DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 24, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-16 and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: Claim limitation “an electric resistance value acquisition unit for acquiring an electric resistance value of one or more parts of a body of a person to be measured” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for acquiring” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “unit”.
Claim 1: Claim limitation “a type determination unit for using the electric resistance value to determine a type representing a physical characteristic of the person to be measured from one or more predetermined points of view.” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “to determine” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “unit”.
Claim 11: Claim limitation “a body composition calculation unit for using the electric resistance value and an algorithm corresponding to the determined type to calculate a body composition value of the person to be measured” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “to calculate” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “unit”. Claims 12-14 recite the same limitations and are interpreted the same.
Claim 16: Claim limitation “a divergence determination unit for comparing a body composition value corresponding to a body shape accepted as a choice from the person to be measured with the calculated body composition value, and determining a divergence from the body shape accepted as a choice.” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for comparing” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “unit”. Claims 17-18 recite the same limitations and are interpreted the same.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Claim 1: “electric resistance value acquisition unit”, refers to the specification [0029 - 0030]: the measurement device described comprising the electrodes for applying and measuring current/impedance/resistance.
Claim 1: “type determination unit”, refers to the specification [0036]: processor, computer program, storage.
Claim 11 and 13-14: “body composition calculation unit”, refers to the specification [0036]: processor, computer program, storage.
Claim 16 and 18: “divergence determination unit”, refers to the specification [0036]: processor, computer program, storage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim 1 is directed to “a device” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e. a machine or manufacture.
Claim 20 is directed to “a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a program causing a computer to function” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e. a machine or manufacture.
Each of Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-16 and 18-20 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One:
Claims 1 and 20 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows: “a type determination unit for using the electric resistance value to determine a type representing a physical characteristic of the person to be measured from one or more predetermined points of view, wherein the type determination unit uses the electric resistance value to determine the type independently of whether the type corresponds to an actual physical characteristic of the person to be measured or not.”
In claims 1 and 20, the above recited steps are mathematical concepts, which is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. The Specification teaches that the electrical resistance value can be used to calculate a type using calculations and formulas. Spec. [0040]. Computing the type encompasses the use of mathematical equations, which has been recognized as an abstract idea (i.e., a mathematical concept). Patent Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. In sum, we determine that Prong 1 recites a judicial exception, and proceed to Step 2A, Prong 2.
Therefore, each of the above steps are grouped as mathematical concepts, hence an abstract idea.
Claims 1 and 20 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), substantially as follows: “a type determination unit for using the electric resistance value to determine a type representing a physical characteristic of the person to be measured from one or more predetermined points of view, wherein the type determination unit uses the electric resistance value to determine the type independently of whether the type corresponds to an actual physical characteristic of the person to be measured or not.”
In claims 1 and 20, the above recited steps can be practically performed in the human mind, with the aid of a pen and paper or with a generic computer, in a computer environment, or merely using the generic computer as a tool to perform the steps. If a person were to visually examine, i.e., perform an observation, the electrical resistance data, either in a printout or an electronic format, he/she would be able to perform the calculations to obtain the type via pen and paper. He/she further would be able to assign a type whether it is the real type or not. There is nothing recited in the claim to suggest an undue level of complexity in how the type is identified. Therefore, a person would be able to perform the identification of peaks mentally or with a generic computer.
Prong Two: Claims 1 and 20 do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites (1) “an electric resistance value acquisition unit for acquiring an electric resistance value of one or more parts of a body of a person to be measured”
(2) “one or more processors and one or more computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon (as discussed in the 112f claim interpretation section above)”.
The steps in (1) represent merely data gathering or pre-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality with conventionally used tools (see below Step IIB for further details).
The steps in (2) merely recite generic computer components used to implement the abstract idea on, as tools.
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea and to output a notification based on the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on conventionally used tools. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the estimated bio-information is not outputted in any way such that a practical benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims 1 and 20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims recite additional steps of (1) “an electric resistance value acquisition unit for acquiring an electric resistance value of one or more parts of a body of a person to be measured”
(2) “one or more processors and one or more computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon (as discussed in the 112f claim interpretation section above)”.
These steps represents mere data gathering, data outputting or pre/post/extra-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality.
The resistance information is obtained from a body impedance sensor. These additional limitations merely represent insignificant, conventional pre-solution activities well-understood in the industry of vibration based bio-information estimation, as the sensors recited are well understood, routine and conventional, as evidenced by Wachi et al. (US 2021/0369140 A1) (“Wachi”). Wachi discloses the sensors as mapped below in reference to claim 1. Additionally, Koyoma (US 2005/0228449 A1) (“Koyoma”) discloses body impedance sensors as such as well-understood, routine and conventional, see [0013] and [0030].
