Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated November 10, 2025, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claim 1, and cancelled claim 31.
Claims 1, 10, 13, 15, 32-36, 46-47, and 53 are pending in the application. Claims 13, 46-47, and 53 remain withdrawn from consideration, pursuant to the Restriction Requirement mailed November 9, 2023.
Claims 1, 10, 15, and 32-36 are therefore under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated May 8, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-32 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have addressed this issue, and this rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 15, 19 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (WO2016014148A1) in view of Damstrup (Int J Rad Onco Bio Phys, 94.4: 940(2). Elsevier B.V. (Mar 15, 2016)) and Yoo (WO2016160792A1).
Applicant argues that the claimed invention exhibits unexpected results over the cited art, and therefore, the claimed combination of treatments is not obvious. Applicant further argues that there is no suggestion or motivation to combine the teachings of Dong, Damstrup, and Yoo and arrive at the present invention.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is one such rationale that may support a rationale of obviousness. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). To reject a claim based on this rationale, Office personnel must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. Then, Office personnel must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components;
(2) a finding that the substituted components and their functions were known in the art;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
MPEP 2143(1)(B).
In the instant case, Dong is explicit in teaching a method for treating a cancer patient, the method comprising administering to the patient a DNA-PKcs inhibitor and an anti-B7-H1 (i.e., anti-PD-L1) antibody (page 2, lines 22-25). Dong differs from the claimed invention by the use of the specifically recited DNA-PKcs inhibitor and anti-B7-H1 antibody.
As (S)-[2-chloro-4- fluoro-5-(7-morpholin-4-yl-quinazolin-4-yl)-phenyl]-(6-methoxypyridazin-3-yl)- methanol and avelumab were known in the art to be useful as a DNA-PK inhibitor (Damstrup) and an anti-PD-L1 antibody (Yoo), one of skill in the art could arrive at the claimed invention through simple substitution of the specific compounds taught by Damstrup and Yoo to perform the method of Dong, which relies on a generic DNA-PK inhibitor an anti-B7-H1 antibody. This is especially true since Damstrup and Yoo both teach that their respective compounds are useful in the treatment of colon cancer, and Dong also teaches the treatment of colon cancer.
With regards to Applicant's assertion of unexpected results, since Dong teaches a method for treating a cancer patient, comprising administering to the patient a DNA-PKcs inhibitor and an anti-B7-H1 antibody, this is at least a general expectation of some combination of benefits over monotherapy.
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.06(I).
With regards to the claimed dosage of radiotherapy, determination of dosage is routinely determined by the ordinary artisan as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was known as result effective variables that depend on the conditions of the patients. It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious). Furthermore, Yoo teaches that dosages may depend upon several factors, including previous or concurrent therapeutic interventions (para. 0182: "The practitioner responsible for administration will, in any event, determine the concentration of active ingredient(s) in a composition and appropriate dose(s) for the individual subject."). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the amount or dosage of radiotherapy could be adjusted to achieve optimum therapeutic efficacy, especially given the guidance found in Yoo. Applicant has not demonstrated an unexpected criticality of the claimed radiotherapy dosage to rebut this argument. MPEP 2144.05.
As stated previously, Applicant's disclosure does not describe any experiments performed with compounds other than avelumab and M3814. The arguments presented by Applicant do not prove that there was no reasonable expectation of synergy between a generic DNA-PK inhibitor and a generic anti-PD-L1 antibody, nor that such a synergy is unexpected and unique to the two claimed compounds. The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). MPEP 716.01(c). Absent such evidence, the method recited by Dong remains prejudicial to the instant claims.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 15 and 32-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 38, and 40 of copending Application No. 18/684,604 in view of Damstrup and Yoo.
Applicant wishes to defer addressing this rejection until patentable subject matter is found. As there is no patentable subject matter currently in the application, this rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Abutarif (US20100210700A1) teaches fractionated radiotherapy at a dosage of 60 Gy administered in 30 fractions for the treatment of cancer (para. 0026).
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/DANIEL E KOLKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1644