DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, and 20 are indefinite because the phrase “iterative adapted version” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 13-14 are indefinite because the phrases “a certain node” and “a particular node” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 14 is indefinite because the same limitation of “wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users” is recited twice and the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordani et al. (US 20210056153 A1) in view of Bunker et al. (US 8364623 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Giordani discloses a computer implemented method comprising:
examining user data of at least one user (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]: At step 500, the server 160 monitors interactions between users in the content sharing environment 150 to generate activity data; [0074]: At step 501, the server 160 generates relationship data that defines relationships between users) to determine whether a criterion has been satisfied for running a prompting data session for prompting the at least one user ([0075]: At step 502 a user enters a query via a user device 162… the server 160 recognizes content in a post within the content sharing environment 150 as an implied query (e.g., a conversation exchange between users on a social network regarding topic XYZ));
responsively to determining that the criterion has been satisfied for running the prompting data session for prompting the at least one user (Fig. 5A; [0076]: At step 503, the server 160 obtains query data of the query entered by the user at step 502), running a prompting data session, wherein the running the prompting data session includes
(a) establishing and iteratively updating a relationship graph (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]-[0074]: In implementations, step 500 is implemented continuously or periodically such that new activity data is generated in real-time based on the real-time activities of users within the content sharing environment 150… the server 160 generates relationship data that defines relationships between users… The relationship data may be in the form of one or more relationship graphs).
However, Giordani does not explicitly teach “presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Bunker teaches (b) presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user (Figs. 1-5; [Col. 2; lines 33-65]: a method comprises… generating a graphical representation of the particular entity and its relationships as a mind map comprising a plurality of linked nodes; [Col. 3, lines 44-57]: The customized version of the mind map may be displayed during the current session of user interaction; [Col. 8, lines 24-50]: In one implementation, systems management tool 150 may be configured to provide users 120 an interface to specify one or more attributes of selected entities represented in the mind map 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Giordani to incorporate the teachings of Bunker to include presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more users.
The motivation for doing so would be to display a graphical summarization of relationships that are useful to a user represented by the links of a mind map, as recognized by Bunker ([Col. 2, lines 33-60] of Bunker: According to one embodiment, a method comprises receiving a request to generate a graphical summarization of relationships… Any type of relationship that is deemed useful by a user may be represented by the links of the mind map).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users (Fig. 1; [0073]: In implementations, the monitoring engine 173 monitors input from users to the content sharing environment 150… the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels of the content sharing environment 150).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users, wherein the monitoring includes subjecting content of the conversation to natural language processing for topic extraction (Figs. 1, 5A; [0078]: The server 160 may utilized natural language processing (NLP) tools to determine a topic of the query in step 504).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users, wherein the monitoring includes converting voice based content of the conversation to text, and subjecting the text to natural language processing for topic extraction ([0073]-[0078]: the monitoring engine 173 monitors input from users to the content sharing environment 150 including user search queries, posted content (e.g., content posted to one or more social network servers 164), and communications (e.g., emails, messages, etc.) between users… In general, sentiment analysis refers to the user of NLP… and/or biometrics to identify, quantify, extract and study sentiment-baring terms).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users, wherein the monitoring includes subjecting content of the conversation to natural language processing for topic extraction for extraction of a certain topic (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]-[0078]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels of the content sharing environment 150… The server 160 may utilized natural language processing (NLP) tools to determine a topic of the query in step 504),
wherein the establishing is performed so that the iteratively updated relationship graph presents information on the certain topic (Figs. 1, 5A; [0091]-[0092]: the relationship engine 174 utilizes a relationship graph… wherein the classification is based on the topic derived from the message and on the relationship information related to users having sent or received the message… At step 509, if the topic can be shared as determined at step 508, the server 160 initiates sharing of the matching content).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]-[0078]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels of the content sharing environment 150).