Accordingly, these additional steps and tools for measuring a resistance value/impedance, and outputting a notification amount to no more than insignificant conventional extra-solution activity. Mere insignificant conventional extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept.
The recited processors and computer-readable storage medium are generic computer elements (i.d. para. [0036] describing generic computers).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1 and 20 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, Claims 1 and 20 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and 2019 PEG.
Dependent Claims
The following dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons:
Claims 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-14, 16, 18 and 20 recitations further limits the abstract idea above, further defining the type and comparisons merely further defines the mental process or mathematical equations discussed above.
The following dependent claims merely further describe the extra-solution activities and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for similar reasons:
Claims 15 and 19 recitations merely recite data transmission to the output device discussed above as extra-solution activity (data output).
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wachi et al. (US 2021/0369140 A1) (“Wachi”).
Regarding claim 1, Wachi discloses A measurement device having (Abstract and entire document. “having” is interpreted as an open transitional phrase in this context):
an electric resistance value acquisition unit for acquiring an electric resistance value of one or more parts of a body of a person to be measured (FIG. 1-2 and associated paragraphs, see at least [0046 – 0052], “a body shape data acquisition system 50” and “The measurement device 10 is a body composition meter, capable of measuring body weight and body composition as biometric information.” And [0048], “The main unit 11 is equipped with a current-carrying electrode 111R and a measuring electrode 112R on the right side of the upper surface, and a current-carrying electrode 111L and a measuring electrode 112L on the left side of the upper surface.” Impedance is measured resulting in electrical resistance values (impedance values) see also [0056 – 0066]); and
a type determination unit for using the electric resistance value to determine a type representing a physical characteristic of the person to be measured from one or more predetermined points of view ([0056 – 0057], “In addition, the calculated biometric information may be obtained by a machine learning model that inputs the input biometric information and the measured biometric information and outputs the calculated biometric information…As described above, the input unit 51 acquires biometric data by operation input, and the measurement unit 52 acquires biometric data by measurement or measurement and calculation, both of which function as biometric data acquisition units to acquire biometric data.” The impedance value (resistance value) is input into an algorithm to determine biometric information (a type that represents physical characteristics of the person. See also FIG. 5 and 9-10 for the point of view),
wherein the type determination unit uses the electric resistance value to determine the type independently of whether the type corresponds to an actual physical characteristic of the person to be measured or not ([0071], “The selection unit 53 selects, from the reference body shape data stored in the storage unit 54, the reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric information obtained by the input unit 51 and the measurement unit 52. In this embodiment, as described above, since gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage are stored in the database of the storage unit 54 in correspondence with the reference body shape data, the selection unit 53 takes out the gender, age, and height of the user entered in the input unit 51, and the weight, BMI, and fat percentage of the user measured in the measurement unit 54, and selects biometric information close to a combination of the information. If the database in the storage unit 54 contains multipliers and ratios for gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, as described above, the selection unit 53 calculates the corresponding multipliers and ratios.” The type is compared to a database to output a type, the real type of the person does not matter, only the output see also [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 1 wherein the type determination unit uses the electric resistance value to determine the type set in a determination item that is for performing determination on a person to be measured from the one or more predetermined points of view ([0071], “The selection unit 53 selects, from the reference body shape data stored in the storage unit 54, the reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric information obtained by the input unit 51 and the measurement unit 52. In this embodiment, as described above, since gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage are stored in the database of the storage unit 54 in correspondence with the reference body shape data, the selection unit 53 takes out the gender, age, and height of the user entered in the input unit 51, and the weight, BMI, and fat percentage of the user measured in the measurement unit 54, and selects biometric information close to a combination of the information. If the database in the storage unit 54 contains multipliers and ratios for gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, as described above, the selection unit 53 calculates the corresponding multipliers and ratios.” The impedance is used to determine the type and a determination item, wherein the determination item is interpreted as a gender, age etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 3, wherein the determination item is an index including at least one of gender, ethnicity, and evolution ([0071], “The selection unit 53 selects, from the reference body shape data stored in the storage unit 54, the reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric information obtained by the input unit 51 and the measurement unit 52. In this embodiment, as described above, since gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage are stored in the database of the storage unit 54 in correspondence with the reference body shape data, the selection unit 53 takes out the gender, age, and height of the user entered in the input unit 51, and the weight, BMI, and fat percentage of the user measured in the measurement unit 54, and selects biometric information close to a combination of the information. If the database in the storage unit 54 contains multipliers and ratios for gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, as described above, the selection unit 53 calculates the corresponding multipliers and ratios.” The impedance is used to determine the type and a determination item, wherein the determination item is interpreted as a gender, age etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 3, wherein the determination item is an index including at least one of a game character, an anime character, and a historical figure (see [0126] discussing game characters).
