DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the term ‘solar roof tile” should be interpreted to require a photovoltaic tile. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant points to ¶101 of instant specification which teaches in part
“U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/653,493, filed Jul. 18, 2017, and published as U.S. Pub. No 2019/0028054, on Jan. 24, 2019, is incorporated by reference. This application further defines solar roof tiles (as “photovoltaic roof tiles”), and describes batten brackets that are mountable to battens positioned on the roof deck and that can be used to install solar roof tiles.”
U.S. Pub. No 2019/0028054 expressly teaches “Accordingly, as use herein, a “roof tile” refers to a structural element of a roof, which may or may not have PV elements attached thereto, depending on the context of the description.” [emphasis added] (¶38) Additionally the claims of U.S. Pub. No 2019/0028054 expressly specify photovoltaics. Instant specification ¶88 teaches that ‘The solar panels 28, which can also be referred to as photovoltaic panels, typically include photovoltaic cells …”
While applicant may be his own lexicographer, the claims and specification do not provide a special definition of the term “solar roof tile” and there is nothing on the record which would constitute a disavowal of a broader claim scope. It would be improper for the examiner to import limitations from the specification into the claims. MPEP 2111.01 and MPEP 2173.01
If applicant wishes the claims limited to photovoltaic tiles, applicant may amend the claims to recite such.
Applicant argues that the recitation “A ventilation batten for securing a solar roof to a roof deck…” distinguishes over the prior art of Liu. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recitation in the preamble of the claim amounts to an intended use of the claimed device. The claims do not positively recite a roof deck and only require that the device can be used with a roof deck. Liu Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 clearly depict air passages 415 and 416 which are below panel 31 and above the rooftop on which it is intended to be mounted (¶53, Fig. 2A, Fig. 9, Fig. 10)
Examiner acknowledges the terminal disclaimer field 08/12/2023. The corresponding double patenting rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. US20090133687.
Regarding claim 14, Liu et al. US20090133687 discloses a ventilation batten (Fig. 5) capable of securing a solar roof to a roof deck, comprising:
a body with an upper surface configured to contact and support a downslope edge of a first roofing element (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, supporting surface 417 supports panel 31);
a recess extending into a front surface of the body, the recess configured to receive and support an upslope edge of a second roofing element, such that the downslope edge of the first roofing element is spaced apart from the upslope edge of the second roofing element (best seen in Fig. 8, gap 418 receives and supports a second panel spaced from edge of 31); and
an opening extending through the body between the upper surface and the recess, the opening configured to provide ventilation between
an external region above the first roofing element and the second roofing element,
to an internal region between the first roofing element and the roof deck (Fig. 7 and 8, air passage 415; ¶53, Fig. 2A, Fig. 9, Fig. 10 the device is intended to be mounted to a roof and the passage 415 would be above the roof);
wherein at least one of the first roofing element and the second roofing element comprise a solar roof tile (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2A panel 31 is in the shape of a tile).
Regarding claim 15, Liu further discloses the ventilation batten of Claim 14, wherein the body comprises an upper spacer extending a first thickness measured between the upper surface and an upper portion of the recess (Liu, Fig. 6, corresponding to block 411. Examiner interprets in light of instant Fig. 4D, upper spacer 420A).
Regarding claim 16, Liu further discloses the ventilation batten of Claim 15, wherein the body further comprises a lower spacer extending a second thickness from a lower portion of the recess to a bottom of the body (Liu, fig. 6, 412. Examiner interprets in light of instant Fig. 4D, lower spacer 420B)
Regarding claim 17, Liu further discloses the ventilation batten of Claim 16, wherein the opening comprises a first opening (Fig. 7, passage 415), the ventilation batten further comprising a second opening extending through the lower spacer, the second opening comprising a third thickness (Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, passage 416).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-22, 25, 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. US20090133687 in view of Rodrigues US20170163206.
Regarding claim 18, Liu does not expressly disclose the ventilation batten of Claim 17, wherein the lower spacer further comprises a first foot and a second foot extending along a length of the body, wherein the first foot is horizontally adjacent to the second foot, and the second opening is formed between the first foot and the second foot.
Rodrigues US20170163206 teaches a system for supporting solar panels on a roof (abstract) wherein support member comprise a plurality of feet horizontally adjacent each other such that an air flow opening is formed between the feet (Fig. 31, air flow openings 418, feet 417. The limitation is interpreted in light of instant specification Fig. 4C and feet 407).