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users (Figs. 1, 7; [Col. 13, lines 45-52]: for example, data center administrators may be granted the ability to view all available data and perform a variety of actions such as rebooting systems, taking systems offline, initiating failovers, etc., while business users or financial staff may only be given privileges to view a limited set of information related to the IT infrastructure 101).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes presenting an iterative adapted version of the iteratively updated relationship graph to a first user ([Col. 5, lines 55-65]: As described below in further detail, mind maps may support a variety of features in various embodiments, such as dynamically updatable summarization features based on user-specified criteria, the ability to dynamically regenerate or redraw the mind map with a different node as the primary node, the ability to generate a new mind map via an interface such as a hypertext link, customization features, etc.),
wherein the method includes during the presenting
(1) monitoring engagement of the first user with the relationship graph ([Col. 6, lines 46-67]: In some embodiments, information about user interaction sessions with the systems management tool 150 may be stored in mind map metadata database 190… e.g., cached authorization information for various users, or timestamps indicating when a user last viewed a mind map 160, may be stored in the mind map metadata database 190), and
(2) changing the iterative adapted version to include an asset data presenting node in dependence on the monitoring engagement of the first user indicating that an engagement of the first user with the relationship graph has fallen below a threshold level of engagement (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, lines 46-67]: In another embodiment, systems management tool 150 may save metadata indicative of customized or personalized versions of a mind map (e.g., links and nodes representing entities and relationships that may be of interest to a single user 120… Such information may be used, for example, to more efficiently perform authorization checks before displaying a mind map 160, or to determine whether to refresh a mind map based on how long ago the mind map was last refreshed).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes presenting an iterative adapted version of the iteratively updated relationship graph to a first user ([Col. 5, lines 55-65]: As described below in further detail, mind maps may support a variety of features in various embodiments, such as dynamically updatable summarization features based on user-specified criteria, the ability to dynamically regenerate or redraw the mind map with a different node as the primary node, the ability to generate a new mind map via an interface such as a hypertext link, customization features, etc.),
wherein the method includes during the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph
(1) monitoring engagement of the first user with the relationship graph (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, lines 46-67]: In some embodiments, information about user interaction sessions with the systems management tool 150 may be stored in mind map metadata database 190), and
(2) changing the iterative adapted version to include an asset data presenting node in dependence on the monitoring engagement of the first user indicating that an engagement of the first user with the relationship graph has fallen below a threshold level of engagement (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, lines 46-67]: In another embodiment, systems management tool 150 may save metadata indicative of customized or personalized versions of a mind map (e.g., links and nodes representing entities and relationships that may be of interest to a single user 120… Such information may be used, for example, to more efficiently perform authorization checks before displaying a mind map 160, or to determine whether to refresh a mind map based on how long ago the mind map was last refreshed),
wherein the monitoring engagement of the first user includes monitoring one or more of the following selected from the group consisting of
(i) whether asset data of the relationship graph configured as a hyperlink has been activated by the first user during a current prompting data session ([Col. 10, line 62 - Col. 11, line 35]: a click on a hyperlinked node by one user may generate a different mind map than a click on the corresponding hyperlink by another user. An example of such a new mind map generated as a result of a click on a hypertext link in an existing mind map is shown in FIG. 5),
(ii) a speed which the first user actuated asset data of the relationship graph during the current prompting data session ([Col. 3, lines 6-26]: In some embodiments, users may be allowed to specify certain attributes of entities represented in a sub-network that are to be summarized, and a summarization technique to be used (e.g… an average value of some metric over a specified period, etc.)),
(iii), force with which the first user has actuated asset data of the relationship graph during the current prompting data session ([Col. 3, lines 6-26]: In some embodiments, users may be allowed to specify certain attributes of entities represented in a sub-network that are to be summarized… or an average value of some metric over a specified period, etc.)).
