DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 2, 9 and 17-18 have been canceled, and claims 1, 3-8, 10-16 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the wherein clause of the claim would be more appropriate as “wherein the enzyme comprises a collagenase class I, a collagenase claim II and a neutral protease”, instead. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiya2019 (2019, Cell Transplantation; IDS ref.) in view of Waise et al. (2019, Scientific Reports), Sugita et al. (2016, Regenerative Therapy; of record), Helweg (2019, VitaCyte; of record) and Rahimian (US2016/0228607; of record) as evidenced by Liberase MNP-S (2021, Roche) and Roche2020 (2020, Collagenases from Clostridium histolyticum; of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, Sekiya2019 teach a method of isolating synovium-derived MSCs from a human synovium tissue by digesting in a solution of 5 mg Liberase MNP-S GMP in 5 ml HBSS for 3 hr, and then the digested cells were cultured in a-MEM containing 10% autologous human serum (p.1147, 1st col.). The Liberase MNP-S GMP of Sekiya2019 and its concentration (i.e. 5 mg/ml) would meet the enzyme of claims 1 and 3-5.
Sekiya2019 do not teach that the aqueous solution for the step of treating a synovial tissue comprising an enzyme and human serum.
However, it is known in the art that the tissue digestion with collagenase and protease can be carried out in a culture medium containing serum.
Sugita et al. teach that the tissue dissociation of synovial membrane can be carried out in a growth medium containing DMEM supplemented with FBS and collagenase (p.80, 1st col. Materials and methods).
Waise et al. teach the use of different protease cocktails including Collagenase P, Liberase DL, TL and TM on fibroblast isolation from lung tissue in the ‘complete’ DMEM containing fetal calf serum (p.7, Tissue disaggregation). Waise et al. teach that the ‘complete’ DMEM is utilized for the culturing of the cells (p.8, Cell Culture).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the culture medium utilized for culturing the synovial derived MSCs, i.e. a-MEM containing 10% autologous human serum, for tissue digestion. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is known in the art that Liberases can be utilized for tissue digestion/disaggregation in the culture medium containing serum as taught by Waise et al. and Sugita et al.
Furthermore, it is known in the art that collagenases, present in Liberase, cannot be effectively inhibited or inactivated by serum-containing media/buffers according to Helweg (p.1). It is also evident that collagenases are inherently not inhibited by serum according to Roche2020 (p.6, Inhibition). Therefore, one skilled in the art would use the a-DMEM containing human serum for the treating the synovial tissue with Liberase MNP-S GMP with a reasonable expectation of success as the complete culture medium including serum would be recognized as the most suitable solution to maintain the viability of the desired cells, i.e. synovial-derived MSCs.
Sekiya2019 in view of Sugita et al., Waise et al., Helweg and Roche2020 do not particularly teach the step of washing the enzyme until a residual enzyme concentration in a supernatant is 0.5 ng/ml or less, and the washing includes a plurality of washing times using a culture medium.
As Helweg and Roche2020 indicated, collagenases in Liberase MNP-S would not be inhibited by the presence of serum, thus, one skilled in the art would recognize that in order to inactivate or stop the reaction of collagenase, the enzyme has to be physically removed from the cell preparation.
It is also known in the art that residual collagenase would be removed by a repeated washing step according to Rahimian. Rahimian teaches a method of isolating adipose-derived stem cells from a adipose tissue using collagenase (paras. 25-28), and the residual collagenase is removed by repeated washing steps involving centrifugation (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to wash repeatedly (i.e. plurality of washing times) to remove the residual enzyme until there is no detectable enzyme present or detectable in the cell preparation with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the washing step using a culture medium, the cited references do not particularly teach the use of culture medium for washing after tissue digestion. However, as the digestion can be carried out using the culture medium as discussed above, and the resulting synovial MSCs after digestion are cultured in the same culture medium, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the culture medium to wash the digested tissue/cells prior to the culturing steps with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because one skilled in the art would recognize that a culture medium would be the most suitable solution for maintaining viability of the cells during the handling of the cells including digestion, washing and culturing.
While the cited references do not particularly teach that the washing step until the supernatant comprises a residual enzyme concentration being 0.5 ng/ml or less, however, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to determine the concentration of collagenase from the supernatant obtained after centrifugation taught by Rahimian whether the enzyme is effectively removed. As the concentration of “0.5 ng/ml or less” is interpreted as an undetectable amount of the enzyme, and thus, one skilled in the art would determine the concentration of collagenase of Sekiya2019 after each washing step until there is no residual enzyme in the cell preparation.
Regarding claim 3, Liberase MNP-S GMP of Sekiya2019 inherently contains collagenase class I (type I), class II (type II) and neutral protease, Thermolysin (neutral protease) (see p. 3, Liberase MNP-S from Roche).
