DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 23 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 10 have been amended, claims 14-19 remain withdrawn, and claims 1-6, 8, 10, 11, and 14-19 remain pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-6, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 11-12, what does the phrase “in a side back away from the first adapter” mean? For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be interpreting lines 11-12 to mean “the second insulator is attached to a surface of the first tab on a back side of the first adapter…”. As claims 2-6 and 8 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
In claim 10, lines 12-13, what does the phrase “in a side back away from the first adapter” mean? For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be interpreting lines 12-13 to mean “the second insulator is attached to a surface of the first tab on a back side of the first adapter…”. As claim 11 depends directly from claim 10, it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (EP 3451415 A1; hereinafter “Jang”), in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0212408; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a battery (see Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-4; [0030] and [0053]) comprising a cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]);
a cell assembly (either electrode assemblies 110A and 110B, see Figs. 2-4; [0030]) provided in the packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-4; [0030] and [0053]) and comprising a first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]); and
a first adapter (equated to first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]), wherein the first adapter is connected to the cover (cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-4);
a first insulator (insulation member 158, see Fig. 2 and 4; [0068]), wherein the first insulator is provided between the first adapter (first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]) and the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]); and
wherein the first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]) protrudes outward from an end face of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-4 – portion 111b protrudes outward from the side of electrode assemblies 110A, 110B), the first tab is electrically connected to the first adapter (see Figs. 2-4 and [0083]-[0085]), and the first tab and the first adapter are bent toward the side of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-4).
Jang is silent to wherein a second insulator is provided between the first tab and a side of the cell assembly, wherein a first portion of the second insulator is attached to a surface of the first tab on a back side of the first adapter, the second portion of the second insulator is attached to the side of the cell assembly, the first portion and the second portion each extends in an axial direction of the cell assembly, and the first portion and the second portion are connected to each other along a radial direction of the cell assembly.
Zhang teaches an insulator (insulating layer 20 including a first portion 201, a second portion 202, and a third portion 203, see Figs. 1-3; [0015]-[0028]) provided between the first tab (equated to adapter electrode tab 30, see Figs. 1-3; [0023]) and a side of the cell assembly (electrode assembly 10, see Figs. 1-3; [0015]). Zhang teaches wherein a first portion of the insulator is attached to a surface on the back side of the first tab (see annotated Fig. 1 below – first portion of the insulator, equated to circled portion of insulator 202, is indirectly attached to the back side of the first tab 30), the second portion of the second insulator is attached to the side of the cell assembly, the first portion and the second portion each extends in an axial direction of the cell assembly, and the first portion and the second portion are connected to each other along a radial direction of the cell assembly (see annotated Fig. 1 below):
Zhang teaches that the insulating layer 20 helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery (see [0015]).
In view of Zhang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of Jang to include a second insulator provided between the first tab and a side of the cell assembly wherein a first portion of the insulator is attached to a surface on the back side of the first tab, the second portion of the second insulator is attached to the side of the cell assembly, the first portion and the second portion each extends in an axial direction of the cell assembly, and the first portion and the second portion are connected to each other along a radial direction of the cell assembly, as taught by Zhang, because it helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery. Furthermore, the combination of Jang and Zhang would result in the second insulator being attached to a surface of the first tab on a back side of the first adapter (Jang: equated to first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]) because the first tabs are connected to the back side of sub-tabs 242, 243 (Jang: see Fig. 4) and the second insulator is indirectly connected to the back side of the first tab (see annotated Fig. 1 of Zhang above).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches the battery further comprising a first pole (Jang: first current collecting terminal 122, see Figs. 1-4; [0041]), and the cover (Jang: cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053]) is provided with a first through hole (Jang: see Fig. 2 – hole on left side with first current collecting terminal 122 passing through), wherein the first pole is mounted in the first through hole (Jang: see Fig. 2 - hole on left side with first current collecting terminal 122 passing through) and insulated (Jang: gasket 152, see Fig. 2; [0062]) from the cover (Jang: cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053]), and the first adapter (Jang: first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]) is electrically connected to the first pole (Jang: first current collecting terminal 122, see Figs. 1-4; [0041]) and the first tab (Jang: first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches the battery, further comprising a second adapter (Jang: second current collector 131 and the plurality of sub-tabs 245 are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]), and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]), and the second tab and the second adapter are bent toward the side of the cell assembly (Jang: see Figs. 2-4).