Rodrigues teaches that such a configuration allows cooling air to flow through and beneath the solar panels (¶132) and that the feet provide for mounting holes for attaching fasteners to the underlying roof deck (¶131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liu such that the lower openings are formed between feet as taught by Rodrigues since doing so amounts to a known technique for improving similar solar panel mounting devices in the art with the known predictable results of providing holes for mounting fasteners while allowing air flow.
Regarding claim 19, The modified Liu teaches the ventilation batten of Claim 18, wherein the body comprises a support member extending between and attaching the upper and lower spacers to each other, and forming the recess (see annotated Fig. 8 of Liu, below. Examiner interprets in light of instant specification Fig. 4D, support member 420C. Fig. 7 of Liu shows that the batten is one piece.).
Regarding claim 20, The modified Liu teaches the ventilation batten of Claim 19, wherein the upper spacer comprises:
a first upper leg;
a first lower leg; and
a first middle leg extending between a portion of the first upper leg and a portion of the first lower leg, wherein the first opening extends through the first middle leg (See Annotated Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 of Liu, below. The limitation is interpreted in light of instant specification Fig. 7 and upper leg 721, middle leg 725, and lower leg 723. Fig. 7 of Liu shows that the batten is one piece.).
Regarding claim 21, Liu further discloses the ventilation batten of Claim 20, wherein the lower spacer comprises:
a second upper leg;
a second lower leg; and
a second middle leg extending between a portion of the second upper leg and a portion of the second lower leg, wherein the second opening extends through the second middle leg (See Annotated Fig. 7 of Liu, below. The limitation is interpreted in light of instant specification Fig. 7 and upper leg 722, middle leg 726, and lower leg 724).
.
Regarding claim 22, The modified Liu teaches the ventilation batten of Claim 21, wherein the support member extends between an opposing end of each of the first lower leg and the second upper leg to form the recess (see annotated Fig. 8 of Liu below. The limitation is interpreted in light of instant specification Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 25, The modified Liu teaches the ventilation batten of Claim 19, further comprising a clip extending from an upper portion of the upper spacer, the clip forming a groove configured to receive the downslope edge of the first roofing element, and secure the first roofing element to the spacer (Liu, Fig. 8, U-shaped pads 32 represent a clip which with plate 44 secures 31 to the supporting surface 417).
Regarding claim 26, The modified Liu teaches a solar roof, comprising the ventilation batten of Claim 25, further comprising the first roofing element and the second roofing element (Liu, Fig. 8, ¶53, Fig. 2A, Fig. 9, Fig. 10 the device is intended to be mounted to a roof).
Examiner’s position is that the solar roof of claim 26 does not require a roof with a roof deck. Claim 26 merely requires a roof and does not positively recite the roof deck.
However, in the interest of compact prosecution, examiner asserts the alternative grounds of rejection below.
In the alternative, Liu does not teach a roof with a roof deck.
Rodrigues US20170163206 teaches a solar device mounted to a roof with a roof deck (Fig. 1, Fig. 4A, 4B, 4C, roof deck 50). Thus, establishing that roofs with a roof deck are known in the art and that it is known to attach solar devices to such roofs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the prior art device to be mounted to a roof with a roof deck, as taught by Rodrigues, since doing so amounts to a simple substitution of known roofs in the art with the known predictable results of supporting the solar device.
Regarding claim 27, The modified Liu teaches a solar roof of Claim 26, wherein the first roofing element comprises the solar roof tile, and the second roofing element comprises a roofing element different from the first roofing element (Liu, Fig. 8, ¶53, Fig. 2A, Fig. 9, Fig. 10 the device is intended to be mounted to a roof).
Claims 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. US20090133687 in view of Rodrigues US20170163206 and in view of Rodrigues et al. US20200014327.
Regarding claim 23, Liu does not expressly disclose the ventilation batten of Claim 22, wherein the batten comprises sheet metal.
The difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art amounts to a simple substitution or selection of known materials in the art.
Rodrigues et al. US20200014327 teaches a mounting system for solar panels to roof (Fig. 6, Fig. 12, abstract) wherein the support frames are constructed of sheet metal (¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liu so as to be constructed from sheet metal since doing so amounts to a simple substitution of known materials in the art with the known predictable results of supporting solar panels.
Regarding claim 24, The modified Liu teaches the ventilation batten of Claim 23, wherein the batten comprises a single integral piece of material (Liu, Fig. 6 and Fig. 5). Examiner notes the breadth of the claim language. The use of the open-ended transitional phrase “comprises” merely requires that the batten include at least a single piece of material. Additional elements seen in Fig. 6 are not excluded from scope of the claims. Such and interpretation is commensurate with at least instant specification Fig. 7 which includes separate fasteners 575 or ¶198 which discusses separate screens.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPAK A DEEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762