Additionally, Giordani teaches (iv) whether the first user referenced content of asset data the relationship graph in spoken words of the first user during the current prompting data session, and (v) an eye gaze of the first user on asset data of the relationship graph during the current prompting data session ([0078]: In general, sentiment analysis refers to the user of NLP, text analysis, computational linguistics and/or biometrics).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users ([0073]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads), and
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users (Figs. 1, 7; [Col. 13, lines 45-52]: for example, data center administrators may be granted the ability to view all available data and perform a variety of actions such as rebooting systems, taking systems offline, initiating failovers, etc., while business users or financial staff may only be given privileges to view a limited set of information related to the IT infrastructure 101),
Additionally, Giordani teaches wherein adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users includes querying a predictive model that has been trained with user data of at least one of the first or second user (Fig. 5A; [0074]-[0078]: The server 160 may utilized natural language processing (NLP) tools to determine a topic of the query in step 504… Various tools for mapping relationships between users and generating relationship data may be utilized by the server 160 in the implementation of step 501… In implementations, server 160 may utilize… IBM Watson®, from International Business Machines Corporation).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1,
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users ([0073]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads), and
Bunker further teacher wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users (Fig. 1, 7; [Col. 13, lines 45-52]: for example, data center administrators may be granted the ability to view all available data and perform a variety of actions… while business users or financial staff may only be given privileges to view a limited set of information related to the IT infrastructure 101),
wherein the adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users includes predicting a linguistic complexity capability of the first user, predicting a linguistic complexity capability of the second user (Figs. 1, 8; [Col. 4, lines 60-64]: In another embodiment, systems management tool 150 may save metadata indicative of customized or personalized versions of a mind map; [Col. 10, lines 2-20]: The determination of the specific relationships that are to be displayed in a sub-network, or in the mind map 160 as a whole, may also be performed either automatically… or based on customized parameter files read in by systems management tool on startup; Fig. 7; [Col. 13, lines 25-52]: The request may be generated by or on behalf of a user 120 using a variety of techniques in different embodiments),
removing a first node of the relationship graph for presenting the relationship graph to the first user in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the first user, removing a second node of the relationship graph for presenting the relationship graph to the second user in dependence on the determined linguistic complexity capability of the second user ([Col. 11, lines 1-20]: Different users may customize one or more mind maps that may be displayed via hyperlinks (e.g., by adding/deleting nodes, changing the layout or summary information, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]-[0078]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels of the content sharing environment 150; [0078]: Machine learning may be utilized in conjunction with NLP tools to produce and/or update models utilized in the analysis of the query… In implementations, server 160 may utilize remote content analysis services in the implementation of step 504. One example of such a service is IBM Watson®, from International Business Machines Corporation), and
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users (Fig. 1, 7; [Col. 13, lines 45-52]: for example, data center administrators may be granted the ability to view all available data and perform a variety of actions… while business users or financial staff may only be given privileges to view a limited set of information related to the IT infrastructure 101),
wherein the adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users includes predicting a linguistic complexity capability of the first user (Fig. 7; (Fig. 7; [Col. 13, lines 25-52]: The request may be generated by or on behalf of a user 120 using a variety of techniques in different embodiments),
predicting a linguistic complexity capability of the second user, removing a first node of the relationship graph for presenting the relationship graph to the first user in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the first user, removing a second node of the relationship graph for presenting the relationship graph to the second user in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the second user (Figs. 1, 8; [Col. 4, lines 60-64]: In another embodiment, systems management tool 150 may save metadata indicative of customized or personalized versions of a mind map; [Col. 10, lines 2-20]: The determination of the specific relationships that are to be displayed in a sub-network, or in the mind map 160 as a whole, may also be performed either automatically… or based on customized parameter files read in by systems management tool on startup; Fig. 7; [Col. 13, lines 25-52]: The request may be generated by or on behalf of a user 120 using a variety of techniques in different embodiments),