The combination of Jang and Zhang is silent to wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover. However, Jang teaches an embodiment wherein the first adapter (Jang: equated to the first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, which is part of the first terminal assembly 120, see Figs. 2-4; [0041], [0075], and [0080]) is connected to the first tab (Jang: first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035], [0075], and [0083]) and the cover (Jang: cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053] and [0075]), which is electrically insulated from the second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-4) of the opposite polarity (Jang: see [0075]). This structure of Jang (see [0075]) is merely the opposite wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the first tab and the cover instead of the second adapter being electrically connected to the second tab and the cover.
Therefore, the claim structure wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover would merely be a rearrangement of parts of the embodiment of Jang in [0075]. In other words, instead of having the first tab, first adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the second terminal assembly being an opposite polarity, it would be obvious to have the second tab, second adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the first terminal assembly being an opposite polarity. Absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular connection of the tabs and adapters including which is connected to the cover is merely a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches the battery further comprising a second pole (Jang: second current collecting terminal 130, see Figs. 1-4; [0051]) and a second adapter (Jang: second current collector 131, see Fig. 4; [0052] and [0080]); the cover (Jang: cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053]) is provided with a second through hole (Jang: see Fig. 2 - hole on right side with second current collecting terminal 130 passing through), wherein the second pole is mounted in the second through hole (Jang: see Fig. 2 - hole on right side with second current collecting terminal 130 passing through) and insulated (Jang: gasket 152, see Fig. 2; [0062]) from the cover (Jang: cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053]); and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-4; [0035] and [0085]), wherein the second adapter (Jang: second current collector 131, see Fig. 4; [0051]-[0052] and [0080]) is electrically connected to the second pole (Jang: second current collecting terminal 130, see Figs. 1-3; [0051]) and the second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3; [0035] and [0085]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the cover (Jang: see [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches wherein, the first insulator (Jang: insulation member 158, see Fig. 2; [0068]) is provided with a through groove (Jang: see Fig. 2), and the first pole (Jang: first current collecting terminal 122, see Figs. 1-4; [0041]) runs through the through groove (Jang: see Fig. 2) and is connected to the first adapter (Jang: first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]).
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising a circuit component (see [0002]-[0003]) and a battery (see Figs. 1-4), the circuit component is electrically connected to the battery (see [0002]-[0003]), the battery comprising:
a packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-4; [0030] and [0053]) comprising a cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053]);
a cell assembly (either electrode assemblies 110A and 110B, see Figs. 2-4; [0030]) provided in the packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-4; [0030] and [0053]) and comprising a first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]);
a first adapter (equated to first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]), wherein the first adapter is connected to the cover (cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-4);
a first insulator (insulation member 158, see Fig. 2 and 4; [0068]), wherein the first insulator is provided between the first adapter (first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]) and the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]); and
wherein the first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]) protrudes outward from an end face of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-4 – portion 111b protrudes outward from the side of electrode assemblies 110A, 110B), the first tab is electrically connected to the first adapter (see Figs. 2-4, [0042], and [0080]), and the first tab and the first adapter are bent toward the side of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-4).
Jang is silent to wherein a second insulator is provided between the first tab and a side of the cell assembly.
Zhang teaches an insulator (insulating layer 20 including a first portion 201, a second portion 202, and a third portion 203, see Figs. 1-3; [0015]-[0028]) provided between the first tab (equated to adapter electrode tab 30, see Figs. 1-3; [0023]) and a side of the cell assembly (electrode assembly 10, see Figs. 1-3; [0015]). Zhang teaches wherein a first portion of the insulator is attached to a surface on the back side of the first tab (see annotated Fig. 1 above – first portion of the insulator, equated to circled portion of insulator 202, is indirectly attached to the back side of the first tab 30), the second portion of the second insulator is attached to the side of the cell assembly, the first portion and the second portion each extends in an axial direction of the cell assembly, and the first portion and the second portion are connected to each other along a radial direction of the cell assembly (see annotated Fig. 1 above). Zhang teaches that the insulating layer 20 helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery (see [0015]).
