #1),…”; JAIN, see least para. 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JAIN into the method of SEO in view of Cirik for performing efficient cell reselection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner provides response in following sections.
Regarding independent claim 1, applicant argues that (applicant’s emphasis included, if any):
“First, Cirik does not describe any determination of an identity of a domain whatsoever, nevermind "according to the at least one transmission" as recited in claim 1. At most, and as emphasized above, Cirik describes configuration of a PCID in a TCI state, which is used for determining a TCI grouping. However, such a TCI grouping is not a domain - it is merely a grouping of PCIDs which share the same TCIs, not any domain. Given this deficiency, Cirik certainly does not and cannot teach or suggest determining an TCI state within the domain as recited in claim 1. Even if, in arguendo, the Office were to interpret the "TCI state grouping" described in Cirik as allegedly corresponding to the "transmission control indication state within the domain" recited in claim 1, Cirik describes such a determination as being based on merely a PCID instead. This description from Cirik does not equate to identifying the TCI state within the domain based on both "the TCI and the identity of the domain" as expressly recited in claim 1.” (Remarks, page 7-8)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cirik in at least para. 507 discloses a PCID may be configured in a TCI state of a wireless device to differentiate Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Physical Broadcasting CHannel (PBCH) from each TRP. Utilizing dedicated SSB/PBCH with different physical cell ID may randomize the interference.
In other words, Cirik discloses PCID configured in TCI state in Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Physical Broadcasting CHannel (PBCH). Hence, Cirik indeed discloses determination of an identity of a domain which is according to the at least one transmission. Note that a PCID may be configured in a TCI state, hence Cirik indeed discloses determining an TCI state within the domain. Therefore, Cirik indeed teaches or suggests the feature of “...identity of a domain according to the at least one transmission, and wherein both the TCI and the identity are determined based on the at least one transmission...”, as recited in claim 1.
Further, applicant argues that (applicant’s emphasis included, if any):
“Second, Cirik does not describe that both the TCI and the identity being determined based on the at least one transmission as recited in amended claim 1. While Cirik describes using the PCID as a basis for determining a TCI state grouping, Cirik is silent as to both an identity of the domain and a TCI state being determined according to the at least one transmission as recited in claim 1.” (Remarks, page 8)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Cirik in at least para. 507 discloses a PCID may be configured in a TCI state of a wireless device to differentiate Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Physical Broadcasting CHannel (PBCH) from each TRP. In other words, Cirik discloses PCID configured in TCI state in Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Physical Broadcasting CHannel (PBCH). Hence, Cirik indeed discloses both the TCI and the identity being determined based on the at least one transmission. Therefore, Cirik indeed teaches or suggests the feature of “...wherein both the TCI and the identity are determined based on the at least one transmission...”, as recited in claim 1.
Regarding independent claims 18, 19, and 20, the traversal grounds are same or similar as those presented in claim 1 above. Therefore, in view of the response above, examiner also respectfully disagrees and has maintained the rejection as presented.
Accordingly, all pending dependent claims of the independent claims 1, 18, 19, and 20, in view of the response above, the examiner has maintained the rejection as presented and believes all rejections are proper and should be sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEE F LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465