DETAILED ACTION
In response to Amendments/Arguments filed 6/11/2026. Claims 1-23 are pending. Claim 23 was added as new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drevet (WO 2018/158338) in view of Waterman et al. (US 3288729) with evidence from Polyvinyl Chloride definition (A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering; Hereafter “PVC Definition”) and Nielsen et al. (Journal of Applied Physics).
Drevet discloses a panel for a floor covering. Concerning claims 1, 3, 7, and 15, Drevet discloses the panel comprises a decorative layer disposed on a first PVC support layer, a foam layer, and a second PVC backing layer, wherein the support layer and backing layer each have a density from 1200 to 2100 kg/m3 and at least 1600 kg/m3 respectively (pp. 3-5; p. 4, lines 4-9; p. 11, lines 24-25). As evidenced by the PVC Definition, rigid PVC has a Young’s modulus (or modulus of elasticity) of 3.7 GPa with a relative density of 1.4 and a flexible PVC has a Young’s modulus of 1.4 GPa with a relative density of 1.2, wherein at least the PVC backing layer of Drevet would meet the instant claims. Based on the above, one can assume that the addition of plasticizer lowers the density of PVC given that relative density of a flexible PVC has a lower relative density. As evidenced by Nielsen, unplasticized PVC has density of 1.41 g/cm3 (or 1410 kg/m3) (Nielsen; Table 1). While it is noted that Drevet discloses the preferred PVC is a PVC that is “virtually plasticizer free”, this does not necessarily exclude lightly plasticized PVC compositions which is evidenced by the density for the support layer being 1200 to 2100 kg/m3. As such, the non-preferred compositions for the support layer can include some level of plasticizer. Additionally, “virtually plasticizer free” can be taken to mean that some level of plasticizer can be included so long as the density of the support layer is within the disclosed range and is still rigid. However, Drevet is silent to the foam layer being PVC.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, the foam layer has a preferred density of 100 to 300 kg/m3 (p. 8, lines 10-17). With respect to claim 6, the overall thickness of the panel is from 4.5 to 8.0 mm, wherein the backing and support layers are each from 2.5 to 4.0 mm and 0.5 to 5.0 mm (p. 3, lines 12-19; p. 5, lines 24-25). However, Drevet is silent to the foam layer being PVC.
Waterman discloses an open-celled polyvinyl chloride foam. Concerning the foam layer being PVC and plasticized, Waterman discloses the foam is formed from a plastisol comprising PVC and a plasticizer, wherein the resulting foam has a density from 5 to 50 lb/ft3 (or about 80 to 800 kg/m3), wherein the resulting foam is dimensionally stable, soft to touch, and provides cushioning (cols. 2-11). Examiner notes that a non-porous plastisol can be applied as a skin layer. As such, for the above properties, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the PVC foam of Waterman as the foam layer of Drevet.
Claims 8, 10, 12-13, 17, 19, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drevet (WO 2018/158338) in view of Waterman et al. (US 3288729) with evidence from Polyvinyl Chloride definition (A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering; Hereafter “PVC Definition”) and Nielsen et al. (Journal of Applied Physics) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boyadjian et al. (US 20100018799).
The prior art discloses the above, including Waterman disclosing the plastisol for forming the PVC foam comprises 35 to 400 parts plasticizer per 100 parts PVC resin (col. 2, lines 26-46). The resulting weight percentage is from about 26 to 80 wt% plasticizer and from 20 to 74 wt% PVC which meet the limitations of claims 21 and 22. However, the prior art is silent to the claimed second damping layer.
Boyadjian discloses acoustic enhancement of a covering. Concerning the claimed second damping layer, Boyadjian discloses a non-woven fiberglass layer laminated to the surface of a bare floor, wherein the non-woven fiberglass layer prevents the transmission of vibratory energy into adjacent rooms (para. 0036-0104; Table 4). While it is noted that the thickness is preferred to be from 3 to 7 mm, the thickness is a preferred embodiment dependent upon the other layers within the laminate. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any thickness and density, including the claimed thickness and density, in order to achieve the desired damping and acoustic insulating properties. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the non-woven fiberglass layer of Boyadjian to the laminate of Drevet and Waterman, in order to prevent vibratory energy from being heard or transferred in adjacent rooms.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 11, 14-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman et al. (US 3424270) in view of Drevet (WO 2018/158338) with evidence from Polyvinyl Chloride definition (A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering; Hereafter “PVC Definition”) and Nielsen et al. (Journal of Applied Physics).
Hartman discloses a viscoelastic sound-blocking flooring material. Concerning claims 1 and 2, Hartman discloses two face panels and a core material that is formed from a plasticized PVC and a high density filler material that is not foamed, resulting in a mass per square foot of 0.5 to 20 lbs/ft2 (cols. 2-6). However, Hartman is silent to the decorative layer and the face panels comprising PVC. Given that the PVC Definition discloses that plasticized PVC has a Young’s modulus of 1.4 GPa, the composition as shown in Example 1 of Hartman would meet the claimed Young’s modulus. Hartman further discloses the thicknesses of the core and face panels can be any thickness depending upon end use and degree of sound loss desired (col. 3, lines 38-60). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the core layer be any thickness, including the claimed thickness, in order to provide the desired sound loss. However, Hartman is silent to the decorative layer, the face panels comprising PVC, and thicknesses of the face panel.