In view of Zhang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of Jang to include a second insulator provided between the first tab and a side of the cell assembly wherein a first portion of the insulator is attached to a surface on the back side of the first tab, the second portion of the second insulator is attached to the side of the cell assembly, the first portion and the second portion each extends in an axial direction of the cell assembly, and the first portion and the second portion are connected to each other along a radial direction of the cell assembly, as taught by Zhang, because it helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery. Furthermore, the combination of Jang and Zhang would result in the second insulator being attached to a surface of the first tab on a back side of the first adapter (Jang: equated to first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]) because the first tabs are connected to the back side of sub-tabs 242, 243 (Jang: see Fig. 4) and the second insulator is indirectly connected to the back side of the first tab (see annotated Fig. 1 of Zhang above).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches wherein, the battery further comprises a second adapter (Jang: second current collector 131, see Fig. 4; [0080]), and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]), and the second tab and the second adapter are bent toward the outer surface of the cell assembly (Jang: see Figs. 2-4).
The combination of Jang and Zhang is silent to wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover. However, Jang teaches an embodiment wherein the first adapter (Jang: equated to the first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, which is part of the first terminal assembly 120, see Figs. 2-4; [0041], [0075], and [0080]) is connected to the first tab (Jang: first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035], [0075], and [0083]) and the cover (Jang: cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053] and [0075]), which is electrically insulated from the second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-4) of the opposite polarity (see [0075]). This structure of Jang (see [0075]) is merely the opposite wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the first tab and the cover instead of the second adapter being electrically connected to the second tab and the cover.
Therefore, the claim structure wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover would merely be a rearrangement of parts of the embodiment of Jang in [0075]. In other words, instead of having the first tab, first adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the second terminal assembly being an opposite polarity, it would be obvious to have the second tab, second adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the first terminal assembly being an opposite polarity. Absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular connection of the tabs and adapters including which is connected to the cover is merely a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jang and Zhang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Cantave et al. (US 6,443,999; hereinafter “Cantave”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches wherein, the packaging case further comprises a housing (Jang: case 180, see Figs. 1-4; [0030]), and the battery comprises a second adapter (Jang: second current collector 131, see Fig. 4; [0052] and [0080]), and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-4; [0035]), but is silent to wherein the housing is insulated from the cover and wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the housing.
However, Jang teaches an embodiment wherein the first adapter (Jang: equated to the first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, which is part of the first terminal assembly 120, see Figs. 2-4; [0041], [0075], and [0080]) is connected to the first tab (Jang: first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-4; [0035] and [0075]), the cover (Jang: cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-4; [0053] and [0075]), and the housing (Jang: case 180, see Figs. 1-4; [0075]). The structure of the first assembly is electrically insulated from the second tab (Jang: second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-4) of the opposite polarity (Jang: see [0075]). This structure of Jang (see [0075]) is merely the opposite of the claimed structure wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the first tab, the cover, and the housing instead of the second adapter being electrically connected to the second tab, cover, and housing.
Therefore, the claim structure wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the housing would merely be a rearrangement of parts of the embodiment of Jang in [0075]. In other words, instead of having the first tab, first adapter, cover, and housing being connected as one polarity and the second terminal assembly being an opposite polarity, it would be obvious to have the second tab, second adapter, cover, and housing being connected as one polarity and the first terminal assembly being an opposite polarity. Absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular connection of the tabs and adapters including which is connected to the cover is merely a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
The combination of Jang and Zhang is silent to wherein the housing is insulated from the cover.
Cantave teaches a battery wherein after a spiral electrode assembly 70 is inserted into casing 20 and anode tab 44 is welded to closed end 35 (see Figs. 1 and 2B), a plastic insulating disk 80 can be inserted into the open end 30 of casting 20. The peripheral edge 85 of insulating disk 80 fits snugly into the open end 30 and presses against the inside surface of the peripheral edge 22 of casing 20. The positive end cap 18 (cover) is then inserted into the open end 30 so that edge 85 of the insulating disk 80 electrically insulates end cap 18 from casing 20 (see 9:34-58).