Additionally, Giordani teaches wherein the predicting linguistic complexity capability of the first user includes querying a predictive model that has been trained by machine learning with training data of the first user, the training data including session data of the first user from the prompting data session ([0078]: Machine learning may be utilized in conjunction with NLP tools to produce and/or update models utilized in the analysis of the query… In implementations, server 160 may utilize remote content analysis services in the implementation of step 504. One example of such a service is IBM Watson®, from International Business Machines Corporation).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1,
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users ([0073]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads), and
wherein the iteratively updating the relationship graph includes
(1) detecting a second topic defined by the conversation ([0068] In embodiments, the monitoring engine 173 is configured to perform one or more of the following… extract information from queries to derive topics of the queries; match topics of queries to topics of stored content), and (2) adding a node to the relationship graph for the second topic, wherein the relationship graph presents at a first node of the relationship graph asset data for a first topic detected prior to the detecting the second topic ([Col. 2, line 33-55]: The network of nodes may include a primary node representing the particular entity (which may typically be centrally located within a display of the mind map), a first link from the primary node to a first sub-network of nodes representing a first relationship, and a second link from the primary node to a second sub-network of nodes representing a second relationship… Any type of relationship that is deemed useful by a user may be represented by the links of the mind map; [Col. 3, lines 44-56]: adding a representation of a new relationship and/or additional nodes).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels of the content sharing environment 150), and wherein the iteratively updating the relationship graph includes
(1) detecting a second topic defined by the conversation ([0068]: In embodiments, the monitoring engine 173 is configured to perform one or more of the following… extract information from queries to derive topics of the queries; match topics of queries to topics of stored content), and
(2) adding a second topic definition node to the relationship graph for the second topic, wherein the relationship graph presents at a first topic definition node of the relationship graph asset data for a first topic detected prior to the detecting the second topic ([Col. 2, line 33-55]: The network of nodes may include a primary node representing the particular entity (which may typically be centrally located within a display of the mind map), a first link from the primary node to a first sub-network of nodes representing a first relationship, and a second link from the primary node to a second sub-network of nodes representing a second relationship… Any type of relationship that is deemed useful by a user may be represented by the links of the mind map; [Col. 3, lines 44-56]: adding a representation of a new relationship and/or additional nodes),
wherein the method includes predicting that the first user has a higher than baseline linguistic complexity capability for the first topic, wherein the method includes predicting that the first user has a lower than baseline linguistic complexity capability for the second topic ([0078]: Machine learning may be utilized in conjunction with NLP tools to produce and/or update models utilized in the analysis of the query… In implementations, server 160 may utilize remote content analysis services in the implementation of step 504. One example of such a service is IBM Watson®, from International Business Machines Corporation),
wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes (i) retaining a certain node of the relationship graph in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the first user for the first topic, and (ii) retaining a particular node of the relationship graph in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the first user for the first topic (Figs. 1, 5A;[0074]: The relationship data may be in the form of one or more relationship graphs. Various tools for mapping relationships between users and generating relationship data may be utilized by the server 160 in the implementation of step 501; [0091]-[0106]: the relationship engine 174 may determine, based on predetermined characteristics of the users associated with the matching content and predetermined characteristics of the user who submitted the query, if the matching content is eligible to be shared with the user who submitted the query based on stored rules),
wherein asset data of the certain node has been determined to have a threshold satisfying similarity with asset data of the first topic definition node (Fig. 5A; [0079]: A non-exhaustive list of exemplary input and output parameters includes: topic, entity, strength, reach, date of the query, and urgency of the query. In implementations, the calculated value needs to be under a specific and configurable threshold in order to return a successful match),
wherein asset data of the particular node has been determined to have a threshold satisfying similarity with asset data of the second topic definition node ([0079]: determine that a match has been found between the query and the content in the topics and queries database 176 when the normalized sum meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold value. A variety of matching techniques and tools may be utilized in the implementation of step 505).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users, wherein the monitoring includes converting voice based content of the conversation to text, and subjecting the text to natural language processing for topic extraction (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]-[0078]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels of the content sharing environment 150; [0078]: Machine learning may be utilized in conjunction with NLP tools to produce and/or update models utilized in the analysis of the query… In implementations, server 160 may utilize remote content analysis services in the implementation of step 504. One example of such a service is IBM Watson®, from International Business Machines Corporation),
wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels of the content sharing environment 150), and
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users (Fig. 1, 7; [Col. 13, lines 45-52]: for example, data center administrators may be granted the ability to view all available data and perform a variety of actions… while business users or financial staff may only be given privileges to view a limited set of information related to the IT infrastructure 101),
wherein the adapting the iteratively updated relationship graph differently for the first and second users so that the iteratively updated relationship graph is presented differently to the first and second users includes predicting a linguistic complexity capability of the first user (Fig. 7; (Fig. 7; [Col. 13, lines 25-52]: The request may be generated by or on behalf of a user 120 using a variety of techniques in different embodiments),
predicting a linguistic complexity capability of the second user, removing a first node of the relationship graph for presenting the relationship graph to the first user in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the first user, removing a second node of the relationship graph for presenting the relationship graph to the second user in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the second user (Figs. 1, 8; [Col. 4, lines 60-64]: In another embodiment, systems management tool 150 may save metadata indicative of customized or personalized versions of a mind map; [Col. 10, lines 2-20]: The determination of the specific relationships that are to be displayed in a sub-network, or in the mind map 160 as a whole, may also be performed either automatically… or based on customized parameter files read in by systems management tool on startup; Fig. 7; [Col. 13, lines 25-52]: The request may be generated by or on behalf of a user 120 using a variety of techniques in different embodiments),
Additionally, Giordani teaches wherein the predicting linguistic complexity capability of the first user includes querying a predictive model that has been trained by machine learning with training data of the first user, the training data including session data of the first user from the prompting data session, wherein the iteratively updating the relationship graph includes
(1) detecting a second topic defined by the conversation ([0068] In embodiments, the monitoring engine 173 is configured to perform one or more of the following… extract information from queries to derive topics of the queries; match topics of queries to topics of stored content), and
(2) adding a second topic definition node to the relationship graph for the second topic, wherein the relationship graph presents at a first topic definition node of the relationship graph asset data for a first topic detected prior to the detecting the second topic ([Col. 2, line 33-55]: The network of nodes may include a primary node representing the particular entity (which may typically be centrally located within a display of the mind map), a first link from the primary node to a first sub-network of nodes representing a first relationship, and a second link from the primary node to a second sub-network of nodes representing a second relationship… Any type of relationship that is deemed useful by a user may be represented by the links of the mind map; [Col. 3, lines 44-56]: adding a representation of a new relationship and/or additional nodes),
wherein the method includes predicting that the first user has a higher than baseline linguistic complexity capability for the first topic, wherein the method includes predicting that the first user has a lower than baseline linguistic complexity capability for the second topic ([0078]: Machine learning may be utilized in conjunction with NLP tools to produce and/or update models utilized in the analysis of the query… In implementations, server 160 may utilize remote content analysis services in the implementation of step 504. One example of such a service is IBM Watson®, from International Business Machines Corporation),
wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes (i) retaining a certain node of the relationship graph in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the first user for the first topic, and (ii) retaining a particular node of the relationship graph in dependence on the predicted linguistic complexity capability of the first user for the first topic (Figs. 1, 5A;[0074]: The relationship data may be in the form of one or more relationship graphs. Various tools for mapping relationships between users and generating relationship data may be utilized by the server 160 in the implementation of step 501; [0091]-[0106]: the relationship engine 174 may determine, based on predetermined characteristics of the users associated with the matching content and predetermined characteristics of the user who submitted the query, if the matching content is eligible to be shared with the user who submitted the query based on stored rules),
wherein asset data of the certain node has been determined to have a threshold satisfying similarity with asset data of the first topic definition node (Fig. 5A; [0079]: A non-exhaustive list of exemplary input and output parameters includes: topic, entity, strength, reach, date of the query, and urgency of the query. In implementations, the calculated value needs to be under a specific and configurable threshold in order to return a successful match),
