DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Starzynski (US 20110239440 A1, hereinafter ‘440).
As to claim 1, ‘440 teaches a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass 44 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a proof mass support 42 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a flexure 40 connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure (¶21);
a first resonator 26 connected to a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator 28 connected to a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz) and
[AltContent: textbox (VSW)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
As to claim 2, ‘440 teaches wherein the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching includes:
one or more characteristics of portions of the first resonator or the second resonator being modified by a laser; and
the modified portions of the first resonator or the second resonator being removed by wet-etching (the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed using the recited selective laser etching steps, since these elements are made of crystalline quartz as taught by ¶19).
As to claim 3, ‘440 teaches wherein the quartz substrate is a crystalline quartz substrate (¶19 and ¶22).
As to claim 4, ‘440 teaches wherein the quartz substrate is a monolithic substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate).
As to claim 5, ’440 teaches wherein the first major surface of the proof mass is opposite the second major surface of the proof mass, wherein the first major surface of the proof mass support is opposite the second major surface of the proof mass support (see fig. 1).
As to claim 6, ‘440 teaches wherein the first resonator and the second resonator are not coplanar (fig. 1).
As to claim 7, ‘440 teaches wherein the first resonator is configured to have a compressive force and the second resonator is configured to have a tensile force upon rotation of the proof mass in a first direction (¶21).
As to claim 9, ‘440 teaches wherein the quartz substrate further comprises:
a dampening plate 36 connected to the proof mass support and configured to limit a range of rotation of the proof mass (¶19 teaches that the dampening plate 36 provides a damping function to the proof mass by providing resistance to the proof mass’s motion; accordingly, the motion of the proof mass is limited in comparison to the motion of the proof mass without the dampening plate),
wherein the dampening plate is formed by selective laser etching (the dampening plate is able to have been formed by selective laser etching because it is made of crystalline quartz - ¶19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘440 in view of Foote et al. (US 6874363 B1, hereinafter Foote).
As to claim 8, ‘440 teaches the limitations of the claim except wherein the quartz substrate further comprises:
a strain isolator connected to the proof mass support and configured to reduce a force on at least one of the proof mass, the proof mass support, the flexure, the first resonator, or the second resonator upon application of the force to the proof mass assembly.
Foote teaches an accelerometer, wherein the monolithic substrate (col. 6 lines 8-11 teach a strain isolator 6, 10, 12 monolithically formed with a proof mass support 8 by etching slots 36, 38 in substrate 32) further comprises:
a strain isolator 6, 10, 12 connected to the proof mass support 8 and configured to reduce a force on at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator upon application of the force to the proof mass assembly (col. 6 lines 7-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of ‘440 to use a strain isolator connected to the proof mass support and configured to reduce a force on at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator upon application of the force to the proof mass assembly, as taught by Foote for the benefit of decreasing the effects of thermal mismatching on the resonators (Foote, col. 6 lines 19-23).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/146114 (reference application; hereinafter Milne) filed 6/10/25, in view of Starzynski (US 20110239440 A1, hereinafter ‘440).
As to instant claim 1, claims 1-2 of Milne recite a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (claim 2 of Milne teaches that the substrate is made of crystalline quartz), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass;
a proof mass support;
a flexure connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure;
a first resonator connected to a first major surface of the proof mass and a first major surface of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator connected to a second major surface of the proof mass and a second major surface of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is made of crystalline quartz).
Milne does not recite wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching.
‘440 teaches wherein at least one of a first resonator 26 or the second resonator 28 is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz, as explained next; ¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz) and includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne such that at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall, as taught by ‘440, for the benefit of minimizing the complexity of the resonator’s design, in comparison with a more complex side wall design.
Milne as modified recites that the straight vertical side wall (in view of ‘440) is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
As to instant claim 2, Milne recites wherein (because the substrate is made of crystalline quartz) the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching includes:
one or more characteristics of portions of the first resonator or the second resonator being modified by a laser; and
the modified portions of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator being removed by wet-etching.
As to instant claim 3, claim 2 of Milne recites wherein the quartz substrate is a crystalline quartz substrate.
As to instant claim 4, claim 2 of Milne recites wherein the quartz substrate (claim 2 of Milne) is a monolithic substrate (preamble of claim 1 of Milne).
Claims 1 and 5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/146114 (reference application; hereinafter Milne) filed 6/10/25 in view of Starzynski (US 20110239440 A1, hereinafter ‘440).