Regarding claim 7, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 1, wherein the type determination unit indicates a degree of correspondence indicating how much of the body of the person to be measured corresponds to each of a plurality of types defined for a determination item that is for performing determination on the person to be measured from the one or more predetermined points of view ([0071], “The selection unit 53 selects, from the reference body shape data stored in the storage unit 54, the reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric information obtained by the input unit 51 and the measurement unit 52. In this embodiment, as described above, since gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage are stored in the database of the storage unit 54 in correspondence with the reference body shape data, the selection unit 53 takes out the gender, age, and height of the user entered in the input unit 51, and the weight, BMI, and fat percentage of the user measured in the measurement unit 54, and selects biometric information close to a combination of the information. If the database in the storage unit 54 contains multipliers and ratios for gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, as described above, the selection unit 53 calculates the corresponding multipliers and ratios.” The impedance is used to determine the type and a determination item, wherein the determination item is interpreted as a gender, age etc. see also [0073] – 0074] discussing the similarity to other types and the ratios and multipliers).
Regarding claim 9, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 3, wherein the type determination unit indicates a degree of correspondence indicating how much of the body of the person to be measured corresponds to each of a plurality of types defined for a determination item that is for performing determination on the person to be measured from the one or more predetermined points of view ([0071], “The selection unit 53 selects, from the reference body shape data stored in the storage unit 54, the reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric information obtained by the input unit 51 and the measurement unit 52. In this embodiment, as described above, since gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage are stored in the database of the storage unit 54 in correspondence with the reference body shape data, the selection unit 53 takes out the gender, age, and height of the user entered in the input unit 51, and the weight, BMI, and fat percentage of the user measured in the measurement unit 54, and selects biometric information close to a combination of the information. If the database in the storage unit 54 contains multipliers and ratios for gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, as described above, the selection unit 53 calculates the corresponding multipliers and ratios.” The impedance is used to determine the type and a determination item, wherein the determination item is interpreted as a gender, age etc. see also [0073] – 0074] discussing the similarity to other types and the ratios and multipliers).
Regarding claim 10, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 4, wherein the type determination unit indicates a degree of correspondence indicating how much of the body of the person to be measured corresponds to each of a plurality of types defined for a determination item that is for performing determination on the person to be measured from the one or more predetermined points of view ([0071], “The selection unit 53 selects, from the reference body shape data stored in the storage unit 54, the reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric information obtained by the input unit 51 and the measurement unit 52. In this embodiment, as described above, since gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage are stored in the database of the storage unit 54 in correspondence with the reference body shape data, the selection unit 53 takes out the gender, age, and height of the user entered in the input unit 51, and the weight, BMI, and fat percentage of the user measured in the measurement unit 54, and selects biometric information close to a combination of the information. If the database in the storage unit 54 contains multipliers and ratios for gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, as described above, the selection unit 53 calculates the corresponding multipliers and ratios.” The impedance is used to determine the type and a determination item, wherein the determination item is interpreted as a gender, age etc. see also [0073] – 0074] discussing the similarity to other types and the ratios and multipliers).
Regarding claim 11, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 1, having a body composition calculation unit for using the electric resistance value and an algorithm corresponding to the determined type to calculate a body composition value of the person to be measured ([0088], “In the third selection method, the storage unit 54 stores a prediction algorithm that has been learned using biometric data as input and reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric data as output.” And [0091], “Specifically, the selection unit 53 searches for a certain number of stored information closest to the acquired information by any of the first to third selection methods described above, and selects a plurality of reference body shape data corresponding to those stored information. The acquisition unit 55 generates the composite body shape data by performing a synthesis process on the plurality of reference body shape data selected by the selection unit 53.”).
Regarding claim 13, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 3, having a body composition calculation unit for using the electric resistance value and an algorithm corresponding to the determined type to calculate a body composition value of the person to be measured ([0088], “In the third selection method, the storage unit 54 stores a prediction algorithm that has been learned using biometric data as input and reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric data as output.” And [0091], “Specifically, the selection unit 53 searches for a certain number of stored information closest to the acquired information by any of the first to third selection methods described above, and selects a plurality of reference body shape data corresponding to those stored information. The acquisition unit 55 generates the composite body shape data by performing a synthesis process on the plurality of reference body shape data selected by the selection unit 53.”).