wherein asset data of the particular node has been determined to have a threshold satisfying similarity with asset data of the second topic definition node ([0079]: determine that a match has been found between the query and the content in the topics and queries database 176 when the normalized sum meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold value. A variety of matching techniques and tools may be utilized in the implementation of step 505).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Giordani further teaches wherein the examining user data of the at least one user includes monitoring a conversation involving first and second users (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]: In aspects, the monitoring engine 173 monitors topics of conversation threads in different communications channels), and wherein the iteratively updating the relationship graph includes
(1) detecting a second topic defined by the conversation ([0068] In embodiments, the monitoring engine 173 is configured to perform one or more of the following… extract information from queries to derive topics of the queries; match topics of queries to topics of stored content), and
(2) adding a node to the relationship graph for the second topic, wherein the relationship graph presents at a first node of the relationship graph asset data for a first topic detected prior to the detecting the second topic ([Col. 2, line 33-55]: The network of nodes may include a primary node representing the particular entity (which may typically be centrally located within a display of the mind map), a first link from the primary node to a first sub-network of nodes representing a first relationship, and a second link from the primary node to a second sub-network of nodes representing a second relationship… Any type of relationship that is deemed useful by a user may be represented by the links of the mind map; [Col. 3, lines 44-56]: adding a representation of a new relationship and/or additional nodes).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Bunker further teaches wherein the method includes mining data assets defining candidate assets from one or more data source, and generating the relationship graph (Fig. 1; [Col. 4, lines 35-65]: The relationships may also be specified by the user 120, or may be obtained from one or more databases as described below in further detail. In response to the request, the systems management tool may be configured to generate a graphical representation of the particular entity and its relationships in the form of a mind map 160 (e.g., mind map 160A or 160N),
wherein the relationship graph includes nodes presenting asset data and edges connecting the nodes, wherein the generating includes employing clustering analysis to identify assets of the candidate assets that are nearest neighbor assets of a topic definitional nodes, and presenting asset data of the nearest neighbor assets and the topic definitional asset in respective nodes of the relationship graph ([Col. 5, lines 45-67]: The relationships may also be specified by the user 120, or may be obtained from one or more databases as described below in further detail. In response to the request, the systems management tool may be configured to generate a graphical representation of the particular entity and its relationships in the form of a mind map 160 (e.g., mind map 160A or 160N),
Giordani further teaches wherein according to the clustering analysis the candidate assets are analyzed in first and second dimensions, wherein the first dimension is a term strength dimension that considers term usage within the candidate assets ([0077]: In aspects, information extracted from the query data includes one or more of: an intent of the request, an entity, a strength metric), and
wherein the second dimension is an engagement dimension that considers historical engagements of asset data of the candidate assets by users when presented on historical relationship graphs ([0070]: determine whether the topic matches historic topics stored in a content database, wherein the historic topics are topics of user queries submitted on the social network; [0093]: based on a cognitive analysis of the user's prior history (e.g., the user's interaction in the past with threads associated with the same topics).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the computer implemented method of claim 1.
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes presenting different first and second versions of the iteratively updated relationship graph to first and second users (Fig. 1, 7; [Col. 13, lines 45-52]: for example, data center administrators may be granted the ability to view all available data and perform a variety of actions… while business users or financial staff may only be given privileges to view a limited set of information related to the IT infrastructure 101),
wherein the method includes during the presenting different first and second versions of the iteratively updated relationship graph (1) monitoring engagement of the first user with the first version, (2) monitoring engagement of the second user with the second version, (3) changing the first version in dependence on the monitoring engagement of the first user with the first version, (4) changing the second version in dependence on the monitoring engagement of the second user with the second version ([Col. 6, lines 12-65]: That is, only those nodes and links that represent entities and relationships that a particular user 120 is authorized to view or interact with may be displayed to that user. Such authorization verification, which may be performed, for example, by the systems management tool 150 communicating with an authorization engine 195, may be particularly important in embodiments where the mind map includes interfaces to initiate systems management actions in response to various conditions, or when the mind map might include information that a particular user is not authorized to see).
