DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 20 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (EP 3451415 A1; hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a battery (see Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-3; [0030] and [0053]) comprising a cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]);
a cell assembly (either electrode assemblies 110A and 110B, see Figs. 2-3; [0030]) provided in the packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-3; [0030] and [0053]); and
a first adapter (first current collector 121, see Figs. 2-3; [0041]), wherein the first adapter is connected to the cover (cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-3);
wherein, the cell assembly comprises a first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]), the first tab protrudes outward from a side of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-3 – portion 111b protrudes outward from the side of electrode assemblies 110A, 110B), the first tab is electrically connected to the first adapter (see Figs. 2-3 and [0042]), and the first tab and the first adapter are bent toward an outer surface of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches the battery further comprising a first pole (first current collecting terminal 122, see Figs. 1-3; [0041]), and the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]) is provided with a first through hole (see Fig. 2 – hole on left side with first current collecting terminal 122 passing through), wherein the first pole is mounted in the first through hole (see Fig. 2 - hole on left side with first current collecting terminal 122 passing through) and insulated (gasket 152, see Fig. 2; [0062]) from the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]), and the first adapter (first current collector 121, see Figs. 2-3; [0041]-[0042]) is electrically connected to the first pole (first current collecting terminal 122, see Figs. 1-3; [0041]) and the first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang teaches the battery further comprising a second pole (second current collecting terminal 130, see Figs. 1-3; [0051]) and a second adapter (second current collector 131, see Figs. 2-3; [0052]); the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]) is provided with a second through hole (see Fig. 2 - hole on right side with second current collecting terminal 130 passing through), wherein the second pole is mounted in the second through hole (see Fig. 2 - hole on right side with second current collecting terminal 130 passing through) and insulated (gasket 152, see Fig. 2; [0062]) from the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]); and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]), wherein the second adapter (second current collector 131, see Figs. 2-3; [0051]-[0052]) is electrically connected to the second pole (second current collecting terminal 130, see Figs. 1-3; [0051]) and the second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]).
Regarding claim 5, Jang teaches wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the cover (see [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Jang teaches the battery further comprising a first insulator (insulation member 158, see Fig. 2; [0068]), wherein the first insulator is provided between the first adapter (first current collector 121, see Figs. 2-3; [0041]) and the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Jang teaches wherein, the first insulator (insulation member 158, see Fig. 2; [0068]) is provided with a through groove (see Fig. 2), and the first pole (first current collecting terminal 122, see Figs. 1-3; [0041]) runs through the through groove (see Fig. 2) and is connected to the first adapter (first current collector 121, see Figs. 2-3; [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising a circuit component (see [0002]-[0003]) and a battery (see Figs. 1-3), the circuit component is electrically connected to the battery (see [0002]-[0003]), the battery comprising:
a packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-3; [0030] and [0053]) comprising a cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]);
a cell assembly (either electrode assemblies 110A and 110B, see Figs. 2-3; [0030]) provided in the packaging case (combination of case 180 and cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-3; [0030] and [0053]);
a first adapter (first current collector 121, see Figs. 2-3; [0041]), wherein the first adapter is connected to the cover (cap plate 151, see Figs. 2-3); and
the cell assembly comprises a first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]), wherein the first tab protrudes outward from a side of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-3 – portion 111b protrudes outward from the side of electrode assemblies 110A, 110B), the first tab is electrically connected to the first adapter (see Figs. 2-3 and [0042]), and the first tab and the first adapter are bent toward an outer surface of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Jang teaches wherein the battery further comprises a first insulator (insulation member 158, see Fig. 2; [0068]), wherein the first insulator is provided between the first adapter (first current collector 121, see Figs. 2-3; [0041]) and the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (EP 3451415 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jang teaches the battery, further comprising a second adapter (second current collector 131, see Figs. 2-3; [0052]), and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]), and the second tab and the second adapter are bent toward the outer surface of the cell assembly.
Jang is silent to wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover. However, Jang teaches an embodiment wherein the first adapter (equated to first current collector 121, which is part of the first terminal assembly 120, see Figs. 2-3; [0041] and [0075]) is connected to the first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-3; [0035] and [0075]) and the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053] and [0075]), which is electrically insulated from the second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3) of the opposite polarity (see [0075]). This structure of Jang (see [0075]) is merely the opposite wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the first tab and the cover instead of the second adapter being electrically connected to the second tab and the cover.