Regarding claim 14, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 4, having a body composition calculation unit for using the electric resistance value and an algorithm corresponding to the determined type to calculate a body composition value of the person to be measured ([0088], “In the third selection method, the storage unit 54 stores a prediction algorithm that has been learned using biometric data as input and reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric data as output.” And [0091], “Specifically, the selection unit 53 searches for a certain number of stored information closest to the acquired information by any of the first to third selection methods described above, and selects a plurality of reference body shape data corresponding to those stored information. The acquisition unit 55 generates the composite body shape data by performing a synthesis process on the plurality of reference body shape data selected by the selection unit 53.”).
Regarding claim 15, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 11, informing of the body composition value without informing of the determined type ([0112] – [0113], the body shape or body composition can be displayed, without displaying the determined type, but only showing the composition).
Regarding claim 16, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 1, having a divergence determination unit for comparing a body composition value corresponding to a body shape chosen by the person to be measured with the calculated body composition value, and determining a divergence from the chosen body shape (FIG. 8 and [0093], “As shown in FIG. 8, in the case where stored information D.sub.1 and D.sub.2 are obtained as the two stored information closest to the acquired information Do, and their respective similarities are S.sub.1 and S.sub.2, as shown in FIG. 8, the acquisition unit 55 calculates the composite body shape data M.sub.c as the shape that divides S.sub.1:S.sub.2 between the reference body shape data M.sub.1 corresponding to the stored information D.sub.1 and the reference body shape data M.sub.2 corresponding to the stored information D.sub.2.” displays a comparison to the chosen body shape).
Regarding claim 18, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 3, having a divergence determination unit for comparing a body composition value corresponding to a body shape chosen by the person to be measured with the calculated body composition value, and determining a divergence from the chosen body shape (FIG. 8 and [0093], “As shown in FIG. 8, in the case where stored information D.sub.1 and D.sub.2 are obtained as the two stored information closest to the acquired information Do, and their respective similarities are S.sub.1 and S.sub.2, as shown in FIG. 8, the acquisition unit 55 calculates the composite body shape data M.sub.c as the shape that divides S.sub.1:S.sub.2 between the reference body shape data M.sub.1 corresponding to the stored information D.sub.1 and the reference body shape data M.sub.2 corresponding to the stored information D.sub.2.” displays a comparison to the chosen body shape).
Regarding claim 19, Wachi discloses The measurement device according to claim 16, informing of the determined divergence without displaying the calculated body composition value (FIG. 8 and [0093], displays the body composition and divergence of the body without displaying numbers of the body composition).
Regarding claim 20, Wachi discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a program causing a computer to function as a type determination unit that acquires, from a measurement device for measuring an electric resistance value of a body of a person to be measured, the electric resistance value and uses the electric resistance value to determine a type representing a physical characteristic of the person to be measured from one or more predetermined points of view, wherein the type determination unit uses the electric resistance value to determine the type independently of whether the type corresponds to an actual physical characteristic of the person to be measured or not ([0002], [0052], [0055] discussing computer and processors, see also the rejections for claim 1, which apply to claim 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the arguments regarding the 101 rejections, the arguments are not persuasive. As is displayed in the rejection claim 1 consists of data gathering using well-understood, routine and conventional sensors, processing the data to result in a type and outputting the type. There is no improvement to the accuracy or speed of collecting body composition data, simply being in a practical application of body composition does not make the claims patent eligible. Thus, the arguments are not persuasive.
With respect to the arguments regarding the 102 rejections, the arguments are not persuasive. The arguments state that Wachi fails to disclose, “wherein the type determination unit uses the electric resistance value to determine the type independently of whether the type corresponds to an actual physical characteristic of the person to be measured or not”. The arguments focus that the chosen type has nothing to do with the real type. However, the claim language does not state that they must be different type and have no correspondence or relation. The arguments are not persuasive. Wachi does actually disclose in [0071], “The selection unit 53 selects, from the reference body shape data stored in the storage unit 54, the reference body shape data corresponding to the biometric information obtained by the input unit 51 and the measurement unit 52. In this embodiment, as described above, since gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage are stored in the database of the storage unit 54 in correspondence with the reference body shape data, the selection unit 53 takes out the gender, age, and height of the user entered in the input unit 51, and the weight, BMI, and fat percentage of the user measured in the measurement unit 54, and selects biometric information close to a combination of the information. If the database in the storage unit 54 contains multipliers and ratios for gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, as described above, the selection unit 53 calculates the corresponding multipliers and ratios.” The type is compared to a database to output a type, the real type of the person does not matter, only the output see also [0073]. The most similar body type is matched and selected for output, gender, age, height, weight, BMI, and fat percentage, might not all perfectly match the reference, so regardless if they are the real values or selected values, they are determined and selected for the output type. Thus, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MAY A ABOUELELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791