Regarding Claim 18, Giordani discloses a computer program product comprising:
a computer readable storage medium readable by one or more processing circuit and storing instructions for execution by one or more processor for performing a method comprising ([0022]: The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention):
examining user data of at least one user (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]: At step 500, the server 160 monitors interactions between users in the content sharing environment 150 to generate activity data; [0074]: At step 501, the server 160 generates relationship data that defines relationships between users) to determine whether a criterion has been satisfied for running a prompting data session for prompting the at least one user ([0075]: At step 502 a user enters a query via a user device 162… the server 160 recognizes content in a post within the content sharing environment 150 as an implied query (e.g., a conversation exchange between users on a social network regarding topic XYZ));
responsively to determining that the criterion has been satisfied for running the prompting data session for prompting the at least one user (Fig. 5A; [0076]: At step 503, the server 160 obtains query data of the query entered by the user at step 502), running a prompting data session, wherein the running the prompting data session includes
(a) establishing and iteratively updating a relationship graph Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]-[0074]: In implementations, step 500 is implemented continuously or periodically such that new activity data is generated in real-time based on the real-time activities of users within the content sharing environment 150… the server 160 generates relationship data that defines relationships between users… The relationship data may be in the form of one or more relationship graphs).
However, Giordani does not explicitly teach “presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Bunker teaches (b) presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user (Figs. 1-5; [Col. 2; lines 33-65]: a method comprises… generating a graphical representation of the particular entity and its relationships as a mind map comprising a plurality of linked nodes; [Col. 3, lines 44-57]: The customized version of the mind map may be displayed during the current session of user interaction; [Col. 8, lines 24-50]: In one implementation, systems management tool 150 may be configured to provide users 120 an interface to specify one or more attributes of selected entities represented in the mind map 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Giordani to incorporate the teachings of Bunker to include presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more users.
The motivation for doing so would be to display a graphical summarization of relationships that are useful to a user represented by the links of a mind map, as recognized by Bunker ([Col. 2, lines 33-60] of Bunker: According to one embodiment, a method comprises receiving a request to generate a graphical summarization of relationships… Any type of relationship that is deemed useful by a user may be represented by the links of the mind map).
Regarding Claim 19, Giordani discloses a system comprising: a memory; at least one processor in communication with the memory; and program instructions executable by one or more processor via the memory to perform a method comprising ([0006]: In another aspect of the invention, there is system including a processor, a computer readable memory, and a computer readable storage medium. The system includes program instructions):
examining user data of at least one user (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]: At step 500, the server 160 monitors interactions between users in the content sharing environment 150 to generate activity data; [0074]: At step 501, the server 160 generates relationship data that defines relationships between users) to determine whether a criterion has been satisfied for running a prompting data session for prompting the at least one user ([0075]: At step 502 a user enters a query via a user device 162… the server 160 recognizes content in a post within the content sharing environment 150 as an implied query (e.g., a conversation exchange between users on a social network regarding topic XYZ));
responsively to determining that the criterion has been satisfied for running the prompting data session for prompting the at least one user (Fig. 5A; [0076]: At step 503, the server 160 obtains query data of the query entered by the user at step 502), running a prompting data session, wherein the running the prompting data session includes
(a) establishing and iteratively updating a relationship graph (Figs. 1, 5A; [0073]-[0074]: In implementations, step 500 is implemented continuously or periodically such that new activity data is generated in real-time based on the real-time activities of users within the content sharing environment 150… the server 160 generates relationship data that defines relationships between users… The relationship data may be in the form of one or more relationship graphs).