As to instant claim 1, claim 1 of Milne recites a proof mass assembly comprising a substrate, the substrate comprising:
a proof mass;
a proof mass support;
a flexure connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure;
a first resonator connected to a first major surface of the proof mass and a first major surface of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator connected to a second major surface of the proof mass and a second major surface of the proof mass support.
Milne does not recite that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching.
‘440 teaches a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass 44 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a proof mass support 42 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a flexure 40 connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure (¶21);
a first resonator 26 connected to a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator 28 connected to a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching), and
includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne to use a crystalline quartz substrate as taught by ‘440 since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of forming a proof mass assembly for another for the predictable result that quartz is inexpensive and easy to process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne such that at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall, as taught by ‘440, for the benefit of minimizing the complexity of the resonator’s design, in comparison with a more complex side wall design.
Milne as modified recites that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz), and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall (in view of ‘440) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz, in view of ‘440)
As to instant claim 5, claim 3 of Milne recites wherein the first major surface of the proof mass is opposite the second major surface of the proof mass, wherein the first major surface of the proof mass support is opposite the second major surface of the proof mass support.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/146114 (reference application; hereinafter Milne) filed 6/10/25 in view of Starzynski (US 20110239440 A1, hereinafter ‘440).
As to instant claim 1, claim 1 of Milne recites a proof mass assembly comprising a substrate, the substrate comprising:
a proof mass;
a proof mass support;
a flexure connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure;
a first resonator connected to a first major surface of the proof mass and a first major surface of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator connected to a second major surface of the proof mass and a second major surface of the proof mass support.
Milne does not recite that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching.
‘440 teaches a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass 44 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a proof mass support 42 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a flexure 40 connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure (¶21);
a first resonator 26 connected to a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator 28 connected to a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching), and
includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne to use a crystalline quartz substrate as taught by ‘440 since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of forming a proof mass assembly for another for the predictable result that quartz is inexpensive and easy to process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne such that at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall, as taught by ‘440, for the benefit of minimizing the complexity of the resonator’s design, in comparison with a more complex side wall design.
Milne as modified recites that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz), and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall (in view of ‘440) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz, in view of ‘440).
As to instant claim 6, claim 6 of Milne recites wherein the first resonator and the second resonator are not coplanar.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/146114 (reference application; hereinafter Milne) filed 6/10/25 in view of Starzynski (US 20110239440 A1, hereinafter ‘440).
As to instant claim 1, claim 1 of Milne recites a proof mass assembly comprising a substrate, the substrate comprising:
a proof mass;
a proof mass support;
a flexure connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure;
a first resonator connected to a first major surface of the proof mass and a first major surface of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator connected to a second major surface of the proof mass and a second major surface of the proof mass support.
Milne does not recite that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching.
‘440 teaches a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass 44 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a proof mass support 42 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a flexure 40 connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure (¶21);
a first resonator 26 connected to a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator 28 connected to a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching), and
includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne to use a crystalline quartz substrate as taught by ‘440 since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of forming a proof mass assembly for another for the predictable result that quartz is inexpensive and easy to process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne such that at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall, as taught by ‘440, for the benefit of minimizing the complexity of the resonator’s design, in comparison with a more complex side wall design.
Milne as modified recites that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz), and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall (in view of ‘440) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz, in view of ‘440).
As to instant claim 7, claim 7 of Milne recites wherein the first resonator is configured to have a compressive force and the second resonator is configured to have a tensile force upon rotation of the proof mass in a first direction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/146114 (reference application; hereinafter Milne) in view of Starzynski (US 20110239440 A1, hereinafter ‘440).
As to instant claim 1, claim 1 of Milne recites a proof mass assembly comprising a substrate, the substrate comprising:
a proof mass;
a proof mass support;
a flexure connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure;
a first resonator connected to a first major surface of the proof mass and a first major surface of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator connected to a second major surface of the proof mass and a second major surface of the proof mass support.
Milne does not recite that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching.
‘440 teaches a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass 44 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a proof mass support 42 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a flexure 40 connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure (¶21);
a first resonator 26 connected to a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator 28 connected to a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching), and
includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne to use a crystalline quartz substrate as taught by ‘440 since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of forming a proof mass assembly for another for the predictable result that quartz is inexpensive and easy to process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne such that at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall, as taught by ‘440, for the benefit of minimizing the complexity of the resonator’s design, in comparison with a more complex side wall design.