Regarding claim 6 directed to the synovial tissue being derived from a single donor, Sugita et al. teach the method of isolating human mesenchymal stem cells from synovial membrane by using a synovial tissue and synovial tissues from each donor were divided into three aliquots (0.5 g each) and meticulously minced using surgical scissors and then digested with a collagenase solution (p.80, 1st col., 2.1).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the synovial tissue from a single donor to prepare synovium derived MSCs of Sekiya2019 as Sugita et al. teach the use of the synovial tissue from each individual donor for preparing the MSCs with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, the wherein clause is considered optional as the step of transplanting is not required by the claimed method of producing the synovium-derived mesenchymal stem cells. Thus, the wherein clause of claim 7 does not provide patentable weight in determining patentability of the claimed method of producing the synovium-derived MSCs. Regardless, Sekiya2019 teach the step of transplanting autologous synovium-derived MSCs to the patient (Abstract; p.1447).
Regarding claim 10 directed to the culture medium being a-MEM, Sekiya2019 teach the use of a-MEM for culturing the synovium-derived MSCs (p.1447, 1st col.).
Regarding claim 11 directed to the culturing step for 10-21 days, Sekiya2019 teach the step of culturing autologous synovial MSCs for 14 days after harvest (p. 1447, 1st col.).
Regarding claim 13 directed to the culturing in a culture medium containing an autologous serum, Sekiya2019 teach the limitation (p.1447, 1st col.).
Regarding claim 14 directed to the culturing the synovium-derived MSCs without any other cell, the culturing step taught by Sekiya2019 does not include any other cells, and thus meet the limitation of claim 14.
Regarding claims 15-16, the limitation directed to the production method comprising the step of producing a synovium-derived MSCs by the method of claim 1 is met by the teachings of Sekiya2019 in view of Sugita et al., Waise et al., Helweg and Rahimian as discussed above. The second producing step for a cell preparation or the intended purpose of a joint medical treatment which is a meniscus injury does not provide any active step. Regardless, Sekiya2019 teach treating a medial meniscus tear in the knee using synovial MSCs (abstract), and this would meet the second production step of claims 15-16.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiya2019 in view of Sugita et al., Waise et al., Helweg and Rahimian as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Novagen (2008, ProteoExtract Collagenase Set; of record).
Regarding claim 8 directed to the mass ratio between the synovial tissue to the enzyme being 1,000:1 to 10:1, Sekiya2019 in view of Waise et al., Helweg and Rahimian do not particularly teach the limitation.
However, the mass ratio between the substrate (synovial tissue) and enzyme (collagenase; Liberase) would have been readily modified in order to obtain desired dissociation of the tissue to release synovium-derived cells including MSCs by routine experimentations. Furthermore, according to Novagen, the starting point for the concentration of collagenase is about 10,000 units per g of tissue (p.3), and considering the activity of collagenase per mg of dry weight being more than 100, 125 or 160 (see Table at p. 2), 10,000 units would be about 60-100 mg (or 0.06-0.1 g). From this calculation, the mass ratio of the tissue to enzyme would be 1 g of tissue to 0.06-0.1 g of collagenase, which is 17:1 to 10:1.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiya2019 in view of Waise et al., Helweg and Rahimian as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Khong et al. (2017, Exp. Cell Res.; of record)
Regarding claim 12 directed to the culturing step for 10 days or more without culture medium change, the cited references do not particularly teach the limitation.
Khong et al. teach that MSCs can be cultured for 10 days before media change (p.103, 1st col., 2.1 Isolation of MSCs and whole BMCs).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to culture the synovium-derived MSCs isolated by the method of Sekiya2019 for 10 days before media change taught by Khong et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because frequent media change can be expensive and as MSCs can culture without media change for 10 days, one skilled in the art would try to culture the synovium-derived MSCs without media change for 10 days.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18145922 (reference application) in view of Sugita et al. (supra), Waise et al. (supra), Helweg (supra) and Rahimian (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘922 application disclose the production method for a synovium-derived mesenchymal stem cells by using a mixed enzyme comprising collagenases and neutral proteases for 2 hours or more and culturing for 10 days or more, which is identical to the condition including concentration, duration, source, etc. disclosed in the instant application.
The claims of the ’922 application do not disclose the limitation with regard to the presence of human serum along with an enzyme in the aqueous solution to treat the synovial tissue. However, it is known in the art that the tissue digestion with collagenase and protease can be carried out in a culture medium containing serum.
Sugita et al. teach that the tissue dissociation of synovial membrane can be carried out in a growth medium containing DMEM supplemented with FBS and collagenase (p.80, 1st col. Materials and methods).
Waise et al. teach the use of different protease cocktails including Collagenase P, Liberase DL, TL and TM on fibroblast isolation from lung tissue in the complete DMEM containing fetal calf serum (p.7, Tissue disaggregation).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the culture medium utilized for culturing the synovial derived MSCs, i.e. a-MEM containing 10% autologous human serum, for tissue digestion. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is known in the art that Liberases can be utilized for tissue digestion/disaggregation in the culture medium containing serum as taught by Sugita et al. and Waise et al. Furthermore, it is known in the art that collagenase, present in Liberase, cannot be effectively inhibited or inactivated by serum-containing media/buffers according to Helweg (p.1). It is also evident that collagenases are inherently not inhibited by serum according to Roche2020 (p.6, Inhibition). Therefore, one skilled in the art would use the a-DMEM containing human serum for the treating the synovial tissue with Liberase MNP-S GMP with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the washing step using a culture medium, the cited references do not particularly teach the use of culture medium for washing after tissue digestion. However, as the digestion can be carried out using the culture medium as discussed above, and the resulting synovial MSCs after digestion are cultured in the same culture medium, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the culture medium to wash the digested tissue/cells prior to the culturing steps with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because one skilled in the art would recognize that a culture medium would be the most suitable solution for maintaining viability of the cells during the handling of the cells including digestion, washing and culturing.