Therefore, the claim structure wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover would merely be a rearrangement of parts of the embodiment of Jang in [0075]. In other words, instead of having the first tab, first adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the second terminal assembly being an opposite polarity, it would be obvious to have the second tab, second adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the first terminal assembly being an opposite polarity. Absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular connection of the tabs and adapters including which is connected to the cover is merely a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 11, Jang teaches wherein, the battery further comprises a second adapter (second current collector 131, see Figs. 2-3; [0052]), and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]), and the second tab and the second adapter are bent toward the outer surface of the cell assembly (see Figs. 2-3).
Jang is silent to wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover. However, Jang teaches an embodiment wherein the first adapter (equated to first current collector 121, which is part of the first terminal assembly 120, see Figs. 2-3; [0041] and [0075]) is connected to the first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-3; [0035] and [0075]) and the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053] and [0075]), which is electrically insulated from the second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3) of the opposite polarity (see [0075]). This structure of Jang (see [0075]) is merely the opposite wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the first tab and the cover instead of the second adapter being electrically connected to the second tab and the cover.
Therefore, the claim structure wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the cover would merely be a rearrangement of parts of the embodiment of Jang in [0075]. In other words, instead of having the first tab, first adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the second terminal assembly being an opposite polarity, it would be obvious to have the second tab, second adapter, and cover being connected as one polarity and the first terminal assembly being an opposite polarity. Absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular connection of the tabs and adapters including which is connected to the cover is merely a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Cantave et al. (US 6,443,999; hereinafter “Cantave”).
Regarding claim 6, Jang teaches wherein, the packaging case further comprises a housing (case 180, see Figs. 1-3; [0030]), and the battery comprises a second adapter (second current collector 131, see Figs. 2-3; [0052]), and the cell assembly further comprises a second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3; [0035]), but is silent to wherein the housing is insulated from the cover and wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the housing.
However, Jang teaches an embodiment wherein the first adapter (equated to first current collector 121, which is part of the first terminal assembly 120, see Figs. 2-3; [0041] and [0075]) is connected to the first tab (first electrode tab 111, see Figs. 2-3; [0035] and [0075]), the cover (cap plate 151, see Fig. 2-3; [0053] and [0075]), and the housing (case 180, see Figs. 1-3; [0075]). The structure of the first assembly is electrically insulated from the second tab (second electrode tab 112, see Figs. 2-3) of the opposite polarity (see [0075]). This structure of Jang (see [0075]) is merely the opposite of the claimed structure wherein the first adapter is electrically connected to the first tab, the cover, and the housing instead of the second adapter being electrically connected to the second tab, cover, and housing.
Therefore, the claim structure wherein the second adapter is electrically connected to the second tab and the housing would merely be a rearrangement of parts of the embodiment of Jang in [0075]. In other words, instead of having the first tab, first adapter, cover, and housing being connected as one polarity and the second terminal assembly being an opposite polarity, it would be obvious to have the second tab, second adapter, cover, and housing being connected as one polarity and the first terminal assembly being an opposite polarity. Absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular connection of the tabs and adapters including which is connected to the cover is merely a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Jang is silent to wherein the housing is insulated from the cover.
Cantave teaches a battery wherein after a spiral electrode assembly 70 is inserted into casing 20 and anode tab 44 is welded to closed end 35 (see Figs. 1 and 2B), a plastic insulating disk 80 can be inserted into the open end 30 of casting 20. The peripheral edge 85 of insulating disk 80 fits snugly into the open end 30 and presses against the inside surface of the peripheral edge 22 of casing 20. The positive end cap 18 (cover) is then inserted into the open end 30 so that edge 85 of the insulating disk 80 electrically insulates end cap 18 from casing 20 (see 9:34-58).
In view of Cantave’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of Jang to include wherein the housing is insulated from the cover, as taught by Cantave, because it is a known structure for utilizing cover as part of one polarity while having the rest of the housing be the opposite polarity. Furthermore, absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular electrical connections with respect to polarity and the housing and cover are a matter of design choice of which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found to be obvious. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0212408; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Jang is silent to the battery further comprising a second insulator provided between the first tab and the outer surface of the cell assembly.
Zhang teaches an insulator (insulating layer 20 including a first portion 201, a second portion 202, and a third portion 203, see Figs. 1-3; [0015]-[0028]) provided between the first tab (equated to adapter electrode tab 30, see Figs. 1-3; [0023]) and the outer surface of the cell assembly (electrode assembly 10, see Figs. 1-3; [0015]). Zhang teaches that the insulating layer 20 helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery (see [0015]).
In view of Zhang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of Jang to include a second insulator provided between the first tab and the outer surface of the cell assembly, as taught by Zhang, because it helps to achieve a better isolation effect, preventing the occurrence of an internal short circuit of the battery.
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 9 January 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735