Drevet discloses a panel for a floor covering. Concerning claims 1, 2, 7, and 15, Drevet discloses the panel comprises a decorative layer disposed on a first unplasticized PVC support layer and a second unplasticized PVC backing layer, wherein the decorative layer provides aesthetic features, wherein the support layer and backing layer each have a density from 1200 to 2100 kg/m3 and at least 1600 kg/m3 respectively (pp. 3-5; p. 4, lines 4-9; p. 11, lines 24-25). As evidenced by the PVC Definition, rigid PVC has a Young’s modulus (or modulus of elasticity) of 3.7 GPa with a relative density of 1.4 and a flexible PVC has a Young’s modulus of 1.4 GPa with a relative density of 1.2, wherein at least the PVC backing layer of Drevet would meet the instant claims. Based on the above, one can assume that the addition of plasticizer lowers the density of PVC given that relative density of a flexible PVC has a lower relative density. As evidenced by Nielsen, unplasticized PVC has density of 1.41 g/cm3 (or 1410 kg/m3) (Nielsen; Table 1). While it is noted that Drevet discloses the preferred PVC is a PVC that is “virtually plasticizer free”, this does not necessarily exclude lightly plasticized PVC compositions which is evidenced by the density for the support layer being 1200 to 2100 kg/m3. As such, the non-preferred compositions for the support layer can include some level of plasticizer. Additionally, “virtually plasticizer free” can be taken to mean that some level of plasticizer can be included so long as the density of the support layer is within the disclosed range and the support is still rigid. The PVC support and backing layers having the density as disclosed provide rigid and solid properties and evening out any unevenness on the underlying surface on which the panel is laid (p. 11, lines 9-13; p. 5, lines 20-22). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the unplasticized PVC backing and support layers of Drevet as the two face panels of Hartman, in order to provide rigid and solid properties and evening out any unevenness on the underlying surface on which the panel is laid.
Claims 8, 10, 12-13, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman et al. (US 3424270) in view of Drevet (WO 2018/158338) with evidence from Polyvinyl Chloride definition (A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering; Hereafter “PVC Definition”) and Nielsen et al. (Journal of Applied Physics) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boyadjian et al. (US 20100018799).
The prior art discloses the above but is silent to the claimed second damping layer.
Boyadjian discloses acoustic enhancement of a covering. Concerning the claimed second damping layer, Boyadjian discloses a non-woven fiberglass layer laminated to the surface of a bare floor, wherein the non-woven fiberglass layer prevents the transmission of vibratory energy into adjacent rooms (para. 0036-0104; Table 4). While it is noted that the thickness is preferred to be from 3 to 7 mm, the thickness is a preferred embodiment dependent upon the other layers within the laminate. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any thickness and density, including the claimed thickness and density, in order to achieve the desired damping and acoustic insulating properties. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the non-woven fiberglass layer of Boyadjian to the laminate of Hartman and Drevet, in order to prevent vibratory energy from being heard or transferred in adjacent rooms.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art is silent to the combination of the closed cell PVC foam as a damping layer and the specific materials for each rigid layer as claimed and structure for the overall tile as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 regarding the art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts the flexural modulus of Drevet is not the same as the elastic modulus. Examiner agrees that flexural modulus is not the same as elastic modulus. However, the Examiner is not stating that the flexural modulus is elastic modulus and notes again that the materials are the same as that claimed with the evidentiary reference showing the elastic modulus of unplasticized and plasticized PVC, wherein this is the basis for showing at least a base elastic modulus of PVC for both plasticized and unplasticized PVC. Additionally, Examiner would like to point out that the PTO does not possess testing facilities. The Examiner has provided a technical basis showing why the moduli for each PVC layer of Drevet would be within the claimed range. Applicant has not provided technical or scientific reasoning for why the elastic modulus would not be within the claimed range and instead refers to sections in the prior art that the Examiner has not referred to or stated.
Applicant further states that “virtually free from plasticizer” is the same as “no plasticizer”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the term “virtually” is defined by Merriam-Webster as “almost entirely” or by Cambridge Dictionary as “almost”. Therefore, the term “virtually” is not the same as “no” or “none” and given that the instant claims do not recite any specific plasticizer content as it relates to the first rigid PVC layer. As such, “virtually plasticizer free” can be taken to mean that some level of plasticizer can be included so long as the density of the support layer is within the disclosed range and is still rigid and the embodiment of “virtually plasticizer free” means “almost plasticizer free” and these embodiments would include some level of plasticizer but still be rigid within the scope of the disclosure of Drevet. With respect to Applicant’s assertions of the backing layer being flexible, it is noted that this is an alternative embodiment. As a note, the Drevet reference recites page and line numbers, and it is not clear as to where the paragraph numbers are found given that the reference does not recite any paragraph numbers.
With respect to Applicant’s assertions of the foam layer being limited to the recited materials, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that while this is preferred, there is no disclosure that foam cannot be an open-celled PVC foam. To that end, the Examiner has provided motivation on why one of ordinary skill in the art would use that specific material. Examiner further notes that “resilience without bounciness” means that there is some level of rigidity and as such, be compatible and even operable in combination with Drevet. Regarding Applicant’s assertions with respect to the rejection under Hartman, Examiner notes that the assertions are in regard to the Drevet reference and the above is applicable to the assertions set forth on pp. 7-9. As such, the rejections under Drevet as the primary reference are still applicable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783