The claims of the ’922 application do not disclose the limitation with regard to the plurality of the washing step.
However, it is known in the art that collagenase cannot be effectively inhibited or inactivated by serum-containing media/buffers according to Helweg (p.1). It is also evident that collagenases are inherently not inhibited by serum according to Roche2020 (p.6, Inhibition). Thus, one skilled in the art would recognize that in order to inactivate or stop the reaction of collagenase, the enzyme has to be physically removed from the cell preparation.
It is also known in the art that residual collagenase would be removed by a repeated washing step according to Rahimian. Rahimian teaches a method of isolating adipose-derived stem cells from a adipose tissue using collagenase (paras. 25-28), and the residual collagenase is removed by repeated washing steps involving centrifugation (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to wash repeatedly to remove the residual enzyme until there is no detectable enzyme present or detectable in the cell preparation with a reasonable expectation of success.
While the cited references do not particularly teach that the washing step until the supernatant comprises a residual enzyme concentration being 0.5 ng/ml or less, however, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to determine the concentration of collagenase from the supernatant obtained after centrifugation taught by Rahimian whether the enzyme is effectively removed. As the concentration of “0.5 ng/ml or less” is interpreted as an undetectable amount of the enzyme, and thus, one skilled in the art would determine the concentration of collagenase of Sekiya2019 after each washing step until there is no residual enzyme in the cell preparation.
Thus, the claims of the ‘922 application in view of Waise et al., Helweg and Rahimian render the claims of the instant application obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 4/20/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 3-8, 10-16 based upon Sekiya2019 in view of Waise et al., Sugita et al., Helweg and Rahimian in further view of Novagen or Khong as set forth in the last Office action. The declaration stated that the data obtained from the comparison between the samples processed based on the claimed method with or without plurality of washing step to reduce the level of Liberase as shown in Table 2 of the instant specification, and alleged that there were significantly higher number of cells recovered from the samples with multiple washing steps as claimed. The declaration alleged that the data of Table 2 would support the unexpected results for the claimed method.
The data shown in Table 2 clearly indicate that those samples with multiple washing steps (centrifugation) would produce higher yield compared to those without washing (removing the culture medium containing enzymes).
The examiner does not agree that the data provide unexpected results of the washing steps because one skilled in the art would expect that the removal of residual enzymes, particularly without adding neutralizing agents, would cause cell death which would lead to decreased viable cells after the enzyme treatment.
In support, Seaman et al. (2015, Plast. Resconstru. Surg.) teach a method of dissociating adipose tissue using collagenase, and they teach that collagenase may be detrimental to interstitial cell viability and adipocyte integrity and that it is therefore very important to deactivate or wash out any residual collagenase before enhancing fat grafts with stromal vascular fraction or using adipose tissue for preclinical studies (p.195e, 1st col.). This teaching by Seaman et al. provide reasoning to a person skilled in the art that the same detrimental effect of the residual collagenase would be present in the method of Sekiya2019 in view of Waise et al., Sugita et al., Helweg and Rahimian, and thus, one skilled in the art would expect that the washing steps taught by Rahimian combined with the teachings of Sekiya2019 in view of Waise et al., Sugita et al. and Helweg would necessarily improve the recovery of viable cells as cell death caused by the residual enzyme would be eliminated.
Regarding the arguments presented by applicants in the remarks, the applicant’s arguments are directed to the data discussed in the declaration. As discussed above, the improved cell yield by using the washing steps cannot be considered unexpected.
Applicant argued that Sugita and Waise do not teach the use of human serum, and alleged that human synovial MSCs are cultured in human serum, their proliferation is significantly better than when cultured in bovine serum, making them suitable for clinical applications. It is submitted that Sekiya2019 clearly teach the use of human serum in the culture medium, and the teachings of Sugita and Waise are cited to exemplify that a serum-contained culture medium can be used for tissue digestion, rather than using FBS or FCS taught by Sugita and Waise, respectively. Based on the teachings of Sugita and Waise, one skilled in the art would use the culture medium of Sekiya2019 for the digestion of the synovial tissue in the method of Sekiya2019. As the culture medium of Sekiya2019 already contains human serum, the combined teachings would arrive the use of the culture medium of Sekiya2019 for the tissue dissociation/digestion.
Thus, it is the Examiner’s position that the amendment, the declaration and the applicant’s arguments are not sufficient to overcome the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, applicant requested to reconsider the rejection based on the declaration and the argument with regard to the 103. As discussed above, the declaration as well as the applicant’s argument based on the declaration in the remarks do not overcome the claim rejection as the effect shown in Table 2 cannot be considered unexpected as discussed above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631