Milne as modified recites that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz), and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall (in view of ‘440) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz, in view of ‘440).
As to instant claim 8, claim 8 of Milne recites wherein the quartz substrate further comprises:
a strain isolator connected to the proof mass support and configured to reduce a force on at least one of the proof mass, the proof mass support, the flexure, the first resonator, or the second resonator upon application of the force to the proof mass assembly.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/146114 (reference application; hereinafter Milne) filed 6/10/25 in view of Starzynski (US 20110239440 A1, hereinafter ‘440).
As to instant claim 1, claim 1 of Milne recites a proof mass assembly comprising a substrate, the substrate comprising:
a proof mass;
a proof mass support;
a flexure connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure;
a first resonator connected to a first major surface of the proof mass and a first major surface of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator connected to a second major surface of the proof mass and a second major surface of the proof mass support.
Milne does not recite that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching.
‘440 teaches a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass 44 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a proof mass support 42 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a flexure 40 connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure (¶21);
a first resonator 26 connected to a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator 28 connected to a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching), and
includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne to use a crystalline quartz substrate as taught by ‘440 since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of forming a proof mass assembly for another for the predictable result that quartz is inexpensive and easy to process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Milne such that at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall, as taught by ‘440, for the benefit of minimizing the complexity of the resonator’s design, in comparison with a more complex side wall design.
Milne as modified recites that the substrate is a quartz substrate, and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz), and
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator includes a straight vertical side wall (in view of ‘440) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz, in view of ‘440).
As to instant claim 9, claim 9 of Milne recites wherein the quartz substrate further comprises:
a dampening plate connected to the proof mass support and configured to limit a range of rotation of the proof mass,
wherein the dampening plate is formed by selective laser etching (since the damping plate is formed of crystalline quartz in view of ‘440).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/7/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 7 that “Starzynski does not describe, in any fashion, “laser,” “etching,” or “selective laser etching,” much less at least one of a first resonator or a second resonator being formed by selective laser etching. Accordingly, Starzynski does not disclose “at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching,” as recited in amended claim 1.” Applicant makes a similar argument on pg. 8.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. ‘440 teaches wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz). Accordingly, the limitations cited by Applicant above fail to structurally distinguish the claim over ‘440.
Applicant argues on pg. 7 that ‘440 does not teach ““a vertical wide wall [of a resonator],”…or “a straight vertical side wall [of a resonator] formed by selective laser etching,” in any fashion much less a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate comprising at least one of a first resonator or a second resonator being formed by selective laser etching and including a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching.”
Applicant further argues on pg. 7 that “While Starzynski describes “two sets of resonators 26, 28,”3 Starzynski does not disclose or suggest that either of the two sets of resonators 26, 28 include a straight vertical side wall such as 1s recited in amended claim 1.”
Applicant further argues on pg. 8 that “In view of the above, Starzynski, does not disclose or suggest wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching and includes a straight vertical side wall that is formed by selective laser etching, as recited in amended claim 1.”
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive since ‘440 anticipates claim 1. As to claim 1, ‘440 teaches a proof mass assembly comprising a quartz substrate (¶19 teaches that all the components are made of the same material, being single crystal quartz, and ¶22 teaches that the components are directly bonded together such that their atoms “interdiffuse and form a direct bond”; accordingly, the elements of the substrate form a monolithic substrate), the quartz substrate comprising:
a proof mass 44 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a proof mass support 42 (¶21 and fig. 2-2);
a flexure 40 connecting the proof mass to the proof mass support, wherein the proof mass is configured to rotate relative to the proof mass support via the flexure (¶21);
a first resonator 26 connected to a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a first major surface (upper surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support; and
a second resonator 28 connected to a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass and a second major surface (lower surface in fig. 1) of the proof mass support,
wherein at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is formed by selective laser etching (at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz) and
[AltContent: textbox (VSW)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
includes a straight vertical side wall VSW (see ¶12, and figs. 1, 3-1 and 3-2 above) that is formed by selective laser etching (the straight vertical side wall of the at least one of the first resonator or the second resonator is able to have been formed by selective laser etching, since the substrate is crystalline quartz).
Applicant argues on pg. 8 that claims 2-9 are allowable for depending from claim 1. Applicant further broadly argues that claims 2-9 contain features not taught by the prior art.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive since claims 1-9 are properly rejected.
Applicant argues on pg. 9 that the amendments to claim 1 overcome the double patenting rejections.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive since the double patenting rejections above are proper.
Conclusion
/R.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853