However, Giordani does not explicitly teach “presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Bunker teaches (b) presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user (Figs. 1-5; [Col. 2; lines 33-65]: a method comprises… generating a graphical representation of the particular entity and its relationships as a mind map comprising a plurality of linked nodes; [Col. 3, lines 44-57]: The customized version of the mind map may be displayed during the current session of user interaction; [Col. 8, lines 24-50]: In one implementation, systems management tool 150 may be configured to provide users 120 an interface to specify one or more attributes of selected entities represented in the mind map 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Giordani to incorporate the teachings of Bunker to include presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more users.
The motivation for doing so would be to display a graphical summarization of relationships that are useful to a user represented by the links of a mind map, as recognized by Bunker ([Col. 2, lines 33-60] of Bunker: According to one embodiment, a method comprises receiving a request to generate a graphical summarization of relationships… Any type of relationship that is deemed useful by a user may be represented by the links of the mind map).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teaching of Giordani and Bunker disclose the system of claim 19,
Bunker further teaches wherein the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph to one or more user includes presenting an iterative adapted version of the iteratively updated relationship graph to a first user ([Col. 5, lines 55-65]: As described below in further detail, mind maps may support a variety of features in various embodiments, such as dynamically updatable summarization features based on user-specified criteria, the ability to dynamically regenerate or redraw the mind map with a different node as the primary node, the ability to generate a new mind map via an interface such as a hypertext link, customization features, etc.),
wherein the method includes during the presenting the iteratively updated relationship graph
(1) monitoring engagement of the first user with the relationship graph ([Col. 6, lines 46-67]: In some embodiments, information about user interaction sessions with the systems management tool 150 may be stored in mind map metadata database 190… e.g., cached authorization information for various users, or timestamps indicating when a user last viewed a mind map 160, may be stored in the mind map metadata database 190), and
(2) changing the iterative adapted version to include an asset data presenting node in dependence on the monitoring engagement of the first user indicating that an engagement of the first user with the relationship graph has fallen below a threshold level of engagement (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, lines 46-67]: In another embodiment, systems management tool 150 may save metadata indicative of customized or personalized versions of a mind map (e.g., links and nodes representing entities and relationships that may be of interest to a single user 120… Such information may be used, for example, to more efficiently perform authorization checks before displaying a mind map 160, or to determine whether to refresh a mind map based on how long ago the mind map was last refreshed),
wherein the monitoring engagement of the first user includes monitoring each of
(i) whether asset data of the relationship graph configured as a hyperlink has been activated by the first user during a current prompting data session ([Col. 10, line 62 - Col. 11, line 35]: a click on a hyperlinked node by one user may generate a different mind map than a click on the corresponding hyperlink by another user. An example of such a new mind map generated as a result of a click on a hypertext link in an existing mind map is shown in FIG. 5),
(ii) a speed which the first user actuated asset data of the relationship graph during the current prompting data session ([Col. 3, lines 6-26]: In some embodiments, users may be allowed to specify certain attributes of entities represented in a sub-network that are to be summarized, and a summarization technique to be used (e.g… an average value of some metric over a specified period, etc.)),
(iii), force with which the first user has actuated asset data of the relationship graph during the current prompting data session ([Col. 3, lines 6-26]: In some embodiments, users may be allowed to specify certain attributes of entities represented in a sub-network that are to be summarized… or an average value of some metric over a specified period, etc.)),
Additionally, Giordani teaches (iv) whether the first user referenced content of asset data the relationship graph in spoken words of the first user during the current prompting data session, and (v) an eye gaze of the first user on asset data of the relationship graph during the current prompting data session ([0078]: In general, sentiment analysis refers to the user of NLP, text analysis, computational linguistics and/or biometrics).
Conclusion
/S.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168