In view of Cantave’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of the combination of Jang and Zhang to include wherein the housing is insulated from the cover, as taught by Cantave, because it is a known structure for utilizing cover as part of one polarity while having the rest of the housing be the opposite polarity. Furthermore, absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular electrical connections with respect to polarity and the housing and cover are a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-12 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the prior art of Jang and Zhang, either taken alone or in combination, fails to teach amended claim 1. Applicant further argues that Jang teaches wrapping the cell assembly with insulation tapes 170 and 180.
The Applicant finds these arguments moot as the combination of Jang and Zhang teaches all the limitations of amended claim 1. More specifically, Zhang teaches wherein a first portion of the insulator is attached to a surface on the back side of the first tab (see annotated Fig. 1 above – first portion of the insulator, equated to circled portion of insulator 202, is indirectly attached to the back side of the first tab 30), the second portion of the second insulator is attached to the side of the cell assembly, the first portion and the second portion each extends in an axial direction of the cell assembly, and the first portion and the second portion are connected to each other along a radial direction of the cell assembly (see annotated Fig. 1 above). Furthermore, the combination of Jang and Zhang would result in the second insulator being attached to a surface of the first tab on a back side of the first adapter (Jang: equated to first current collector 121 and the first plurality of sub-tabs 240 which are integrally formed with each other, see Fig. 4; [0080]) because the first tabs are connected to the back side of sub-tabs 242, 243 (Jang: see Fig. 4) and the second insulator is indirectly connected to the back side of the first tab (see annotated Fig. 1 of Zhang above). Additionally, both Jang and Zhang teach the first tab bends outward from an end face of the cell assembly to the side of the cell assembly contrary to Applicant’s allegation (Jang: the first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]) protrudes outward from an end face of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-4 – portion 111b protrudes outward from the side of electrode assemblies 110A, 110B); and Zhang: the first tab (equated to adapter electrode tab 30, see Figs. 1-3; [0023]) protrudes outward (see Figs. 1-3) from an end face of the cell assembly (electrode assembly 10, see Figs. 1-3; [0015])). Regarding the insulation tapes, Jang does not preclude the addition of further insulation, as in the combination of Jang and Zhang above, which would further help to achieve an even better isolation effect in case the insulation tape 170 were to fail. Furthermore, Jang teaches where the insulation tape 170 may cover an internal structure of the case 180 rather than the electrode assemblies 110A and 110B (Jang: see [0074]). This case would especially benefit from the additional insulation as taught by the combination of Jang and Zhang for further bolstering the isolation effect.
On pages 12-14 of the Remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1 and 10, that there is no sufficient evidence to modify the Jang device by incorporating Zhang’s second insulator. Applicant argues that there is no suggestion to change Jang’s single insulator and cover to include multiple insulators. In addition, Zhang does not suggest moving the second insulator outside of the cell assembly. Applicant argues that attempting to bring in the isolated teaching of Zhang’s second insulator into Jang’s device would amount to improperly picking and choosing features from the different references without regard to the teachings of the references as a whole. Lastly, Applicant argues that it is not clear how Zhang’s second insulator could be incorporated into the Jang device would substantial reconstruction or redesign.
The Examiner finds these arguments unpersuasive. Zhang teaches that the insulating layer 20 helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery (Zhang: see [0015]), and so one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Jang to include this second insulator to receive the same benefit. Regarding Applicant’s argument that attempting to bring in the isolated teaching of Zhang’s second insulator into Jang’s device would amount to improperly picking and choosing features from the different references without regard to the teachings of the references as a whole, the Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive because the Applicant fails to detail how the modification of Jang in view of Zhang is improper. Again, it appears as though Applicant is improperly picking only second portion 202 as being Applicant’s claimed second insulator when the Examiner equated insulating layer 20, which includes a first portion 201, a second portion 202, and a third portion 203, (see Figs. 1-3; [0015]-[0028]) to the claimed second insulator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of Jang to include a second insulator provided between the first tab and a side of the cell assembly, as taught by Zhang, because it helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery. In response to applicant's argument that it is not clear how Zhang’s second insulator could be incorporated into the Jang device would substantial reconstruction or redesign, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 29 September 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735